2008
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(410 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EM
Eric M.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
Great Vehicle!
The new 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe gives you even more for the money. This is my 3rd Santa Fe and it just keeps getting better. The ride is even smoother, the interior is beautiful, and the addition of Apple/Android Car play on the base model was a great surprise.

Pros
Smooth ride, looks nice, beautiful interior, Apple car play included in base model

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Catherine T.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/10/2019
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
I would say, a good SUV, had alot of recalls done, New windshield, and bad on Gas, there are some things
on this car that I just missed on, that the next new vehicles have better gas mileage etc. One thing I do not like
is my headlights have gotten bad and look cheap. Gas gage went bad under 40,000 miles NOT GOOD!! My care is my SUV
mostly sits out and the back spoiler on top is ugly now, I love the Santa Fe's but the paint on some areas not the best, and I would
consider another Hyundai, No bigger but maybe another model.
and the front grill black paint has worn and looks not so nice. Paint is still ok, but if I get another car it has to be top
quality with safety, gas mileage has to be better, paint and outside much better. Sometimes when I want the CD changer to work
good, it has trouble changing and this is an infinity system.

Pros
Safety airbags, Lojack, sunroof, leather seats, and if you want to order
the the extra radio then that is a fee I do not want to pay

Cons
Terrible on gas, my gas gage for the miles went bad and I just had to change, have had many recalls, just alot of cons I would not want again

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Terry T.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Santa Fe Fan
I have owned my 2008 Santa Fe for 11 years and over 110,000 miles. It is a pretty basic 6-cylinder model. Most people have a hard time believing that it is that old. I do regular maintenance on it and don't worry about it. It has been a terrific vehicle--very dependable and functional. Other than batteries, tires, and oil changes, I have had to put very little into this vehicle. It is the best vehicle I've ever had. When it's day is done, I'll get my next Santa Fe.

Pros
Reliability, power as needed, handling

Cons
Mine doesn't have premium accessory package. Could have better gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Richard G.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2019
My first new car
This was my first new car. I have enjoyed it and looking forward to pass my car to my daughter for her first car. I upset that price of the new generation price has gone up. I might have switched models or different brand.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2019
Santa Fe
At the age of 80 and having been thru Ford, Mercury & Dodge cars, the 3 best cars I have ever owned were '57 chevy, '65 nova & now a Hyundai that were all bought at Circle Chevy. Sorry, but I hope the Hyundai Santa Fe which I love will outlive me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mohamad M.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/09/2019
Great customer service
Very nice people, great and fast service, i will coming back again and I will recommend my family and my friend to this place because they do have such a good customer service and always :-) thanks browns Hyundai of Leesburg

Pros
Clean and great service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Khawaja H.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2019
2008 Santa Fe Limited
Excellent Car in every respect. Do not have any downside that i can think of for this year/model/trim.
Some people may prefer a bit softer ride and prefer the 17 inch tires v the 18 inch that come standard. But the 18 inch provide more confidence at high speeds emergency handling.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Rob P.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited
This is a great car. We bought it in 2012 from another car dealer and the mileage was around 54,000. The mileage now is around 208,000 and the car still runs very well. We keep in on a normal service schedule and any major work from brakes to alignment to tire we take care of it.

Pros
comfortable, roomy, Sirius Radio, 3rd row of seating if needed, enough room in the cargo area to pack for a long trip.

Cons
can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
Gregory G.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/30/2019
Great little suv!
SUV! Love this car. Handles well, and is a smooth ride. Easy to maintain and the cargo space is outstanding. I am able to keep emergency items and our hammocks and towels in the trunk with no one the wiser, you never know when life will present an opportunity to hit the lake! Clearance is grand, so when we get to the bumpy ruts in the road, it handles them well. Wish it had more towing capability, but for now, we love this car. It's also really comfortable for long car trips, plenty of leg room and seat space. Four adults were plenty comfortable with all our luggage fitting easily in the back. With 2 adults and 2 teenagers, we had no arguments on a trip that took 48hours! Now that's a miracle! Way to go Hyundai Santa Fe!

Pros
Love that we didn't need to install rails for the luggage rack separately. Cargo space is enormous! Easy to maintain. Handles well in the boondocks and looks good for a night on the town!

Cons
Gas relays go out on these bad boys, but not too hard to replace, once you remove the seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FF
Franklin F.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
My utility coworker
Is a excellent SUV in this moment have 160.000 miles and look like new is my daily car I use for work my SUV to get confort, the A/C is very nice the sunroof is funny and the suspension es comfortably.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Iris S.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
I LOVE my Santa Fe!
I absolutely love this SUV! When I bought Gertie 10 years ago, I had researched all the mid-sized SUVs. I test drove several, but liked the handling and other elements, as well as cost, of the Santa Fe best. I was going to be driving around the farm too, so I wanted one that was tough enough to take it - and it was. Over the years, I've had very few problems that weren't related to normal aging. I don't know when I will trade Gertie off (she just turned over 90,000 miles), but I can guarantee you that I will be buying another Santa Fe. My only concern will be whether Hyundai is still making them. I sure hope so.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
Gas mileage could be a bit better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Peter R.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
Best car I’ve ever owned
My 2008 Santa Fe is by far the best car I’ve owned which include numerous Honda and GM cars as well as Mazda. The quality and value is excellent and 11 years and 175k miles later it still runs and looks like new.

Pros
High quality materials and workmanship
Style and design

Cons
None worth even mentioning really

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Ronald P.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/12/2019
Love My '08 Santa Fe!
We purchased our 2008 Santa Fe from a friend in early 2009. Although it does not have the newer features of our 2015 Santa Fe, it has been a great vehicle to drive. Love its design, reliability, and safety features. The warranty is excellent. Overall, we are very satisfied with our purchase!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Melissa A.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/03/2019
Hyundai 2008 Santa fe
I have had 3 Hyundai's and have loved them as far as reliability, comfort and security, however the electrical problems are becoming to be to much. The airbag light has been a nightmare with all of them, it makes inspection time an obstacles! Recently my radio system has a complete mind of its own.

Cons
Electrical problems
Airbag lights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CAROL F.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2019
I love my car purchased it new in 2008
Since I bought my car I have had little problems, But it is a 2008 and has a fair share of miles on it. I would say mostly highway. Things a happening due to that, But still have a great car. Knock on wood.

Pros
Fun to drive and wouldn't change to much

Cons
Wish it had a blue tooth for the phone. But not worth purchasing a new one. Yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christine D.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/09/2019
Does the job on bad roads but a money hog
I will run this until i can no longer, however will never purchase again. Visor broke right out of the dealer lot and this was purchased brand new. Put more time and money into this vehicle than any other I have ever owned. I average about $800 a year in repairs (not just expected maintenance) since purchasing it in the beginning of 2009. Most of it are things that are just made of poor quality materials. It does however handle very well on bad roads.

Pros
handles well in the snow.

Cons
poor quality - things routinely break.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Sally T.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2019
My Santa Fe
My Santa Fe has been a very good vehicle. I have had it 10 years with no major problems. I love it and hope it lasts another 10 years. I have taken it to Kentucky twice and it was very comfortable for 5 people. Mostly use it in Marion County and get about 18 miles per gallon. Got 24-25 on road trips.

Pros
Car has been reliable and like new even though I have had it 10 years. No major problems except CD player broke. I love this car and people in service friendly and helpful. Carolyn in sales is wonderful. If I buy another car I will buy with her.

Cons
I asked for 10 year bumper to bumper warranty(platinum) but when I went to use it was told I only had silver package that did not cover stereo system. Be sure to read fine point if you get extended warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/23/2019
This is a great car for the money
This car has served me well for over 10 years and 185,000 miles and is still running like a top! I always know I can depend on it regardless of road conditions and that's very important when you live in Vermont!

Pros
This car has served me well for over 10 years and 185,000 miles and is still running like a top! I always know I can depend on it regardless of road conditions and that's very important when you live in Vermont!

Cons
The gas mileage isn't as good as promised. The cruise control varies more than I'd like (between 5 and 8 miles per hour). The radio often doesn't get good reception when tuned in to local stations. However, on the whole, this has been a great vehicle for me and I would recommend it to others.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Judith B.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2019
Best vehicle I ever owned.
I love my Santa Fe. It has been a wonderful vehicle. The seat warmer comes in handy on cold mornings in the winter. It performs beautifully and we love traveling in it (very comfortable.) Its also great for hauling large items.

Pros
Handles great on the road. So versatile.

Cons
Rear seat belts tend to slip down into the seat. Had to tie something onto them to keep them from doing that.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marie C.
2008 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
Best car so far.
My Sante Fe is the best car since 2008. When I do replace will definitely be shopping for a Sante Fe. This car is a perfect size for bikes, dogs, beach gear, road trips and very comfortable . Road trips are a breeze in my Sante Fe!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 410 in total