2008
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(418 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RP
Ronald P.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/12/2019
Love My '08 Santa Fe!
We purchased our 2008 Santa Fe from a friend in early 2009. Although it does not have the newer features of our 2015 Santa Fe, it has been a great vehicle to drive. Love its design, reliability, and safety features. The warranty is excellent. Overall, we are very satisfied with our purchase!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Melissa A.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/03/2019
Hyundai 2008 Santa fe
I have had 3 Hyundai's and have loved them as far as reliability, comfort and security, however the electrical problems are becoming to be to much. The airbag light has been a nightmare with all of them, it makes inspection time an obstacles! Recently my radio system has a complete mind of its own.

Cons
Electrical problems
Airbag lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CAROL F.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2019
I love my car purchased it new in 2008
Since I bought my car I have had little problems, But it is a 2008 and has a fair share of miles on it. I would say mostly highway. Things a happening due to that, But still have a great car. Knock on wood.

Pros
Fun to drive and wouldn't change to much

Cons
Wish it had a blue tooth for the phone. But not worth purchasing a new one. Yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christine D.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/09/2019
Does the job on bad roads but a money hog
I will run this until i can no longer, however will never purchase again. Visor broke right out of the dealer lot and this was purchased brand new. Put more time and money into this vehicle than any other I have ever owned. I average about $800 a year in repairs (not just expected maintenance) since purchasing it in the beginning of 2009. Most of it are things that are just made of poor quality materials. It does however handle very well on bad roads.

Pros
handles well in the snow.

Cons
poor quality - things routinely break.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Sally T.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2019
My Santa Fe
My Santa Fe has been a very good vehicle. I have had it 10 years with no major problems. I love it and hope it lasts another 10 years. I have taken it to Kentucky twice and it was very comfortable for 5 people. Mostly use it in Marion County and get about 18 miles per gallon. Got 24-25 on road trips.

Pros
Car has been reliable and like new even though I have had it 10 years. No major problems except CD player broke. I love this car and people in service friendly and helpful. Carolyn in sales is wonderful. If I buy another car I will buy with her.

Cons
I asked for 10 year bumper to bumper warranty(platinum) but when I went to use it was told I only had silver package that did not cover stereo system. Be sure to read fine point if you get extended warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/23/2019
This is a great car for the money
This car has served me well for over 10 years and 185,000 miles and is still running like a top! I always know I can depend on it regardless of road conditions and that's very important when you live in Vermont!

Pros
This car has served me well for over 10 years and 185,000 miles and is still running like a top! I always know I can depend on it regardless of road conditions and that's very important when you live in Vermont!

Cons
The gas mileage isn't as good as promised. The cruise control varies more than I'd like (between 5 and 8 miles per hour). The radio often doesn't get good reception when tuned in to local stations. However, on the whole, this has been a great vehicle for me and I would recommend it to others.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Judith B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2019
Best vehicle I ever owned.
I love my Santa Fe. It has been a wonderful vehicle. The seat warmer comes in handy on cold mornings in the winter. It performs beautifully and we love traveling in it (very comfortable.) Its also great for hauling large items.

Pros
Handles great on the road. So versatile.

Cons
Rear seat belts tend to slip down into the seat. Had to tie something onto them to keep them from doing that.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marie C.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
Best car so far.
My Sante Fe is the best car since 2008. When I do replace will definitely be shopping for a Sante Fe. This car is a perfect size for bikes, dogs, beach gear, road trips and very comfortable . Road trips are a breeze in my Sante Fe!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
John K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/16/2019
Hyundai Santa Fe is a good Vehicle
My 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe is a reliable vehicle has more power than my previous Mercury Marquis and that was an 8 cylinder. My Santa Fe is a 6 cylinder.
A few things have gone wrong over the 10 years I had it but were covered by the great warranty. I do not think I will get a good deal like I did when I bought my 2008 Santa Fe in 2009 New id I were to buy a current model. The body has remained in great shape No Rust. Other Friends I know have switched to Hyundai also.

Pros
to many to list

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Pam B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/11/2019
Everything I Need
The Santa Fe is everything I need. It is spacious as well as stylish It's comfortable & reliable. I currently have many thousands of miles on my car. My next car will definitely be the same, only a newer model.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sussie S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/09/2019
I had this suv for 11 years
Love my 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe I've had this vehicle for 11 years very dependable. I keep up with service as needed. I would buy another Hyundai Santa Fe in the future. Right now vehicle is very good. Love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
Best new car we have ever owned!!!!/
Loved the style, best looking SUV on the road!!! If in the market for another, I truly believe I would go with another Hyundai! The original battery lasted beyond 100,000 miles, tires have always done well, always bought from Kerry
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nidza B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2018
Great SUV
I'm the original owner of my 2008 Santa Fe for more then 10 years. I love
that it has air conditioner vents for the back passengers. Also it has a lot
of room for storage. Engine and transmission are great.

Pros
Has a lot of room and I love that it has air conditioner vents for the back passengers.
Overall great.

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Tim G.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2018
Trouble free motoring
Have had very few problems with my 2008 Santa Fe. For an 11-year-old vehicle it continues to be mostly trouble free. Next vehicle will be partially electric as I want to minimize my carbon footprint and enjoy better gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marian S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/18/2018
Good vehicle
Our 2008 Sante Fe has been apart of our family the past 10 years. With our regular maintenance it provided us with many miles for work, college (2 sons used this), moving, and pleasure. Good choice.

Pros
Nice size even for 5 adults. Handles well in daily drivivg and open highway.

Cons
Headrest not comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Catherine E.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2018
My beautiful SUV
My car has about 55,000 miles on it and it worked good for the last !0 years. It needs a fuel sensory that cost over $700.00 to repair. and the price for a fuel sensory is less than a 100.00 which means the labor is going to cost me over $600.00. Merry Christmas

Pros
I love that car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Betty M.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/10/2018
I LOVE MY SANTA FE
I love everything about my car. But, my recalls and no recall on the gas sensors that I’m taking back for the third time to ck out. It’s all over the internet the the gas sensor issue. I’ll think twice before buying another Santa Fe. It depends if they can fix this issue. I’ve spent to many hours on this problem all ready. b.maire@sbcglobal.net 925-933-6986

Pros
Great features. Was great until the gas sensor went out

Cons
The interior leather could be nicer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Suzanne K.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2018
the best car I have ever owned
Its not only the style that attracted me to this car , its the fact you can have it all without going broke ! I fell in love with this car back in 2002 and it wasn't until 2007 I could purchase it. It is so roomy, comfortable and has all the features I could ask for. Heated seats, sunroof are my most favorite features ! When the time comes for a new vehicle - hopefully around 200k miles..I will purchase another Hyundai, whether it be a Santa Fe or Tuscon.

Pros
This car is 11 years old and in great condition inside and out. Friends purchased vehicles from different auto makers and within 6 years found rust...not me. But then again I take very good care of vehicle and every other year I have it rust proofed (live in Bflo NY). I feel so safe when driving it

Cons
I have NO complaints

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
Franklin F.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/29/2018
Excellent SUV
Nice and excellent SUV highly recommended economic in gas , quality excellent services in autorizad dealer is excellent safety car only turn on and trip my sta fe have 150.000 miles and lock like new .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Scott P.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/23/2018
08 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited
Bought vehicle new in early 2009. It has been a very good vehicle overall with very few problems.
I will first start with the bad, had to put a few alternators on it due to the poor design of alternator being down low on bottom of engine. A leaking front valve cover results in oil dripping down into alternator shorting it out.
The 2nd short coming is the fuel gauge/ sending unit. It failed fairly early in it's life.
Good news is there was a service bulletin on the leaking valve cover gasket in Hyundai repaired that and put a new alternator on at no cost., And our vehicle is 10 yrs old.
there are several things good about the vehicle we purchased it with the big 3.3 l motor, and it is very responsive and gets good fuel mileage. The engine still runs as good as it ever did and has nearly 200,000 miles on it. The vehicle rides better than most SUVs I've been in in the same size category. The Santa Fe has a great number of safety features, and visibility driving it is superior to many others. Would not hesitate to buy another one.

Pros
Great performance along with very respectable fuel mileage. Comfortable ride for a small SUV. Great durability

Cons
Fuel gauge/sending unit quit working fairly early in it's life.
Poor design on where alternator is placed on engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 418 in total