Business Solutions

2023 Hyundai Kona

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(185 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(185 Reviews)

Reviews


BB
gravatar
BRYAN B.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/21/2022
Verified Review

Tustin Dealership worst customer service after purchase

small rear window has spidered during heat wave for no apparent reason other than defect. There are no puncture marks, dings or any marks to indicate it was tampered with. Dealer claims not their responsibility. Car has a total of 59 miles on it and for this to happen is ridiculous.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 09/22/2022 09:30 AM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

BS
gravatar
BARRY S.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/19/2022
Verified Review

Buggy software and dull gray "Silver" paint mar a zippy and fun handling car

The car accelerates and handles well. Road noise is reasonable, and the front seating is comfortable (rear leg and headroom is tight). What is called Silver paint is dull gray, and the display software is buggy. Driver profiles do not control driver seat position.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/20/2022 09:05 AM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KS
gravatar
KAYLI S.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/24/2022
Verified Review

Cute but not worth $35k

This vehicle is nice. Just very basic interior. Blue link and Apple CarPlay both stopped working or didn’t work from the beginning. Tried working with the service dept and no one has actually fixed anything. Walked me through the restart and reboot but all just settled with putting in a “ticket”.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/25/2022 11:14 AM
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KR
gravatar
KRISTY R.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/10/2022
Verified Review

Nice design but terrible handling bad weather

The Kona 2023 is a pretty car, good price. However the handling in rain and on wet and muddy roads is not that great. It feels like it wants to hydroplane or slide. The engine has a ticking or just plain weird noise while running. The radio sounds nice, it has a nice big screen that displays the radio channels, maps, other apps you may want. The alerts letting you know that there is a car coming up besides you or a car is passing behind you while parked is great, but very annoying. The backup camera is clear. I don't think I would purchase another one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 12/12/2022 01:10 PM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

DB
gravatar
DONALD B.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/17/2022
Verified Review

Dealer used bait and switch tactics

Dealer lured me in with a finance deal and choice of colors, both of which did not exist. Also implied Smart Drive and SCC were the same. Would never have leased without SCC which is necessity at my age.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 12/22/2022 09:03 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Donald. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into your situation further. Thank you. ^cc

TK
gravatar
Thomas K.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/18/2022
Verified Review

Could have been better!

Good little car but expensive for what you get. Good performance and gas mileage but stiff suspension and a lot of road noise. Some nose options but missing others. Heated seats but no heated steering wheel.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TL
gravatar
Tyson L.
2023 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/27/2023

Fun safe car.

Purchased a 2022 Hyundai Kona Limited. At 14,922 miles I had to have a new transmission put in. Fast forward to 23,800 miles had to have a new turbo installed. Two major componets failed within the first 25,000 miles. Luckily all was covered under my warranty. Looking past those major repairs I love my car. Car is fun to drive and does great in the snow and mud. The all wheel drive system is awesome. One of my favorite features is the HDA. Highway driving assist is amazing. Worth every penny I spent on this car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CP
gravatar
CURTIS P.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/15/2022
Verified Review

Lots of features, but cheap interior plastics

We really enjoy all of the features that Hyundai offers in its vehicles. The engine is peppy and the Kona is easy to manuever. However, the use of hard plastics in the interior, especially for the door arm rests, are a drawback. Before purchasing, make sure to take a test drive and notice where your elbows rest. That hard plastic on the door arm rest is quite uncomfortable. For $25k, a little padding should be there.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PG
gravatar
PAUL G.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/18/2022
Verified Review

Kona

This is my first car and I have had a good experience so far. I gave not had any issues or concerns. Car is easy to drive and the technology is easy to figure out. Has enough space to put the things you need in the back seat or trunk area.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ES
gravatar
EDUARDO S.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/23/2022
Verified Review

Great driving experience

The Kona I got was a pretty basic package without all the bells and whistles and honestly, even without all of that it is still a pretty great car. It smoothly accelerates, the brakes have a good timing response and the driving assist features are a great addition. The display system is easy to navigate and I like that there is a place to put your phone and charge it (that isnt in the cupholders). Overall, it's a good car, especially if it's your first one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MA
gravatar
MARTINO A.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2022
Verified Review

Very efficient, perfect size and affordable

This car is perfect for me to drive to work; perfect size for a driver of one and really good on the fuel efficiency. The dealer that helped me though this experience was extremely nice and helpful and really allowed me to be able to afford my dream car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RS
gravatar
RICHARD S.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/13/2022
Verified Review

Cost Effective EV automobile

Great car for the price and ease of EV purchase was efficient by the dealership; however, personal financing was not accepted. Availability of EV cars is lacking with supply chain issues and demand. Vehicle is stylish and matches with other products offered by Hyundai.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CC
gravatar
CARLOS C.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/14/2022
Verified Review

lots of potential

the range of the EV is really comfortable for normal use, The interior is good, but with some limitations. Acceleration is outstanding, Finishing touches are a bit rough. documentation does not match my model in some areas.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WW
gravatar
WILLIAM W.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/28/2022
Verified Review

So far, so good.

So far so good. Some dash items and steering wheel controls not intuitive. Have to push buttons on steering wheel too many times to see what I want. Not a fan of GPS horizon display. Can it be changed?? Not a fan of muted GPS road color.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KP
gravatar
Kimberly P.
2023 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/03/2022

Kona

I have only had my SUV for 3 weeks so far I love it I gave 4 stars because I wish the trunk space was more roomy but other than that a great vehicle so far and I still learning all my safety features
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MP
gravatar
MARY ANN RABI P.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/05/2022
Verified Review

Kona

It’s efficient car to use everyday. Though it has a bit small cargo I liked that it has a privacy board on it. Good acceleration when driving and very responsive. It’s cute for me as I like it better than sedan cars.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RC
gravatar
Ronn C.
2023 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/20/2022

Good choice

Downsized from my Tucson. I love my Kona. Sharp care especially white. Good response not slow at all. Comfortable seating and you sit higher. I absolutely love the style.A bit noisy, a lot of wind and road noise. Had it up to 75 on the freeway and began to get rough. Fine with me as I don't plan that being a habit. I do miss the storage in the back as for me it's disappointing but I was up for it. Otherwise I love the car. Get white!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JOHN G.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/22/2022
Verified Review

love the looks of the car

30 day review I purchased the car new, and have driven 1200+ miles the overall storage capacity is OK, the rear head room does leave room for improvement if your passenger is over 6ft it will be a tight fit
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ET
gravatar
ELIZABETH T.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/23/2022
Verified Review

fine

it is a computer which is not at all intuitive and is has entirely too many levels to achieve results. i have only had it for a month but am constantly frustrated as i am reasonable good at this stuff.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ZM
gravatar
ZULIMAR M.
2023 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/29/2022
Verified Review

Convenient small SUV

Not too big, not too small, good in gas, easy to drive, pretty good price. I did have two problems. The touchs screen was super low for like 3 weeks and the bottom in the stirring wheel to change the music was built backwards so that is pretty confusing and annoying, when I told the salesperson he said that a few of the new Hyundais had that problem.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 178 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Randall Noe Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(377 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(9) ReScores