2009
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(437 Reviews)
Latest review 14 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JD
Jeffrey D.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/06/2019
Lots of repair issues with this vehicle
A failed fuel sender at 60k miles
a failed transmission at 80k miles
multiple ball joints and half axles replaced all under 100k miles
4 front valve cover gaskets and alternates replaced under recall warranty.
Cannot recommend hyundai vehicles because of the poor repair history I have experienced with this vehicle. Will buy a Toyota highlander or Honda pilot next time

Pros
Good feature set for the money thank God for the 100k warranty. A Must have for hyundai products.

Cons
Very very very poor reliability. So many repairs they know me by first name at the hyundai dealer repair shop.
will not buy a hyundai product ever again and will advise others of my experience

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Penny C.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
I LOVE my Sante Fe
After months of "looking & test driving" different vehicles I bought my Sante Fe on the very last day of 2009. THANK YOU Hyundai, for the discount you awarded me that someone else might have gotten if they had purchased my car after the year had changed to 2010. I have had cars/van/suv's from different brand names, but this has been the BEST vehicle I have ever owned. I will be honest & say I had as a rental a considerably newer Sante Fe that I did not think came up to the standards of mine. I'm sure it was a much loved choice for others but it made me appreciate mine all the more. I'm excited with what I've seen the last few years & when I decide to start looking again Hyundai will be a top pick "Go To". Thanks Again & I truly mean it when I say I LOVE my Sante Fe

Pros
Too many to list.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Terry H.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Almost 10 years old and 70K miles-Still love this car!
I have recommended service done at or before it is due. Has been a very reliable car. I love this car and will keep it as long as long as it is. I made a great choice when I purchased this Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Didn't know they still made such a great car... My Santa Fe!!!
Best car I have ever owned... And my Santa Fe and I are still in the running for a long time....
What more can I say... I knew when I first say this automobile on TV and in ads, "I have to have one"
and I have NEVER been sorry I purchased one.

Pros
What more can I say... I love this car... Best purchase I have made...
2009, still running like a "top" with under 55,000 miles. My Santa Fe and I are
just getting started.....

Cons
NONE...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Alexander V.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
Excellent car.
This is the best made car I’ve ever owed.easyto manage the car is ten years old still handling as good as the day I bought it.hope I get ten more years.i really like this vehicle simple styling.great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Leann S.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2019
Love this year Hyundai
I have test driven the newer models and have not been quite as impressed as I expected. The rear is harder to see out of... I don't like the obstructed view! A camera is not a guarantee! Do better Hyundai!

Pros
I love the ability to see clearly out of all windows, there are few blind spots. I love the V6 engine, I can pass anyone on a hill ... zoom! The power is excellent. I have had very few and mostly minor issues with the vehicle as it approaches 100,000 miles. It has stayed clean and easy to take care of.

Cons
The front driver seat hasn't stayed as comfortable as I would like. It could have been better designed. The rear cargo area is nice, but stuff just flops around back there. Again, the design could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RODNEY T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/17/2019
Great SUV.
I have had this SUV since 2009 no major problems. I own two Hyundai's I love them both
I will consider purchasing a new Santa Fey next year. The service department is generally great but the last service I had was not good.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Have a leak in cabin they can't seem to fix.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FR
FRANCIS R.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2019
HYundai santa fe
I've had my Santa fe for almost 9 years now. Still runs like new and never had a problem with it. Will definitely buy another one. Excellent value for the money. The Service is great, too and free oil changes.

Pros
Love my Santa Fe

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Cheryl F.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2019
Santa Fe has been a great car
I have been very pleased with my Santa Fe. I have done regular maintenance and found my car excellent on its reliability.
The only issue I have not been able to resolve is that for some reason the clear coat has come off of my door handles. I had three handles repainted at the dealership at the end of my warranty, covered by the warranty, yet they and the fourth plus the hatch handle have continued to have the same issues ongoing.

Pros
Size, comfort and reliability

Cons
The paint issue on the door handles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
Franklin W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2019
Oh Man!
This vehicle is considered part of the family on a human level. This small SUV was brought in 2009 and it's 2019 and she still running like she was just built today(5/25/2019). Overall, I'm impressed with the handling and longevity of the parts. Very spaciest for shopping and transporting small furniture. Oh my God, this is by far my all time favorite vehicle. -- Frank W

Pros
Comfort and Reliable. You treat it right, it will treat you right.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Douglas L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2019
Great vehicle .
I like the 09 Santa Fe so much I bought a 2018 a year ago and plan on buying a 2019 this year. I don't even look at other brands of SUVS. I stand behind my Santa FE because Hyundai does. I buy the Santa Fe because I believe in the brand since I bought my first one in 2000.

Pros
Just a great vehicle you can trust.

Cons
Don't have any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NL
Nancy L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Santa Fe
I love it and enjoy driving it. When ready I will buy another one. You are asking a lot, you said a short review. Next time I will not give a review or fill it out. Give me a call if you want more. I have to watch the Twins now.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Martin T.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2019
Great reliable car
We are very happy with the vehicle. We receive letters to sell or trade it in at a premium price but we are happy with the vehicle and expect it to last several more years. Easy to drive and provides a blest view of the toad due to the large windows.

Pros
Has all we need

Cons
No temperature gauge

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Sandra H.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/22/2019
Very satisfied original owner
Over 70,000 plus miles and no serious trouble. Since I purchased this vehicle I have bought 2 different model years of Sonata's. All 3 vehicles have run great with no problems. I have been a very satisfied customer.

Pros
Over all a good buy

Cons
Ignition key location

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dorcas W.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2019
Best vehicle I've had!!
Driver seat best fits my body contour and my long legs!! Best vehicle I've had!!! Great driving always. High above the ground. Taking great care of it. Only wish it could tell me which tire needs air.

Pros
Great driving all the time. Driver seat and everything in the car is wonderful!!

Cons
Doesn't tell me which tire needs air.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Morgan K.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2019
Fantastic Vehicle!
I purchased my Hyundai Santa Fe almost nine years ago. It was pre-owned and had 14,000 miles. I have enjoyed everything about this vehicle. It has required very little maintenance , other than the regular oil changes and small repairs. I feel like my Santa Fe is safe and dependable. When the time comes to purchase another vehicle, I will purchase another Santa Fe. I think that will be a while though because this one continues to perform so well. I drive a lot and in all types of weather conditions, this vehicle has never let me down!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Gerald L.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/22/2019
Wonderful SUV
I have had my Sante Fe now for almost 10 years and I can't say enough good stuff about it. It stills runs smooth and trouble free. Has not needed any extra work at all. Yes, I stay on top of what needs to be done but that should be a must for all owners of automobiles. I really really like my Hyundai and when it comes time to replace it, I will be looking at another Hyundai for sure.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DZ
Donald Z.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2019
My Santa Fe
It handle well and rides like a smaller car. I've had it for 10 years and it stI'll runs like new.On the road I get decent gas mileage. I also feel safe when driving my Santa Fe. The interior is well designed and is comfortable.

Pros
Handles like a sedan and makes me feel safe.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ID
Irene D.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2019
Love It
I may consider getting my third one but only in a different color, good on gas and miles, money well spent. Current vehicle only have 75,000 miles and only 10 years old. I’ve had offers from strangers to buy it. I’ve driven twice to FL, GA and once to AL, plus my everyday driving.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Toni H.
2009 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2019
I have enjoyed this vehicle for almost 10 years, as it was purchased in Nov. 2009
It has been a very reliable car with minimal problems. I have it serviced according to schedule and have been very satisfied. I did have an issue with the fuel gauge reading inaccurate, I was not sure why. I was told the gas cap may have allowed air in the system, it was repaired.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 437 in total