2012
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5Overall Rating 4.78/5rating 4.78
4.8
(573 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BB
Barbara B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Santa Fe
This car is remarkable in every way I can describe. It handles well in rain or snow and is a good 4wd on mt roads. The roomy interior also has a better than average cargo
area. The gas mileage is excellent for a 6 cylinder, aveg 22.4 mpg.

Cons
blind spot on left and right sides for the driver

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Arthur C.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/11/2019
7 Years and Still in Top Form
My 2012 Santa Fe is still as reliable as the day I drove it off the lot. Sometimes I think about trading it in buy why? I still get great gas mileage and have had only minor maintenance issues over the years. Hyundai will continue to be my brand.

Pros
Space, size and economy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2019
We have a hard time getting in it
We are old and have a hard time getting in and out of it the car is too high off the ground for us. I was forced too grab it at the time because my old car blew up and I had to have a car right away and now I am stuck with it!---:

Pros
Good car

Cons
Can't get in and out

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kathie R.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
Hyundai Santa Fe
Surprisingly, my Santa Fe has held up well structurally in 2 minor accidents. It is easy to maneuver in tight spaces. Acceleration is great! I would prefer a little less highway driving interior noise, but it is still better than many other vehicles.

Pros
The dealerships I have used for service have been excellent.

Cons
The dealerships are about 25 miles from my home.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2019
AHHHH my Hyundai
Wife love's it, best car's we ever owned. Repairs, when needed, are never costly. For the price, hands down the best and better then high priced Jeep's. I do heavy driving and it's like a new car and never disappointing to us, ever. I replaced the tires and off I go.

Pros
Just a fun car all the way around.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paula S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/30/2019
Love the ride
My only recommendation is the cargo space between the seats should be large enough to fit a woman’s handbag. It is also not positioned very well for a five foot person. I also worry about the nearness of the steering wheel in relation to the air bag going off. Cars aren’t designed for short people.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Beverly P.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2019
Purchase of Santa Fe was great decision.
After owning a problematic Honda, I decided to go for the Santa Fe. Best decision! I love this vehicle. Reliable, good looking, no problems, and I already have 108,000 miles on it. I plan on keeping it for a while and certainly look forward to my next Santa Fe when it is time.

Pros
Good size. For a V6, has good power and good gas mileage.

Cons
I replaced the original tires, but I only use Michelin.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Angela M.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/25/2019
front wheel drive verses all wheel drive
My previous Santa Fe was all wheel drive and when I purchased this one, I opted for a less expensive model. I thought it wouldn't make a big difference in how it handled in Winter weather, but I was wrong. I need to go back to an all wheel drive car.

Pros
The view. The storage. CD player.

Cons
Light color interior. Dome light unit. No GPS. Don't like just front wheel drive. No automatic rear hatch closer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
2012 Sante Fe
4 Sante age and 1 Tucson all wonderful to own and drive. Craftsmanship and quality of work is top notch. Put ignition back on dash. Gas cap lid works great on door. Need more cup holders. Seats are just right

Pros
Reliable and design

Cons
Somtetime design changes not needed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christine B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Love my Hyundai
Love my Hyundai. Handles really good in the snow has plenty of room for all my camping gear or all three dogs. The storage is plenty. Really should make a pickup truck. Make it easier for me to transport my kayak.

Cons
Wished you made a pickup truck.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Judith G.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2019
Perfect fit for me
Not too big, not too small, just right. I like the power and ease of driving. Comfortable on trips and around town. Love the twilight black exterior color and the gray interior. I'm glad we bought the Santa Fe.

Cons
Disappointed to have the alternator go out at 32,000 miles. Have never had this happen on one of my cars before. Would like a larger GPS and an automatic tailgate like the newer models but don't want to sacrifice power of my vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Peter B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2019
Six-year, 50K mile review
The 2012 Santa Fe was the last year of the "two-box" design. In 2013 Hyundai moved to the "egg" design, likely to compete better with the Honda CR-V. Our Limited version has a V6 naturally aspirated engine making about 270 hp. The design provides for a lot of light and visibility in all directions. The vehicle has proven well-designed and engineered for maintainability, and has worn well. Seats and floor mats have worn well. Our vehicle is Sierra Red Metallic which is an excellent color. Interior is beige leather which is also excellent.

Pros
Visibility, build quality, comfort, low cost to maintain.

Cons
Carpeting material in the rear cargo area tends to pick up and hold foreign material.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kathleen K.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2019
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
I have a 2012 SantaFe with 144,000 miles on it & I love my car. Other than routine maintenance & my most recent service I have had no trouble with my car. I just put $1800 into repairing the engine due to a valve leak but this js the first time I had any major repair. I keep my cars for over 200,000 miles so I figure by 2021 I will be researching the Santa Fe & if they have a good rating I will buy another one.

Pros
Love 6 cylinder engine. Roomy taketrhe thrns good

Cons
Blind spot on front window

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/15/2019
Vehicle Review for 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
I really like my vehicle. Everything is to my liking except for 3 important items.

First, the road noise is terrible. I expected better. It really drowns out my music and discussions, etc.
Second, I'm disappointed with the ride quality. It could be smoother.
Third, the MPG isnt nearly as good as what was indicated when I bought it.

Other than that, I definitely like the vehicle and the service you offer.

Pros
I really like my vehicle. Everything is to my liking except for 3 important items.

First, the road noise is terrible. I expected better. It really drowns out my music and discussions, etc.
Second, I'm disappointed with the ride quality. It could be smoother.
Third, the MPG isnt nearly as good as what was indicated when I bought it.

Other than that, I definitely like the vehicle and the service you offer.

Cons
I really like my vehicle. Everything is to my liking except for 3 important items.

First, the road noise is terrible. I expected better. It really drowns out my music and discussions, etc.
Second, I'm disappointed with the ride quality. It could be smoother.
Third, the MPG isnt nearly as good as what was indicated when I bought it.

Other than that, I definitely like the vehicle and the service you offer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NG
Nancy G.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/07/2019
Best car I've ever owned!
My Hyundai Santa Fe is a 2012 model and I will most certainly purchase another one just as soon as I start having problems with this one! Until then, I have never been happier with an automobile like I am with this one. I love everything about it...size, MPG. The only thing missing is all the updated features like rear camera, built in GPS, etc., but since I have gotten along without them for this long, I will continue to do so until problems begin. Nothing has ever been wrong with this car except for tire replacement. How many people can say that about their vehicles?!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
Vickie T.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
Hyundai Santa Fe
This is my second Santa Fe and third Hyundai. Best service ever from Crown! Love the way my SUV rides. I've traveled easily and my car has driven my grandson to and from all his sports events with ease. I have always felt safe during severe weather while driving my Santa Fe! Just love my baby!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kathy M.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
I love my Hyundai Santa FE. I wouldn’t want another vehicle at this point. Vehicle has been excellent for me in driveability, and assume due to keeping up with maintenance it will continue to be an excellent vehicle for many miles to go. Have about 79,000 right now, and hope to keep this vehicle for another few years.

Love my Hyundai and will buy another one when I need a new vehicle.

Pros
Lots of pros. Just overall love this vehicle.

Cons
I can’t think of any cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
wilson H.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2019
my best friend
This is a great car on the market, my Hyundai Santa Fe 2.012 never stop, it is great in gas and millage, is the best option for me and my family. we decided to buy this car with a lot of questions about the brand.

Pros
price ,warranty, details.,

Cons
pre-owned

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
Wilson H.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2019
My best friend.
This is my best friend, my santa fe 2.012, never stop, you can imagine . This is a great car on the market, for price and economy you have a great opportunity for saving money went you take this brand in your house. I recommend this brand for everything and the warranty is amazing.

Pros
Price, warranty, Gas millage per gallon.

Cons
pre- owned

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Ralph C.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/20/2019
Great
Great vehicle, ages well, drives great, comfortable, a lot of storage space, makes me feel safe on the road, good on long road trips, my dog enjoys the cargo space, roof rack adds extra carrying space

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Rear door doesn’t open on own

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 573 in total