2015
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5rating 4.8
4.8
(688 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/29/2015
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Terrible experience

Pros
Their are pros, just so frustrated with the vehicle we would love to just get rid of it. Having only owned a little over a month.

Cons
I bought the vehicle brand new 3 wks into owning/ 9 days in service to fix a vibration and popping noises( even after sending to their body shop, no resolution ) and a defect on the bumper all documented and now dealing w/ Hyundai. Customer serv sent an email that they would contact/ in 3 to 5 business days. So far WE have contacted them 3x times with no contact from Hyundai to us. If Hyundai was still gathering information they still should have sent us an update email by business day 5.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
THOMAS H.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/11/2016
Lemon
Keeps breaking down, only 12 months old.

Pros
Looks good

Cons
Doesn't work, keeps breaking down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michelle B.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/04/2018
the worst
Will not honor warranty has the same issues as the recalled ones. I have gotten my oil changes done and the engine is gone but since it wasnt at the dealer will not honor warranty and new engine will be 11,000

Cons
Engine sucks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/04/2018
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/25/2016
Great vehicle but engine/drivetrain is awful noisy.
We have a noise that sounds like a Honda winding out, when we accelerate, sometimes. It is not a cram it to the floor acceleration but sometimes, not all the time, when taking off normally there is a growling noise that increases to where it sounds like the HONDA next to you that is revved up far above the RPMs that are normal.
I've had it back to the dealer (50 miles) 3 times, left it there for 3 days and they were unable to duplicate. I had it recorded on my iPhone a number of times but "they have to hear it themselves. The frequency of it happening is increasing so the last time I had it in, two days ago, the mechanic was able to hear it. (It's normal) I'm told. I've had 3 other Santa fes in the past, but I will never have anymore in the future. It's embarrassing!

Pros
Large SUV, comfortable.

Cons
Noises that are awful but "normal"

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GREGORY R.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/09/2016
Sante Fe
for the most part it is a very dependable vehicle, would like to have a more luxury feel, more head, leg room, more cargo space, don't ever use the 3rd row seating, seems to be a waste, and would be very tight for anyone really to use it
would prefer 2nd row seating to fold down completely flat like the volvo suvs do
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MICHAEL S.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/26/2016
Mechanically sound and good road handling qualities
Although the vehicle is well made and I've not had any mechanical or trim issues with this vehicle it is price is too high compared to popular established bands. The navigation and telematics interface is sub-par and somewhat slow. Terminology used is not as "standard" as other brands. I will admit though that I've used the navigation system for two long road trips and it worked just about flawlessly, its just difficult to store and recall address points. The vehicle has a surprising amount of power and will burn out the front tires if one steps on it from a dead stop. The engine is 3.4L (as compared to it competitors with 3.5 and 3.6 L engines) and weighs over 4000 pounds. On on stretch of the trip I was traveling 70 mph on a level road and actually got 30.4 mpg. Not bad considering the car was fully loaded and carrying extra weight. It handles very well and holds the road like it is glued. The ride is comfortable but the seats are a little bit too narrow for my girth. My vehicle is equipped with the ability to select three different steering modes: Comfort; Normal; and Speed. To be honest I cannot feet any difference between them. If you have owned any other newer vehicles in the last few years (I've had 5), you will get the impression that Hyundai has taken design cues and features from other popular brands and threw them together in this vehicle. That in itself is not bad, but in some instances they are just less that adequate implementations of the real thing. The one thing that I firmly dislike is the remote start implementation. It is built into the vehicle but one must use and subscribe (for a monthly fee) the Hyundia's Bluelink network. One has to pay the fee, download the app to a smart phone and use the cell phone to use it. I have three serious issues with that. One - the network is "slower than molasses in January" to start the vehicle; two - as soon as the car door is unlocked it shuts off the vehicle (to be fair my Honda did the same although my two Fords do not); third the fact I have to pay to use this feature is a non-starter for me. My Honda's and Fords were built into the remote and there was no other cost other than the basic cost of this feature which was included in the cost of the vehicle. Which brings up another topic, the price of the vehicle. When I gave my 2015 Honda Pilot to my granddaughter, I looked at buying a new 2016 Pilot. However, they had just came out on the market and dealers were not making any good deals. I choose the Hyundai as I needed something with three seating rows, reasonable on gas and more or less affordable. Since it was the end of the year model clearance the cost of the Hyundai was more realistic. But, it is still not a low cost vehicle by any means. As they say here in Texas, Hyundai is sure proud of their vehicles.

Pros
Excellent acceleration
Very good gas mileage especially considering vehicle weight
Fairly quite, with almost no road noise
Reasonable leg and head room

Cons
Price versus value is not competitive with established/popular auto brands
Seating width is a little tight
Remote start is almost useless
Depreciation is higher than expected

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Thomas B.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/17/2016
Second choice
We had a 2009 Vera Cruz and wanted a new one. Since they are no longer made we settled for the Santa Fe. We should have looked at other cars because this one has much less leg room on the outside of the leg. The car has been narrowed down too much. It didn't occur to us to double check the back seat but there are no cup holders back there. VERY inconvenient!

Pros
Warranty and gas mileage

Cons
Not very comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Don L.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/02/2017
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited Ultimate
I really like this car but it does come with problems or design flaws i should say. I hate the 19" wheels. I don't care if they look cool, these wheels and tires do impact the ride quality and noise level in the car. Unfortunately, to get some of the better options, 19" wheels become part of the package.

There are too many blind spots. The head rests in the second row seating block a lot of the view out the back window. The back window posts block the view of oncoming traffic on the passenger side. it is good that this car has the blind spot indicators but they a pretty small. During day time driving they are hard to see. The windshield posts block the view when making a turn. I am not fond of the slope of the hood. It is hard to tell where the front of the car is. Like pulling into something like an 8' garage door opening.

Beyond these issues, it is a sweet car to drive. It has plenty of power and the seats are comfortable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
Gregory V.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/19/2017
Nice car
Car only gets 22 mpg on freeway, I guess I expected more. Lacks power for a 6 cyl engine. I bought it for the extra cargo space room. Overall, not sure it was worth the price. Won't know till I see the reliability in next 2000,000 miles or 6 years to know if I paid for value.

Pros
Cargo space
High technology when fully loaded

Cons
Price when fully loaded
Gas mileage
Power from stop.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KEITH H.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/19/2017
Mediocre Quality Vehicle
I bought this car thinking it would be as exceptional as my previous 2003 Santa Fe. I could not have been more wrong. In 2 years of driving this vehicle, I have had more warranty repairs than I did in 10 years with the 2003 Santa Fe. I don't believe it will hold up as long as the last one did (12 years, 180,000 miles). I bought this car so that I would have peace of mind with the 10 year warranty, but never imagined I would be exercising it so much.

Pros
Comfortable driver's seat, Spacious, Smooth ride, Handles well.

Cons
Poor gas mileage, Mediocre build quality, Sub-par parts and components, Passenger front seat too low and can't be raised, Radio quality is horrible, Voice commands extremely limited and mostly useless.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Roger D.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/21/2017
2 Years and 15,750 miles later.....
If you have a family of 3+, this is the model to get! The SantaFe Sport, I had a 2013, 19,000+ miles at trade, is too small, too slow, and even the Turbo won't tow the 5,000 LBS., this full size, 3 row seat, 7 Passenger, V-6 will!

Pros
Roomy.
Excellent Driver Comfort.
Handles extremely well in rotten rain, snow, and slow, slow, icy weather.
You CAN take the vehicle off road with out voiding the warranty!
Does well off road on simple to slightly rocky moderate terrain.
22-25 MPG Highway.
18-21 MPG City.
19-23 MPG Combined, my average mileage, Shell Regular Gas. Not plugging Shell, but for some reason my mileage is 1-2 MPG worse in all area's with generic gas, Including the recommended, Kwik-Trip Top Tier regular fuel.

Cons
2013 - 2015 I PERSONALLY VERIFY THIS! The standard headlamp system on all these model years including the fog lights is horrible! Even after I had my dealer replace all the bulbs with PIAA 6,000 K bulbs, $ 450.00 parts, less than $ 70.00 labor at the dealership, only the fog lights worked a little better. In my opinion this is a serious safety issue. Its been reported to NHTSA & NITSA. Hyundai needs to resolve this, recall and fix, before somebody gets killed! This is why I have given the car a 7 for build quality. 3 Confirmed model years with this problem!! Possibly 5!!! Hyundai needs to get it together with vehicle headlamp technology. In all fairness this problem does exist with other makes. Only the Hyundai Tucson, the SantaFe's little sister, got a pass on headlamp effectiveness from NITSA, 2013-2015.

At night, on a standard striped highway, on low beam, with or with out fog lamps, you can only see about 2.5-3 stripes ahead of you, High Beam, fog lamps if equipped go off, 4-4.5 Stripes ahead. In my opinion, for 2013-2015 vehicles with this problem, it's as dangerous as having Takata Airbags in the car! This is obviously a real sticking point with me, and why I give the car a 7 on build quality, which is a shame, the rest of the car with a few exceptions works fine.

Wish my 2013 and 2015 Had the Super adjustable ultra comfortable drivers seat, on the passenger side, it's only a 4 way power seat, sits low to the floor, and it just plane weird to sit in.

2015 The Navigation System is a total waist of money! It's Hilarious! It could not find it's way out of a paper bag if you held it upside down! Even with Blue-Link active it's still poh-dunk-stupid! Drive it to Milwaukee and it just goes, DUH! Same for Chicago, Indianapolis, etc. 2 years and 2 months later, NO UPDATES! My cell phone is 1,000 times better at getting me where I need to go, if there is an update coming Hyundai, just make the big screen in the middle of the dash sync up to my cell phone, keep the rest the same, nothing more nothing less.

Hyundai Blue Link, 2013-2015, $ 300.00 annually for the full subscription! Seriously Hyundai? 2 cars later, my cell phone does everything Blue-Link does, much better! Excluding Airbag Deployment automatic crash response. Blue-Link, OnStar, Tele-Track, any vehicle with the capability to auto report an accident, that system should be always on and included in the price of the car. $ 100.00 - $ 300.00 yr. to start my car from the house with my cell phone, nada, but thanks for the 90 day free trial.

2015 With the Panoramic Roof option, this was a curiosity, the rubber gasket on the right side of the sunroof when I opened it was loose, you just push it back on. I had my car in for service, received a 2014 identical loaner, with the same problem.

Hyundai's trim and option levels are very confusing. Internet says one thing, dealer says another, the sticker is the boss, read and review it well. Make sure the car you by has all the options you think you are getting!

Hunyadi has a pretty crappy way of keeping the dealership between you and Hyundai. I have for over 4 years now, received outstanding service, from my Hyundai dealership here in Fond du Lac, WI. My headlamps are NOT the dealerships fault, or problem, they can't resolve the problem, you ding them 1 star less than 5 and Hyundai flunks them on their handling of you as a customer. Don't ding your dealership for a 3+ year old problem, ding Hyundai here, NITSA.gov and NHTSA.gov.

The glass roof is nice in all seasons except summer, then, even with front and rear A/C, it just cant keep up.

2015 Like my 2013 Sport, the front and rear all wheel drive falls out of sync. Even with all wheel drive off, I am told the power is 80% Front 20% rear, starting off from a stop, all wheel drive either on or off, there is a clunk shifting from first to second, like there is a delay in the system and how it transfers initial power to the front and rear of the car. I have driven three consecutive model years of this vehicle, they all have that, kind of, unsettling issue. It's not bad, its one of those, back of the mind, what was that? Kind of thing, dealer cant figure it out, since it has happened in three consecutive year cars, 2013 I owned, 2014 I was loaned, 2015 I now own, I reckon it's just the way they are.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kristen E.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/22/2017
Want to love it...
Want to love this car. It drives well and looks great and was cheap. I got lots of extras for the price. However, the car has lots of little issues that will probably lead me not to buy another one. Lots of squeaks and rattles, headlights are terrible, defroster doesn't work, lots or road noise, needs more cup holders, brakes aren't great, etc. Each alone is pretty trivial but in total make me feel like I'm driving a hunk of junk sometimes.

Pros
price

Cons
rattles terribly. bad headlights. needs more cup holders, lots of road noise. sunroof rattles so much when open that i stopped using it. breaks are mediocre.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Mark F.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/13/2018
Could use more attention to detail ergonomically and mechanically
This vehicle has a ton of features at a great price in comparison to the competition. It has been comfortable, convenient and a pleasure to drive on a daily basis. No rear passenger cup holders and lack of passenger seat height adjustment are annoying. Recent transmission issues and climate system issues prior to 40K miles have me questioning long term integrity.

Pros
Very comfortable on long drives, efficient for a V6, roomy cargo area with seats folded down, great Infinity sound system, Bluelink features are terrific, very good navigation system.

Cons
No rear cup holders, no height adjustment on passenger seat, transmission issues and climate system issues before 40K miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/30/2018
Not as good as I expected
Nice looking vehicle with all available amenities. Problems with sliding roof, rear cup holder. Noisy cabin, feel all road bumps. A/C takes long time to cool car. Visibility issues with rear head rests. No more Hyundai’s for me.

Pros
Acceleration, seating for 7, comfortable seats. Roadside service.

Cons
Noisy cabin, feel all road bumps, warranty issues, cost of vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Consuella J.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/26/2018
Ok. I love the space.
It is ok. I mean I am not sure if I will be back. As I stated before customer service goes a long way . I had to come bake several times because of issues with the car and on top of that the wait was very long..

Pros
Ok

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
Keri G.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/14/2018
still to new for problem
I loved my car! But less than 50,000 miles, and I have an issue with what may be the transmission. No one can seem to find the problem, or acknowledge that one exists. The car is comfortable, and drives well. I would like better gas mileage, but wouldn't we all.

Pros
Easy to drive, comfortable, nice exterior design.

Cons
No cup holders in the middle row of seats. A problem that feels like it is stuck in first, then a hard transition into 2nd still low mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAVIER H.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/25/2015
my first Hyundai
good price excellent fuel economy

Pros
good price and bumper to bumper warranty up to 60 000

Cons
not enough availability of color on model 2015

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEFFREY S.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2015
Best suv for the price
Great suv all the bells and whistles for s great price
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/30/2015
good car for money
good car for money. minor improvements needed.

Pros
fun to drive
fuel economy

Cons
A/c reduced air flow after running awhile
brightness of displays withsunglasses on
drivers seat narrow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
WILLIAM W.
2015 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2015
Santa Fe Review
Comments contained within survey

Pros
Getting better gas mileage than rated

Cons
Industry-wide power seat problem - should not go forward or back when going up or down; post on center console for long legged drivers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 688 in total