2013
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(501 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NG
Nancy G.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2018
Love the features on the car
Love the heated seats, as helps my achy back. Love the lumbar control.for same reason. I will.never own a car again without keyless entry. Great gas mileage. Wish an SUV.would get as great gas mileage

Pros
Keyless entry, lumbar control, gas mileage

Cons
Small inside for more than one person.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kenneth M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2018
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid.
I purchased this vehicle new and have had no issues. It has all the options and they have performed flawlessly. I have only had the dealership work on this car. No one has ever serviced this vehicle but Suntrup Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lucas M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/30/2018
No issue since I bought it!
Physical attribute of this vehicle is superb that it wont get out of style. While it's not the best MPG in it's class, I still consider it very efficient. I wish ther's a dim control on the control station as it sometimes too glaring for me at night.

Pros
Great car.

Cons
Front passenger seat has no height adjustment.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Brock K.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/24/2018
2012 Hyundai Sonata
I have been very lucky with my Sonata Hybrid, wonderful car! I really have had no issues with this vehicle. The front end is lower to where I hit things with front end when parking. Gas mileage is low.....Overall a great vehicle!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
James M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2018
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid BEST vehicle ever.
I am 73 years old and have purchased 12 brand new vehicles from Ford, Chrysler, and GM plus one Japanese automaker along with 4 used vehicles. It is sad to say, but all were full of problems some right from day 1. The dealerships were as much to blame as the manufacturers. My wife and I were left stranded more than 1500 miles from home for 4 days with one American car that was less than one year old. That cost us 4 days for room and meals plus tires and loss of our vacation days. My 2013 Sonata Hybrid has had zero problems, only 3 minor recalls, and it has been a pleasure to have Hyundai service the car. It is almost like a good family reunion at Kolar Hyundai. I have 75,000 miles on the car and everything from the drive train, the body, and every thing that makes a car a car has been fantastic. No problems, no worries from neither Kolar Hyundai or Hyundai of America. Now. if Hyundai will finally produce their much anticipated Santa Fe Hybrid, that will be my next vehicle.

Pros
Great fuel economy averaging 40+ mpg. Lots of great features such as heated seats front and back, backup camera, large display area.

Cons
Seats are too low for comfort. Both the wife and I are tall people and it is hard too get in and out of car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mande K.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2018
Great vehicle
I love the vehicle but..it cost too much money to fix on everything... love the interior and the sound systems. Great buy , save gas ,will recommend to friends and family members, but i will upgrade to the full electric one. Thanks
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
Brenda L.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2018
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
My family and friends thought I had lost my mind when I traded a brand new 2013 BMW for my Sonata Hybrid. But the truth was that I had been shopping for the best hybrid vehicle for weeks and had visited practically every brand that made hybrids. When the Sonata Hybrid won my comparison, I was sold on that car. With an engine so quiet that one could only tell that it was running by checking the dashboard to see that "Ready" was illuminated was the most impressive feature! Therefore, when I won the BMW and saw that the Sonata beat it with gas mileage 40 vs19mpg, full-size roominess compared to the squished feeling in the BMW, using regular gas compared to using super, and the thought of looking forward to $2,000 tune-ups on the BMW vs the 10 year/100,000 mile warranty of the Sonata (that covered the hybrid battery, which the other brands did not), making that decision was a no-brainer. The Sonata has served me well and, while I now want some of the new features of the later models, that is the ONLY reason I would ever consider trading. I've looked at the newer Sonatas but I feel that the 2013 body style is the best of any brand of automobile! I LOVE MY SONATA HYBRID!!!!

Pros
10 year/100,000 warranty
hybrid battery covered with the warranty
VERY stylish
SUPER quiet
GREAT gas mileage
Easy to handle
Only requires regular gasoline
Hyundai service

Cons
Navigation system seems to need an update (gives wrong directions sometimes)
The bluetooth does not always connect with my cell phone immediately
Air noise when using the phone on bluetooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARY S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2018
One of the Finest if not THEE Finest car I've owned.
Owned Cadillacs, Lincolns (Town Cars), Chevrolets, Toyotas, but for the money there is no better car on the market.
It performs well, handles very well, LIKES to cruise easily at and above highest speed limits and still delivers good mileage. Body finish and integrity is very good. I keep it polished and clean all year 'round, inside and out. Sound system is great. Rims are really superb. They look like a space ship landing gear and the "cockpit" feels like you are in a space ship. LOVE the car. Very minor issue is components (plastic-fitted-pieces) on steering wheel are not of the quality and caliber I would expect. Fine car all the way around, front to back, under the hood to the trunk. Comfortable and fun to drive and it is six years old now!

Pros
Really just a delight to drive and own.

Cons
No memory mirrors. No power passenger seat. Steering wheel does not tilt outward enough. Engine "sound" should either be more muffled or more throaty - its current sewing machine sound when outside of the vehicle is not very inspiring. Inside sound is fine.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Phillip W.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2018
Hybrid rating
The transition time between electric and gas engine is getting incrementally longer, electric engine isn't strong enough to get you out of trouble as you pull into traffic. Since new my hybrid battery has never been full, it usually is in the 50% range. My 09 Sonata had real carpet however my 13 hybrid has what I call felt, really cheap. My 09 was made in made in U.S. the 13 was made in S. Korea, I don't know if this makes a difference. The gas mileage is very poor for a hybrid, I have owned other straight gas 4cyl that got better mileage.

Pros
Great backup camera

Cons
See earlier comments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Edward G.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2018
Luxury without the big brand name.
Who would have taught that this car would be some amazing. The design and look is incredible. I’m a guy that loves designs/appearance of a car. I never imagine myself driving a hybrid better yet a Hyundai. Nothing against the make just never thought about it. I test drove the car and fell in love with it. The handling is incredible and responsive. It’s sleek body makes it easy to control during windy or stormy days. The car sticks to the ground well that when takin curves, you don’t feel like the car is loosing its grip.
The interior is very clean but yet looks luxurious. From the navigation dash and controls to the back rear seat heating system. The sound is incredible (infinity) and i rarely put it past level 4 with windows closed and 8 windows down. The sound control system is very user friendly.
The navigation isn’t as friendly and it does take sometime to get used to using it but within a month I think I had it down path.
Seats are comfortable. I travel a lot and not always i take my car but I had a few times and I love it. It is super comfortable and I like the fact that it keeps the outside noise well balanced. If you go through a gravel or poorly paved road then yes there’s heavy noise of traveling at 50+ but not on the highway.

The hybrid system is just beyond measure. I had a hybrid ford and Toyota that I drove for several weeks for work and I can tell you this, the mileage does not compare, neither does the road noise. After a few months of fill up and driving on the highway, my hybrid was pushing 513 miles between fill ups. The most I got out of the other two was 422.
The ford was the worst about road noise followed by the Toyota. I had always increase the volume of music or calls just so I could hear it. I looked into all of them and you can adjust the settings on all of them but it always caused me issues, not the Hyundai.

All in all, I couldn’t be happier about my purchase. I am already considering getting me a newer model because of how awesome this car is.

I’ll add that I haven’t had any mechanical issues or concerns. I take care of the car by giving it maintenance regularly and putting premium gas and always checking mechanicals just as a preventative measure.

Pros
Design, sound, comfort, road noise, performance, fuel

Cons
Navigation interface

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
DAVID V.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2018
Love our Hyundais!
My previous car was a Genesis Coupe, and I loved that little sports car - six-speed turbo (wow!), light blue, and I dressed it up with tan leather seats - because of it's performance and handling which I literally feel saved lives or at least a serious accident more than once. However, it was just too small too often, so I up-sized and got a great deal on this end-of-model-year hybrid and trade ins. But I thought I was giving up some of what I enjoyed. Truly, though, the only characteristics I miss now is the size and manual transmission. Handling is solid and tight, ride is as nice as cars twice it's price, performance is more than adequate, the interior is plush and well-designed, and, when I see others driving it, I believe it has a sporty, somewhat timeless style. And (oh, yeah), the economy... IT MAKES GAS!!! We take it on long and short trips rather than our Genesis sedan, which we also love, because of it's near 40 mpg vs 21-23 with the standard, non-hybrid.

Pros
I believe this is a very high-value, reliable, well-handling, comfortable, and economical-to operate automobile. I know hybrid/electric auto technology is still developing; however, I purchase this car at a good time, and it fits my needs and desires well.

Cons
A minor "con" is that a few cubic feet of trunk space is taken up by the extra batteries. We've taken extensive trips in the car with bags and my golf clubs; however, it would be tight with more than two people's luggage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dariel M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2018
The hybrid is a great vehicle it is good on gas mileage and it writes very good it is a very good economical vehicle
This vehicle is Sunday drive is very economical and very safe or recommend anybody buy a Hyundai Sonata hybrid they r sharp vehicle to drive. What else do you want me to say about the car it is easy to keep clean the color is just too bright color not much dirt shows on it

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Wish they had buttons to turn heat.off n back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
William T.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/28/2018
Excellent vehicle, but needs work on drivability.
The car is beautiful inside and outside, and gets outstanding gas mileage (40+ mpg). Is very quiet and, comfortable, especially on long drives.

The only complaints I have are that initial acceleration is lacking, and the 6-speed transmission tends not to be a smooth when shifting as I would like. There's also a problem with the sound system. I usually play playlists from my phone, but whenever I shut the car off and turn it back on, the sound system reverse to FM radio. This requires turning the volume down, and resetting the media to Bluetooth. Not a big problem, but my Ford leaves the default at whatever I was using last. Hyundai should fix this. Finally, the navigation system not only costs $100 a year, but updates cost $169 each. This is excessive when I can get Google Maps updates whenever they're needed for free.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Martin R.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2018
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I love my Sonata Hybrid it gives me great mileage and is a comfortable and good looking car. I have 41,00 miles on the car and it still performs like new.
I would highly recommend t this car to anyone
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mark H.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2018
Best Car I Have Owned
I bought a 2013 Sonata Hybrid and did not know what to expect. I average 40mpg for a tank of gas. At this time with 75,000 no warranty work has been needed. The car drives great and sits my 6'4" twin boys in the back seat comfortably. This car is a good compromise for price, size, mpg, and quality. You cannot go wrong picking this as your car to own.

Pros
Gas mileage, quality, comfort, easy to drive, stylish car.

Cons
Would have been nice to have the tire pressure reading per tire instead of a warning light.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ray B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2018
2013 Sonata Hybrid
I have over 90,000 miles on this car and have no issues with it. I am very pleased with the performance; especially the gas mileage. I can literally drive from Steele Creek to Akron, OH on one tank of gas! When I'm ready for a new car, it will definitely be another Sonata hybrid.

Cons
The position of the heated seat controls on the console is not ergonomically correct. I noted this when I bought the car and that has since been a design correction by Hyundai!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Patricia P.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/09/2018
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I love my 2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. Have been buying Hyundai’s for many years and the Hybrid has been great on style, comfort, gas,and even price. And much more.
I would recommend Hyundai to anyone.
Thanks Hyundai for making a dependable automobile !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Douglas W.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
Douglas Waldron
My wife and I have really enjoyed having our 2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, very nice car. The gas millage is fairly decent. I can assure you we will like it more when it's paid off! The only things I would have had different are having the passenger seat be electric, my wife sits way to low on the seat, second, I would have had remote start put in it, that would have made winter days better. For the most of it, the car is OK!

Pros
Gas mileage, heated seats,

Cons
No spare tire! That sucks!
Passenger seat not electric

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Martin R.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2018
Reliable and cost effective vehicle
This vehicle has been a reliable and comfortable means of transportation for our family for 4 years. Only 1 major issue, computer for brake system failed, of course after the coverage period ended, but otherwise, routine maintenance has been all I have had to do with her

Pros
Comfort. Very good gas mileage. Stylish

Cons
Low passenger seat which doesn't adjust up. Smaller trunk due to battery. Questionable Silver paint job which has resulted in the car looking like it has chicken pox (small spots all over).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IJ
Irene J.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2018
Great Gas Saver
Really glad I bought the hybrid car with Hyundai. Other companies make hybries but they are terribly small. I really love all my 3 hyundais. I bought them all new. No problems with any of them. I will continue to buy Hyundais in the future.

Pros
Spacious and saves gas. Very comfortable for long drives.

Cons
The car is too low and I get stuck on side walks that are too high.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 501 in total