2014
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(301 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JG
John G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/08/2020
John Gilbertson
The overall performance of my hyundai Sonata Hybrid is excellent. However, I will not purchase another Hyundai Sonata Hybrid based on the changing of the warranty from lifetime on main battery to 100,000 miles. Anyone purchasing a new Sonata Hybrid now would be foolish to purchase with the possibility of driving over a 100,000 miles and risk having to purchase a Hybrid battery with a cost of $7000.00 (quote from Hyundai) Any savings on fuel would be out the window if customer had to assume the cost of battery. There must have been a valid reason why you originally decided to give a lifetime warranty on the battery.......stick with that decision and I would highly recommend Hyundai Sonata Hybrid For purchase.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2020
Great Highway driving and a lot of it
I do a lot of highway driving between Salt Lake and St George. And I’ve been doing it in my 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I just had my first service repair at 184,000 miles (my serpentine belt broke). My goal was to make it to 300,000 miles. After doing a fair amount of research I’ve decided to buy a Hyundai Kona.
3 of my family members are anxious to buy my Sonata Hybrid. Hate to give it up, I think she’d make 300,000 miles easy. Decisions, decisions 🤔

Pros
See my review

Cons
Not an SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
John G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/19/2020
John Gilbertson
I bought my 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid new and I have driven over 219,000 miles and it is still rides like new. I use it for Lyft and Uber and I constantly get compliments on its looks, comfort and how quiet it runs. There's not much more to say other than Hyundai will be my first consideration when I'm ready to buy another vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Gloria L.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
Love my car
I love my car. It has special meaning to me. It was a gift from my mother when she passed. Overall though I enjoy the car. Great ride, pickup and the stereo sound is awesome. I drove it from Houston TX. Although a long drive I enjoyed the comfort and smoothness of the ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Patrice M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/04/2020
I love this car
As a car its great, as a hybrid it stellar. Nice leg room, great pick up on the hwy. Gas mileage is excellent. the dual sunroof may be my favorite feature, besides the siris xm radio. the sound system reminds you of a bose sound system.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Vernon M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/30/2020
Clearance
The main problem I have is the front of the car is so low it does not clear many of the curbs. I've also had a problem with the gas lid. The inside control does not work and caused problems before the warranty was over. I open it manually and get along.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
William C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/11/2019
My hyundai
Great car, save on gas and very comfortable.
Reliable,comfortable fun to drive. Nice interior and exterior great sound.i do recommend this well made car for the money. You save so much fuel on a long trip.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Leslie W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/31/2019
Sonata Hybrid
The Sonata Hybrid is the best car I ever owned AND I feel I am doing my part in fighting global warming!
It also helps that I get almost 50 miles to the gallon and that's a gigantic savings at the gas pump.

Pros
all pros!

Cons
NO cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
Timothy T.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/14/2019
Best car I have ever owned!
I use this car for my work and it currently has over 160,000 miles (so far). It not only consistently gets 38+ MPG, but it is very comfortable and reliable. I bought my first car in 1971 and trade about ever 2-4 years. I have 4 children and for a period of 10 years, maintained 7 cars for all of my family members (my insurance company loves me!). I have owned plenty of cars to evaluate the Sonata against and it is without hesitation that I say it has provided the best performance and proven to be the most reliable of any I have owned!

Pros
The most reliable car I have ever owned.

Cons
The only Cons (and I gave them a 9) are for comfort and Exterior Design. The rear seat in the 2014 Sonata Hybrid doesn't have rear ventilation for AC or Heat. This has been corrected on the newer models. The only other con is the blind spot that is easily corrected with an aftermarket mirror. This too has been corrected in the newer design.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Vernon M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/01/2019
My Sonata
I enjoy the size of the car and how it handles. I have been disturbed with the dealer service when the service manager was not helpful prior to the one that dealt with me last week. I feel the issue with radio interference should be corrected at no charge to me because it has been there ever since I purchased the car.

Pros
I don't know much about cars but have enjoyed this one.

Cons
The front of the car is too low! It does not even pass over 90% of the curbs!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/19/2019
Reliable and very practical
This car has been a great daily commuter. Super-reliable and gets fantastic gas mileage (36-38mpg consistently). While quick and nimble, it is a bit sluggish when weighted down (e.g., with 4 adults on board). Comfortable and quiet ride. Climate control system is irritating, but works. Navigation system is terrible. Hyundai really stands behind their industry-leading 100,000 mile warranty and this has probably been the least expensive car I've ever owned as far as maintenance is concerned.

Pros
Great fuel economy; reliable; comfortable seating for 4 adults; stylish. Wonderful daily commuter!

Cons
Wished it had come with more options (e.g., power seat memory); navigation system is poor; backup camera takes too long to activate; quick and nimble but sluggish when hauling four adults; air dam is very low and always hits parking curbs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Linda B.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/26/2019
Hybrid review
Absolutely amazing vechicle rides like a charm - compliments always received on vechicle - recommend the Hybrid and the Hundai products. Previously owned an Azera but so happy with my Sonata, When changing cars will get another Hyundai.

Pros
excellent gas mileage - quietness of vechicle - super car

Cons
no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
William D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/01/2019
Buying a new car
I am over 70 years of age. Bought many cars in my life. Buying the sonata was a better experience than most transactions. The superb warranties and driving the car took care of my fears in buying a hybrid. We have owned it about 4 1/2 years now and it has greatly surpassed our expectations. We could not be prouder of our alabama made 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. please let the factory know.

Pros
everything

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Peter P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2019
Awesome car
Just a great car I have 2 sonata hybrid limited. Aside from some of the creature comforts failing my 2014 has performed excellent for the first 100,000 mi. My 2018 so far has 0 defects. We love everything about it!

Pros
All

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jennifer H.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/05/2019
Not a winter vehicle!
I bought this car due to several promises I was made which none turned out to be true. 1. You will get the tax credits on your federal income tax refund next year. WRONG! The tax credit statute had not only expired but did not even remotely apply to this vehicle. 2. You can turn off the hybrid system and use only the gas engine. WRONG! The hybrid engine is a major part of this vehicle and must be in good working order or the whole drive system will fail. 3. You will get about 28 MPG city and 45 MPG highway. WRONG! If driven properly and according to the manual you should actually get about 35 MPG city and if you are not overloaded and pay attention to how you are driving you should get 25 - 30 MPG in the cooler months (especially winter) and 40 - 50 MPG when it is warmer (in summer when it is between 80 - 100 degrees outside). If you live in a desert or a dry part of this country, you should have awesome gas mileage. If you live near cold weather like the north-east where snow and cold are the norm for about 4 months out of the year, I would NOT buy this vehicle. This is NOT a winter driving car. The hybrid system is designed to allow the electrical drive system to continue to pull forward to keep your momentum up so you get better gas mileage. This is awesome on dry roads but a huge problem on ice and snow. You do not actually slow down when you take your foot off the gas. You must engage your brakes. On slick road conditions, this is hazardous. The ride was good on this car for about 50,000 miles. I am currently at 95,000 miles and the car rides like a horse and buggy, very stiff and jerky. The back seat is horrible. It is super hard and on a long trip, your legs tend to go numb. However, this car has far more actual passenger space than any there 4-door sedan available at the time of purchase. I took an actual measuring tape to different car dealership and checked for myself before purchasing. The driver side headrest forces you to push your head in a weird position if you use the headrest as you are supposed to. In an accident, the design will definitely guarantee a neck injury. The radio forces you to flip through Sirius XM if you hit the wrong button on the radio. Sirius XM has terrible service where I live and I didn't want it to begin with but you are forced to take it when you buy the car. It comes in the radio and you cannot get rid of it. The car does not come with a jack or spare tire. The shape of the trunk opening makes it hard to get luggage in and out of the vehicle. So far the car has only had the rear brakes changed and other standard maintenance done to it. I am holding off getting the wheel bearings and struts replaced even though the car already needs them. These items should not need replacing until about 150,000 miles. I would recommend the standard Sonata instead of the Hybrid overall.

Pros
Higher gas mileage than most other cars with the same engine size.
The largest interior of any car out there, foreign or domestic, by actual passenger space.

Cons
Rough, stiff ride.
Hard to drive on slick road conditions.
Radio has Sirius XM as a standard feature.
Truck is hard to get luggage in and out of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dominick G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/11/2019
Owner
I think the car needs to come with a jack and tire iron along with a space saver spare tire, being stranded on the side of the road with a tire off its rim and having a air pump is useless. Towing the vehicle is time consuming and expensive and could easily be avoided?

Pros
Overall good styling and economy

Cons
Lack of jack and spare along with battery issue makes it unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Dominick G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/21/2019
Sonata hybrid
The only problem I have with this vehicle is the primary battery has died on me twice leaving me stranded on the side of the toad and in need of a tow to get back to the dealer for replacement. There is no warning regarding battery life being weak one day it’s fine the next it just stops??? This needs to be addressed and a solution needs to be implemented. The last battery put in by the dealer lasted less than 2 years. This seems like a very short battery life for something which cost over $300? My car has always been serviced at Rosen and they never indicate the battery is becoming weak, so how do I avoid getting stranded on the side of the road in the future?

Pros
Comfortable and great gas milage

Cons
Unreliable battery discharges without warning or any kind of notice

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/10/2019
Sold on Sonata's and sold on my first hybrid!
In 2010, I bought an '09 Sonata as a used car, and it has performed perfectly ever since. So I bought the new 2014 Sonata Hybrid for my wife and it has also performed flawlessly so far. Murdock's free-for-life oil changes and car washes have been cheerfully performed over the last 4+ years. Both cars are the best I've ever owned!

Pros
35-41 MPG in summer, 30-35 MPG in winter; not sure why season makes this difference, but still great mileage. Very smooth coordination between battery and engine power. Elegant design and color. Good leg room both front and back.

Cons
Poor suspension: rides bumpy, and is rougher than my '09 Sonata. Heavy wide swinging doors difficult to reach when closing from the inside. Front passenger seat is too low and not adjustable in height; this was mentioned by several passengers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jorge A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/05/2019
I love my Sonata Hybrid
The best car I’ve ever owned. 123k practically trouble free miles. As I use my Sonata Hybrid for transportation work the car sells itself. I promote people to own or lease a Hyundai when riding in my Sonata Hybrid. Look forward to owning and or leasing the 2020 Sonata Hybrid plug-in soon!

Cons
No tear AC after market accommodation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Julie B.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2019
2014 Sonata Hybrid
We bought my Sonata new and currently have 79000 miles. I love it! I have driven all over the country by myself and have never had one moment of concern about its reliability. It gets great gas mileage. I love Hyundai's customer service philosophy. It is obvious corporate culture stresses the importance of the customer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 301 in total