2005
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87
4.9
(118 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AM
Aletha M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/30/2016
My hyundai
My husband picked out my car , but it has been wonderful. The warranty is amazing. I haven't always agreed with the price, especially the 900. and some so that may effect my next decision since it will be left up to me. Thank you
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/11/2017
Better MPG
Offers more than I needed!

Pros
AWD

Cons
MPG

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kenneth W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/02/2018
Great Ride. Feels solid driving. Convenient
Very good and reliable overall. We do have an intermittent braking problem the dealer could not find even after explaining in detail , ABS engages and or hydraulics don’t braking at slow speeds 15-20 mph on wet or uneven roads. See 2004 exiter crack problem. We took in 5 times dealer not able to discover. It’s gonna take pulling exiter to find and it started happening within 1st year. If you purchase a 2005 or earlier Santa Fe make sure to have exiter ring checked for cracks. Drive it at 15.20 mph on a slope and ride brake to a stop. It usually triggers then.

Pros
Strong well built

Cons
Braking problem not fixed. Similar to 2004 issue with ABS engaging on cracked exiter ring. Crack opens and triggers sensor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
WILLIAM D.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/24/2015
My 2005 Hyundai Santa Fr
I like my Hyundai Santa Fe. I think it was a good choice for me & the price was right. I am still getting used to it & all of it's features. It is the first previously owned vehicle I have ever purchased. I hope that their are not too many more service surprises in store. However, I am mostly satisfied with the vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DONNA L.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/27/2015
I LOVE mY HYUNDAI it is perfect for me
I love my Santa fe & would buy another one !!!! I watched my brand new 3month old vehicle sway in Hurricane WILMA & it had to be repainted & new windshield . It has been a strong reliable vehicle even on the 1200 mile treck from Fl to MO pulling a UHAUL ////

Pros
GREAT Overall

Cons
needs a little more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JANELLE S.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/10/2016
It's an oldie but goodie for the year.
Al will help me keep it in the best condition mechanically and I trust his work very much.

Pros
Good overall and good feeling auto

Cons
is older and doesn't have some of the newer enhancements

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2016
Best car we've ever owned
We bought our 2005 Santa Fe new and have had no serious problems with it in all the years we've had it. Grappone Hyundai keeps it running smoothly. We are beginning to think that we will need to get a newer vehicle in the near future and hate to think of parting with this gem! We are also aware that new technology will be a huge change for us!

Pros
Reliability and value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Charles M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/25/2016
BEEN A GOOD CAR
AIR CONDITIONER JUST WENT K-POOK; NEEDS MAJOR REPAIR; $900 ESTIMATE5 121,000k 2005
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Barbara A.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/28/2016
2005 SANTA FE
I have always been happy driving it, and would get another Santa Fe if I were able to.

Pros
See above.

Cons
The power steering has always been stiff. A big difference in the newer models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
Willia B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/28/2017
willia b
I have been very pleased with this vehicle. And I will purchase another Hyundai santa fe or tucson

Pros
handles well, very sturdy on the highway,
easy to drive and comfortable, lots of room
and storage space

Cons
seems not to have great gas mileage - but not bad overall, brakes on this year seem to be an issue and have noticed that the same year - given 1 or 2 years rust in the exact same spot on the driver side rear quarter panel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ARIF B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/09/2018
excellent value and ride for money
Excellent value and comfort. Sensible pricing. Had this car for over 10yrs and have very little problems. it has good functionality and quite reliable. I will be looking to get another one soon. thanks
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marsha C.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/30/2019
Sante Fe rules
I have driven my Sante Fe for 13 years now and have had very little to go wrong. I have enjoyed the ride (on Michelin tire best), comfortable seating, compact yet roomy enough for everything. My only complaint is the fuel mileage. It isn't bad just not great. Highway mileage is the best but still less than 30 mpg and this has been from day one. Over the years fuel mileage has been consistant at 18-20 in town and 25-30 highway. For the size of the car mpg should be better, in my opinion.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GJ
Gladys J.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2015
10 year's old and still rolling!!!!
I have to say, this 2005 Santa Fe is a well made car. There's nothing fancy about her, no gadgets she has wide hips, and lots of cargo space in the back. She can seat five comfortable, ask my dog since he take over everything. I was told countinous maintenance would extened the life of your car, well looks like that was the truth along with a well made car.

Pros
This is a low maintenance car, if you keep you eye on the cars fluids, tires, and lights. The regular maintenance the car will run for ever.

Cons
After time somethings will breakdown.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KAY S.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2015
My Hyundai
I bought my Hyundai in 2005, and it has been the best car I have every owned. I had many cars before my Santa Fe, but they were nothing compared to my Santa Fe. I make sure to get my oil changes when due, and also to take care of any thing that needs to be worked on when needed.

Pros
All pros as above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
KATHY T.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2015
Great Car
I've had my car for 10yrs now, We bought it brand new. It's great on gas, and I've hardly needed any repairs in those 10yrs. I would definitley recommend this car to anyone

Pros
I LOVE everything about this car

Cons
Just wish it had Power seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KAY S.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2015
The best
I have had my share of lemons when it came to cars. I have had the best experience with Hyundai when I purchased my 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe in 2005. I went to the original dealer ship for service, and their service was not good, I felt like they could care less, if I ever returned to their location. I found another Hyundai dealership and have been very happy with their service and how they treat their customers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
Gary A.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2016
Awesome Santa Fe.
I've had this car going on 11 years and I look forward to driving it every time. Just an awesome value.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None. Honestly!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Allen B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/15/2016
Dependable
fun to drive, dependable and long lasting

Pros
Great Value-Dependable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Muriel A.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2016
Comfort
I like my Santa Fe , have not had to replace parts until now. Paid the car off this year. Now replacing original parts, Dependable vehicle if taken care of properly.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Eleana B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/04/2016
Hyundai Santa Fe
I've had my 2005 Santa Fe for 6 years. It was like new when I bought it and has performed amazingly ever since.

Pros
It's worked incredibly well, lasting well into 200,000 miles plus!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 118 in total