2002
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87
4.9
(62 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DW
Dennis W.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/23/2016
Santa Fe
Seals apparently dry out causiing oil leaks. Appears to be a design flaw. Perhaps different material in the manufacture of the seals might correct the problem.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gloria B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/23/2016
My Hyundai Santa Fe
Best vehicle that I have owned!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IC
INA C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/29/2017
Nice car
It's a good car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carol B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2017
Pleased and satified
I feel confident that the work preformed is A OK
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Miguel H.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2017
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Comfortable and affordable SUV.

Pros
Comfortable. It feels like driving a regular car. I have driven this car for over 150,000 miles, and the engine has been reliable so far. The cost of this new car was $21,000 the lowest you can get with a good warranty for an SUV.

Cons
The exterior paint started fading after the first 3 or 4 years. Starting the 5th year, the exterior paint was so faded and it looked ugly. The new paint job cost me $3,000. Inside the car, the LED light indicators for doors, windows, and stereo have been burned out or mulfunctioning after 3 to 4 years as well. For the transmission after 140,000 miles of driving, it broke down on me while driving on highway 101 in San Jose, CA. This cost me another $3,000 for repair.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Penny C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/25/2017
My Santa FE
I love my Santa Fe. wish I could afford a new one. Mine is a 2002.. But it's been good to me. I have only had several problems with the air conditioning but I beiieve that it was poor mechanics/repair places that took me to the cleaners. Would buy a new one if I could.

Cons
air conditioning problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Cindy R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/17/2017
Hyundai Sante FE 2002
Love my 2002 Sante Fe. It has been good to me. It is getting older as any vehicle with keeping up the maintenance it is going run as long as you take care of it. Aside from a few recent major repairs due to its age, I LOVE IT! Would I buy another one? Yes, I would.

Pros
4wd!

Cons
Until gets older - NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kelly R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/10/2018
DIE HARD HONDA FAN BUT SATISFIED WITH THIS HYUNDAI
This car was a gift from my mom which was purchased brand new 16 years ago. It's had a pretty good history. I've sold Honda and owned MANY Hondas. This car has helped me stop looking down on the other 'H'.

Pros
Reliable
Cost to maintain is decent
Nimble

Cons
Lesser attractive Santa Fe out of all (but it was the first one out)
Gas mileage is mediocre.
Sometimes seems to have too much torque (I own 2WD) especially while accelerating while turning a corner. Can feel car trying to grip to maintain traction.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Patricia J.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2015
Oldie but Good-E
Love my Hyundai Santa Fe even after all these years
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Elnore H.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/18/2015
service my Hyundai
love my hyundai

Pros
very reliable would love to be able to buy a new one I have 176000 miles on my 2002

Cons
cost a lot for repairs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Don Kent L.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/22/2016
HYUNDAI RUN FOR EVER
iF YOU MAINTAIN THE CAR IT WILL RUN AND RUN TRYING FOR 300,000 MILES
ONLY NEED ANOTHER 82 000 A FEW MORE YEARS
THEY ARE A GOOD FAMILY CAR.

Pros
OTHER THAN THE PLASTIC ON THE DOOR HANDLES EVERY THING IS GREAT

Cons
UP GRADE THE RADIO

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CATHERINE M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2016
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe.
I love my car. Even though it's now 14 years old, it's runs beautifully. Interior leather seats still in perfect condition as well as other interior fixings. I would recommend this car and have many times. I know at least 4 people who bought Hyundais on my word. They love their cars too.

Pros
Minimal repairs in 14 years.

Cons
Coating covering paint I'd peeling and looks terrible. Can't afford to repainted, but I love this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LA
Lorena A.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2016
Hyundai Santa Fe
Own it for 14 years and it still rides smoothly! Love it!

Pros
I love my Hyundai!!! After owning it for 14 years the only recent repair ever needed has been the starter.

Cons
Glad the shape of the front of the car changed. Love the newer models!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2016
Hyundai Santa Fe
My 2002 Hyundia Santa Fe continues to run great with proper maintence. I would buy another. It has been a reliable auto to own.

Pros
Very reliable.

Cons
Could use more leg room. Great car if you are not over 6.2 feet tall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Beverly B.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2016
2002 Hyundai
I purchased my vehicle new in 2002. I have kept up with the general items that need to be done, such as changing oil, etc. The only major repair has been the air conditioning in 2014. My next purchase will be a Hyundai Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Renee H.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2016
My Santa Fe
I love my 2002 Hyundai Santa Fe. It has been a good car through the years and never has given me any problems. The style has held its own. Besides driving to work it hauls my kayaks and bikes. Roomy inside, comfortable to drive and powerful enough engine.

Pros
Runs great, no major problems. Handles well. Lots of room, fun to drive.

Cons
Silver paint faded after 7 years and had to get it repainted. Acceleration is alittle slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Dale J.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2016
The best vehicle I have ever owned. I have never kept a vehicle this long (2002 - 2016). I have had no significant problem.
Same as above
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Nina C.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2016
2002
Dennis Hyundai

Pros
heated leather seats

Cons
small, 2 wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charles G.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2016
How has it been for "14" years?!
It is amazing how well "MY" 2QQ2 has held up for 245K miles and is still going strong!!

Pros
What can I say "this vehicles is great & I expect many years and miles to come.

Cons
NO cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Laurel R.
2002 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2016
2002 Santa Fe
I loved this car when I bought it and I still love it. It still runs & looks great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 62 in total