2013
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(501 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HK
Harmony K.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/08/2018
Handles Great, Though MPG Deceeases Over Time
I absolutely love my 2013 Sonata Limited Hybrid. Under 50,000 miles and in normal-light traffic, I would get 42 mpg and babying it, I would get 45-47 mpg. However, as it has aged my mpg has gotten a little less with my max (babying it) around 40-42, and my regular mpg at about 35-37. In-town at about 30-32mpg which isn’t bad but isn’t hybrid mileage.

Now for the handling. I replaced the tires with Yokohama tires and the ride is quite smooth with a little road noise. The sound system is pretty good - excellent for its year - and all of the electronics function fabulously at 60,000 miles.

It did need some extended warranty work (sunroof assembly) and I had to replace the shark fin antenna because rhe XM radio module went bad. Other than that, for a sedan; the car drives very sporty and it looks beautiful. It’s a good family car, too, with the rear air controls, drop down cup holder and more! I’ve driven the newer Elantra (2017) and Nissan Altima (2018). The Elantra has more responsive handlijg (slightly) but wasn’t my Limited - for sure. The Altima had a better stereo system and a smoother ride but handled like a Cadillac or a truck and was far from responsive.

I just LOVE my car!!!! I’ll be sad when I have to replace it in a few years!

Pros
Responsive handling, good mpg, stereo system, panaramic sunroof, comfortable ride, fun to drive, individual climate control and overall driving experience, no major repaIrs by 61, 000 miles (with regular dealership maintenance)

Cons
- Windows smaller than newer cars
- blind spot
- gas mileage goes down over time
- Shark fin antenna needs replacement around 60,000 miles
- Sunroof assembly warps over time (60,000 miles)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
MORRIS D.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/05/2018
Hyundai Sonata
The car is now 5 years and 12 days old. Except for this recent episode the car functions fine. On the negative side, since initial ownership the gas mileage is reduced by 4 - 5 gallons per mile. I went in for regular maintenance, but the problem is still not resolved.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jesse G.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
Stylish, Reliable, Amazing!
I have been a Sonata owner for years, this car is stylish, roomy, dependable, and affordable! The Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited has all the feature of cars almost double in price. Ergonomically everything has been well thought out in its design. You really can’t ask for a better car for the money!

Pros
What’s not to like about this vehicle!

Cons
The newer models have a more subdued styling. In my opinion the 2013 was the best looking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BO
Bernard O.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
Does What I Bought It For
I bought this vehicle to save money on gas as I took a new job and starting competing in boxing. Amateur boxing i not as lucrative as the more glamorous jobs I've had but def much more worth my time. The car performs well, is surprisingly fast and takes me from point A to point B. The sound system suits my needs well and has beautiful bass. It's sleek and I get compliments on the color all the time. I was reluctant to downsize from my truck but I made the best decision. I'll keep this car until it blows up in addition to my future cars. You would think it's a lil small for a 6'2" boxer but it is comfortable for the most part. It's a little fragile as far as taking damage so be careful.

Pros
Maxed out on features
Does exactly what I need and a bit more
High Performance
Stylish
Workhorse
Extremely Reliable

Cons
Little knee room for a tall man
Fragile exterior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Martha P.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018
Great car
I highly recommend this vehicle .
Is sport looking car . Save me so much money. Smooth to drive. Break quickly and pick speed in a instantly.
Maintanance is regularly as recommend worry free.
I'm very satisfied with my hyundai .

Pros
Save so much money in fuel .maintanence always I keep my cars in top conditions this car is very easy to maintain.
I'm very satisfied.
Im defenetly recommend this vehicle it looks like sport car and feel it too.

Cons
Nothing 3 years and going strong..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IW
Isabell W.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/26/2018
Sonata
I like the Sonata so much that I upgraded to a newer model. This makes Sonata #3! The Sonata is very comfortable and the hybrid version gets a great miles per gallon ratio. The safety features are definitely a plus.

Pros
Great value. Love that I can get all the features & upgrades affordably.

Cons
The rear leather seats don't come with the heated/cooled option in the model that I have. I would like to have a front camera for parking assist to keep from scraping the front bumper on parking blocks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IJ
Irene J.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2018
Great Car for the price
I have owned 3 new Hyundais. Right after college, I bought my first Hyundai. It was the first new car I owned. I had it for about 8 years. I got a second new car in Long Beach, California. It lasted for over 12 years. I never had big problems with it. Because I have to pay for gas, my friend suggestedd a hybrid. I never really thought about it. I love my hybrid car. It is a great car for the price. I hate to pay for gas and this car saves me a lot. Love my Hyundai hybrid.

Pros
Saves gas money.

Cons
Front bender is too low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Barbara W.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/23/2018
Great Luxury car
This was purchased as a used car but was like brand new because it only had 19,000 miles on it. It is very comfortable and can accommodate 5 people. It now has 58,000 miles and I have only replaced the tires and one hybrid battery (the small one). It seems to be very reliable and the warranty is for 150,000 miles. For me, it makes a good business car and would work great for trips.

Pros
It has all the bells and whistles of a new car and also gets good gas mileage. I would have never paid the original price for it, but since it was a used auto with only 19,000 miles on it, it was like getting it new!

Cons
The trunk space is small because the battery takes up a lot of room. The back seats do not fold down so it is hard to fit long items into the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KO
Katherine O.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2018
Love this car!
My Sonata Hybrid is a great car, it’s easy to drive, great on gas and it has a sleek body style. Taking trips in this car is truly enjoyable. The way the inside and console are put together is so convenient. I have never had a problem and it’s performance is smooth.

Pros
It’s a well put together product and I would recommend it to anyone.

Cons
None yet after 4 years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2018
Excellent hybrid performance
The 2013 Sonata hybrid is my first purchase outside of full gasoline engine vehicles. This vehicle has performed flawlessly for the past five years and 60,000 miles. In town and highway mpg have always met or exceeded sticker claim. Power to spare when necessary. Have maintained vehicle according to manufacturer’s recommendations and it still performs as new.

Pros
Mpg. Power when needed.

Cons
Some exterior ornamental pieces have not stood up well to time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Sheila P.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2018
I am in love with my car
I bought a Sonata Hybrid in 2013. I thought it was the prettiest car on the road then, and still do. More importantly, however, it has driven almost 90,000 miles with no problems, other than having to replace the battery - pretty normal in a hybrid, and,of course, tires. Other than that it has been a dream car. Ever dependable, always comfortable, and, of course, still beautiful.

Pros
Beautiful, dependable, great gas mileage - wonderful car

Cons
A bit expensive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Jose P.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2018
I love hyundai
We have owned 3 Hyundai's and this is the 4th...I couldn't be happier. It is definitely economic on gas. This car is spacious enough for my family of four. My disappointment has to be the trunk space due to the hybrid battery. I also wish they came with a spare tire, as my vehicle did not.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mary K.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/03/2018
2013 Sonata Hybrid
I absolutely love my Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. It is my first ever Hybrid and I cannot imagine not having one. Anytime you can drive 500 miles on less than $35.00 worth of gas it is a great thing. The vehicle is comfortable and reliable. I have had zero trouble with it and I now have over 100,000 miles on it. I have driven it on long distance trips with my grandchild and we love the GPS directions and our ability to look for a stopping place on line with it. I love the backup camera. This is my first and when my back is hurting bad from too much work in the garden the heated seats are the Bomb! :) I love it love it love it. Best car I've ever owned. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants energy efficiency in a good looking sporting vehicle.

Pros
I am very happy with it. Mine has leather seats, GPS navigation and back up camera which I truly love having had run ins in my day with several mailboxes. LOL.

Cons
Wish it was a bit bigger, BUT I'm told you are coming out in 2019 with a new Hybrid SUV type vehicle which I'm looking forward to seeing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WY
Won Y.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2018
Would definitely buy again
I have owned a Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Limited for a little less than 5 years and drove over 81,000 miles. I have experienced good performance and the car picks up speed so easily need to be actually careful not to go so fast. Has been reliable but did have battery component problem recently. The car gave me plenty of warning to get off the freeway safely, got a free tow to my dealer of choice and the repairs were all covered. The car was ready for pickup next day. Warranty on the car is great. Not much in maintenance cost except changing of oil. I really like that I don't have to pay so much to fill the tank, don't need to fill the tank that often and no maintenance except oil change and had to change the 12V battery (regular battery) once. I would definitely buy it again, in fact we own 2 already.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kent M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2018
Awesome
Best car I have ever owned (now I own two). Quality unmatched. Performance just amazing. 42 to 43 city. 44 to 45 highway. We'really at 65,000 miles and have had zero maintenance issues. Hybrid drive transitions seamlessly between power modes.

Pros
Performance, features, comfort, Safety.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
James P.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/24/2018
2013 Sonata Hybrid
I have 124000 miles on this vehicle. Gas mileage is 34 mpg or better in town and highway. Maintenance is done on a regular basis and has been very reliable. Thus as a drive system the car is excellent. Hybrid breaking is more reliable where brake linings are still in good shape. The car electronics are another thing. The drive system is very important but the electronics are becoming a major part of the driving experience. Having driven a 2018 Sonata standard car, many of the features I found I would like have been implemented. The center display of drive information has implemented Miles/Hour with more practical information. Having the blind side system is a must. The 2013 has a very poor GPS map system otherwise better than the 2018 Sonata. The passenger seat is too low.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jack H.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2018
jack h
this car has more standard features than any vehicle costing 2 times as much. ride is good, performance is very acceptable (not doggy) . the only con is the height of the front end. It should be about 2 inches higher to clear parking curbs. also the gps is a little hard to program until you learn it. excellent vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lily M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2018
LOVE my Hyundai Hybrid
From the moment I saw my gleaming white Hyundai Sonata Hybrid, I knew it was the car for me. It was 2 years old but I just had the right feeling about the car and it has proven to be a delight, both in looks and how well it operates and rides. I actually bought it on the spot without looking at other cards. It is SO economical on gas, I only fill it maybe once a month! I know, hard to believe. Best vehicle I've ever purchased. It's my Princess!

Pros
Rides really well, nice and tight with steering and brakes. It's a beautiful design. It has a lot of channels on the radio including HD, even without any apps. It's super fuel efficient, alternating between electric and gas. Love it.

Cons
The keyboard to type in a destination is really off a lot. I think it's too sensitive, and picks up on neighboring letters instead of the one I type in. That makes it time consuming to keep redoing an address when I'm going somewhere unfamiliar. I think they could have chosen better colors for the interior than beige and black, when the exterior is white.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Patricia S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/14/2018
We love our "little Silver" Hyundai Hybrid
Our Hyundai Hybrid is a beauty. We love the look and reliability not to mention the wonderful gas mileage. The Service Department at Waikem Hyundai keep it in top condition, and with Hyundai's warranty we look forward to enjoying driving it for many years to come. We are currently shopping another Hyundai, but don't look to ever trade in this "sexy" little silver Sonata Hybrid.

Pros
Comfortable drive. Great Gas Mileage. Reliable.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Afiya J.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2018
Hyundai Sonata 2013 Hybrid
Love my car ! Very sporty looking !! Great on gas ! Love the features my car has and the price was reasonable for what I got ! Would trade my car for any other car! Never dreamed of getting a sonata and wouldn’t trade it for anything !

Pros
Gas, style , features

Cons
Nothing !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 501 in total