2009
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(477 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NC
Nicholas C.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/11/2019
Hyundai 2009 Santa Fe
This is my second Santa Fe I had a 2007, then a 2009 which I still have in 2019. It has 130,000 miles on it and it is going strong.
It is my fishing car, I load up my gear in early spring and fish all summer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Noel S.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/05/2019
Santa Fe
We bought this as my daughter's first car after getting her license. Its perfect for her. Easy to drive and she treats her car like its part of the family. It's got a lot of room and the seats fold down if she has stuff to store and move. Perfect for her.

Pros
Very reliable vehicle, fun and easy to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NT
Nancy T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/29/2019
Nice car but...
Comfortable vehicle that is good in bad weather. Cabin electronic are fair as interior lighting unit had to be replaced and CD player stopped working. Fuel sensors had to be replaced twice. Front axles also needed to be replaced. Poor gas mileage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Stephen L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2019
2009 Santa Fe
We have been very pleased with it. We bought it new and will mostly have it for some time to come.

Pros
it is a great retirement vehicle for us.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Ruth G.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2019
It has Been a charm
I absolutely love my 09 Santa Fe. So much so that it has 123,000 mi. on it and I don't want to trade it in. I have never had a recall on it. So far it has started every day for 9 years. I bring it in for the needed oil changes, but have never had to spend a lot of money on repairs. I hope the next Hyundai I buy will be just as fantastic.

Pros
It is a great car overall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Art G.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/23/2019
The Dealer (Circle Hyundai) is excellent--no complaints. The vehicle 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe is not up to quality standards of Toyota or Honda
The vehicle 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe is not up to quality standards of Toyota or Honda. I have a 2009 Santa Fe with 129K miles.Latest problem with rust in front end, though partially paid for by Hyundai, never occurred on my Toyota Corolla 212K miles and Honda Accord 150K miles.

Pros
space inside both back and front, decent ride

Cons
poor gas mileage
rust

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2019
Easy to drive.
We have been very happy with our Hyundai Santa Fe it’s easy to drive and reliable.......................................................................................................................!

Pros
Easy to drive and see out windows.

Cons
Occasional fuse outage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Rosemary W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2019
Santa Fe 2oo9
Love this vehicle. It has been such a reliable car. It has good acceleration, handles well in Houston traffic both on the freeways & on regular roads. Comfortable seats. Easy to get in & out of vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Stephen R.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2018
SANTA FE...2009
I HAVE HAD THIS CAR TEN YEARS 70,000 MILES STILL LOVE IT ...IT HAS BEEN VERY GOOD TO ME...STILL LOOKS LIKE NEW........................................................................................................................................................

Pros
TOO MANY TO LIST

Cons
FRONT INTERIOR LIGHT NEEDS A NEW DIODE...WONT WORK

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
George B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2018
Still going strong
200,000 miles and still my daily driver (>500 miles per week). Sorry I can’t think of more to say - you want quantity instead of quality - here goes; xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxxxxx

Pros
Dependable once initial problems got fixed

Cons
Some issues under warranty took a long time to get resolved

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Shelesa R.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/15/2018
Santa Fe
Love my Santa Fe for 8 years.
Economical, fuel efficient, durable.perfect size. Stylish, very comfortable, very spacious, larte hatch space for traveling and carrying luggage, kids stuff, and what ever.

Pros
Perfect size.
Not to big, not too small

Cons
Interior could be quieter
Don't like my Driver seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jerry W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/12/2018
Jerry December 2018
Great car, but could be greater if they’d prime the vehicle well enough that paint wouldn’t start flaking off car for no apparent reason at 9 years of age. All of a sudden have large flakes of paint flaking off above windshield and near tail light. All paint inside the door jams of rear hatch flaking off.

Cons
Bad paint job!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/10/2018
2009 Santa Fe
I love it and have not spent any money on it except for usual maintenance. Will definately purchase another Hyundai. I am looking forward to Hyundais pick up truck to come to America. I believe its called the Santa Cruz and is suppose to be here next year. I will definately take it for a test drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lura B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/09/2018
Wonderful vehicle
I love my 2009 Santa Fe. It has served me well and I hope it will for more years. It still looks very stylish and I’m proud to drive it. I have had only one repair in the 9 years I’ve owned it. Love it.

Pros
All the above.

Cons
My GPS system cannot be updated.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Dena L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2018
Love it
Love it now just as I did when I first got it drive very well good on gas have not had any problem with my car since I got it in 2009 there is enough room for all l do and love the body style would like a different color one day with new technology
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/06/2018
Over hyped and not supported enough
I assumed the vehicle would last for a very long time, at least more than 70K miles. But it is slowly falling apart and no one at Hyundai wants to help. Really surprising the # of people who need new fuel sensors at 70K miles. The corrosive rust is not understandable at this mileage and the paint fading to a matte finish in areas is mindboggling. The car looks very worn for being well maintained servicewise. Falling apart way too soon.

Pros
price

Cons
falling apart way too soon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marie S.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2018
A pleasure to own and drive.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe has been a pleasure to own and to drive. At 94,000 miles it has never required more than the Manufacturer’s suggested work at each service interval. The size of the car is perfect. Very comfortable for the driver and all four passengers. The 6 cylinder engine has all the power anyone needs for pleasure and safety. Quality and reliability have been excellent. Would definitely repurchase the Hyundai Santa Fe and would recommend it to others.

Pros
Value. Quality and reliability for the money. I should think it would be very hard to beat.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Gerard F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/21/2018
Santa Fe
I had the santa fe since 2009 and i have no plans to change it yet. It Is durable and well built. It has helped the whole family a great deal since it us a seven sitter and we never had an isuue with space.

Pros
Durability

Cons
10 years old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mara L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/19/2018
This care goes the distance
The Santa Fe has been a reliable vehicle throughout the nine years that i have owned it. With the excellent service that Suresky offers, it has been easy to maintain. It provides a comfortable ride. I will be buying another Hyundai in the future.

Pros
Comfortable
Reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sharon J.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/17/2018
I like my Santa Fe Limited
I am an older female and my vehicle is 9 years old and purchased it used 3 years ago, and while it has had some issues, that would be expected for its age. It is dependable and I enjoy driving it. Gas mileage is good (18-22 MPG). This is my first Hyundai and would purchase another again.

Pros
Storage area with seats down can handle large items even plywood sheets.

Cons
Paint came off on hood.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 477 in total