2004
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81
4.8
(124 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


LB
Larry B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/14/2017
Sant Fe
I bought a 2004 Santa Fe,love the car bought the paint job is bad..not sure I'd buy another one now.

Pros
It's dependable

Cons
Not sure paint job would last on another one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lasonia B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/28/2017
Good review
Would like the newer version

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kara M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/16/2017
Kara M
Bought my car in 2004. Love this car but have just about replaced every major part. Still have the original "rattling" in the engine when the engine gets hot though. They would never admit there was a problem. But I love the comfort and drive ability of my car. Have 176,000 miles on it. Radio suck though!!

Pros
Easy driving. Good cargo space. Lots of room for passengers.

Cons
Multiple mechanical problems that Hyundai would not take responsibility for. Center counsel where heater and radio in, the lights keep burning out and I have replaced the blower switch 2 times. Also, the gear shit light burns out fast. These "minor" fixes cost a lot cause you have to remove the panels.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Darnell L.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2016
2004-A year to remember
Good vehicle, does the job required

Pros
Gas efficiency, good power, durability

Cons
No speed, no 7 passenger version, no standard features,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
Frank T.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2016
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Car gave twelve years of good service. Time to retire the old girl.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Fairly versatile. Just what was needed at the time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kelly H.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/14/2016
love my Sante Fe
With the exceptions of some sensor issues I. Hadwhen i first got my usedSUV, once they were corrected, the car has given me lots of driving pleasure.

Down side, clear coat wote off several yrs after buying it.

Pros
Control, style

Cons
Paint wore off too soon after purchase. Runs a little loud.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Theodore B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/15/2016
Ted
Runs OK pleased so far
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bruce P.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/01/2016
Dependable...
...unlike the 4 VWs I owned before that were always in the dealers garage.

Pros
Makes driving in snow easy. Definitely would buy another one.

Cons
Eats more gas than I'd like. Turning radius is larger than desired.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Janet M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/08/2016
My Santa Fe story
My 2004 santa fe is the BEST car i have ever owned.....bought it brand new and i have never regretted that decision since..I do take care of the car , the oil changed the tires rotated and all that but i have to say i replaced 1 battery, and i just did $1000.00 work on it but the SUV is gonna be 13 years old in April 2017......I LOVE my SUV!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Josephine D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/20/2016
Everyone in the Service dept is so helpful.I been coming to island Hyundai for 10 yrs never had a problem,
I did recommend Island Hyundai to my friends and relatives

Pros
HEATER IS GREAT LOTS OF TRUNK SPACE RECLINING FRONT SEATS.

Cons
RADIO RECEPTION STATIC REAR VIEW MIRROR NOT A GREAT VIEW DISTANCE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandi M.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/14/2016
Love my car
I love my Santa Fe. I've had it since it was new and I haven't had any major issues with it. The only "issue" over the years is that on occasion, the transmission slips, especially while I am stopped. I've had it in several times, even to different dealerships, and no one had been able to determine why it would do this. I've lived with it all these years, and it's never really bothered me.

Pros
3.5L v6 engine with 4-wheel drive
ABS brakes
airbags
roomy
I feel safe driving it

Cons
it doesn't have all the bells and whistles that the newer cars have
never have been able to figure out why the transmission slips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dale G.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/28/2016
Strong car with some flaws
We have owned an 04 2.7L for 13 years and 120k miles. This vehicle has been very reliable. With just regular maintenance the motor and transmission have had very few issues.
The only complaints fall into the quality of the parts used on this vehicle. Every door handle on the car has broke and needed replacing. The paint has oxidized and is ruined all over the car. The interior door handle on the drivers side needed replacing. The dash is also lifting at the vents.

Pros
Reliable motor and transmission

Cons
Poor quality matireal used to build the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Timothy J.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/03/2016
Durable and comfortable vehicle!
We really love our Santa Fe. It's spacious, especially when seats are folded down. It's powerful! We used it to tow two different boats on their trailers from Ohio to North Carolina.
It's nearing 200,000 miles and we haven't had any engine issues at all.
The engine is accessible, so maintenance is convenient, unlike out other import car.
We ARE having a chronic alignment issue, the root cause of which, neither the dealership nor other garages are able to determine.
And, the big 3.5L engine uses a lot of gas.
All in all, it's a great vehicle and we're glad we bought it!

Pros
Reliability, power, comfort

Cons
Fuel efficiency, alignment issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Alexander F.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/04/2017
2004 Santa Fe
It is the most reliable car I have ever owned
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WE
Weiford E.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/06/2017
This 2004 vehicle has been totally reliable with several Florida trips and one Canada trip included in its' over 100,000 mile history. Recent problem/s with a tire is inconsequential
Excellent reliable service!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kathleen S.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/09/2017
2004 Santa Fe
I love this car! I bought it new in 2004 and only replaced brakes once and tires twice. No other repaired were necessary until I had the timing belt replaced recently as a preventive measure. Love the way it handles and only wish the mIle age were better. I have 93,00miles on this car.

Pros
Looks, comfort, reliable and handling

Cons
Only about 19 miles per gallon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ID
Indra D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/16/2017
Feature 'rich'
Surprised to see do many features available in this model year. Everything is packed in a nice package.

Pros
Packed with features.

Cons
Wish it had a larger engine. Would like a little more weight & power, while driving in the snowm

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kathleen E B.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/31/2017
My car is old....It is a 2004 with only 48,000 miles on it but Exeter Automotive is trying to keep it tugging along!
Hoping we can keep it in good shape for me for a few more years!

Pros
Great

Cons
No cons.......Just an old car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mark R.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/26/2017
NICE VEHICLE
Enjoy the AWD on this SUV, help a lot during the winter months, like the 3.5L engine, has the extra power when needed. Didn't get all the options with tis SUV, but satisfied for what I have.

Pros
The 3.5L engine, for new models it looks like you have to order the 3.5L for additional cost, and like the AWD, helps in the winter months in MN.

Cons
Gas mileage, not the greatest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Darlene D.
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/15/2018
2004 Hyundai Santa Fe
This is the first car I bought that was new. I enjoy the space as I camp and it gives me the room I need for packing things, I also like having the room for items that would not fit into a trunk. I have maintained the vehicle well and it has served my purpose. I have no regrets with my purchase

Pros
Fits my needs, longevity with proper maintenance

Cons
Spare tire storage, spare tire is difficult to access, recall on gas tank, it seems I have had to maintain brakes more then I remember with other vehicles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 124 in total