2009
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(449 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VF
Victor F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2018
Santa Fe is OUTSTANDING
I have had my 20019 Santa Fe since I drove out of the showroom and haven't looked back. Very well designed vehicle with lots of cargo space, maneuverability and pep. Drive train has been solid as has been the chassis and I have 95,000 miles on my Santa Fe. Have tried to trade up to other brands, but just couldn't see that I was getting anything better than I already had. Comfortable around town and on long trips. Will probably get another one when the time is right.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Penny C.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/09/2018
I LOVE MY HYUNDAI
After 8yrs My SUV is still so quiet there are times when I'm parked I rev the engine to make sure it's running. The seats are roomy and comfortable, the interior feels like a much larger vehicle, all the accessories are well situated, and there was no skimp on the back seats. I get comments often how comfortable the ride is.

Pros
Everything I mentioned above.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
Elizabeth T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/06/2018
I love my Santa Fe.
My Santa Fe is 9 years old and has rarely given me any trouble. I'd buy another, but since I'm retired I can't afford another one. Out of my budget. I recommend them often. I like being higher than a standard car as I an short.

Pros
Easy ride, few repairs, other than regular maintenance. Love the size and comfortable seats.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Randal M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/02/2018
Still love my Santa Fe!
Very well handling, quick & responsive and not too bad on the eyes. My only issues are minor things. The $700 Navigation package was trash, even after paying to update it when the car was just off the lot. No USB connections because of the Navigation package. Complete Stereo/Navigation started having an intermittent problem after five years and was replaced. Due to the non-standard size of the navigation package, NO ONE makes the correct parts to make the new stereo look like it was factory installed! Paint has come off the areas in-between the windows and the dealership told me too bad when it was 5 years old. It is garage kept and THEY did the deluxe car care and waxing every year. I have had some minor problems but Hyundai took care of them. Overall, I still feel safe and feel that my car will take me where I want to go and back too.

Pros
Reliable & comfortable,

Cons
Break lights need to be larger and brighter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sherry W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2018
Great Car
My Santa Fe is a 2009 and now has 113,00+ miles. It has given me excellent service with very few problems. It has been easy to drive and comfortable. I would recommend a Hyundai Santa Fe to anyone interested in a SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sarah M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2018
8 years ago...
We had been talking about getting an SUV for some time and while out to lunch decided to "go look". Within a few minutes we knew we were leaving with Hyundai Santa Fe. We drove off the lot without putting down any money and returned the next day with a check from my credit union. The salesman willingly answered all our questions, showed us the features of the SUV and even pulled a Tucson along side so we could compare back ends. This car has now been to California twice and to Oregon several times...we love it. It is reliable, quiet, safe and gets great gas mileage. We could not be happier. I named my SUV "Ben" because I had "been" saving for a long time to afford him!

Pros
smooth ride
great gas mileage
comfortable
love the sun roof

Cons
none I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jeffrey L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/26/2018
2009 Santa Fe
This vehicle has taken me to Canada, Wisconsin, and New York several times each year. It is a comfortable touring car and has hauled lots of luggage, tools, and even a 1948 vintage Sears Coldspot I picked up in Wisconsin. Good mileage, great handling, a tight turning radius, for easy U turns. Acceleration is confident when threading the pack on I 95 or I 4. Only issues are the gas gauge has not worked for years, so I use the trip meter, and I would like to see an accessible fuel filter. As of March of 2018, it still looks and feels like the day I bought it new.

Pros
Performance, stability, turning radius, luggage space

Cons
Gas guage, fuel filter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Karen F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/22/2018
Love my 2009 Santa Fe
We bought our 2009 Santa Fe new. It’s the touring package with the real comfy seats & middle console doubles as a great arm rest. It’s been a reliable car & has taken me through many snow days without any traction troubles. I love driving this car & dread the day I have to ever another. Hyundai builds a great car. Keep it up!

Pros
Comfort, reliable, looks good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2018
Hyundai Santa Fe: Great Car
Our Hyundai Santa Fe has been a favorite of ours since we bought it 8 years ago. We enjoy the ride and our grandkids really like the video feature. It’s still in great shape and we plan to keep it for several more years. I feel that when it’s time for a new car Hyundai will be our first choice.

Pros
I’m always comfortable when driving this vehicle.

Cons
I can’t adjust the driver seat when I am in it because my 215 pounds makes the fuse blow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
LINDA P.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2018
My Santa Fe is a reliable suv
My suv is reliable , steardy and the cutest blue color ever . I can count on my car not to break down. I really like it convient and small to get around when you need to , sleak design but sporty , and fun

Pros
Holds gas , reliable

Cons
Could have a camera for backing up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Douglas F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/11/2018
Very well built vehicle
Only had minor issues that you would with any other vehicle. Super comfortable to drive, decent gas mileage for an SUV, dependable for sure, second KIA/Hyundai I've owned, both were great cars . I would definitely purchase another

Pros
Easy on the eyes, easy to drive

Cons
Gas mileage, could do better

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2018
Love my Hyundai!
I love my Hyundai Santa Fe! I bought it in 2010 and loved it then and still love it at 94,000+ miles! When I was looking for a vehicle, I knew I wanted a medium sized SUV with a comfortable ride and comfortable seats! I had looked at several different SUVs, but fell in love with the Hyundai Sante Fe on my first test drive with it! The comfort is amazing, the ride is smooth and it turns like no other vehicle I have ever driven! I know mine has a lot of miles, but I still love it and it has held up great!

Pros
Comfortable seats, smooth ride and turns on a dime!

Cons
Wish I had a back up camera! I'm sure they make them in them now!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Jessica N.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/05/2018
09 SANTA FE
I bought this Santa Fe because our family was expanding. The room and safety in a vehicle were the primary thinga i was shopping for and the Santa Fe checked them off. I truly feel safe with my family in the Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Debra M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/05/2018
My Santa Fe
I have had many vehicles, Ford , Chev, Toyota, but my Hyundai Santa Fe has been my number one favorite. It is good on gas mileage, it’s a comfortable ride, it has awesome amount of storage, load room, and I have thoroughly enjoyed it. Great for long trips or short jaunts. I would recommend it to anyone for a great value and fun ride. 10
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marisa C.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2018
Love My Santa Fe!
I bought my 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe 5 years ago in 2012 after my car had been totalled. This was the first SUV I've ever owned and I will not be going back to cars. I love the comfort, the room, and the overall smooth ride of my Hyundai Santa Fe. It is great on fuel, so I don't have to constantly fill the tank. I feel that I am getting a great value for the money that I invested in this vehicle. I know that if I ever have to trade it in I will purchase another Santa Fe, this vehicle has ruined me as this is all I want to drive. My family and I feel safe when I drive my SUV. My son will be driving soon and I hope that he will be a Hyundai Santa Fe owner one day as well.

Pros
Roomy
Fuel Efficient
Performance
Value for the Money

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ann p.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2018
Great SUV
I was looking for a SUV and found this vehicle on a Ford lot. I am very glad I did. It travels well, it can be a work horse for garden items as well as look good enough to go out with girl friends. It has taken large items to my grandkids in another state. Just basic maintenance keeps her working great.

Pros
It take me where I want to go. Allows me to take large items to my grandkids in another state. It allowed me to bring garden stones home for new flower garden. It allowed me to bring grass home when my yard was destroyed. It is my car, my truck, everything I need in one. And she is still going strong at almost 100,000 miles.

Cons
My vehicle is the basic model. I wish it had GPS and blue tooth. Maybe the next one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
Walter M.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/22/2018
DONE
THIS CAR A PIECE OF JUNK AND FITZ CAN NOT FIX IT. I WILL CERTAINLY NOT BUY ANOTHER SANTA FE. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Pros
NONE

Cons
HAS LIFE THREAT PULL TO LEFT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
Pamela J.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/20/2018
2009 Hyundai Sante Fe
Overall, I have had a good experience with this vehicle, albeit not great gas mileage. However, at about 32,000 miles my fuel indicator stopped working, and I think this should have been a recall issue since I have read many posts that this has happened on 2009 Santa Fe vehicles.

Pros
Nice sized SUV for hauling larger items.

Cons
The seats are a little too high for transporting my big dogs, who are now older, and they have difficulty getting in and out of the car. I wish I had bought a slightly smaller SUV.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Curtis J.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2018
121,000 miles later ...
121,000 miles later, this car runs like it is new. The 6 cylinder engine is powerful and gets decent mileage for a car in this category. The driving position is comfortable for long drives. Good in snow.

Pros
Love the 6 cylinder engine. Lots of room, GREAT sound (best of any car I had ever had), and very reliable.

Cons
Doesn't have some of the new fancy stuff some cars have, but I have my phone for that!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Spencer F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/17/2018
I like my car
Reliable car had it a long time 8yrs. Bought new minimal major repairs. Good service from Hyundi when happens. Like big back window. New models don’t have it can’t see as well. I hope to get 200000 miles out of it

Pros
Great visibility All wheels in bad weather. Big rear window

No falling apart like my 40K Tahoe

Cons
Not any that come to mind. Like simple. Minimal electronic dash. Others may think outmoded not me

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 449 in total