2019
Hyundai
Santa Fe

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79
4.8
(1248 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


D.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2018
Hyundai Santa Fe 2019
The vehicle’s artificial intelligence is phenomenal. The level of comfort and the ease operatability of the electronic features in the vehicle is outstanding. The new design of the front grille is not my most favorite feature.

Pros
The vehicle’s artificial intelligence is phenomenal.

Cons
I don’t like the look of the front grille

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Brett C.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/28/2018
Excellent
I love it.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxcccxccxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JI
JOHN I.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2018
Great Vehicle for the cost
Overall the best SUV I have owned. Looked at many before buying the Hyundai Sante Fe Ultimate and found none that provided the value this one has. Quiet and smooth ride, power to spare (2.0 Turbo with 8 speed transmission) as well as loaded with all of the automation the highest price cars have. Surperb design and component packing job done here.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SHERRI K.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2018
Love, love love this SUV
I’ve been driving my new 2019 Santa Fe for month now. I love getting into it everyday and wish I had a more than 8 minute drive to work. I got the Ultimate trim and am so glad I did. The heads up display is wonderful, I especially like that I don’t have to take my eyes off the road to know when cars are coming up into my blind spots, also like that the navigation and cruise control is right there. I test drove Nissan, Subaru, Ford, Mazda, Honda, Kia and Chevy and found the Santa Fe had everything the others had and more at a better price. I also found the controls in the Santa Fe, more stream line and more intuitive to use. The Subaru Forrester was high on my list, but the “cockpit” seemed cluttered , too many displays that showed the same info and not as intuitive to use. They did have a better selection of colors, but in the end, it’s what’s inside the car that counts. Things I initially didn’t care about have turned into some of my favorite things, such as the heads up display and panaramic sunroof, my kids love that. It makes the car feel much roomier. There is nothing I don’t like about this SUV and would certainly recommend it to everyone. Some of the online reviews talked about then engine and how it seemed sluggish, I don’t find that to be true, especially in Sports mode, but I was driving a 12 years old mini van. I find this car a lot of fun to drive and feels very safe with all the advanced tech.

Pros
Easy of use, intuitive controls, heads up display, great new styling

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
David N.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2018
WOW! early impressions
I purchased a new Santa Fe in Oct 2018. I need AWD to get through difficult winter roads conditions living on a curvy hilly road in the SE MN woods plus other midwest winter family visits. While I owned 2 Jeep Grand Cherokees in the past 18 years I no longer tow anything more than a wood splitter and never took them off roading, so a SUV with intelligent AWD is fine although I wanted the option to have 4WD lock at low speeds on slippery roads. My wife wanted heated (real) leather seats and a power liftgate & power passenger seat, while I wanted Android auto. And as we age the safety features (blind spot, fwd/rear collision, lane assist) were requirements along with excellent headlights. The Santa Fe Limited met & exceeded all our main requirements, here is a very early pre-winter snow review after 180 mi of around town driving.

Other SF drives and competition: I drove both a SF SEL+ and Limited Turbo. No leather or LED headlights in the SEL+, no sunroof but have to admit the 2x sized sunroof in our Limited really makes it feel spacious. I did not like the lag or jerkiness of the turbo so that along with a $1600 price difference and 30+% more maintenance convinced me quick the standard 2.4L 4 cylinder would do just fine in midwestern flat land with mostly 2 passengers and no towing. I did a some driving of the Mazda CX5 and really wanted to like the RAV4 Limited (no leather, no power passenger seat, no rear vents in a Limited?!) The Subaru Outback had best AWD system but CVT’s not peppy nor heated seats hot. Drove a 3.6L Cherokee Ltd in our price range, I liked the engine & interior features but storage space was about half other SUVs in it’s class and safety features in Tech package optional & hard to find. I wanted to try out a Honda CRV but major issues with gas/oil mix in cold climates of the 1.5L turbo scared me away.

NOTE this and other sites require a Reliability rating, not really pertinent in the first few months of ownership.....

Pros
QUIET comfortable roomy interior w/excellent infotainment!

Safety features easy to use. Auto stop at lights kinda weird but ok so far, responsive.

Like the easy to switch Smart mode, Comfort (ECO) mode, Sport mode which is sporty on this smooth 8 speed tranny.

4WD lock operational up to 40mph in 2019s to use in snow

LED auto headlights excellent range, seem to work fine on 2 lane roads

LOTs of hidden storage in rear under carpet (we got the hatch cover unfortunately it costs extra)

Hyundai warranty 5/60 full, 10/100 powertrain is the best

Many other sites & users give positive reviews; Hyundai as a brand is CR 10 of 29 so top ⅓ but not as good as Toyota or Mazda

Remote start & car status free with Hyundai internet control

Cons
Jury is out on this 4 cylinder (I’d bet more on the RAV4’s owning a same engine in an older Camry) but it does have 10 more hp than Toyotas and the 8 speed tranny is excellent. Still 185 hp for a 3600 lb SUV, but compare to 235 hp for my 4600 lb Jeeps?

Never owned a Hyundai despite early Santa Fe or Veracruz being semifinalists during past drives when we bought Jeeps (but SF made in America, 40% Am parts too if it matters)

Hankook tires TBD, would have preferred Michelin

MPG so far 22 around town which is great compared to 14 in our Jeeps, but not stellar

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ronald M.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2018
what i expected from Hyundai
After experiencing the options/ride of my previous Santa Fe, my expectations were exceeded with the 2019 model. Everything I want in a SUV is in this vehicle. Hats off to Hyundai for building such an excellent vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jay J.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/04/2018
AMAZING SUV
We are super happy with the choice we made two weeks ago.. 2019 SEL with the 2.4 engine.
It has everything that we never have had in past vehicles for safety plus a outstanding warranty.
My only regret is choosing the Stormy Sea color after trading my Silver SUV it's a big change. If I could do over The Scarlet Red would have been my choice with tan interior. Otherwise the car is perfect for our needs, we are averaging 32 to 35 MPG. on the HWY and it is not broken in yet with only 450 miles.
I call that amazing for the size and weight.

Pros
Price, Styling, Interior, Gas mileage, Quiet Ride,
Warranty, Amenities, Cargo Size.....

Cons
None yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Clinton M.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
Clinton Murphy’s Hyundai
I absolutely love my new Hyundai. North Freeway Hyundai gave me everything I needed and more. I am 100% completely satisfied and consider this team as part of my family. I will continue to always have current and future business with North Freeway Hyundai. Thank you!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
Nancy H.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
Review of 2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Love my new vehicle. Smooth drive and easy to adjust controls. Love the driving modes. The additional leg room and room in the cargo area is a plus. The ease of setting the parking brake is amazing.

Pros
Love it

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Lawrence F.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2018
2019 Santa Fe AWD SEL a winner
Cabin ergonomics are light years ahead of the competition. Logical, well-lit and redundant controls. Very good acceleration from the 2.4L four cylinder, and MPG’s are running 27-28 overall....not bad for a mid-dized SUV. Attractive styling inside and out. And the styling doesn’t detract from the functionality either. Alot of standard features for the $$.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dean S.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
2019 Hyundai Sata Fe
You get more for your money. Significant improvement for 2019 model compare to my previous car, 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport. This car has more room. More storage. Rides smooth. Interior is quiet. Includes lots of latest tech, normally reserved for expensive cars.

Pros
More for your money. A smart looking SUV with more room yet smooth and quiet ride.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARILYN R.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
Great styling, performance and features.
Super redesign and performance of 2.0 235 hp engine is very good. Interior is spacious and quite comfortable for front and rear seat passengers. The safety features fantastic, especially speed display shown on corner of windshield, so you do not have to look down at speedometer. Collision avoidance feature is great to have.

Pros
Safety features, interior comfort and audio system.

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAVID S.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
2019 Santa Fe
The 2019 Santa Fe is a well designed vehicle and is well priced. I am impressed with the overall quality and the vehicle drives very well. I like the driver assist and the other safety features that comes standard with this model.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Myrna E.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2018
Pleasantly Surprised
I was most interested in Hyundai Sante Fe for the Safety Features and Reliability. I was also very surprised how nice the interior was, and how smooth the ride was.
I have had mine for about a month now, and everytime I get in it, I love it even more. My only complaint, is poor visibility out the back tailgate window. You do have the camera, and rear cross alert, and backup beepers. But still I would like to see for myself. Other than that, everything about the car is awesome. It looks very sporty, lots of space, drives great, interior very nice, all the newest computer gadgets. Love mine!!!

Pros
Safety
Reliability
Comfortable, nice interior
All newest computer gadgets
Smooth, easy to handle

Cons
Back window visibility not very good.
Small amount of wind noise around windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RACHEL B.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/20/2018
2019 Santa Fe
Wonderful car! Love the options and the handling. The options are very easy to learn and the owner's manual is easy to use. I haven't found anything wrong with the car. The dealership was wonderful and very helpful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jules P.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2018
great car with low power
great car but needs more power. had 2011 sportage and a 2017 santa fe sport both with 2.0 turbo they had more power than the 2019 santa fe this is the biggest drawback for this model all the automobile writers agree on this low power

Cons
low power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lester S.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2018
Again and Again
This is my third Santa Fe - that says it all! Great auto for adventure, practical everyday usage and easy for the older person to access. Great engineering along with a great warranty make this more than an auto purchase - it is an investment
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Larry S.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/22/2018
Best vehicle out there for the money. Styling, safety, convenience and comfort are excellent for this price point.
We have only owned our 2019 Santa Fe Ultimate for a few months but are very impressed thus far. The styling is great on the new model and for the price point the safety, comfort and convenience is exceptional. Only a few minor comments including poor acceleration and poor fuel economy.

Pros
Safety features are great. car build quality is high and comfort and convenience features are outstanding.

Cons
Worse than expected fuel economy. Poor acceleration merging onto highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Regina R.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2018
I love my Santa Fe!
It’s an impressive buy for the money. While most other car makers charge you an arm and a leg for the standard features my Santa Fe had. It’s big luxury without the big price tag. Love this car! You will too!

Pros
I love my car. It’s wonderful.

Cons
I hate the automatic feature that conserves the engines energy. It’s stalls and make the car shake. It’s dangerous. Hope you guys can fix it very soon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Eileen W.
2019 Hyundai Santa Fe
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/24/2018
Very economical with all the latest safety features
The other cars I researched didn't have all the safety features of the Santa Fe until I was looking at the top of the line or the more expensive vehicles. The different driving modes offer an added driving experience that I didn't anticipate. I'm having fun!

Pros
I enjoy being in my car and driving again which has not always been the case.

Cons
The engine noise is louder than expected. It sounds like a race car. I prefer a quiet engine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 1248 in total