2005
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87
4.9
(118 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

YW
Yvonne W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Baby (name of my car)
I bought my 2005 Hyundai new, this is the BEST car I have EVER bought. If I buy a new vehicle it will e a Hyundai, probably a Santa Fe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marsha C.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/30/2019
Sante Fe rules
I have driven my Sante Fe for 13 years now and have had very little to go wrong. I have enjoyed the ride (on Michelin tire best), comfortable seating, compact yet roomy enough for everything. My only complaint is the fuel mileage. It isn't bad just not great. Highway mileage is the best but still less than 30 mpg and this has been from day one. Over the years fuel mileage has been consistant at 18-20 in town and 25-30 highway. For the size of the car mpg should be better, in my opinion.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
shelby m.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Over 300,000 miles and still drive it everyday.
My daughter has a 2005 Santa Fe with over 300,000 miles on it, and she drives it it everyday.! Of course she has replaced a few parts, tires etc. But she regularly has the oil changed and normal maintenance.

Pros
Rides well,and the 4 wheel drive is wonderful in snow

Cons
can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/23/2019
We love our new Santa Fe
We are enjoying our new 2019 Santa Fe, there are many great features on the new car and we are having fun with them. This is our 2nd purchase of a Santa Fe, we bought our first one in 2005 and traded it in on the new one. We are aware of how well they drive because of our many years of experience. We appreciate the warranty on the car also, it served us well with the first Santa Fe and we are expecting the same care with our second.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Loretta B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2019
My Santa Fe
Easy to drive because it is a smaller SUV. We bought it new and have been driving it for 15 yrs. With regular maintenance it should last another 100,000 miles. Thank you Columbia Ford for all the years of service.

Pros
15 years of driving with regular maintenance, my Santa Fe is still going strong. Its a smaller SUV, easy to see my surrounding, and easy to park in smaller spaces.

Cons
It doesn't have the bells and whistles of a newer car, like a backup camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Mark C.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/14/2019
Great Quality
Our car has just under 170,000 miles. If I was asked to drive to California today, I would not hesitate. The car has been very reliable and has never failed us. I have personally recommended to several friends to at least give Hyundai cars a try. They won't be disappointed.

Pros
Very Reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marilyn C.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/29/2019
Love my Santa Fe
I've had my Santa Fe for 12 years now. I love my Santa Fe! It's running like a dream and if I ever wore to get a new car it would be another Santa Fe. I know the new ones have a lot more bells and whistles than mine but I'm perfectly happy with the one I have. Happy now

Pros
Comfort, reliability, handling, and it looks good.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/01/2019
It has served me well for 13 years
I was only able to get the basic model of the Santa Fe and it was perfect. I didn’t need any of the bells and whistles and I was okay with that. But now, I find myself wishing that I will be able to afford a fully loaded SUV, preferably a Kona since I’m from Hawaii! 👍🏻

Pros
Reliable, dependable

Cons
It’s 15 years old and most of the interior lights have shorted out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Contessa B.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/17/2018
Overall a great vehicle
I purchase the Santa Fe because my aunt has one and it drives great. She never complained of any issues other than regular maintenance. My car has 165k miles and it still runs like new. I'm glad I brought it and looking forward to getting 300k miles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lawrence D.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/14/2018
2005 Santa Fe
My wife and I purchased a new 2004 and 2005 Santa Fe in Albany, New York primarily because of the Hyundai reputation and warranty. Those were the best cars we have ever owned! They have held up extremely well with only normal recommended services and regular oil changes.

Pros
Wonderful value! Exhaust system held up extremely well in the snow and salt covered winter roads of the Northeast. After two years in Dallas we still have the original exhaust system.

Cons
Placement of the spare tire under the back of the car, where it is nearly impossible to get to.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DORIS M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2018
Thank you
They did a good job I appreciate the service now I can drive my car without feeling scared thing in the brakes might go out and I appreciate the time to wish they did it what you didn't cause me any delay in work

Pros
Confidence in driving is great

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Julie T.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2018
Reliable
I have had my vehicle for 13 years and it has been a great vehicle. I will definitely buy another one. It has only left me stranded one time in 13 years. It is an affordable vehicle. The seats fold down so you can haul a lot of things.

Pros
Very reliable vehicle.

Cons
No cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Darlene W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2018
Problem Free
I've never had a problem with my Santa Fe when purchase it brand new in 2005. I maintained my vehicle as scheduled and been driving the whole 13 years of no major problems
Yes, when to buy my next vehicle, it will be a Hyundai.

Pros
Excellent car

Cons
The interior started to fall apart: the dashboard coming apart, the letters starting to fall off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lena W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/07/2018
Love it! Wish I could afford a newer version. Someday!
This is my 4th Hyundai; I have owned 3 new ones. My 2014 was totaled last year. I'm retired so can't afford a car payment & bought my 2005 SantaFe for 4k. Love it - will upgrade sometime soon.
Thanks
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vanessa A.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
It's the perfect size for me.
I absolutely love my Santa Fe! It's got the right amount of oomph I need. Perfect in storage space, passenger room and quite frankly I love how it drives. I don't have any conplaints about this car at all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
Veronica T.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2018
Immediate live affair!
This review is based on my first experience with My Santa Fe. I loved it from the beginning . With back problems the comfort of the drivers seat was great! I sat in other parts of the car as well. The feel of the ride was smooth . It had great pick up. It was 2005 so it was nicely equipped for a 2005 vehicle. The vehicle has held up very well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Chelsea S.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2018
Oldie but a goodie
I've had this car for a good long time, bought it new back in 2005. It's reliable, easy to fix, handles well and has a great speaker system (important!). Holds a good amount of cargo and handles snow and off road conditions great.

Pros
Versatility
Holds a lot of cargo

Cons
Gas mileage could be better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kenneth W.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/02/2018
Great Ride. Feels solid driving. Convenient
Very good and reliable overall. We do have an intermittent braking problem the dealer could not find even after explaining in detail , ABS engages and or hydraulics don’t braking at slow speeds 15-20 mph on wet or uneven roads. See 2004 exiter crack problem. We took in 5 times dealer not able to discover. It’s gonna take pulling exiter to find and it started happening within 1st year. If you purchase a 2005 or earlier Santa Fe make sure to have exiter ring checked for cracks. Drive it at 15.20 mph on a slope and ride brake to a stop. It usually triggers then.

Pros
Strong well built

Cons
Braking problem not fixed. Similar to 2004 issue with ABS engaging on cracked exiter ring. Crack opens and triggers sensor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DELORES M.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
LOVE IT
lm glad I wanted and got this SUV,I love it. I usually choose a sedan and I have had a SUV before but this one seems better than the one I had before I really like the way it handles, the color is cool its a very beautiful dark blue.

Pros
Not too big just the right size for me. I just got it a couple months so I'm still getting used to it I don't know how many times I can say it I love it.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
Martha Z.
2005 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2018
The best car all the way
Since the moment I bought it. The car never had any issue. Almost 13 years and the car is running without any problem. So if you are thinking to buy a car please don’t hesitate the Hyundai StaFe is the right for you.

Pros
Never have any problem with the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 118 in total