Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Kona

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1212 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1212 Reviews)

Reviews


CB
gravatar
Christopher B.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/11/2022
Verified Review

Traded it in

My 2022 Kona Limited was in the shop 3 months out of the 12 I had it. The dual-clutch system failed after 2,500 miles. It was replaced and repaired, but the car never drove the same after. It had a lot of minor issues that added up. i loved the car the first 2,500 miles. It’s a little small. I would rate the car fairly high when I first had it, but too many things went wrong. My experience isn’t probably the same as others, but I would give this car a solid test drive before driving it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/12/2022 06:56 AM
Thank you for providing your feedback, Christopher. We have forwarded your communciations to the appropriate team. They will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

RD
gravatar
ROBERT D.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/17/2022
Verified Review

Mistake

Owned it for 3 months and has been broke down for over 40 days on two occasions. Good thing Hyundai has a long warranty because I’m going to need it. Well unless it breaks down one more time because then I can file for a federal lemon law.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 09/21/2022 09:53 AM
Allow us to reopen the case we had with you and review your concern once more. Please expect a call shortly from our specialist. Thank you. ^cc

EC
gravatar
ELIZABETH C.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/23/2022
Verified Review

Uncomfortable to drive on

The vehicle looks cheap on the inside the driver seat is uncomfortable to drive. The blower scares you and randomly blows air spontaneously and loud. I would not recommend this vehicle because I feel the quality is poor and I was overcharged by dealership.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/25/2022 10:36 AM
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

JS
gravatar
JESSICA S.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/22/2022
Verified Review

Too small for what I am paying

The trunk is almost non existent and the car is so small. I can learn to deal with that for the next 2 years of my lease, but the dealers are absolutely terrible. I would recommend Hyundai, but not through the dealers. Go through a used car dealer to get one
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 11/22/2022 01:40 PM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Please contact our customer connect center at (800) 633-5151 so we may further discuss your concerns. ^cc 

JS
gravatar
JONATHAN S.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/30/2022
Verified Review

Lost our Kona paperwork

Lost our Kona paperwork, I called Hyundai for another copy over a month ago and still have not received the paperwork. I called again 2 weeks ago and still no paperwork. I guess Hyundai Company doesn't care what you want or need after you buy thier vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 12/01/2022 10:15 AM
We're disappointed to learn about your frustrations. Please reach out to Hyundai Motor Finance at (800) 523-4030, so we may further address your concerns. Thank you. ^cc 

MW
gravatar
MARK W.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/08/2022
Verified Review

Hyundai is not the brand for me going forward.

Hyundai is not the brand for me. nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RW
gravatar
Rhonda W.
2022 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/20/2023

Disappointed

From the first time I saw a Kona going down the road I wanted one. I finally was able to purchase one. For the most part I love it. The radio screen goes black quite often. There are a few minor things that do not work correctly. The windshield is crap! Every Little Rock leaves a ding. It has cracked around the top where the mirror mount is. I have had many vehicles. Most I put over 200,000 miles on and not one ding or crack in the windshield. The biggest problem with my Kona is there is no trim around the door frame. So where the door shuts gets very dirty when on a country road or now during the winter. I cannot get in and out of the car without the back of my pant legs getting dirty. I tried talking to the dealership. They act like it is normal. It is not normal. Trying to see if anyone else has this problem. Or get someone that can help get it fixed. I should not get dirty getting in and out of my brand new vehicle. At this time I would not recommend the Hyundai Kona to anyone. Sad because I was so excited to get it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CE
gravatar
CARLOS E.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/29/2021
Verified Review

ok

the car is ok... really the design is fine the old bumper was better but that is subjective. the new one looks more like a bumper from the bumper cars at a fair to me. over all it ok. this was my second choice and i am ok with that. it has great safety feature and i find that very important.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BH
gravatar
Barbara H.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/02/2021
Verified Review

2022 Kona limited

Kona limited is a Nice vehicle. But When you put your foot on the gas pedal, when u start from a stop, the vehicle jerks. The Kona could use more luggage room. In 30 years of driving I have never experienced this jerky Start in any new vehicle I owned. start. limited luggage Space, good gas mileage .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ES
gravatar
EVA S.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/27/2021
Verified Review

Sporty, handles well, good gas mileage. interior...thumbs down.

The 2022 Hyundai Kona SEL has great handling and a bit fun to drive. I dropped down to a smaller SUV because I wanted better gas mileage and the Kona delivered. The exterior is a little sporty looking. The interior however leaves a lot to be desired. The seat fabric has a very cheap feel to it. Speaking of the seats... the drivers seat has a hand pump handle to raise the seat???!!!! Really, is this a NEW car? Interior is kind of blah. I wish they had put a little bit more thought into it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KC
gravatar
Kenneth C.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/29/2021
Verified Review

Not a fan

Love Hyundai. Not a fan of the Kona. It's just too slow and has no power or acceleration. It feels plastic like and cheap overall. We went from a 2019 veloster to this and are highly disappointed. But we love the color.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JH
gravatar
JENNY H.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/19/2021
Verified Review

It's fine.

I'm not into cars. It does what I need it to do. I think Hyudais are reliable. I like the dealer. I would honestly have rather had another Sonata but they were all gone. It was either this or a used Subaru Forester.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EC
gravatar
Evgeny C.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/02/2021
Verified Review

Too expensive, beautiful, many features, no VCC, no room for luggage, bad engine

Only highest, most expensive Kona has SCC. Even what i bought is too expensive. Engine is weak and eat too much gas - prbbly bkz im used to Honda engines Only had it for a week - prbbly would used to it and engine with time would be better. I'm very disappointed with my new Kona purchase, because it hasn't smart cruise control (SCC) It has other nice smart features - i.e. said that front car already departure, control the lines - so it sees everything. Sales did tell me that I can drive it semi handless - when did try to do that on highway almost had a crash as was sure that SCC in there. Couldn't imagine when bought this 2022 car that it hasn't SCC. Most likely, if did know that, wouldn't buy it, as my wife bought 4 years ago new 2018 Honda Fit with SCC and cost more than 10k less.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CM
gravatar
CHRISTOPHER M.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/09/2021
Verified Review

Cheap AWD, not much else

This car is fine, but I was expecting a lot more. I have a 2017 Elantra which I actually strongly prefer, and it was much cheaper than this. The AWD was the only real draw for this vehicle. The interior and exterior are very unassuming and somewhat boring, which I wouldn’t expect for this price range. Overall I probably wish I had gotten a more expensive car, or stuck with my old one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ST
gravatar
SHARON T.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/10/2021
Verified Review

Not what I expected

I did my research on a few cars and decided on the Kona sel. I like the exterior color and design, but the interior feels tight and does not have enough storage space. Trunk is too small. AC vents placed too low. I don't like the manual seat operation and there is an outside noise that sounds like a gap in the rear window.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AP
gravatar
ANDREA P.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/20/2021
Verified Review

2022 Kona N

Working safety features was a must when car was bought. FCA and AEB was intermittent. No homelink as was told. The car is no longer operational. Release of paperwork and title is taking longer than usual.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AJ
gravatar
ANN J.
2022 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/05/2021

Nice car, bad media system

I've driven the 2019 Hyundai Kona for a couple of years and I really like the car. It has great gas mileage, handles pretty good and it's comfortable. The brakes get grabby when it's cold. I have to be careful not to jolt the car at stops on a cold morning. The biggest flaw of the 2019 Kona is the media system. It's kind of bad. The radio controls are all in a touch screen so I have to take my gloves off to use the scan button which I use alot. There are a lot of physical buttons on the media center that I do not use at all. The layout needs some work. The system has a lot of click through barriers for importing music from your phone and the apps for bluetooth control are prohibitively difficult. I have not used the bluetooth for phone calls. Twice in one year the radio has become unresponsive. I cannot turn the volume down or up, I cannot turn the radio chanel or turn it off. This is a big deal when the radio is blasting at highway volume when you are stopped at a red light. The radio did not turn off when I turned the car off for a full 10 minutes. This is probably draining the battery. On the whole, it's a nice car, but the media system sucks pretty hard
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
JUSTIN W.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/28/2021
Verified Review

Excitement to disappointment

My wife fell in love with the Kona. It had all the things we normally hadn’t gotten in our other vehicles since we always bought older used cars, never wanting to get under a big payment. We’re at a point in our life where having a family friendly, safe, dependable vehicle is much more important than some of the savings of buying the typical used vehicle we always had in the past so I decided it was time to have a new vehicle for the first time ever and it made her very happy. Overall the car is great but we’ve only owned it about a month and the steering wheel leather is starting to peel, paint on the front bumper is delaminating, and it wasn’t a cheap vehicle. MSRP was 30k and times being what they are today that’s basically what we paid minus a military rebate of $500. I was presented with a value product and unfortunately it has disappointed me. Knowing What I know now I prob would’ve stayed away from a Hyundai product like I had always done but I gave it a shot. Im an adult, I made the decision so there’s no one else to blame here. Hopefully the dealership will back up the warranty, have everything fixed and rein-still some confidence back in my decision, at which time I will gladly change my review, until then this is how I’m feeling before I have even made my first payment on a brand new vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

VP
gravatar
VIERA P.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/10/2022
Verified Review

Early problems

Drove car from dealer, within 100 miles check engine light illuminates. As of yet dealer has been three times unable to correct. Currently have a loaner from dealer. I don't want to drive a loaner. I want my new car fixed. In praise of dealer, Causeway (Chris) in Manahawkin NJ has been excellent.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JO
gravatar
JONATHAN O.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/19/2022
Verified Review

Want to love it

Nice looking car with a weak, rough starting engine and cheap option in temp controls and interior. The split defroster/foot warmer is useless, the manual seta adjustments are to broad to find comfort and some are straight up useless. Gas mileage is rarely anywhere near promised. It's a good-ish car with many good parts but the weak parts are too glaring. Would buy Hyundai again, would not buy Kona again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 1189 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Brandfon Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2136 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(136) ReScores