2003
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5rating 4.86
4.9
(96 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

IM
Imogene M.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2017
Santa Fe Hyundai
Only part that had to be replaced in the past 14 years was the starter. After 141,000 miles I finally just had to have the power steering replaced and the two rods that balance the Santa Fe in the front end from swaying left to right. The only money that I have spent on this car was for the normal suggested routine manufacturers maintenance. If you take care of your car it will be faithful to you. If I ever need to purchase another car it will be a Hyundai. Their service is excellent. Their staff is pleasant and easy to work with and I have never had to return the car to have routine maintenance redone.

Pros
All of the above

Cons
Can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
H B.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2017
May Be Older, But Still the Best
Our SUV continues to provide us comfortable ride and dependable service -- even after many years. When we get a new SUV, it will be a Hyundai,

Pros
Amazing. 14 years old -- and still the best.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Joanne K.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2017
Don't know what to insert in this place. What do you mean by "vehicle review title"/
Same question as above question.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
Betty E.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2017
5 Star Review
My 2003 Santa Fe runs great and only has 89,000 miles on it ... I love this car and will be taking it back to Advance Smog whenever it need an oil change or any other work done to it.

Pros
I can only say good things about my car. I have had it since 2003 and never had any trouble with it..It gets good gas mileage, runs smooth and rides like a dream.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
GLORIA A.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/30/2017
Great car
In the beginning I don't want this car but the I tried and love it!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HN
Harold N.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2017
2003 Santa Fe
I purchased this vehicle second hand. It has provided me years (10) of reliable use with minimal service issues. I would buy one again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2017
Hyundai Santa Fe Keeps Going and Going
I'd do it all over again. This was the best choice in 2001. And again with a second 2003 later on as a used car.

Pros
Great looking small SUV. When I bought mine in 2001 it was less expensive than all the others and only lacked the moon roof I wanted. Great 4WD system with traction control always keeps me going in the worst snow.

We bought another Santa Fe, a 2003 model. These cars are easy to work on and keep going and going.

Cons
Power. In 2001 only the 2.7 L V6 was available. They later added a 3.5 L that I hear did improve things a bunch.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Judith R.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2017
Awesome vehicle
This is my "baby". I have hauled mulch, landscaping bricks, etc. in this vehicle. I take it to Suntrup for any service needed and they have never talked me into anything I didn't need. The interior is very comfortable and held up beautifully in spite of using for all sorts of chores. I had trouble with the ac but have gotten that finally fixed. This suv is 14 years old and I am just now replacing some of the mechanical parts. Even had the original battery up until 2 years ago. I love this Santa Fe. It even has a cassette player so I can listen to my favorite tapes. I will be devastated if something ever happens to this car.

Pros
It is just the right size for me. Love the cassette player. Live everything about this SUV.

Cons
Did have problems with the a/c. Wish I would have gotten a sun roof.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ramona M.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2017
Hyundai Santa Fe 2003
I love this vehicle. I have not had any issues for many years and I own this vehicle for approximately 14 years. I purchased it as a used vehicle in 2003 and I have felt safe and comfortable in this vehicle for all these years. During the last few years I have had many issues with my Santa Fe, and I believe that is because of the age of the vehicle. I am sad to think that I will have to give this vehicle up in the near future, because I don't want to put any more BIG money into it at it's age. I would recommend this vehicle, however, that is assuming the vehicle is still built as well as it was in 2003.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Bonnie B.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2017
2003 Santa Fe
I have owned this vehicle for 14 years and have had absolutely no issues with it. I love the car. Even at 14 years of age, I am still very confident in driving it and feel safe and secure. Reliability is huge for me and this car has never let me down. Because of the age, I am considering purchasing a new car and will most likely do that in the next 6 months.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Linda H.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/19/2017
2003 still running
Love it.

Pros
Great car

Cons
Rusting underneath and clear coat peeling off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Barry C.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/02/2017
Great Car
I bought this used in 2010 with 60,000 miles (one owner) and currently have 198,000 and is still going strong. The only item is rust at the rear quarter panels where the bumper meets the body at the wheel well. If you look at these cars in similar years (Santa Fe) they all have this issue. Mine will be repaired this summer. I intend to run for another 100,000 at least.

Cons
rust spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Judith W.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2017
Santa Fe
Absolutely love the Santa Fe!!. It may be an older vehicle but it is still very comfortable to drive, sturdy and handles well on the road. Very glad I bought it!!

Pros
Great on performance and drive ability!!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Robert G.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/20/2017
Santa Fe
Have the car 14 years and have enjoyed driving my Santa Fe. Would like to keep it as long as possible.

Pros
Comfortable to drive

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Pam P.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2017
Hyundai is a great buy.
I own a 2003 Santa Fe. This car offers excellent mileage, has had few to no problems maintainance wise, and is very comfortable to drive. The rear hatch area is roomy enough for the biggest shopping trip, leg room is sufficient in both the back and front seats, and the turning radius is remarkably tight for an SUV so this size. For a car that is fourteen years old, with seven of those years in the north near the ocean and salt and now south in a windy and dust prone area, the body has remained in remarkable condition. If I were to buy another car it would be another Santa Fe without a doubt as there are very few to no cons regarding this vehicle.

Pros
See comments in vehicle summary.

Cons
It would have been nice if auto windows only opened part way rather than all the way whenever the button is touched, which requires driver to play with button to get windows where they are wanted, but this is personal issue and not really a problem with vehicle overall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Azure Dee L.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2017
Love my Santa fe
My first vehicle and I love it. Great on gas. Love the trunk space.. we shop alot so need lots of room for bags. Didn't feel safe driving a big ol' truck that's why I love my Santa fe . Just the right size for someone who's 5'3 . I don't feel like I have to climb in or jump out. It's perfect.. someone ran a red light the other day and hit us hard. When I saw the damage it was shocking I thought it would be terrible. Nope just bent in by the wheel .. it won't start but we are all safe and walked away with no scrapes just a little sore. I can't wait to get her fixed cause I don't want another car ..

Pros
Size is great for shorter people. Trunk space love it. Great in an accident.

Cons
Could use a few more inches in the back seat..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Ruth V.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2017
My car
Love my car.

Pros
Great car

Cons
Wish I could afford another one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Betty B.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/04/2017
Perfect Pair
My 2003 Canyon Red Santa Fe and I are a perfect pair. In a crowd we're both easy to pick out. She has given me great service since I first bought her. I'm not sure how old she is in car years but I'm eighty so I think we're pretty close. Brown's Hyundai has always taken care of her and, in a way, they have taken care of me, too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Louis C.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2016
Excellent car.
The V6 2003 Santa Fe is the best vehicle I have ever had. You just need to keep the maintenance up todate on this vehicle to reap the benefits of a great car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Eric A.
2003 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2016
Versatility
Notwithstanding the age, my Santa Fe is still resilient.

Pros
Versatility

Cons
Nil

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 96 in total