2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(2019 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


KC
KAREN C.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
04/21/2015
Bluetooth
Bluetooth with I phone sucks and no one can help me with this will be trading in for this reason. Speed is not to good

Pros
PRICE

Cons
BLUE TOOTH AND SPEED

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
FRED L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/30/2015
vehicle rateing.
I have purchased five Hyundai vehicles in the past, I still own two of them. The vehicles are great; howener Automax is the only dealer in this area, and their service is slow, and undependable. I will not purchase any more Hyundai vehicles.

Pros
Quality vehicle

Cons
Extremely poor service, both at time of sale, and afterwards. Hyundai shoud change to a new dealership.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
LISA H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/05/2015
Woohoo!
Love! Love! Love my Santa Fe!

Pros
So easy to drive and great on road trips!

Cons
Latch on back hatch has had its issues. Door open light comes on and when trying to close again the latch freezes and you just have to wait on it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
LEONARD W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/23/2015
Poor Quality Vehicle
After a few short months of owning the Santa Fe, I was so disappointed with the build quality that I sold it. The steering and brakes were unsafe. Random steering pulls left and right with no warning. Brakes seemed insufficient to stop the vehicle. Also, the onboard mileage computer was severely inaccurate. Dealership stated it was within Hyundai specs. I guess I believe them as the whole vehicle had poor build quality. This will be the last Hyundai/Kia product I ever purchase.

Pros
Cheap, but you get what you pay for so I would suggest spending a little more on a better vehicle.

Cons
Steering, brakes, interior, and onboard computer are inferior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
Christine K.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/26/2016
santefe
HATE THIS CAR. VERY POOR VISIBILITY. RIDES LIKE A PICKUP TRUCK WITH NO SHOCKS.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Ronald S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/21/2016
Problem Santa Fe
Problem Santa Fe this is the sixth time I've had to have this 2013 Santa Fe back at the dealer for service very disgusted with this vehicle died for that I would ever purchased another hundred. I will say that the dealership has tried it's very best and help me each time I've had problems.

Pros
Nice car great features good gas mileage

Cons
ongoing problems-hope to keep this car for a long time now thinking thinking of having to trade it in early because of problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Hector S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/28/2016
Honest review
Im GoiNG TO BE HONEST MY 2013 Santa fe 2.0t was crap. Waisted more money on gas than anything. Only great thing was the space. I had more issue with that car in the last 3 years than my 2004 corolla which I had nine years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Cathy F.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/20/2016
Was sold a car that has issues
I've had issues with my vehicle since I purchased it at the end of Feb 2016. It's a used vehicle that I purchased for $14,000 not $2000 or $3000. Therefore I feel there should not be anything wrong with my vehicle. Let's see, I've had the rear brakes replaced at the end of May, only having this for 3 months at the time, air filter replaced, replaced my head light bulb, and now I find out my tread on my tires are uneven so that's why the tires are making noise and on the highway that's why my back rear passenger seat shakes, due to the tread being uneven. I love the style of car, it's what I've been looking for but I feel I've been ripped off with my experiences with this car. If I could give it back, I would and I would purchase car else where.

Pros
Perfect size for me

Cons
Gave had too many issues with this vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Daniel R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/08/2017
Totally regret getting this car
This car has been nothing but problems since it was purchased. I purchased the car used from Edmond Hyundai a year ago, and from the car buying experience up to this point, this car has been a headache. The engine has already been replaced due to catastrophic engine failure while the car was being driven. An axle failed and had to be replaced along with many other problems. Repair costs have been well over $10,000. I will gladly get rid of this car as soon as I can.

Pros
It has a lot of features, and it looks nice.

Cons
Completely unreliable, and something is always breaking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/07/2017
Major headlight problem
THE HEADLIGHTS DEFINATELY HAVE A PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED.

Pros
About the same as my 2012 which I miss. Was totaled in an accident and hoped to have the same quality with another Santa Fe

Cons
Serious headlight problem that needs to be repaired. I am not comfortable driving after dark in this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raul S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/30/2018
Too many issues with this vehicle.
Way too many recalls and issues with this vehicle. Have made 5 trips to service dept for factory defects on this vehicle. I will be trading in this vehicle for a more reliable vehicle, cuz I don’t want to get stuck with any issues on it after warranty expires.

Pros
It’s a nice looking vehicle from the outside.

Cons
Way too many recalls and factory defect issues!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Susan L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/21/2018
It sucks
This is a horrid auto. I’ve put 2 engines in it and Hyundai refuses to off set my $7,000. Cost. I’ll never purchase a car from this company again and will speak poorly of them ever chance I get. Looking for attorney for help with this nasty company

Pros
None

Cons
It’s a piece of trash the dealership is horrible and I dependable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Lisa H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/29/2018
I do not recommend the Santa Fe
Be leary when purchasing a 2013 Santa fe Sport. In November of 2016, I purchased a used 2013 Santa Fe and ever since, I've been having problems with the odometer TRIP A & TRIP B resetting on their own. I have gone thru 4-5 cluster panels and just 10 days ago thought the problem was resolved because in addition to the cluster panel being replaced (again), the clock-spring and a switch were also replaced. Guess what? Today, 9 days later... after turning on my car in the grocery store parking lot before pulling out, I glanced at my odometer and low and behold the TRIP B was reading 0.0 I NEVER reset it! This is ridiculous. Yet another call to my favorite service manager John Klapp tomorrow morning... How many more tries to replace the same cluster panel is this going to take? How much longer before they just give me a new vehicle?? Been in contact with HQ in Irvine, Ca and while very pleasant and accomodating, the issue has not been resolved. Not sure what else to do. I would NEVER recommend the 2013 Santa Fe, in fact, I would never recommend a Santa Fe at all; just in case.

Pros
Looks great; especially after a nice wash and wax
Heated seats are a plus
Power seat (driver side only) is very nice

Cons
Odometer re-sets itself; no clear resolution--still an ongoing problem 1.5 yr later
Don't buy the 4 cylinder; TERRIBLE on gas. Thought I was buying a 6 cyl.
Heated mirrors aren't working as good as the 2012 Tuscon
When bluetooth is on, text messages do not come thru on the interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Aimee A.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/18/2018
No Torque Santa Fe
I have lived in Rochester, NY my entire life and my Santa Fe is the only vehicle I've ever driven that has required sand bags in the wintertime as the second the roads are the least bit slick (and it doesn't have to be snow) the tires simply spin and the car goes nowhere. I do not feel safe in my vehicle in the wintertime (my wife won't drive it) and wouldn't drive it at all without spending the additional money myself to put decent tires on it. In fact, if I could afford a new vehicle altogether, the first thing I'd do is get rid of it. Unfortunately, my engine was just replaced so I can look forward to spending money on snow tires for the foreseeable future. I will not purchase another Hyundai.

Pros
Bluetooth

Cons
AWD, Traction Control, Torque

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sandra R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/14/2018
This vehicle requires a good long warranty to keep the owner from going broke on service calls.
Repeated returns to dealership for various warning indicators, check engine lights, recalls, far too numerous for a five year old car with under 50,000 miles. Needed computer replaced after a couple of years! Further I do not live in Myrtle Beach so a service call is not a quick drive to the shop each time I need to come especially when it is not a regularly scheduled service.

Pros
Confortable ride, plenty of interior space, easy to use features.

Cons
Blind spots for driver no matter how the seat is adjusted...side view mirrors and solid area between the windshield and the front doors block view.

Way too many unscheduled service calls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
James T.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/27/2018
Worst purchase ever
This vehicle had to have the engine replaced at less than 1000 miles. It’s in the shop at least twice a year for mechanical or electrical problems. It’s always something wrong with this vehicle consistently. Stay away from this model.

Pros
Stylish

Cons
Engine problems, electrical problems and mechanical issues consistently.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 07/27/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns. A specialist from our Headquarters will contact shortly to investigate further. ^cc

SL
Susan L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/10/2018
IT SUCKS
This 2013 has been the worst auto I have ever owned. Before I could get this car through the engine recall I paid over $9,000. in repairs that the company refused to help with reimbursement. Once I pay off my auto loan, I will find another vehicle and it will never be another Hyundai

Pros
NONE

Cons
the entire vehicle wasn't worth the cost

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Leslie P.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/07/2018
Marginal
This Sante Fe gets terrible gas mileage - maybe 18mpg at best. I’ve Replaced the tires & the brakes twice within 50k miles. This vehicle is Not good in snow. There were a couple of recalls on this vehicle as well. I had a very difficult time reaching anyone at Hyundai’s main office when I was trying to buy out my lease, which I’ll never do again - VERY COSTLY.

Pros
Good pick up, roomy

Cons
Bad gas mileage, bad in snow, tires & brakes don’t last long

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/10/2018
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

SJ
Sovy J.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/08/2018
DO NOT BUY THIS BRAND.
I purchased my 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport brand new and I will NEVER purchase a Hyundai again. It has been a huge dissatisfaction. My Bluetooth has always been faulty. And the most HORRIFIC thing happened. Driving the far left lane of a major interstate going about 70 miles per hour with my two kids in the back seat, my ENGINE DIED! The worse experience ever, my son was crying in the back seat because he was so scared. Luckily, we made it over to the shoulder of the interstate safely. The dealership had the car for over a month and I had to call to check on the status of my car. Well supposedly, they put in a brand new engine for me, but the nightmare continues. In less than a week after I picked it up, my engine light came back on. This is unacceptable and I do not feel safe in my car. I WILL NEVER BUY A HYUNDAI EVER AGAIN. The worse car ever made. I would advise everyone for the safety of their lives and their families don’t buy an UNTRUSTWORTHY and UNRELIABLE brand.

Cons
The worse car ever made.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/10/2018
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

TS
Tom S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/14/2018
Worst vehicle purchase ever
Hyundai lied to us about the fuel economy when we bought it. They first tried to put us in one the wrong color. Then, when they had the right color it was not equipped as advertised. We had to bring the window sticker back in to show them what was supposed to be on the vehicle they sold us. At 106,000 miles, 6,000 out of warranty, the engine spun a rod bearing. The service manager at the dealership said "I don't know what happened, we never have any problems with that engine". I found out later there had been a recall on that engine for the two model years prior for that exact issue. A few months after I repaired the engine myself (I couldn't afford the $7,000 Hyundai wanted to repair it) a recall came out on my year.

Pros
None

Cons
Poor quality. Poor vehicle user interface

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/14/2018
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2019 in total