2017
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2218 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2020
Dealership
Great SUV, Great Dealership. Excellent ride and comfort. Definately will buy again! Dealership is main reason we wnt with this vehicle. They are caring, informative and finance mananger gave us many options for financing and she was warm and friendly, very trustworthy!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kathleen K.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/26/2020
Santa Fe Limited top of the line
The major complaint is the safety warnings. There is a cacophony of various beep and buzzes. I tend to drive to the right so as to stay away from oncoming traffic. The right warning beep, especially on a two lane road is really annoying. I don't want to turn it off because of the possibility of seriously wandering but the setting is too tight, too sensitive. Oddly, the left side is less sensitive and allows me to approach the left lane too closely before it alerts me. The smart cruise control is too smart. If someone is turning off the road to the right and even the slightest bit of their car is still in the sensor's sight it brakes exceptionally hard then immediately releases the brake to jack rabbit accelerate back to my cruise setting. If I intentionally go faster that the cruise control setting the car seems to be braking while I am accelerating. I know what I am doing but the car is fighting me. I know this because if, while I am accelerating, I turn off the cruise control suddenly the car moves more quickly and freely. I can literally feel the release. My old car with dumb cruise control said, "Oh he is accelerating so I will turn off. He can reset when ready. It didn't fight me like it knew better. Remember, I am the driver not the car. Their are times when I want to go beyond my setting and I don't want to fight the car to do that. I will make a left hand turn in a two lanes are turning situation. The car is alarming me that their is someone on my left. I know that. Again, too smart for it's own good. I approach the car and hit the door unlock on the key fob twice, unlocking the passenger side door but if I open the driver's side first the passenger door immediately locks. Why would it do that? I want it unlocked. I told it to unlock but again the car is smarter than I am and locks the door. Very frustrating especially for my wife who gets to the door, only a second behind me, to find the door locked. I have to fumble around for the little button on the armrest near the window and mirror controls, especially at night and especially when it is raining and get her door unlocked by hitting the right little button in that area. It may seem small but when your in the pouring rain its a real problem. Especially since I told the car to unlock that door specifically.

Pros
Lots of features for the money, Air conditioned seats, good sound system, lots of safety features, lots of good choices for the LED gauge cluster, easy access controls on the steering wheel and you can control just about everything from there, great storage area and the third row seats, although not always necessary do come in handy. Especially when there are three couples. Five seats just won't do. I understand 2020s and beyond have gone to the Sport length and that the extra row of seats are gone and so is the extra large storage space. Too bad! I like that the top rails are utility based with crossbars for carrying a load on top of the car instead of just decorative rails.

Cons
The styling seems heavy, especially in the rear. Safety features are good but as I mentioned they over ride my choice to drive outside of what they consider safe. Too may beeps and warnings I get confused as to what it is trying to tell me. Especially if the problem they sense is not truly a problem and you are left frantically wondering what in the world is wrong. Why do I have to have the car running to use a power plug in the back of the car. If I need to use the plug for say a compressor I can't just plug and run I have to start the car and leave it running. This a small thing but I have always had a stick shift, whether it was a manual or an automatic the stick is there and I am comfortable resting my hand on that shifter. So the cup holders behind the stick are really annoying. Put the cup holders to the side. They are out of the way and still conveniently located. Oh, voice command is almost useless. It never understands the command; change the radio, call a specific person. It never gets it right. One more thing. When wanting to place a call to someone on your phone's caller list the ability to scroll is terrible. It only move 4 or 5 names at a time. It won't free scroll as in one good flip and twenty names go by. So as a driver you are distracted trying to get the party you want. Add to that it often doesn't scroll but instead it dials the first name your finger hit to make it scroll.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 06/29/2020
Thank you. A representative from our headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

DY
Dennis Y.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2020
In general, Great SUV
Love the looks, Smooth ride, excellent seat comfort, the many standard Tech & safety features and the large storage area. Hyundai’s 10 yr guarantee is comprehensive and comforting, and the few times I’ve needed it (since 2017) has been great. My dealer has outstanding mechanics who are detailed and fair with the work that ‘really’ needs done.
On the negative: Terrible gas mileage 17/25, and my OEM Kumho Crugen tires had a very serious ‘tire belt’ separation after only 42K miles over 3 years. This brand has had belt separation recalls (4/17), and a high speed blowout can be horrific. Sadly, my long time Dealer’s Service Mgr did not proact on any compensatory assistance for a replacement set and alignment.

Pros
Ride, comfort, looks, quality build, standard features, the guarantee, value for the money.

Cons
Gas mileage. OEM Kumho tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Patricia P.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2020
Love my Santa Fe
We love this SUV. It has every option we need. It’s comfortable, roomy, and safe. And it looks pretty cool, too. Black with a gorgeous leather interior and heated seats. Lane change alert. And so much more.

Pros
Too many to list

Cons
Can’t think of a single one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/19/2020
Great vehicle
One of the most comfortable vehicles I have ever owned. Great highway car and has plenty of power when you need it and does extremely good on gas. Great stereo and speaker system. Car is just fun to drive. Great car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOSE D.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2020
Love my Santa Fe sport
We have owned two Santa Fe and have been very happy Our local Dealership is a different story!!! When we went in to purchase our second Santa Fe, the finance manager advised my wife that she might be to old for the the Santa Fe we were looking at, needless to say that poor salesman lost his sale. We purchased our Santa Fe from Chapman in Phoenix, the were great and were easy to work with..Came back to my local dealership and took my new vehicle for service to find out they only did what they had too,, no more wash your car and vacuum.. New service manager advised they did not have the money to provide that type of service anymore...

Pros
Great car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Kristine J.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2020
Love my Hyundai Santa Fe
I can not say enough about my Hyundai Santa Fe, it is a 2017 and I’ve had it for 4 years and absolutely love everything about it!! We have enjoyed many road trips in our Hyundai and it is so comfy, it accommodates everyone well and we travel in style. Money well spent!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RODRIGO G.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2020
Hyundai Santa Fe
Our Santa Fe has been an awesome vehicle, we are really very pleased with it. We usually trade in with in a couple of years with the vehicle but in all honesty this time around we do not plan to change our vehicle for quite awhile.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Betsy M.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/08/2020
Great vehicle
Bang for your buck this car is AWESOME! The features are far better than other vehicles I test drove. Lots of room for Kids and dogs! Fun to drive; LOVE the side mirror alert and optional app for starting the car in the winter!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gailyn H.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
Santa Fe
My favorite car ever! My past vehicles were Lexus 350, Lincoln Navigator and Cadillac SUV!! My Santa Fe is amazing!! It is the best SUV for the best value!!! It is loaded with all the bells and whistles with great gas mileage!!! I have only positive things to say about the Santa Fe!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Johanna L.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/02/2020
So far no issues - city gas mileage not great
We purchased a 2017 Santa Fe and I love it so far. It's roomy, comfortable to drive, and was good for us for a road trip to N. Cal. The gas mileage is decent on the high way but local driving not so much, even in eco mode. Fortunately, I work nearby. Most importantly, I feel the car is very safe for my daughter while she is learning to drive. The rear third row seats are good to have but you have to be nimble to crawl in back to use them: there is no easy access. Outside one trim piece looks uneven we will probably have to get it fixed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
RAMON C.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/31/2020
Great car
Good car. Updates to navigation systems would be helpful. Other than that would purchase again. Good amount of safety features could add more to protect children. More lighting inside car in the back area and more features in the back area.

Pros
Looks and drives good

Cons
Gas mileage and trunk space when 3rd row is up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
DEBORAH F.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/31/2020
Santa Fe Sport
The safety features are very helpful. The panoramic sunroof and added features for back seat passengers are a favorite. Heated and cooled seats and steering wheel are nice features, too. Dual heating/cooling and back seat location of vents are good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kathleen D.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
My Santa Fe
I leased my beautiful blue Santa Fe in 2017. This car is roomy, comfortable, quick spirited (V6) and has a third row if I need it. It has pretty much everything I wanted . I like it so much that I just converted it to a purchase contract. Very happy with my Santa Fe.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DENNIS C.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2020
Hyundai Santa Fe
This is my second Santa Fe. Obviously, I am very please with the design, features, safety, and durability of the vehicle. I will definitely continue looking to Hyundai for my future vehicle needs, and most likely will continue staying in the Santa Fe user family.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PE
Paula E.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/17/2020
Love my Santa Fe
I looked at the Pathfinder, Sorrento, and the pilot , for my family with two children under the age of 3 I had to consider price, comfort, and safety and I really didn’t have a hard time deciding to buy a Santa Fe . Also I’m 5’0 tall and the Santa Fe drives like a car easy to drive and park .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SANDY B.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/16/2020
ITS BEEN A GOOD VEHICLE
I LOVE IT GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DY
Dennis Y.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
Love this big comfortable workhorse
Drive this classy looking SUV to Florida each year Fully loaded with ‘stuff’. Extremely comfortable and quiet with lots of glass for great road vision during our 22 hour drive. Love all the safety features, especially the radar driven Cruise Control System! My only negatives are the poor mileage; @ 17 mpg city and @ 22 mpg highway, And the ploddingly S L. O. W acceleration. A more efficient hybrid/ turbo engine would make this very good SUV Excellent!

Pros
Build quality, comfortable seats, classy exterior and interior design, a multitude of standard features, lots if safety features, navigation system decent, huge sunroof w stunning glass lid!

Cons
Poor mileage, sluggish acceleration!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Leslie H.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2020
Will buy again.
The Santa Fe has great space. I love the lane departure and the panoramic sunroof. My entire family fits comfortably. The price was great for the amazing vehicle. Love my Santa Fe. Will definitely by Hyundai again.

Pros
Love Features and Space

Cons
Doesn’t have a built in trash can 😊

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Debra T.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2020
2017 Santa Fe Ultimate
Love my 2017 Santa Fe Ultimate. Recently was in for 45,000 mile service. Would have loved to trade in for newer model but do not like the 2020 styling (Palasade), size, second row bucket seats. We need larger engine for towing capacity but this new model looks more like a truck and lacks sleek styling. Guess I need to look at other manufacturers when I’m ready to buy!

Pros
Comfortable, stylish, many features for a reasonable price

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 2218 in total