Business Solutions

2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(163 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(163 Reviews)

Reviews


VO
gravatar
VALERIE O.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/18/2023
Verified Review

Service engine soon light on with under 2,000 miles

Service engine soon light is on with less than 2,000 miles. Went to the dealership and they said it was an $1,100 repair on us because there was a hole in the bottom of the engine that we caused. It has never been driven over or hit underneath while we've owned it but it's now our problem to fix. We bought it brand new.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/18/2023 01:22 PM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Valerie. Please know that we have assigned your concerns to one of our corporate representatives. They will be in touch with you to discuss your situation further. Thank you. 

RA
gravatar
RANDALL A.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/28/2023
Verified Review

Great design but not that great but weak and hesitant

Engine issues no power hesitant and bed is small enough to constitute a hitch accelerates slow after full stop burns more fuel then expected , transmission jumps when changing gears feels like the car has a governor installed which control the speed
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MF
gravatar
MIGUEL F.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/29/2022
Verified Review

Great small truck but I had an issue

One month into purchasing a brand new 2023 Santa Cruz I had to have it service. The engine over heat light came on while I was on the highway. Had to stop and pull over immediately. Opened the hood and coolant was everywhere. The belt to the water pump "disintegrated"(dealership words). It took 7 days for a belt to come in. It took 3 days to get a rental. Apparently there is a wait list for rentals due to all the service issues. I gave it a 2 because of that. Lets see if we can go a year with no issues and that might change.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 11/29/2022 07:44 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Miguel. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

LM
gravatar
LINDA M.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/12/2022
Verified Review

Not happy

They stilll have not tinted my winows or put my towing package on they say they will come pick up mu truck and dont and dont let me know they are not coming please call me and get this rectified also i have not received promps the daid they would give me
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 12/13/2022 08:58 AM
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

CE
gravatar
CORNELIUS E.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/24/2022
Verified Review

Santa cruz

Very nice vehicle needs a few more comfort convenience features more space inside, heads up display, wifi hotspot bigger cup holders, automatic door locks when exiting vehicle, better lighting inside vehicle
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MH
gravatar
MICHAEL H.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/03/2023
Verified Review

Watch out

Don’t pay over MSRP. It’s not worth more than MSRP. It’s nice but it’s not big enough to pay extra for it. Make sure your dealer also does not charge you for stuff like anti theft insurance. And if you get the extended warranty check out what the deductible will be
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/03/2023 02:28 PM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Michael. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into your situation further. Thank you. 

TC
gravatar
TRICIA C.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/21/2023
Verified Review

Love the car, terrible paint job

I love the beauty of the car and the styling, as well as the performance. The paint job is absolutely terrible with multiple blemishes, missing paint, scuffs, and the clearcoat, and missing paint in the chrome.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/23/2023 08:08 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Tricia. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. 

DC
gravatar
DAVID C.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/30/2022
Verified Review

2023 Santa Cruz

Lobe the style over the Ford maverick. Wish price was comparable but the Santa Cruz stands out like a sore thumb with the sage green. That's the best part I hate all cars that look alike now a days. The day-time running lights are cool to.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RG
gravatar
ROSE G.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/12/2022
Verified Review

Fun and Convenient Truck

It's a fun truck to drive and convenient for light hauling and shopping. Wish the front seats were built to be more comfortable. Disappointed that the driver seat does not have a memory setting for each driver.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DE
gravatar
DOUGLAS E.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/01/2022
Verified Review

It's as cool as it looks!

The 2023 Santa Cruz limited is actually a reasonably powerful truck as well as being a comfortable SUV. For the price the mileage is also reasonable for being able to tow 5000lbs. Best feature is the cruise control with automatic steering. Honestly I look forward to driving this car on the highway just to use that feature.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

gravatar
G.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/29/2022
Verified Review

New Santa Cruz

I bought this as a secondary vehicle for my business. I haven't put a lot of miles on it yet as it is a back up vehicle, but it so far seems to be a solid small truck. It was this or a Ford Maverick. The Maverick has a better price point but in the end the styling of the Santa Cruz won. This is the first foreign car I have purchased since 1986 , so I hope it treats me well.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GS
gravatar
Gilbert S.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/01/2022
Verified Review

23 santa cruz sel

Very nice vehicle, lower trims need better lighting and more power. Styling is great and the ride is very smooth. If you don't need the full size truck bed then this a very good option. Wish it was a hybrid.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FL
gravatar
Fred L.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/17/2022

Great vehicle but needs power passenger seat and memory function.

We’ve only had this car 2 weeks but love it so far. Comfortable and surprisingly quick. The bed with under bed storage and tonneau cover is great. We have gotten better mileage than is listed. Wish it had knobs for radio but isn’t a big deal. Setting up all the functions is time consuming and confusing until you get the hang of it. Accessories are expensive and are much higher than if they had come on the vehicle. For example, running boards as an option are about $600.00-$700.00. Purchased as an accessory they are about $1100.00. ???. Overall though we are more than satisfied.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CS
gravatar
CATHY S.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/17/2022
Verified Review

sporty but Hyundai needs to rethink bed cover

this truck is fun to drive and looks sporty , but cannot understand why a company would put a built in bed cover ( making it difficult to change ) that is not water proof making it hard to travel with ( putting luggage/ clothes/ purses) or even taking it to the grocery
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KE
gravatar
KEVIN E.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/19/2022
Verified Review

Pleased with the vehicle

So far we are pleased with the vehicle. Gas mileage could be a little better, but overall not bad. Wish the back seat had a little more leg room. We are still learning about all of the features. We will be taking a trip soon and will be able to jusge the vehicle more then.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JT
gravatar
JOHN T.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/22/2022
Verified Review

Darn nice and loaded with up-to-date features.

I am very comfortable with this vehicle. The options make driving this vehicle a pleasure and I don’t buy anything that’s slow. And it is certainly not that! I do miss not having a place for my sunglasses, side window defoggers and beepers/auto braking to keep me from hitting something while parking or backing up. Great camera, though. I also wanted a truck bed that was as low as possible. Unfortunately, this bed is higher than a Mavericks. Also I bought the most loaded out, top of the line model delivered that month to the dealer and it was missing a trailer hitch. I bought a truck with 5000 pound towing capacity. So, wheres the hitch? If the hitch and harness came from the factory, it would add $450. At the dealer, it was over $1000 to install, supposedly at their cost. What??? And I like to lock/ unlock the doors with a button on the handle but this vehicle only has areas where you rest your hand for a moment to get into or lock vehicle. Less reliable in cold or wet conditions requiring you to dig out your key fob to accomplish the job. Truck bed with factory cover is not waterproof. Tailgate is barely manageable by one’s self to remove or replace. I dropped mine because of the bulk, weight and awkwardness. But I love the rims with MICHELIN tires attached, thank you very much. Most Mavericks had some sort of off road package which is worthless to me and they include noisy, knobby tires. And lastly, the engine and transmission setup is far superior in performance, sound and feel vs. Ford Maverick. Not to mention a huge hp/torque advantage.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DD
gravatar
DANIEL D.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/24/2022
Verified Review

Looks great, feels great. Could use more features.

Better to say what it could use then type. I have ideas that would benefit Hyundai this truck is very advanced for what it is. However, again, it is better to speak it, then type it. This truck has so much potential.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EP
gravatar
ELLEN P.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/27/2022
Verified Review

Powerful and stylish.

We looked for 2 years for a new vehicle. It had to have an ability to carry our equipment we use for our disaster relief but be an everyday vehicle when we are home. Check. Check. We looked at dealership but nothing could be found. We went on YouTube and say a few reviews of the new Santa Cruz. I called a dealership but there was none to be even trial driven. We took a leap and ordered a brand new SC and put all our preferences in it. It was easy enough. (Much easier than programming the phone pairing.) There is a lot of reading there. I would ask that they offer more paint and seat options. I am not fond of the leather used.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CJ
gravatar
CHRISTOPHER J.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/09/2023
Verified Review

Santa Cruz

I have really liked this vehicle so far. There are a lot of good features, and the styling is awesome. I am hoping that it lives up to the Hyundai brand. I also really love the 10 yr 100,000 mile warranty. I didn't want to get a full size truck and this truck works great for DIY projects, trips to the store, and anything else I need it for without having a big truck.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CD
gravatar
CHRISTOPHER D.
2023 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/21/2023
Verified Review

Sporty

Sporty performance for a mini pickup. Versatile. Limited has great features, 10 inch navigation screen. Digital instrument cluster. Heated & Vented front seats. Roomy interior, good foot room in rear seats.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 155 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Selma Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(468 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(19) ReScores