Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1214 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1214 Reviews)

Reviews


TP
gravatar
TILDON P.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/14/2021
Verified Review

Poor Design

I feel the vehicle is poorly designed. Mice and other small creatures can easily make their way into the vehicle. I've had the vehicle less than a month and now have a dead mouse which I cannot get to. It smells horrid.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TC
gravatar
TERRY C.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/13/2021
Verified Review

not satisfactary

I'm not satisfied with my brand new 2022 Santa crus ,made mistake of buying one for myself and one for my wife The Santa Cruz took us in with its looks an charm ,but after owning the this vehicle for MONTH we find it to have no power and durability ,I believe our new vehicles will be lucky to make 50,000 miles before we have mechanical issues .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TC
gravatar
TERRY C.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/16/2021
Verified Review

Santa crus just not happy with this vehicle no power

The Santa crus just not a well made vehicle, will not last in the long road a head ,regret buying two of them one for me and the wife this vehicle has no power made cheaply just it is what it is no need to cry apart it hopefully will be able to trade them in down the road
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
SCOTT M.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/25/2022
Verified Review

Steer Clear of this vehicle it has been a nightmare. Worst car buying experience I have ever had.

I traded in a paid off Kona and bought a brand-new Santa Cruz and have had nothing but issues. Bought it in October and am still waiting for the issue to get fixed. The brand-new brakes squeal. When coming to a slow stop there is a sweet spot when depressing the brake. When you hit this spot, a loud squeal comes from the front brakes. I had taken it up to the dealership where I bought it from a total of three times. Each time they would tell me it was fixed. Within the next day the brakes started squealing again. First time they put anti-squeal goo on the brakes to hide the squeal, second time replaced the brake pads with Santa Fe brake pads. I had a confrontation with the general manager that was extremely rude. When all I was looking for was answers and help. I was also told by staff at the dealership that I just need to deal with the squeal sound. I asked them would Hyundai be responsible for any death or damage if I were just to "deal" with the squeal sound? The squealing from the brakes indicate I need new brakes. So, if I were to just get used to it, and the time came for new brakes, I would never know because I had been just "dealing with it". It wasn't till I left negative feedback on the dealerships google page that seemed to get the ball rolling. I took the Santa Cruz in January 3rd, I am still waiting to get it back. It is January 25 as I write this. I am making a payment and paying interest on a vehicle I am not driving that the dealership has had for almost a month. I was informed that 3 engineers had to be flown in to take my braking system apart and ship it off to figure out why it is squealing on a brand-new vehicle. I was also informed that the interior molding in the passenger front window was damaged at the factory. The molding at the base of the window was pulled up. So they are now waiting on a part to replace that. After all of this, I am very hesitant to recommend this vehicle or Hyundai now to anyone else. My trust in the dealership is shot as well as the brand. I am also having issues with the computer system. When selecting a drive mode, it keeps resetting to a default Snow. Every time I shut the vehicle off it defaults to Snow. I have to go and change the drive setting back to Smart mode, this is super annoying. The sunroof, I have to press the sunroof button twice to get it to open fully. It was told to me that either some or all of my vehicle came out of an Alabama plant. So maybe there is issues with this vehicle from that plant? After all this I would warn anyone buying this vehicle to be very wary. Ask a lot of questions. Talking with two of my coworkers I came to find out they two have had problems with their Hyundai's. One actually had the same experience with the general manager I had issues with. Both had issues with their Hyundai's. But never reported it. I told them that people need to report these things because by not doing so, the dealership, and Hyundai either won't know that these things are going on, or they are in fact hiding these issues. So, talk to people as them their experiences with the dealership, with the vehicle. Can save you a whole lot of pain and frustration, and money.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CS
gravatar
CHAD S.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/26/2022
Verified Review

Not Worth the Hype

The infotainment system is crap. It can’t tow anything worth towing and the bed is just shy of 5 feet so you can’t fit anything. I had way more cargo space in my Honda Civic hatchback and the 2017 tech was 1000 times better.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DH
gravatar
DONALD H.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/02/2022
Verified Review

Displeased

Brand new vehicle with dangerous intermittent drive train failure. Dealer diagnosed need to replace "engine control module." Dealer cannot obtain part. This is unacceptable. I reached out to Hyundai (New York?) for help. Result: No help. I routinely tell friends neighbors, strangers NOT to buy a Santa Cruz.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 03/04/2022 07:54 AM
Customer satisfaction is one of Hyundai's top priorities. We appreciate you reaching out to us to express your concerns. A case has been created to address your engine concerns and one of our team members will be contacting you directly.

JK
gravatar
JACOB K.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/01/2022
Verified Review

Leaves a lot to be desired

Have had issues regarding media system freezing, then the screen turning black for sometimes over a minute before the system reboots itself. Engine and transmission. Headlights also have large blind spot on drivers side.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 04/01/2022 09:05 AM
Thank you for providing your feedback, Jacob. We have created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate representatives who will be in touch with you shortly to further discuss your concerns. ^cc

AP
gravatar
AARON P.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/15/2022
Verified Review

Dealership looks like used car lot. Salespeople are unprofessional, management is the worst I have ever seen.

Dealership was horrible. Looked like a side of the road car dealership. Employees especially management should be replaced. Overall Hyundai should close this location asap. I will be switching to a dealership that does things right next time….
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JL
gravatar
JING L.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/08/2022
Verified Review

Bad customer service

I complained some questions to Hyundai consumer office. The customer service asked me to find the financial department. The financial department asked me to find customer office since I paid the cashier check, not a loan. I had to submit a complaint to Hyundai consumer office. The consumer office asked me to contact with dealership. I called tons of time. The Kendall Hyundai of Miami manager is no more response because I already paid full. After paying, the customer will not get any service again. They kick off the ball. Until now no response, no solution. They force me to go to the court.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/08/2022 09:36 AM
We're terribly sorry to learn of your experience, Jing. We have assigned your case to one of our corporate representatives, Lenore, who will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

BL
gravatar
BEVERLY L.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/24/2022
Verified Review

Engine control system failure

Bought it new and already in the shop with 1100 miles and 2 weeks later it is still there. I am very disappointed with the vehicle and the poor service I am receiving from the Hyundai dealership. I will not recommend hyundai again
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/24/2022 10:27 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Beverly. We have created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate representatives who will be in touch with you shortly to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

JB
gravatar
JASEN B.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/26/2022
Verified Review

Bluelink is a tracking mechanism

The dealership activated the bluelink without my knowledge or consent. No one explained to me how bluelink consent allows them to track your Geo location 24/7 And your driving behavior as well as create a Dossier on you including public and nonpublic information, things that would scare you they will release your information without a subpoena or warrant based on an informal investigation. Driving a blue Link equipped car is tantamount to giving away your fourth amendment right and allowing them to compile information about you in a database that surely is less secure than many that have been breached. Read the TOS and privacy policy.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/27/2022 07:28 AM
Hello, Jasen. Please feel free to contact our BlueLink customer care team at (855) 225-8354, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

JB
gravatar
JEAN B.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/26/2022
Verified Review

Don’t like it!

I don’t like it cause it uses a lot of gas. Their is a lot of things they don’t have in the interior. No CD player, no place to put your sunglasses. A lot of wasted space on the dashboard. No a/c or heat in the rear. No speakers in the rear. Etc
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JB
gravatar
J B.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/28/2022

Contact with bluelink customer service is a data collection mechanism

The dealership activated and created a bluelink account without my knowledge or consent. When I discovered and revealed bluelink is a tracking mechanism and all the problems involved, a response tells me to contact bluelink customer service. Oh I just wish it was that easy. Per the bluelink TOS, if I call bluelink customer service, I agree to them collecting data from me DURING that call, to include biometrics, voice print any and all data you can get to add to the overreaching dossier that your TOS directs you will create. So the dealership illegally gave my consent without my knowledge and consent, they activated the bluelink and every day that goes by there is further injury and further invasion of my privacy. The dealership can’t deactivate it Hyundai customer care won’t do anything except tell me to call bluelink like the response. I wonder if the person responding has ever even read the TOS? if they had they would realize my whole issue is the right to privacy and I’m not gonna give it up by calling bluelink customer service when your TOS says you will collect all possible data from me to add to the dossier, if I do. No the dealership illegally activated it and you are illegally invading my privacy by tracking me. The dealership or Hyundai has the duty to to deactivate it, as they illegally activated it impersonating me. Otherwise, I will have to move forward with legal remedies.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AC
gravatar
ANNETTE C.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/01/2022
Verified Review

Scratch on driver door interior

We have asked them to fix it and they will not call me back.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!6?6?5,4;5)7!8$6?4,6!8!( f Ginny r I ubtvtctvubu f r y I y f I I have go gvinh if it fu ur it if ur oh if ur it ur it if
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CB
gravatar
CHARLES B.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/02/2022
Verified Review

Won't run.

Fix my truck, maybe I can give you a review. For now it is just sitting a dealership collecting dirt and dust. Hasn't been running for twenty two (22)days. They keep saying we're waiting on parts!!!!!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GF
gravatar
Gary F.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/23/2022
Verified Review

Has problems and dealer could care less

I’ve taken this heap of junk to the dealer and they tel me nothings wrong with it. Buyer beware, I’d you have issues the dealers will not support you or even try to find a solution to the issue. They’ll just tell you they can’t find a problem
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/25/2022 07:59 AM
Hello, Gary. We're very sorry to learn of your experience. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

TS
gravatar
THOMAS S.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/06/2022
Verified Review

Not a happy Hyundai owner

We drove our brand new vehicle for 2 1/2 days before it died. It has now been at the dealership for 30 days and it is still not fixed. To say we are dissatisfied and disappointed is putting it lightly
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/09/2022 07:24 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Thomas. We have passed along your survey to your case manager. They will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

KT
gravatar
KYLE T.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/07/2022
Verified Review

Engine is not reliable

I am currently on my second Santa Cruz. My engine went in my first one at 948 miles, and the replacement I was put in is experiencing a similar engine knock at around the same mileage. I regret this purchase and am extremely disappointed, as I have been waiting over a year to purchase one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/09/2022 07:21 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Kyle. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

JL
gravatar
Jane L.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/11/2022

Just trash!!

Headlight was out within 6 months then another 6 months with the same side, after changed the second times of headlight now the break and turning lights! Also the passenger door was rattled after drive a few months and the most annoyed is the driver door got defect every time you open and close sounds like about to break apart, plus the bed door included the sliding on the top sometime it’s slide and open by itself! I wouldn’t recommend to anyone! Stay away!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LK
gravatar
LAWRENCE K.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/18/2022
Verified Review

Dont buy this ride.

More time in shop then my drive way. Dont buy dont buy can I say dont buy No way no how. ...................................................................................................................................
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/18/2022 12:33 PM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Lawrence. Should you need assistance, please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151. They would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1196 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Dick Smith Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2933 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(140) ReScores