2019
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(2120 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MZ
mohammad z.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/24/2019
engine shutts off while driving on the high way
engine shutts off while driving in the highway without any prior notification.very risky. better not to buy this car. the dealer still couldnt diagnoise this issue and said evrythng is working fine. we checked with the software and no issues found

Pros
not a good car

Cons
not a good car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IO
ISABELLA O.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/21/2019
Do not buy
Do not purchase a 2019 Hyundai sante fe. You will be disappointed. The dealership has had my one week old sante fe for over 35 days and I still don’t have it back! It has made the worse nails on a chalk board noise due to what they believe is to the glass of the vehicle being installed incorrectly. One week old vehicle already having issues! So scary and disappointing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHELLE M.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/21/2019
Santa Fe -Watch out for shifting issues on all Hyundai's
Bought a brand new 2019 Santa Fe - Has shifting problems, especially downshifting. Took it back to the dealer 1st month. Was told this is how Hyundai are, a "quirk" they said because no codes show up. It is not normal for a car to stick and lurch as this one does. Buyer beware on Hyundai's. Hopefully their warranty is as good as the sell it to be.

Pros
Like the look and media features

Cons
Hate the performance - should want to drive your new car- not this one

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
EILEEN P.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/30/2019
Hyundai SantaFe XL
Completely satisfied with my vehicle. I had previously owned a Hyundai and was pretty certain I would buy another one because of my overall satisfaction with me first one. I also am happy with the dealership.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Vernon C.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/21/2019
I so wanted to like this brand
In a few words my new SUV of 2 months will have been in for service for the same problem that 2 Dealers can’t seem to figure out. Hyundai Motor Company, the manufacturer said they would send a Field Engineer to look at it but never did and don’t have any plans to send one. The car is now going back into the service shop for the third time for the same problem. I’m now sick of this car and Hyundai in general.

Pros
Looks good
Comfortable ride
OK power

Cons
Lack of responsiveness by Hyundai to a major power/electrical problem
Failure of Hyundai to keep their promise to send a qualified engineer to fix a major problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Carlos T.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/07/2019
Beautiful car, cheap materials inside.
This car is Beautiful and great looking, I love it but unfortunately my expectations were totally destroyed by its quality, inside the materials looks very Chick but at the end it very cheap and poor performance. Outside it has many defective terminations and is unbelievable that a brand like Hyundai delivery a vehicle like this that is so popular in a poor performance. And the worse thing is that the company doesn't care about the customer feeling and expectations I blamed myself to change form Honda and Toyota to Hyundai expecting a better quality cars.

Cons
Bad quality materials, poor customer service.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Douglas F.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/04/2019
Rough transmission, noisy engine and more problems
The transmission shifts very rough and jerks when up shifting or down shifting. The engine buzzed and is very noisy, it uses the same theta engine that has been causing all the engine fires and now has a recall and a ecu update to prevent fires. I do not feel confident in this vehicle and am now driving my older Toyota because I am afraid it’s going to suddenly catch fire. The ac vents smell like old socks also.

Pros
Looks good

Cons
Has engine and transmission issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/04/2019
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JR
Joanne R.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/10/2020
Poor engineering
Seems there has been an issue with push button start for years on Hyundai vehicles and no guaranteed solution is available. There is no way of being sure car will start at any given time. 2019 Santa Fe with 16,000 miles and I get it to start on first try maybe 60% of the time. Since the incident is 100% of tries service will do nothing if it starts for them. So the gamble is yours, have it towed when it doesn’t start and play the odds of it starting at dealership and being sent back home only to have it fail again. My 7th new Hyundai and my last.

Pros
Great looking
Great features
Comfortable ride

Cons
Reliability is “0” never know when the vehicle will or will not start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/10/2020
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/10/2020
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

MK
Melissa K.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/20/2020
.
very noisy car especially when driving down the highway, too much noise coming from the front driver side window, also the exhaust system is loud, you can hear the car coming a block away, and when the car is in the garage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/21/2020
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

SO
Suzanne O.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/11/2020
Do not like my new Hyundai
I bought 2019 sante fe after owning a 2014, loved it, upgraded to 4 wheel drive, new model. Huge disappointment. This car does not sound air tight, does not seem to hold road good, not smooth riding, not comfortable to drive. I did not hesitate to purchase another sante fe because my first was wonderful. This one feels like a lemon.

Pros
Look pretty, good space

Cons
Sound like windows cracked all the time, exterior lights moisture leaks, car seems to struggle to change gears, interior lights broke right away, do not like this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GV
GLORIA V.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/04/2020
Excellent vehicle!
This is is my fourth Santa Fe! It speaks for itself! Safety features are wonderful! I love the leather interior. Storage in rear is a big plus. Far more comfortable than Ford Explorer, my back doesn’t bother on long trips.
Thank you!

Pros
Comfort
Ride
Back support
Many safety features included

Cons
Uneven acceleration
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jorge M.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/26/2020
Amazing looks and technology but transmission problems are a true disappointment
Engine looses power, transmission jerks. Have been to the dealership several times they can't find the problem due to the issues happening at different times. We purchased this vehicle new and the dealership did a software update for the transmission but the problem didn't go away. Now we don't drive the vehicle too far just top play it safe. This is our first and last Hyundai.

Pros
Amazing technology and looks

Cons
transmission jerks and engine looses power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KAITLYN B.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/02/2019
Does a lot of things but not many of impressively them well
The low frequency rumble at low idling speeds makes me physically ill. Had a dealer look at it and they couldn't hear it and said everything was working the way it should. I came from driving Toyota for many years, and I'm afraid Hyundai just doesn't measure up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Ronald C.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/13/2019
Unhappy owner
The ride of the vehicle is less than smooth! There are many features that we do not like and some cannot be permanently shut off but have to shut them off everytime the vehicle is driven. Glichy electronics seem to always work just fine for the service department but not in actual use by the owners.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Nice looking vehicle.

Cons
Bumpy ride. Unable to turn off some features that we do not like. Very "glichy" electronics that work sporadically and am always told when I have them checked that all is working just fine. Very frustrating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/29/2019
One Big Complaint
15,000 miles on this vehicle and it will not accelerate around a corner; that makes it a pain to drive (and I like to drive). The Sport mode is too sensitive to deceleration; otherwise it seems to be an OK SUV.

Cons
Eight speed transmission not perfectly mated to the engine. The 2011 six speed Kia Sorento I had was much better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
Ehab K.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/29/2019
Manufacture problems
First problem I noticed that when I drive slowly ( 0 - 30 ) the car was Not stable almost shaking and when they checked it the computer didn't gave any sign of any problem, I changed my fuel as this might help but without any improvement. Then I start having problems with the blind spot system especially in the hot weather !!! which until now they couldn't fix it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Melvin H.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/03/2019
Santa Fe Jaw Rattling transmission
Hard shifts to 3rd gear, and I mean jaw rattling, take away any favorable impressions I would otherwise have. It's not fun to drive. It's unfortunate because the vehicle appears to be well though out in design and ergonomics.

Pros
Theoretical favorable price to performance ratio.

Cons
Transmission shifts harsh into 3rd gear. Less than 6000 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lester C.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/05/2019
Power steering
Power steering had to be replaced after 13000 miles. This was extremely unsatisfactory and makes us wonder if we have a purchased a "lemon". Service took over a week to repair the vehicle and this was aggravating.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joan B.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/15/2019
Not happy
With the campaign 953 I found this car not reliable. I did not own this car for a year when I had issues with the electrical message area telling me to get to the dealer. That was October before I was leaving on a 2000 mile car trip. I was not prepared to buy another car in under a year and yet I did not trust this car. So after receiving the Campaign 953 letter I got rid of it and hope I did not make a mistake to buy the 2020 Santa Fe model.

Pros
Nice car if you are always close to a Hyundai dealership

Cons
Not reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/17/2019
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

AR
ATIT R.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/02/2020
Great car but interior fit and finish needs work
Great car but interior fit and finish needs work. Currently continuously experiencing creaking and rattling sounds from pano roof and rear driver side door area. Took vehicle to dealer for this problem multiple times but dealer is not able to fix problem and said this noise is expected in any hyundai car, really Hyundai? I own two other Hyundai products in house and both have never given me such quality issue.
I ask that someone please contact me and put pressure on dealer to fix these issues.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/02/2020
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 2120 in total