2007
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(537 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


GP
Ginnifer P.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/02/2018
Not happy
I have had nothing but problems, at 112k both front axels, steering rack, front lower control arma also had to be replaced. This suv was bought brand new, has never been in an accident. I should not of had to replace all these items til at least 200k plus!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Deborah T.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/17/2018
Have had three transmissions put in my car. That means 4 transmission has as been put in the car. I'm a senior and I don't drive a lot
I'm a female senior and 4 transmissions has been put in that car. The original transmission and three since I've own it. There is only 102 thousand mile on the car. I live along and I am the only driver.

Cons
My car is a lemon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAYNET S.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/08/2015
2007 Hyndai Vehicle Review
I would rate my 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe as less than average. Over all the vehicle has been dependable. I had to replace the O2 sensors twice while under warranty. The power window on the passenger side quit working along with the brake lights. The horn doesn't honk right. I also had to replace the air conditioning unit at a cost to me at around 50,000 miles. The interior of the car is where I find most of my issues. The sunvisor on the driver side of the car broke and was unrepairable. The upholstery on the driver side door around the door handle came loose. The floor mat tab on the driver side broke almost immediately. Since the tab broke the floor mat will not stay in place and is raveling. Maybe all of this is considered normal wear and tear but I've owned a lot of cars in my lifetime and never had so many minor issues with any of them.

Pros
Interior space and overall comfort is good. Mileage for an SUV is good. Very functional for my lifestyle.

Cons
Poor quality interior upholstery and carpet structure. Mileage when I first purchased the car was around 24 miles to the gallon. It has gone down to 18. Problems with the 02 sensors and electrical wiring.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Michael P.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/07/2016
Great size for a small SUV
The overall size of the vehicle is good but the mechanics, fabric and mile are horrible. You will need the 10 year warranty on this one.

Pros
I love the size of the vehicle, heated seats and general use of space inside the vehicle.

Cons
The fabric on the seats is horrible if you get a drop of water on fabric is leaves a water mark and the gas mileage is horrible. I'm lucky if I get 16 miles per gallon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
Donna V.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/30/2015
Concerned about the my recent issues and expenses.
The repairs to my car in one month were roughly $1,200.00. There was a window that that needed replacement parts over $600.00. Front end work approx. $1,100.00. My door locks haven't worked properly in over 8 months. I have been told it could be the actuators. All 5 at one time? That will be $1,166.24 and the air blower is going bad. My Sante Fe is a 2007 with approx. 62,000 miles. I am the only driver. I am beginning to worry about the things that are now breaking and it is not covered by warranty. I have always had all oil changes at the dealership. I take care of my vehicle. But this door issue is a real problem since you cannot get in the back to retrieve whatever you have put back there because it won't unlock. So I am very hesitant to rate it higher due to all of the issues starting to happen.

Pros
I feel I really purchased a very nice SUV.

Cons
I am afraid of the problems I am starting to have.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
STEPHANIE S.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/06/2015
See carcomplaints.com
This vehicle has almost all of the problems listed on carcomplaints.com for this model/year
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
LINDA P.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/07/2016
Going downhill fast
I loved my 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe until January of this year. I've now been in the shop 5 times, only once for routine service and twice for problems caused by that routine service, plus radiator hose replacement (waited two full days for replacement parts) and total fuel gauge malfunction. $3,000 later, I'm wondering why I didn't just buy domestic and get rid of it at 100,000 miles.

Pros
Driver leg room, incredible wheelbase allowing tight turns, lots of cargo space, separate climate control and power plugs for back seat passengers, spare tire

Cons
Lack of reliability now that mileage is greater than 100,000 miles; no torque/power on hills; lack of daytime running lights;

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DO
Donald O.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/19/2016
Santa Fe
We have had this car since 2007 and it has done a lot of traveling. We've had our problems with it, but what vehicle wouldn't you. Plenty of room for caring luggage or what ever. With seats folded down, it is great for hauling.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
William M.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/12/2016
Oil dripping from my valve cover on top of the alternator
My 2007 Santa Fe has performed admirably except for one major flaw. There is a design issue where if oil drips or leaks from the valve cover, it falls on top of the alternator. I have the gasket on the valve cover replaced three times. I have been told that oil is again dripping on the alternator where the gasket needs to be replaced...for the fourth time. On one occasion, my alternator shorted out where my car was running on battery power. I work in Mexico and had my car towed to the bridge. My battery was new so I was able to start up the car and was able to drive over the bridge into the US where my car eventually died. I had planned for a tow truck to pick up the vehicle once I crossed over. My vehicle died in a spot where it was easy for the tow truck to have access. My vehicle was towed to a Hyundai Service center where it was diagnosed that the alternator was shorted out due to oil inside the alternator. The root cause was the oil leaking from the valve cover. The gasket and alternator were replaced. Unfortunately, the leaks are persisting because I check it periodically. I do not want to be stranded again. As I said, oil is present on the alternator again so the gasket will need to be replaced the fourth time...VERY FRUSTRATING.

Cons
See vehicle summary

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Rolen P.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/20/2016
Couldn't get it to show 3 and a half stars so just went with 3.
Overall mechanically sound, but was alittle over priced to begin with.

Pros
I plan on driving this car another 10 years or so. Partly I think due to the quality of the drive train and mostly due to the fact that I put very minimal miles on my vehicles.

Cons
Never got the mpg's. Insinuated. Started riding very hard at about 26,000 miles. And who would expect a very little used sun visor to fall down in your face?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lisa R.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/26/2016
My Santa Fe
I have to replace the accelerator switch, Gearshift switch, gasoline monitor, switch, two front seat switches, and 3 batteries in 8 years. It has been costly.

Pros
It's a nice car and fits all my needs right now.

Cons
I have to replace the accelerator switch, Gearshift switch, gasoline monitor, switch, two front seat switches, and 3 batteries in 8 years. It has been costly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cheri S.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/04/2017
Haudai
It's a great car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jimmy S.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/01/2017
nice to drive but not good on local driving
nice car and NOT good on mileage

Pros
fun to drive

Cons
not good on mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kenneth R.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/06/2017
2007 Santa Fe
I wont buy another Hyundai, only way to keep the 100,000mile warranty is to pay for services at certain mileages that are WAY over priced, Tranny flush, radiator flushes that I can do my self which I did, at 97,000 I had to replace most of the steering component's, I.E. struts, lower ball joints, tie rod ends, stabilizer rod ends and the rear shocks, 3 window regulators that the cables either broke or motors quit, lower control arms are junk, basically formed sheet metal, never seen anything made so cheap!!! The parts I bought and replaced are much better after market parts made from steel and not plastic!!! also had to replace the fuel pump at 55,000 miles,Never again !!! I just hope it makes another 3-4 years before it falls apart!!! Curious to see if Hyundai actually post this review, I don't see to many negative reviews posted which I find hard to believe all of them are positive.

Pros
Motor has been decent so far, that's about it

Cons
Built very cheap, rides like a stage coach, interior falling apart

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/17/2017
Michael H.
Bought my 2007 in 2009. Had a couple recalls, that were handle. I paid for a warranty which covered one of the recalls( alternator shorting out because of an valve cover gasket leak. I paid with the insurance I purchased to protect me(100.00$ deductible). When I tried to get the full amount my insurance paid they only would pay the deductible back to me. That left me paying for there recall.(800.00$ plus) Not good Hyundai business. Which brings to mind, why would you put an electrical component where a gasket can leak oil on it. I paid almost 2000.00 for the warranty. Like everybody else my headlight clear covers are ruined, not good plastic!

Pros
Great air conditioner/heater. No exhaust fumes

Cons
No exterior too interior filter, paint is peeling off of high wind spots. Car is ten years old.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sabrina S.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/19/2017
Ok for a used car.
Vehicle runs well but it is old and thus lacks many features that are important to users in 2017, such as Bluetooth capabilities, iPod jack, navigation, etc. It is fine for a student or someone who is just looking for a vehicle to get them from point A to point B. Otherwise something a few years newer would be better.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
William C.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/26/2017
Good Vehicle
The vehicle has been mostly reliable with a some electronic sensor issues that I have not seen before with other makes. It has adequate room to haul some items.

Pros
Good value as compared to say a Honda in same class vehicle.

Cons
Sensor issue in transmission and fuel take cause me to rate the way I did.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Rachell L.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/10/2018
Lots of space!
Roomy, comfortable, met every need except one. No towing on my model so hauling bikes is difficult. Also had to make huge engine repairs (transmission, speedometer, gas tank lever twice, door locks) that I found out happen a lot in this model and should not have happened at the age of the vehicle at that time.

Pros
Roomy, rear air, third row seat.

Cons
No towing, too many maintenance repairs needed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Pamela W.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/16/2018
My Santa Fe experience
This was a very good choice for a first & second car. Especially as my second car. What I didn't like about my 2007 Santa Fe was it wasn't taller and didn't have enough leg room in both front and back of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Hossannah M.
2007 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/06/2015
limited/awd/3.3 liter engine - practical, reliable
this is probably the first hyundai vehicle that made the recommended list by consumer reports.
well equipped, comfortable seating, good/smooth/quiet power, reasonable gas mileage
no major repairs
unfortunately this is the year before aux ports/ipod integration was not standard.
also did not have a moonroof.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 537 in total