2017
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2214 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CA
Charles A.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2020
Love this vehicle
The 2017 Santa Fe Se is a great vehicle. It has plenty of power to haul my boat, and yet gets good gas mileage for a mid size SUV. It is quite comfortable with good visibility. There are lots of amenities. Hyundai gives you a lot for your money. Too bad that this vehicle is no longer made. The new Santa Fe is like the old Santa Fe Sport, with a 4 cylinder engine and limited towing capability. the New Palisade is much too big and inefficient.

Pros
value for t he money

Cons
no longer made

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kristine H.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2020
Great value
l have loved this automobile. It is spacious, comfortable, and a pleasure to drive. The only things that could be improved are the flooring carpet, it is not the highest quality. The leather seats are great, the other interior materials are great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ramon M.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2020
Love my Santa Fe
The Santa Fe is a great luxury car, has all the features, sun roof, directional headlights, beautiful trim. It handles great, its very comfortable, dependable and safe. Gas mileage is good for a six cylinder 3.3 liter engine.

Pros
Affordable luxury. Great styling in and out side. Safety features all over. Very comfortable.

Cons
Built for comfort and elegance, not for racing and performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
George D.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2020
Love this car
My Santa Fe has met my expectations and more. From ease of getting in and out to plenty of storage space this car meets expectations. The separate A/C controls and volume control for the third row occupants are a real plus. Love all the amenities. Well built car. Great ride. I cannot get my wife out of this car.

Pros
Lots of amenities included.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Ann M.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/10/2020
Ann
Never had a problem ...great for winter skiing .. great for summer road trips...very reliable ..... great looks ..,,.nice ride....... good gas mileage .......very comfortable..... what else can I say ...... second sante fe ... put 200k on our 2009 .... so we upgraded to the sante fe unlimited ...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Anthony C.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2020
Love It
Iโ€™ve owned many cars in my 76 years. Everything from pickup trucks to sport cars. Without a doubt my Santa Fe Ultimate/Limited is my all time favorite. I love the way it looks, rides, and handles. Many thumbs up ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘.

Pros
All of the above.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
James P.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/04/2020
Love my 2017 Santa Fe
My wife loves her 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe - I was hesitant to purchase it at first because we only have grandkids, she has packed that vehicle to the headliners and driven it more times than I can think of. I don't have to worry about her driving long distances - our Santa Fe has been up to the challenge, even making it up what could barely be called a road to the top of Mt. Ashland (it was very dirty after that trip though). I feel she's very safe in the Santa Fe, and the Grands like all the room inside. It's beautiful and stylish, we've had absolutely no problems with this vehicle in the 3 years we've owned it.

Pros
Beautiful, stylish, love the paint color, love the horsepower

Cons
We didn't realize the model we purchased off the dealer's lot did not have adjustable front passenger seat - it's like sitting in the dark hole of Calcutta.
The design for the side front lower door panels really sucks - twice now, we've had a car door hang up in grass at a curb and unsuspecting passengers have popped the lower front passenger door panel loose and they're non-repairable, they have to be replaced at a cost of over $300 each time.
The "blind spot" in the front windshield where the outside mirrors attach is a little on the dangerous side - that really needs to be re-evaluated.
Again - going back to the original purchase, we did not realize the vehicle had basic sound system. That vehicle is too big to have just basic sound - you need to offer these vehicles with at least an intermediate sound system or above - that's my wife's biggest complaint about her vehicle. It's bad enough she actually took it back to the dealer 2 days after we bought it, only to be told it would cost thousands of dollars to upgrade because the dash and everything would have to be ripped out.
Last thing? When the salesman is selling to senior citizens, they need to be cognizant that having a rear hatch latch inside the car is valuable - our vehicle can only be opened from the outside, that was the 2nd "tanker" on this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Emerson S.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/29/2020
Hyundai Sante Fe Ultimate
Very nice look ,and good peripherals. The handling is good. Good acceleration and features. Could be better shock absorbance. No mechanical or electrical issues whatsoever after 30 months of service.

Pros
Looks good, and features are great, Good power and right size.

Cons
Leg room and shock absorbance could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Laura S.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2020
Nicer car that I ever expected to own/drive
When I bought my first Hyundai in 2014, I confess Hyundai was not the first place I looked. But it was the last, I never expected to own a car this nice. I drive a lot and not always looking for bells and whistles, but I didn't have to with the Hyundai, everything was there. I needed cargo space and comfort, all wheel drive. I love my Santa Fe. The engine is very efficient, good power to fuel ratio, I wouldn't change a thing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Angela C.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/21/2020
Excellent
I have a 2017 Santa Fe and I love it. I have all of the amenities I need. The features are nice, spacious, sound quality, mileage, and if you have a need for speed the engine comes in a V6. Overall great.

Pros
style
features

Cons
Need more color selection.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Steven G.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/20/2020
Steve
Very pleased with the Santa Fe. Very reliable and comfortable ride. Very practical..nice looking and nice features. Highly recommend Hyundai products. Our 3rd Hyundai. Newest is the 2019 Santa Fe. Previous was a 2006 Sonata with no problems.

Pros
Solid reliable and safe vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Steven G.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/19/2020
A good car with some electronics problems
this is my 3rd santa fe. I fine that the more electronics on board the more little glitches occur. This time its the garage door opener, it works occasionally but not all the time and the dealer is unable to identify the problem. Now the AM radio is out. Perhaps a little more testing before its released to the public is in order? Still,.mechanically a good car with a fine ride. Just don't expect all the electronic gadgets to work all the time and don't think that even really good dealers.can fix intermittent problems.

Pros
nice ride, quiet. Safe.

Cons
Electronics

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TROY M.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/08/2020
Roomy SUV that isn't too bad at the gas pump either with a great price!
Loaded with the features of a modern era vehicle. Comfortable enough for the long trips but roomy enough for around town too. The engine could use a little more power accelerating, but once you get there, it maintains a smooth ride with a great sound system and minimal road noise. This is my first Hyundai but I seriously doubt it will be my last. If you need an all-around SUV that's easy at the gas pump but big on value, check out the Santa Fe. Add the features you want, skip those you don't but definitely go test drive this automobile. You'll be glad that you did.

Pros
Roomy with good head and leg space. Excellent integration with phones. Loaded with features like dual-control a/c temp, navigation, BlueLink support, SiriusXM compatible radio. Smooth and fun driving.

Cons
Needs a little help with acceleration. Full-sized spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mary P.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/07/2020
First Hyundai purchase
Like the vehicle, just too small for comfortability when using all three rows.
Third row seats are very uncomfortable.
Handles nicely and good gas mileage.
Sorry I did not get the automatic hatchback as the manual lift is hard to lift.

Pros
Good gas mileage.
Fabric is ok
Drives nicely.

Cons
No cargo room When using 3 rows.
3rd row very uncomfortable.
When items fall between front seats There is no way to retrieve.
Rear ac/heat control is in awkward location beside 3rd row.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
F STANFORD W.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2020
I Love My Santa Fe Sport
I overall love my Santa Fe Sport, and feel it is a great car at a great value. Give me a break! What more do you want from me? Give me a break! What more do you want from me? Give me a break! What more do you want from me?

Pros
Look, comfort, performance, reliable

Cons
View front and rear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
Kathleen H.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2020
Great vehicle
Going from a sedan, a Genesis which I loved,to this suv 3 years ago, I must say I have been very happy with my Santa Fe. It is easy to drive, feels safe and secure and has been very reliable. And, it is a very good looking vehicle. Very pleased with Hyundai in all respects.

Pros
Easy driving. Feels very safe and secure on the road.. Very attractive vehicle. ds

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2020
Dealership
Great SUV, Great Dealership. Excellent ride and comfort. Definately will buy again! Dealership is main reason we wnt with this vehicle. They are caring, informative and finance mananger gave us many options for financing and she was warm and friendly, very trustworthy!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Kathleen K.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/26/2020
Santa Fe Limited top of the line
The major complaint is the safety warnings. There is a cacophony of various beep and buzzes. I tend to drive to the right so as to stay away from oncoming traffic. The right warning beep, especially on a two lane road is really annoying. I don't want to turn it off because of the possibility of seriously wandering but the setting is too tight, too sensitive. Oddly, the left side is less sensitive and allows me to approach the left lane too closely before it alerts me. The smart cruise control is too smart. If someone is turning off the road to the right and even the slightest bit of their car is still in the sensor's sight it brakes exceptionally hard then immediately releases the brake to jack rabbit accelerate back to my cruise setting. If I intentionally go faster that the cruise control setting the car seems to be braking while I am accelerating. I know what I am doing but the car is fighting me. I know this because if, while I am accelerating, I turn off the cruise control suddenly the car moves more quickly and freely. I can literally feel the release. My old car with dumb cruise control said, "Oh he is accelerating so I will turn off. He can reset when ready. It didn't fight me like it knew better. Remember, I am the driver not the car. Their are times when I want to go beyond my setting and I don't want to fight the car to do that. I will make a left hand turn in a two lanes are turning situation. The car is alarming me that their is someone on my left. I know that. Again, too smart for it's own good. I approach the car and hit the door unlock on the key fob twice, unlocking the passenger side door but if I open the driver's side first the passenger door immediately locks. Why would it do that? I want it unlocked. I told it to unlock but again the car is smarter than I am and locks the door. Very frustrating especially for my wife who gets to the door, only a second behind me, to find the door locked. I have to fumble around for the little button on the armrest near the window and mirror controls, especially at night and especially when it is raining and get her door unlocked by hitting the right little button in that area. It may seem small but when your in the pouring rain its a real problem. Especially since I told the car to unlock that door specifically.

Pros
Lots of features for the money, Air conditioned seats, good sound system, lots of safety features, lots of good choices for the LED gauge cluster, easy access controls on the steering wheel and you can control just about everything from there, great storage area and the third row seats, although not always necessary do come in handy. Especially when there are three couples. Five seats just won't do. I understand 2020s and beyond have gone to the Sport length and that the extra row of seats are gone and so is the extra large storage space. Too bad! I like that the top rails are utility based with crossbars for carrying a load on top of the car instead of just decorative rails.

Cons
The styling seems heavy, especially in the rear. Safety features are good but as I mentioned they over ride my choice to drive outside of what they consider safe. Too may beeps and warnings I get confused as to what it is trying to tell me. Especially if the problem they sense is not truly a problem and you are left frantically wondering what in the world is wrong. Why do I have to have the car running to use a power plug in the back of the car. If I need to use the plug for say a compressor I can't just plug and run I have to start the car and leave it running. This a small thing but I have always had a stick shift, whether it was a manual or an automatic the stick is there and I am comfortable resting my hand on that shifter. So the cup holders behind the stick are really annoying. Put the cup holders to the side. They are out of the way and still conveniently located. Oh, voice command is almost useless. It never understands the command; change the radio, call a specific person. It never gets it right. One more thing. When wanting to place a call to someone on your phone's caller list the ability to scroll is terrible. It only move 4 or 5 names at a time. It won't free scroll as in one good flip and twenty names go by. So as a driver you are distracted trying to get the party you want. Add to that it often doesn't scroll but instead it dials the first name your finger hit to make it scroll.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 06/29/2020
Thank you. A representative from our headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

DY
Dennis Y.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2020
In general, Great SUV
Love the looks, Smooth ride, excellent seat comfort, the many standard Tech & safety features and the large storage area. Hyundaiโ€™s 10 yr guarantee is comprehensive and comforting, and the few times Iโ€™ve needed it (since 2017) has been great. My dealer has outstanding mechanics who are detailed and fair with the work that โ€˜reallyโ€™ needs done.
On the negative: Terrible gas mileage 17/25, and my OEM Kumho Crugen tires had a very serious โ€˜tire beltโ€™ separation after only 42K miles over 3 years. This brand has had belt separation recalls (4/17), and a high speed blowout can be horrific. Sadly, my long time Dealerโ€™s Service Mgr did not proact on any compensatory assistance for a replacement set and alignment.

Pros
Ride, comfort, looks, quality build, standard features, the guarantee, value for the money.

Cons
Gas mileage. OEM Kumho tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Patricia P.
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/23/2020
Love my Santa Fe
We love this SUV. It has every option we need. Itโ€™s comfortable, roomy, and safe. And it looks pretty cool, too. Black with a gorgeous leather interior and heated seats. Lane change alert. And so much more.

Pros
Too many to list

Cons
Canโ€™t think of a single one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2214 in total