Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JP
John P.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/17/2021
Santa Fe
I really like my Santa Fe. The responsiveness of my vehicle is fantastic. I was with my son on 470 when a person in another car decided to pull into my lane I stepped on the gas and was able to move into the other lane avoiding a wreck. My Santa Fe is comfortable and I just enjoy driving the car as much as i dislike driving due to the idiots on the highway. I just like the car period. I honestly believe I can get 200,000 miles out of the car as long as I maintain it properly.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Philip L.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2021
2012 Santa Fe AWD Review
Our Santa Fe has been very reliable except for our radio which seems to have a mind of it's own! Had to have rear coupler replaced but since the vehicle had 180,000 miles on it at the time it wasn't a big surprise! Vehicle now has nearly 195,000 miles on it and runs very nicely. D'Arcy Hyundai does all maintenance on the vehicle and keeps me updated as to service interval recommendations.

Pros
Reliable vehicle. Great AWD capability. Solid vehicle.

Cons
Bad radio. Read online that MANY people have experienced the same in the 2012 model and previous. Radio goes on and off at will. Coupler had to be replaced at around 180,000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carmen S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/06/2021
2012 Sante Fe
Great vehicle with no major issues for this model and year, very dependable car, love it, glad I purchased it and would recommend it highly (any Santa Fe models). Might purchase another Hyundai again.

Pros
Uses regular gas. Drives smooth, looks great, a good investment.

Cons
None at this time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Carol K.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/30/2021
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Vehicle was pretty good while under warranty. 85,000 as of right now only driven on paved roads and have had to replace almost everything on the front end, cv joints, steering arms, ball joints, you name it we replaced it. Rest of vehicle has held up pretty good, very disappointed in front end mechanical issues. And now the engine issue.

Pros
Good warranty and gas mileage

Cons
Once warranty is gone look out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 05/03/2021
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

FR
Frank R.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/26/2021
Frustrating SUV
If I would have know Hyundai Santa Fe was going to give me nothing but alternator issues, I would have never purchased it. I’ve had issues, after issues for 8 straight months that no one, including Hyundai dealership could figure out why my ESC and DBC lights would constantly come on. Apparently it’s an issue other Santa Fe owners have/are experiencing and no Hyundai dealership can figure out the problem. Not a good look, Hyundai.

Pros
Santa Fe is comfortable for long travel. Has a reat sound system. AWD feature is great during the snowy season.

Cons
Electrical issues mainly because of the alternator...so far. The front seats are little small and too close to the steering wheel, if you’re over 6’1. The Bluetooth feature in the 2012 model has trouble connecting with smartphones.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Ellen R.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/05/2021
Great car
130,000 trouble free miles. I am impressed. The car is still not showing it's age as paint hasn't faded, interior is looks great. The Santa Fe remains a very comfortable ride and I have always been glad I bought it.

Pros
Nice size, comfortable to drive, has held up well

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mike K.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/10/2021
Great SUV
My 2012 Santa Fe has been reliable right up to getting a notice for an open recal of a potential problem with a connecting rod bearing.
I hope they resolve the recall soon.
I'd like to trade up but the open recall hurts my trade in value.

Pros
Great reliable SUV.
Size is just right.
Good file economy

Cons
In resolved open recall.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Charles P.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2020
Hyundai sante fe quality
I have loved my Santa Fe, and would challenge any other SUV, as to quality and performance. I would not change car, service advisor, car dealer, or location for any reason other than the obvious, which is not going to happen.

Pros
all of the above

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kenneth K.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2020
2012 Santa Fe
Great "mix" of features, comfort (great driver seat power adjustments), awesome sound system (it totally "cranks" - well done) and I love the blue-tooth phone connectivity (phone "pairs" with sound system automatically when I start it up!)- perfect for clear-and safe hands free use. Great "mix" of easy cargo adjustment options with folding rear seats (wish they laid completely flat with the rear cargo bed). Moved a friend (including strapping queen box spring and mattress to top rails). Stayed comfy and very stable fully loaded! (Suggestion - make side rearview mirrors a bit wider to increase lane viewing "range".

Pros
Read above...

Cons
Read above...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Ken K.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2020
Love my Santa Fe!!!
Ride, comfort, appointments, and V6 are great. However, factory remote FOB failed when clip holding batteries inside broke off making it non-functional, Cost of replacement was ridiculous @ $90 !!!! Want someone to consider Hyundai for future vehicle options, this is NOT how to create a "warm and fuzzy" feeling! Being an Electronic Engineer, the remote is a simple device and does not warrant this pricing! All I need is a simple remote!, not a bruised budget... Who can help???

Pros
Overall, it's a great vehicle. Will consider replacement with another!

Cons
Add a simple "power retention" feature for approximately 1 min after key removal. Loved that feature on my last Chevy Trail Blazer. also consider adding a key lock on the rear hatch Handle. Would be convenient!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
Stephanie E.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
Wonderful but 100k warrant does transfer to new owner
Nice car but 100k warranty is void after initial owner sells the vehicle. Had I known this I wouldn’t have bought it. I purchased it because of the warranty. Other than that this is a great purchase.

Pros
The limited has all the bells and whistles.

Cons
Only the volume on the steering wheel control works with handsfree option.
No rear climate control options aren’t accessible to the passengers in the back.
No 3rd row seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Betty A.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/09/2020
Satisfaction
Very pleased with the performance of my vehicle. Have had very few problems since purchase in 2012. My only negative item is that this car is very slow on pick up flowing into moving traffic also after stopping and then moving.

Cons
Slow pick up speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Theresa B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2020
2012 Limited
I still enjoy my 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe. The Courtesy Car I had to opportunity to drive was a 2020 fuel efficient Santa Fe. It was a solid, easy operating, smooth riding, vehicle with a great heating/cooling system and backup assistance. The engine is smaller than the 2012, but still performed well even on interstates.

Pros
It was a solid, easy operating, smooth riding, vehicle with a great heating/cooling system and backup assistance. The engine is smaller than the 2012, but still performed well even on interstates.

Cons
Seats were uncomfortable and I bumped my knee every time I got into the car. I prefer a 6 cylinder (in my 2012) to the 4 cylinder (in the 2020)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
WAYNE S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2020
Overall a good Vehicle,
as we all know nothing last forever, Im 70 years old and im not quiet up to date with computer skills to work on cars now days so your at the mercy of the mechanic Reeds is kind explains what wrong and fixes it and you dont here "Take it to the dealer"

Pros
Overall a very nice vehicle

Cons
high tech items that react much differently, maybe prior to sale a mechanic gives a class on operation and function of items.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAN S.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/08/2020
great car
good used vehicle, new to me even though the years would lead you towards an older car, I just find it being broken in still, looks good for an older model would pass for brand new if looking at it from a distance
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Renate B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/19/2020
Vehicle Mostly Trouble-free
This vehicle has been trouble-free, except for suspension/tire wear issues. Although the vehicle gets relatively light use and good maintenance, I have gone through four sets of tires in eight years and 60,000 miles. Obviously, this has been a major expense and an ongoing frustration for me.

Pros
overall good performance and reliability

Cons
suspension and tire wear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
James B.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2020
Santa Fe Limited
I am very satisfied with my 2012 Santa Fe LTD
The only feature that would keep me from moving into a new Santa Fe is the Stop & Go
feature. I think it’s a farce. another scam from the government forcing consumers into products that aren’t what they claim.

Pros
Heated Leather Seating
Remote Start

Cons
Manual Liftgate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gene D.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
2012 Santa Fe Limited
I’ve been following the progress of Hyundai’s and Kia’s for a number of years and finally bought this used 2012 Hyundai Santa Fe with 98,000 miles on it as a second car to drive for a while. It appeared to be well-maintained and as it turned out, it’s been the best car I’ve ever owned and I’ve over 20 cars of my 50 year driving history! This 2012 Santa Fe Limited FWD now has over 150 k miles on it and my daughter is driving it now; I wouldn’t hesitate a second to take this car on a cross country trip to anywhere. These autos are well built and the most dependable vehicles I’ve ever owned; in fact, I liked this 2012 Santa Fe, That I bought a new 2017 Santa Fe Ultimate AWD. I couldn’t be happier!

Pros
Well built, dependable, stylish, sophisticated, fun to drive!

Cons
Only thing I’d like better is if it had higher ground clearance and a bit more off road capable! A dual range transmission would be great!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jeanne H.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2020
Santa fe
This is my third Santa Fe and each car had on over 250,000 miles. Only repairs were with my last one but I’ve had it since 2012 and only two issues. Other then normal wear and tear tires,oil changes Ect is all that I’ve had to deal with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lynn W.
2012 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Awesome car.
This is one of the best card I have every owned. I had a 2007 GLS previously and loved it. This is a Limited, heated leather seats, sunroof, auto mirrors, lights, it has everything. I will probably keep this car United one of us dies.

Pros
Every option, great to drive, good mpg, reliable, comfortable, and easy to look at.

Cons
Engine does not have enough power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 627 in total