2013
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(501 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


NW
NAPHTALI W.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
05/02/2015
-

Pros
Exellent

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JENIFER B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/28/2015
I will never buy Hyundai again
This vehicle should not be sold in California without proper warning regarding the MPG. I was lucky to get 32/35 mpg, in NC I get 41/42. The dealership, when I discussed this with them, would just say "it's common sense you aren't going to get that...they drive this car around a level track to get the mpg". Oh, forgive me...My fault. You told me it would get the same as a prius. They only cared about the sale. Don't even get me started on the service department. Window tint is bubbling, they broke a piece of the console putting my car back together (had to bring it in again to fix that), didn't do services they recommended and said they'd complete, threw away a part that cost thousands to order, I could go on forever. I hate this car, but the resale is so low it's not worth getting rid of it after I put $10,000 down on it.

Pros
Tons of features

Cons
Low resale, poor performance, bluelink SUCKS!, dealer service departments unreliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
Elizabeth P.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/24/2016
2013 So at a Hybrid
I leased this vehicle in December of 2013 and had a three year lease. While driving on the freeway in April of 2015, my car started loose acceleration and eventually died. I barely made it to the side of the freeway before all power was lost. It was very scary as everyone around me was going 65+ mph and I had my children in the car.

Hyundai was wonderful. They had my car towed, provided me with a rental car and replaced my engine, all at no cost. They had my car one month.

However, I had my car back less than a week before it died again. Once again, Hyndai came and jumped the car a and inspected it. They say nothing is wrong with it but the car doesn't die for no reason.

I commute 160+ miles a day round trip. I am almost to the point mileage wise where these issues will no longer be under warranty.

I have opened a case with Cinsumer Affairs with Hyundai and am trying to turn my lease in early. Since I am so close to being out of warranty and this car is not owned by me, I don't want to be financially responsible when the next issue happens.
I am hoping Hyundai does what is right and takes this lemon back.

Pros
Service folks.

Cons
Reliability.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/24/2016
Worst car ever
I've been a Hyundai customer for over 10 years, I have to say I hate my hybrid. Their is no power, you have to use the better grade in gas, and it only gets 32 miles per gallon over all. When it's supposed to get better then 32.

Pros
It gets me to work!

Cons
Crappy car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Connie D.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/02/2017
Sucks!!!
This is my 2nd Sonata Hybrid. I should never have bought this car had Sales bothered to tell me the truth about a Hybrid. Huge mistake. The 2012 had several big problems. This car also has big problems. So many times the car just would not start, could not even get in the
car as doors would not open. I have had many tears and stress concerning this car. I bought a new car to be driving it on the road, not sitting in service. This is a loaded car and really sharp looking. I spent a good chunk of my hard earned money This car is not dependable or reliable. Hyundai has no interest in making it right. Hyundai can't even diagnose why it just won't start at times. I am retired and not working to have an ongoing income to just keep buying another new car. I came in to purchase a regular loaded Hyundai Sonata. The general manager does not believe me. I did not know anything about hybrids. I know this will not be available to the public.

Cons
Never know when it just won't start.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jay C.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/26/2017
Bad bad bad
Had nothing but problems fro day one...check engine light constantly came on. Hybrid system was defective and in the shop several times. I also had 4 recalls the Hyundai took care of. Service people were very friendly and helpful but the quality of the car was subpar. I would not buy another one in the future.

Pros
Not many

Cons
Many, slow on exceleration, check engine light constantly comes on. Had may issues including the hybrid system since day one. Overall quality isn't present. Will not buy another.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
WILLIAM S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/25/2016
2013
Never buy one again because the seating are peeling and worn,

Pros
Good mileage

Cons
Seat are worn and peeling only after 2 years. A lot road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jayme M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/06/2016
Average
It's a decent car for the money, reliable, but not very good pick up. Seems to drag a bit when accelerating.

Pros
Good on gas, nice interior design

Cons
Below average pick up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
Thomas N.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/26/2017
Built Cheap, and horribly designed.
It is a very cheaply built car and has engineering problems galore. I'd avoid Hyundai for a car purchase. I know I will.

Pros
Decent gas mileage. Heated seats.

Cons
Cheap materials used to build.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/17/2017
Poor performance
This car did not get even close to the gas mileage promised by Hyundai and I had quite a few problems with the car.
I am so glad that I purchased the extended warranty.What I also learned about my car when I bumped a pole in my parking spot is
that with a simple bumper dent you must replace the whole bumper to repair it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
John K.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/30/2017
2013 Hyundai
To many things going wrong like the main computer, seat belt, rear seat heater etc. The build quality of the accessories is bad. Gas mileage is good. Performance is good. I would not buy another Hyundia.

Pros
gas milage

Cons
reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Lindsy G.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/12/2018
Sonats
Liked this vehicle at first, even though I had crappy customer service all the way around with buying the car and the first service done. But have had multiple problems, such as the transmission failing and when having the break peddle replaced (which I think was completely unnecessary and don't trust most if their service techs) it wasn't done properly and my car broke down again shortly after because they forgot to put brake fluid in it. The car is comfortable and nice but hyundai seems to be unreliable and their customer service alone is enough to make me never buy from them again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
Phillip W.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2018
Hybrid rating
The transition time between electric and gas engine is getting incrementally longer, electric engine isn't strong enough to get you out of trouble as you pull into traffic. Since new my hybrid battery has never been full, it usually is in the 50% range. My 09 Sonata had real carpet however my 13 hybrid has what I call felt, really cheap. My 09 was made in made in U.S. the 13 was made in S. Korea, I don't know if this makes a difference. The gas mileage is very poor for a hybrid, I have owned other straight gas 4cyl that got better mileage.

Pros
Great backup camera

Cons
See earlier comments

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Connie D.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/19/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I really don’t think my opinion will be taken well at the dealership. I love the color and enjoy driving it. Like all the “bells and whistles”, but I should not be the owner of a hybrid. Too many issues during my ownership, often frustrated with the car. My personal opinion is hybrids are in the “baby stages” of development. So much to be improved on.

Pros
Color, style, driving, bells and whistles
Great sound system
Receive many compliments

Cons
Hybrid,
Not the gas mileage I expected
If not for being a “pain” hybrid, this car functions with minimal other problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GARY B.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/23/2015
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
The overall performance of the 2013 Sonata Hybrid is good but not great. Mileage for a hybrid vehicle is poor to bad. I would recommend against anyone purchasing the hybrid; the non-hybrid Sonata is probably a better choice.

Pros
Good interior and exterior aesthetics. Comfortable seats and drive. Good cruising comfort. Well designed controls and features.

Cons
Poor mileage for hybrid: 26-31 mpg based on miles driven per gallons of fuel burned). In-dash mileage indicator gives 27 mpg city and 35 mpg hwy, compared to sticker mileage estimates of 36 and 40 mpg, respectively.
Generally sluggish acceleration. Electronic controls (mirrors and cruise control, especially) are sloppy, The motor battery never fully charges, probably related to the poor hybrid mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSEPH M.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/22/2015
the gal in service I believe her name is megan is outstanding,friendly,smiling and eagar to please ,she a keeper
Paint job seems to be poor as there are several spots that look like they are blemishes
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SHANA S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/27/2016
2013 Hybrid
Hybrid

Pros
Looks nice

Cons
Gas mileage not what predicted

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Judy S.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/23/2016
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Have had problems with it that were not expected at all - dies out at "panic stops", battery and auxiliary units both went at 2-1/2 years! Had navi system replaced twice so far - once when first purchased and am waiting for new unit again.

Pros
Beautiful styling, drives and handles very well.

Cons
Have had problems with it dying during "panic stops", navi system replaced twice and battery and auxiliary system replaced after only 2-1/2 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
GARY P.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/27/2016
Hyundia Sonata hybrid 2013 & 2016
I was happy with 2013 until the battery issue came up and only guaranteed 2 years for a full coverage. I have never had a better yet go bad this early on a car. Normally they last 5 to 6 years. When water pump went out this spring I am wondering if I got the right car. But giving you guys another chance with my 2016 Hyundia Sonata Hybrid. It is getting great gas mileage.

Cons
Battery issue only lasting only 2 years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
Tammy N.
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2016
Hyundia hybrid
Car is noisy going down hwy.Bluetooth hard to hear because of noise from car going down hwy.cold car to drive in winter months hope I never get into a accident.

Pros
Good gas milage

Cons
Noisy.cold during winter.doesn't seem like a solidly built car.kind of disappointed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 501 in total