2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5Overall Rating 4.67/5rating 4.67
4.7
(2002 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MI
Marguba I.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/27/2016
Not good on mpg
Has a good look but mpg is very bad. Also has blind spot on left front dashboard. The panel is so big it makes hard to see anything especially when you make left turn.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Mary E.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/07/2017
Not happy
I would not buy another one.

Pros
Beautiful car

Cons
Too much road noise, has too many rattles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HK
Henok K.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/11/2017
Hundai santa fe.
I like the car. But engine and transmission failed on me just within 3 month interval and am so disappointed. I will never ever own or trust hundai cars.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Donald D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/15/2017
Dead on the highway
I am concerned that my engine can Stop my car DEAD on a highway and a Truck can go right over me..No brake Lights Just Dead How would YOU feel if it were Your family. ???
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Edwin D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/17/2017
GDI motor is garbage
Car stalls a lot if you don't have the heads cleaned out constantly. Have to always put an additive in gas so it won't hesitate.

Pros
Nice look outside

Cons
GDI motor no good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Candy H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/03/2017
Not completely Happy
My 2013 model had many little and major defects. Water leaking from roof rail, moisture got into the head light fixtures. Had to take for at least three recalls services. Still finding some more and my five year warranty about to expire soon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Everett R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/26/2018
Handling is sub-par on the road
The handling is sub-par. Found out that the reason for the front end alignment going out all of the time is due to the steering wheel driving selections (Sport, Comfort, Normal) I found out about this from another reputable automotive shop to have the alignment done for the 7th time. They told me that I was not the only one to come there to have the same thing done. The mechanic told me that it is an issue that Hyundai needs to take care of to get it corrected. As for the struts....they are nothing but second hand junk and don't deserve to be called struts.

Pros
It runs.

Cons
The 2.0 Turbo get terrible mileage. It gets the same mileage as my truck did.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/03/2018
AC hose
Have had same issue twice in a year for defective hose. Hope I got a good one this time. Other than hose issue everything is awesome. Except this AC issue with hose. Santa Fe it self is a nice vehicle, just AC hose

Pros
Ruins good, looks good, comfortable

Cons
AC hose that has been replaced twice in a year.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Alla L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/18/2018
Great vehicle that put me down
Its a beautiful vehicle. I love that design and it has been reliable until one of the recall items (which I had replaced bit I guess this still can happen) caused the engine to blow up while we were driving on the highway:( Life flashed a front of my eyes at that moment, we had 3 adults and my son 3yo in the car when that happened. Thanks God my husband was driving and was able safely drive off from far left lane to the grassy are on the right. There were large 18 wheelers on the road and about to drive over a bridge. That was by far scariest moment of my life. I couldn't stop thinking that and about what could of happened. Vehicle was at 80000 (+-) miles at the time and under power train warranty it covered repaired at the dealership and loaner vehicle for the time needed for the repairs. Repair took two month, my Hyundai is running perfectly now.

Pros
Beautiful vehicle, smooth driving and great on gas.

Cons
Recalled engine that can brow up while you driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/20/2018
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

DN
Debbie N.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/30/2018
Nice car on the outside
My wife loved this Hyundai Santa Fe Limited as soon as she laid eyes on it. It looks nice on the outside and inside but the inner parts are cheap and fail quite often. It's like a pig with Lipstick. When you add the HUGH depreciation hit we took and we really wish we had gone another direction. The car was over $35,000 MSRP new and now 5 years later with only 58,477 miles on it (and it is in perfect condition) the blue-book private part is only $14,000 - $16,000 a whopping mere 40% of when new. Compare that to a Toyota or Honda.

Pros
Looks nice

Cons
Depreciates rapidly and significantly
Internal build components (switches, relays, panels, etc.) cheaply made
The parts you cant see are cheap.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VW
Valeria W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/13/2018
Disappointed
I been having trouble with this vehicle since I purchased. I got the vehicle brand new in 2013 and the problems begin about a year later. It makes off and on clicking noises, the display screen show words in Chinese at times, I have had to change the battery so many times, and now the air control unit has stop working. I will NEVER purchase a Hyundai again!

Pros
Comfortable, stylish, perfect size SUV

Cons
Maintenance problems and defective parts

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/30/2019
Good service at dealership. Product is subpar.
too many issues...

engine turbo part recall.
ecu recall.
finally warrantied ouy my faulty rear diff after multiple attempts at Corona Hyundai (0 of 5 stars)....POS dealership.
fog light reflector piece hanging loose...out of warranty after 50k miles.
rear right pass seat heatr defective...out of warranty.
paid 300 for a faulty driver door lock acctu...not warrantied.
plus fuel line recall coming up

Hyundai still have to improve greatly on sourcing QUALITY parts associated with common wear n tear.

At this point i am not convienced at referring friends and family to Hyundai

Pros
Style and drivability is as expected.

Cons
too many issues...

engine turbo part recall.
ecu recall.
finally warrantied ouy my faulty rear diff after multiple attempts at Corona Hyundai (0 of 5 stars)....POS dealership.
fog light reflector piece hanging loose...out of warranty after 50k miles.
rear right pass seat heatr defective...out of warranty.
paid 300 for a faulty driver door lock acctu...not warrantied.
plus fuel line recall coming up

Hyundai still have to improve greatly on sourcing QUALITY parts associated with common wear n tear.

At this point i am not convienced at referring friends and family to Hyundai.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Manuel R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/30/2019
Santa Fe-Sport.
I Love my Santa Fe Sport, but I am very disappointed that I was caught up in two Santa Fe vehicle recalls for my 2013. Wasn't counting on this when I bought this car. Doesn't speak well for Hyundai. I probably would not say good things about it if asked to give my opinion.

Pros
No opinion at this time

Cons
Make a better product that does not get recalled so often. I am truly upset over this issue. I hold Hyundai to a high standard and you FAILED ME AS A CONSUMER!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Kathleen N.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/01/2019
Riddled with recalls
I’ll never buy another Hyundai again because this one always seems to be called in for MAJOR recall work. I just got in for another recall and am anticipating when the next one will be. Maybe I got a ‘bad lot’ of cars but still it’s scary to have these major failures in my car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RY
Raymond Y.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/03/2019
Not near as good as my last santa fe.
This car is not near as good as I expected it to be. There are too many things substandard about this vehicle. Compared to my two other Hyundai this one is junk. At 14000 miles my front rotors where shot. The pads where good but the rotors went bad, this should not happen. I have had many cars and trucks in my life that I've worked on myself and replaced many pads, rotors and other brake parts and this never happened this way. Worst, I had to pay for the replacements. This was only the start of my dissatisfaction with this car. I'm not sure if I would ever consider buy another Hyundai.

Pros
Styling, paint job, power

Cons
Dashboard sucks,trans shifts funny,road noise, clunks under the car when stopping and starting and the braking system is still terrible. Oh I forgot the buttons on the left side for the steering wheel still act up occasionally..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Keith D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/07/2019
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
My AC has gone out twice; windshield wiper reservoir began leaking at about 40,000 miles and had to be replaced. Car has developed a problem with the starter and periodically will not start until turning the key several times repeatedly.

Cons
Many mechanical issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
J F M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/16/2019
Poor reliability
I had problems with this 2013 Santa Fe. Now it has only 76,000 miles on it. First big problem was the engine quit in the middle of the freeway. Had to get it towed to the dealership. You do not want that to happen. Ever. Hyundai did pay for the motor repair. Hyundai did not pay for the towing charges. last week the starter motor had to be repaired. I had to pay for that. Next time I buy another brand.

Pros
whatever

Cons
retiability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Pam D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/29/2019
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
After two recalls on my vehicle I do not feel completely safe driving it. I received a new motor due to first recall and now am averaging much less mileage performance. Therefore I would not consider purchasing another Hyundai.

Pros
None

Cons
After two recalls, one that left me stranded on the road, I feel afraid to drive my vehicle. And am very disappointed about the fact that I now get fewer miles per gallon average on my vehicle. I feel like this recall has left me with a less valuable vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gayla S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/04/2019
I don't know maybe Lemon of a car.
Too many headaches and fear for me.

Pros
Sharp looking.

Cons
too many blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kathleen M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/22/2019
You truly get what you pay for
I would NEVER recommend a Hyundai to anyone looking for quality. I've had to replace more electronics than should for a car that was purchased brand new, the display sometimes shows special characters instead of the names of songs/artists. Control buttons stopped working, plastic pieces have broken and/or are falling off, the paint is chipping and when asked I was told that it won't rust or grow- both of which are not true, the back up camera stopped working. It's not even that old, and it was bought brand new. I've had to replace breaks multiple times, again it's not that old. Overall, it's just a terrible car. I suppose it's true though- you get what you pay for. To have the bells and whistles and not pay top dollar was nice in the beginning, but I wish I would have known that those bells and whistles wouldn't last for the length of time I had the car.

Pros
Cheap to purchase for the amount of features you get
Decent gas mileage

Cons
Everything breaks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 2002 in total