2013
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2122 Reviews)
Latest review 11 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


KM
Kathleen M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/22/2019
You truly get what you pay for
I would NEVER recommend a Hyundai to anyone looking for quality. I've had to replace more electronics than should for a car that was purchased brand new, the display sometimes shows special characters instead of the names of songs/artists. Control buttons stopped working, plastic pieces have broken and/or are falling off, the paint is chipping and when asked I was told that it won't rust or grow- both of which are not true, the back up camera stopped working. It's not even that old, and it was bought brand new. I've had to replace breaks multiple times, again it's not that old. Overall, it's just a terrible car. I suppose it's true though- you get what you pay for. To have the bells and whistles and not pay top dollar was nice in the beginning, but I wish I would have known that those bells and whistles wouldn't last for the length of time I had the car.

Pros
Cheap to purchase for the amount of features you get
Decent gas mileage

Cons
Everything breaks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
Winston H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/24/2019
2013 santa fe
good running vehicle has 28000 miles on it the problems i have is with the electronics ---wheel bearing sensor out on both front wheels 2 weeks apart was told by service rep was prevalent problem so i asked why they didn't replace both at same time he said the company would not replace the other until it failed -extra time to arrange for the repairs 60 mile trip again.The 4 wheel alignment with about 12000 mile injector service at same time oil changes every 3000 on straight synthetic? and finally the abs skid control and slope angle lights on guess what can't repair until cleared by Hyundai -----what the heck is the warranty for? top of the line i bought it for the 10 year or 100,000 mile warranty plus the extra 24000 added due a turbo recall !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
Pamela L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/25/2019
mechanical failure
I ought this car used. I loved it first sight.
However, after 31 days driving it, it had a mechanical failure that meant that the engine needed to be replaced. Hyundai took it in but, after 19 days with them, the car still have the problem.

Pros
Nice interior. Good taking curves at speed

Cons
Unexplained mechanical failure

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JULIE D.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/25/2019
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
It is a used car that Autonation of Honda did not do what they were supposed to. I dont recommend Autonation of Honda they will steal and cheat you . Dont trust them. This car has issues that will be fixed at Sculleys.

Pros
Comfort level is good.

Cons
It is horrible in almost everything else. I dont trust the car yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Alison F.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
03/09/2020
Disappointing
I am currently driving my second Santa Fe vehicle. My first car needed a new transmission just over the 100,000 mile mark. This vehicle was one of the thousands involved in an engine recall. Just one week after the dealer “checked” my engine and they determined that the engine was fine, it seized on a busy highway. The car had to be towed back to the dealer and they gave me the run-around about when the new engine would be “approved”. Of course they said they had no courtesy cars available for the 10 days I waited to see if they were going to replace my engine. (They refused to place me one a waiting list for a courtesy car until the work was “approved”). Then all of a sudden, the engine was in and the car was ready to be picked up within a day of hearing the engine would be replaced. I racked up a $500 car rental bill while the car was in the shop and fought them for 2 years to get that money back! It took many, many e-mails, phone calls and better business bureau complaints to get someone to do the right thing and reimburse me. I love my car, but I cannot accept the poor customer service and treatment by Hyundai and my next vehicle will not be from them.

Pros
Comfortable

Cons
Needs a roof rack. My particular year and model would not even easily allow a secondary market roof rack. Not towing hitch either.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ALEX W.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/26/2015
28 Months with a Santa Fe
Overall the SUV does function, I am not completely satisfied, the car is not comfortable to drive, to much road noise and rough ride. The tires appear (?) to be to large for the vehicle and could contribute to the overall comfort. The gas mileage is no where close to expectations or the advertised mileage, City driving has only been 16 to 17 miles per gallon. Best mileage achieved on a road trip 23 to 24 miles per gallon. I use regular gas with adetives.
I have had to disconnect the Blue tooth because I have not been able to control the volume of the ring in for calls.
Mechanical operation has been good.
I currently lease this Santa Fe but would not do so again. Based on Quality / Mechanical Operation I might consider other Hyundai Product.

Pros
See Summary

Cons
See Summary

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RY
Richard Y.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/18/2015
2013 Santa fa
Except for the keyless ignition. The 2011 was a much better vehicle

Cons
Hard to see vehicles approaching on the right of the driver due to the extension of the door support. Very bad

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Debra L.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/13/2015
Oil Change
I made an appointment 2 weeks in advance for my service. Still had to wait in line. No service personal informed me as to any updates or where I am on my current mileage services. I think I could have gone to a Kwik Lube place and felt the same lack of importance and got my service a lot faster. I had a BMW before and there is a big difference in how they keep their customers informed about the service done and about your car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAVE S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/15/2015
great service, poor build quality
In the 2+ years of ownership we have had perhaps 10 major and minor problems . there have been factory recalls, campaigns, plus the many issues involving the nav system, A/C, loose trim, etc.
fortunately the local dealer has been terrific to work with and they have fixed many of the problems. It is only because of the service department's willingness to help us that we have held on to this poorly built vehicle

Pros
lots of content, ideal size decent economy and performance

Cons
way too many things breaking, needing replacement, recalled, etc.
I have never had so many issues necessitating dealer intervention with any vehicle since my 1960 Chrysler

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
ELISE M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/17/2015
Nice but...
It gets terrible gas mileage to only be a four cylinder. I do like it's features and the way it drives. This is my third Hyundai, but I would pick a model that is more efficient.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/27/2016
Blank
Blank

Cons
Windshield wipers. Gas mileage not good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAMES S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/30/2016
Beautiful car with loads of features.
This car is beautiful and has loads of features for the money. The only problem I have had with it is some quality/durability of materials used on the interior. I had to take the car back twice to have a few things fixed, but the bumper to bumper warranty is the best in the industry and everything was fixed without any hassle and was free of charge.

Pros
BEAUTIFUL inside and out. Great design. The top of the line model looks like a luxury car for a lot less money. The entertainment system is the best looking in the industry. Huge panoramic sunroof. I love it!!!

Cons
Plastic material on interior of 2013 model was a little too soft and scratched easily. The ride could use a little more cushion in the suspension. This is only noticed on long trips. Around town it's fine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jean M.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/11/2016
Santa Fe sport
There are blind sides on the driver and passenger front. Very difficult to see when turning corners or going through intersections
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jodi R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/10/2016
2013
Overall very happy with vehicle

Pros
Feel safe.handles great

Cons
Large blind areas either side of front windshield. Passengers report not much comfort in back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kimberle E.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/25/2016
Santa Fe
Car is nice. the corporate headquarters is difficult to deal with when you have an issue with your car.

Pros
The turbo makes it fun to drive and the choices of type of steering are great.

Cons
I had an engine issue at 55,000 miles while car was under warranty. It took almost 2 months for Hyundai Motor America to authorize repairs and 3 months for me to get my car back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dan G.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/30/2016
2013 Santa fe 2.0 turbo
Dash Board Rattling once again,,,,

Pros
Nice looking care, has all the bells and Whistles...

Cons
i keep having problems with the dash board rattling ( was a recall on this ) ill have to take the care back to the dealer to fix it for the 4th or 5th time i lost track,ill have to leave the car there all day long im hoping i get a free rental car, the car only has 23k this is becoming a pain,,not sure i would buy another Hyundai

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LESLIE B.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/18/2016
Santa Fe Sport Turbo
see survey

Cons
turbo tap in the engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mellissa H.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/26/2016
Not my favorite car.
I have had it for two years and it has had more repairs than my Mazda had in its first 10 years.

Pros
Lots of features for the price.

Cons
Too many repairs are needed. Quality is not what I was hoping for.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
H S.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/03/2016
not so great
vehicle is great when nothing is wrong, but too many things have gone wrong. ehicle has been back for warrany work, canpaigns, recalls perhaps 10 times in 3.5 years

Pros
lots of content, cheap to run, good styling

Cons
atrocious build quality. Way too many things have broke, needed to be replaced. Luckily it was all under warranty

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Everett R.
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/20/2016
Average SUV
I traded my truck in for the '13 Santa Fe Sport for better fuel mileage. Ever since I have had problems with the alignment going out. I have had 3-4 alignments in the last two years. Again, I am getting steering wheel bump each time I have to drive on rough roads that are falling apart. The front tends to pull to the left again. I will be taking it to another automotive shop to have the suspension checked out and have another alignment done on it. As for mileage on this, it has been averaging about 15mpg / 18mpg hwy. At times I wonder if the ECO setting button even works on it or may have something wrong with the turbo charger causing it. At times it will run sluggish with no acceleration and sounds like a cheap coffee pot with a turbo.

Pros
It starts and drives. Small gas tank...does not take long to fill it up.

Cons
Seats are uncomfortable, need more padding. The suspension is terrible, rides rough, could possibly get better struts to replace the cheap ones that came with it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 2122 in total