2009
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(445 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RM
Robert M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/27/2017
May be a decent vehicle, but I'll never buy another Hyundai vehicle.
I bought my 2009 Santa Fe new in February 2010. Since then, it has been meticulously maintained and yet it looks like it is 20 years old. The paint is flaking off. This started a few short years after I bought the vehicle, beginning around 2013. Contacted the dealer (Bill Hood Hyundai of Hammond, LA) and was told it was my problem. I then contacted the manufacturer and got the same story. Only this time, the manufacturer informs me they have solved the paint problem with a new pre-paint treatment and offer a full 8 year warranty on the paint. What did they do for me? Nothing! I had the hood repainted at great expense. When I picked the vehicle up, the body shop owner told me what poor condition the paint was in on the rest of the vehicle. He said the metal was improperly prepared prior to painting. The Hyundai brand is a complete bust for me. It is an inexpensive brand and it only proves you get what you pay for. Buyer beware! My SUV has only 47,000 miles on it as of June 2017.

Pros
Inexpensive
Great visibility from the driver's seat.

Cons
Hyundai customer service
Paint issues
Fuel economy is poor: 14 mpg city and 20-22 mpg highway
Warranty coverage overstated
Issues with TPMS, ABS and ESC. (Tire Pressure Monitoring System, Anti-lock Braking System and Electronic Stability Control)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
Walter M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/22/2018
DONE
THIS CAR A PIECE OF JUNK AND FITZ CAN NOT FIX IT. I WILL CERTAINLY NOT BUY ANOTHER SANTA FE. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Pros
NONE

Cons
HAS LIFE THREAT PULL TO LEFT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jeffrey D.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/06/2019
Lots of repair issues with this vehicle
A failed fuel sender at 60k miles
a failed transmission at 80k miles
multiple ball joints and half axles replaced all under 100k miles
4 front valve cover gaskets and alternates replaced under recall warranty.
Cannot recommend hyundai vehicles because of the poor repair history I have experienced with this vehicle. Will buy a Toyota highlander or Honda pilot next time

Pros
Good feature set for the money thank God for the 100k warranty. A Must have for hyundai products.

Cons
Very very very poor reliability. So many repairs they know me by first name at the hyundai dealer repair shop.
will not buy a hyundai product ever again and will advise others of my experience

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Janice R.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/08/2017
Not my best car
I have NEVER had a car that I have had to replace so many light bulbs. Why? Also why is the paint coming off, This has never happened to me before either, and I keep my card for many years before trading. This one will be gone as soon as it's paid off. I like the car but not all the repairs.

Pros
Lots of room

Cons
Hard to get in to

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Jared T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/19/2017
Low Quality Vehicle, Especially Electrical
This is the lowest quality vehicle I, or anyone in my family, has ever owned. Electrical problems started showing up right after the warranty was up - go figure...

Pros
Decent gas mileage for the size.
I'm sure it could be worse, at least it still drives.

Cons
Fuel sensors, power windows, and radio have been problematic. A search of Google will reveal I am not the only one with electrical problems in these vehicles. Part of my dissatisfaction is probably that the first dealership I took it to damaged the fuel sensor assembly and gas leaked into the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/06/2018
Over hyped and not supported enough
I assumed the vehicle would last for a very long time, at least more than 70K miles. But it is slowly falling apart and no one at Hyundai wants to help. Really surprising the # of people who need new fuel sensors at 70K miles. The corrosive rust is not understandable at this mileage and the paint fading to a matte finish in areas is mindboggling. The car looks very worn for being well maintained servicewise. Falling apart way too soon.

Pros
price

Cons
falling apart way too soon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jerry W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/12/2018
Jerry December 2018
Great car, but could be greater if they’d prime the vehicle well enough that paint wouldn’t start flaking off car for no apparent reason at 9 years of age. All of a sudden have large flakes of paint flaking off above windshield and near tail light. All paint inside the door jams of rear hatch flaking off.

Cons
Bad paint job!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Art G.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/23/2019
The Dealer (Circle Hyundai) is excellent--no complaints. The vehicle 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe is not up to quality standards of Toyota or Honda
The vehicle 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe is not up to quality standards of Toyota or Honda. I have a 2009 Santa Fe with 129K miles.Latest problem with rust in front end, though partially paid for by Hyundai, never occurred on my Toyota Corolla 212K miles and Honda Accord 150K miles.

Pros
space inside both back and front, decent ride

Cons
poor gas mileage
rust

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/19/2016
Great Hyundai Santa Fe 09
My car Corners great and makes great U turns and is very good on gas love the car runs excellent when it is running in good shape

Pros
Great on gas and it runs well in this city and on the Highway

Cons
It has wear and tear like any of the car that I have driven it has to be work done and fixed like any other car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Vera B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/28/2016
V Blocker
For the most part I have enjoyed my Santa Fe; the only major problem I have had is the fuel sensor going bad; that was a pain and costly! I had to take it back a second time after the problem suppose to have been fixed.

Pros
Only 1 major problem after 6 years of driving. Pretty reliable.

Cons
Gas mileage not that great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Edson P.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/07/2017
Great exterior design
But poor V6 performance.

Pros
Design

Cons
Performance and gas consumption.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Julie B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/13/2017
Hyundai 2009 Santa Fe
Overall the vehicle has been very reliable and Somersworth Hyundai and Hyundai Corporation stand behind their warranty
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carolyn B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/05/2017
Hyundai Santa Fen 2009
I have a 2009 Hyundai and I had one major issue where there was an oil leak that caused the car to stop running. Hyundai had a recall on replacing only of the oil gaskets. I had to have it repaired twice. Hyundai did honor these issues. Other then this problem the vehicle has ran well with the normal maintenance for wear on this SUV
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
EVELYN F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2018
A vehicle for family use.
This vehicle has been faily dependable. Unfortunately the designers do not take into consideration the location of certain switches and sensors , that northern states is a nightmare (salt damage). The undercarriage looks pretty good but the safety switches and sensors really are not environment friendly.

Pros
The all wheel has been great.

Cons
The paint on this vehicle is peeling. The local Hyundai dealer informed me at 38,000 that I needed to report this before 36,000 mi. It was something that I would have to live with.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NT
Nancy T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/29/2019
Nice car but...
Comfortable vehicle that is good in bad weather. Cabin electronic are fair as interior lighting unit had to be replaced and CD player stopped working. Fuel sensors had to be replaced twice. Front axles also needed to be replaced. Poor gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/28/2015
Great transportation!
For a second vehicle, it is the best. Didn't want anything to fancy or flashy, just need something to haul things when needed. Thought about a truck, but, for my needs it seemed a little much. But this SUV, is perfect for my needs and much more than I expected to get! Thank you Hyundai, you hit the nail on the head with this sale!!

Pros
Very versatile

Cons
The engine seems to respond somewhat sluggishly, so to speak when passing gear is first engaged. Believe the transmission can be improved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
EDWARD P.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/17/2015
My Sante Fe
This was my first SUV, I do enjoy driving it, it definitely is a much rougher ride than my Sonata was. I do average under 20 MPG, wish it was a little better.
The first two years it was a pretty quite ride, now it does have some rattles. Navigation system is OK, since I did the upgrade about 2yrs ago it does tend to get me lost, the system is also hard to see in the bright daylight.
I do like my Hyundai's and I'm sure I'll be owning others.

Pros
Lots of features for the money.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YW
YVETTE W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2015
Roomy and comfortable
Nice size and styling--10 year power train -- great value

Pros
Roomy and comfortable cabin. Love love the dimmer blue interior light and automatic starter.

Cons
No USB/AUX outlet and no backup camera. Heated seats seem hot in summer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SHERYL M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/11/2015
2009 Hyundai Santaq Fe
Love, the car and have no problems with it. My only complaint is that there are too many blind spots and for a person who is shorter, this creates a problem. Wish they could find a way to "open" up the corners of the rear and eliminate these blind spots!

Pros
QUIET!!! Dependable and reliable, great in the bad weather

Cons
Need to re-design the blind spots on either side of the rear - very dangerous!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DAVID G.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/20/2015
Great car.
This his been a great car, at a reasonable price with very few normal problems. I have recommended the brand to several people and two of them purchased the brand.

Pros
Heated leather seats, size and comfort.

Cons
Rear hatch design, I wish widow opened by itself. It would make it easier to transport long items. Turn signal mirrors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 445 in total