2018
Hyundai
SANTA FE

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1249 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CK
Cynthia K.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/23/2018
These things are gas hogs and are not a comfortable ride
They get horrible gas mileage and drive like a tank. The service at the dealership is a joke on top of it all. They sell you on the hyundai name and all these fake ratings. Then beg you to go on immediately after you buy the cars to give them good reviews before you have any experience with them.

Cons
gas mileage, stiff ride, leather package comes apart

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DAVID B.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/01/2018
2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
Overall, I am no satisfied with me new Hyundai purchase. It looks nice and performed well enough on the test drive. It also makes decent use of space, as all of my kids for comfortably (roomy, but the seats aren’t all that comfortable) with all of their things for their frequent visits to see me. The drive to and from work, which consists of about 80 highway miles a day, is very uncomfortable. The drive to pick up my kids usually means 8 - 10 hours, which makes for a long and uncomfortable drive. The steering and cruise control feel jerky, and the stereo induces ear fatigue. I wouldn’t buy this vehicle again, nor would I recommend it to anyone that would be driving more than a few miles at a time or light commuting.

Pros
Gas mileage
Space for the kids and their things

Cons
Underpowered
Uncomfortable seats for extended drives
Uncomfortable overall driving experience
Jerky handling
Jerky cruise control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
SEAN W.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/04/2019
Nothing “sport” about it
4 cylinder is garbage . I don’t have the turbo so that may be different. Non turbo version is crap. I’m not a huge fan of this model. I had a Santa Fe xl with a v6 and I loved it. Won’t buy this model again.

Pros
Decent gas mileage for its size

Cons
No power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Clarence H.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/06/2019
My Bad?
I was under an "impression" I was getting equipment that included remote start and auto rear door. As many vehicles as I have bought I can only blame myself for not making sure of what I was buying. I also failed to adjust the driver's seat to my comfort. Upon arriving home I found that I had to move the seat back to get in or out of the car. Perhaps for a taller person the seat stays far enough back to allow entry? At 5'6" I have to move the seat up too far to allow me to clear the door from the driving position. I would be happier with a slightly larger (3.5-3.6) engine. I believe the vehicle is too heavy for the engine. My gas mileage is well below what it is supposed to be. The passenger seat is too low for my wife and others. We have raised it with a pad which voids the safety features.

Pros
The best experience to date is on longer trips. Overall the car rides and handles good at a constant speed.

Cons
I don't believe the vehicle is well designed for city use. The gas mileage and power are too low. The cabin needs to be redesigned for both the driver and front passenger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CN
CARLTON N.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/18/2019
Known Engine Issues
Known engine issues. Recall to update software has trigged Engine protection mode twice. Wiring harness replaced first. Three weeks later it failed again. Car has spent over a month at the dealer. Wouldn't recommend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jason B.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/15/2019
HORRIBLE MISTAKE
When I first saw the vehicle I fell in love with it. I was sold on the exceptional warranty only to find out less than a month of owning it and having an issue that the warranty didn’t cover my issue. My issue was a manufacturing defect and they refused to cover it. My experience with Hyundai has not been a good one and I would NEVER recommend anyone buy one as they DO NOT stand behind their product or brand.

Pros
Good on gas

Cons
Hesitates to move when you apply pressure to gas pedal, there is a slight delay. Also the plastic wheel well housing fell off my vehicle because the plastic push pin rivots failed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dawn M.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/07/2020
Hyundai Sport
I'm unhappy with the car due to the blind spot detection on the driver's side. This has been an issue since I purchased it. It has been in to be fixed numerous times, but unable to fix the problem. I was told it was my head which it isn't.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 01/08/2020
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 01/08/2020
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

MA
Marie A.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/15/2020
Scary experiences on the road drive local only
I would not recommend a vehicle that one does not feel safe in that every time you drive it your heart is in your throat with anxiety. This vehicle had recalls that made it sound and behave worst needless to say I drive my Mazda more now and have piled the miles on it because I hate my Hyundai sadly my entire family has a Hyundai because I referred them 😡😡😡😡

Pros
None

Cons
All

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 01/15/2020
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

GV
GIOVANNI V.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/09/2020
Terrible Fuel Economy
Don't purchase this car. The fuel economy is horrendous, i would top off my tank and not drive it far at all. A couple of days later the car would be at almost half a tank. When you're playing music, you can only hear it in the front

Pros
Spacious

Cons
Terrible in fuel economy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 06/10/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

AM
Amy M.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/28/2020
Major engine issues
Please save yourself the time and effort and don't buy this vehicle.
Way too many engine problems.
Stay away!
Don't buy a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe sport.
Stay away from this model severe engine issues that will cost you hundreds of dollars in rental cars.
Stop don't buy this car!!!
Buyer's beware

Pros
cheap

Cons
engine issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
ROBERT T.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/08/2020
Engine died and needed to be replaced
Engine died and needed to be replaced at 7000 miles. Engine died and needed to be replaced
Engine died and needed to be replaced
Engine died and needed to be replaced
Engine died and needed to be replaced

Cons
Engine died and needed to be replaced at 7000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
EDWIN L.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/26/2018
My new car
Overall, I am very satisfied with the vehicle. The only thing that I find somewhat of a problem is that the car-at lower speeds tends to "bog down: a little when shifting. I have had this model car for several years and find it to meet my needs. I take at least 3 2000 mile plus trips a year, and have found this to be one of the most comfortable vehicles I have had. With this specific vehicle, I can't tell much, as it only has about 700 miles. Ask me about in a couple months.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Ratna G.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/17/2018
Hyundai
Hyundai is giving me problems. I bought brand new 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe couple months before but when I was driving it suddenly stopped and smell burning.and dealer said it’s not drivable.they didn’t take back that vehicle.its so weird f*******k Hyundai

Pros
Don’t buy

Cons
Don’t buy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Chanthepha S.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/25/2018
Electrical issues already
The vehicle has blinking headlights and electrical issues causing the lights to turn on in the middle of the night draining the battery. Turn signal doesnt work. Car has 4k miles on it. Too soon for this.

Cons
Low quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Leontine B.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/27/2018
Santa Fe - Lousy Performance Is Not what I wanted
The vehicle is very good looking inside and out. It really has a lousy transmission. Even though the transmission has been replaced, it still has issues and I am so disappointed with it. Although, I have owned 4 Hyundai vehicles, never have I been so disappointed. I am looking to replace this vehicle if Hyundai does not repair the issue.

Pros
Design

Cons
Transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
ROBERT F.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/24/2019
Research before purchase
Overall I was very disappointed in the purchase of this vehicle. From a terrible experience at the dealership to the condition that my vehicle was Delivered to me. I had the vehicle back at the dealership for service twice before it was a year old including the first time, to have the rusty brakes checked within three months of the purchase.

Cons
The brakes are terrible. The rotors and pads rust constantly. I was told by my dealership where I purchased the car that this is normal.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEFFERY S.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/03/2019
Waiting for my first choice
I’m satisfied with my Hyundai Santa Fe Sport Ultimate 2.0, but I see my car five times every day. I’m waiting for the Genesis SUV. I wanted an SUV, and considered a Nissan Murano, but the Santa Fe dashboard layout brought me back into the fold.

Pros
Excellent screen confirmation of control changes.

Cons
Navigation controls are confusing. CD sound is poor. Cannot control forward camera to my satisfaction.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
HOLLY M.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/01/2019
Nice car with basic features overlooked
4th Hyundai ive owned. Doors low enough to hit curves, seat plastic forms broke first week with expensive fix only. Dim headlights. Should be nice car but the little issues are so bad I’m giving car away to my son and getting something else! If

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Little stuff not well thought out will annoy you

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DAVID B.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/14/2019
2018 Santa Fe Sport
Car is very good looking, both inside and out. Extremely comfortable and easy to drive. Economical. handles good in all weather conditions. Visibility is very good for the driver, on the driver side, but not so good on the passenger side blind spot area.. There is a fish-eye mirror on the drivers side view, but none on the passenger giving a bigger blind spot, due to the way the rear side windows are designed,
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KAMERON B.
2018 Hyundai SANTA FE
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/06/2019
2018 Sante Fe
The car is not something i would recommend. My friend and I have the same car and we have nothing but problems one of which the dealerships don’t know how to fix because the the computer does not show a code for it. We travel for work and the cars have been to three different dealerships. I will Not buy another Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1249 in total