2014
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5rating 4.63
4.6
(293 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TJ
Triza J.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/31/2019
Transmission failed in 4years
Still giving me a problem. I won't reccomend to go with the hybrid . I don't think it will last for more than 5 years, by the time you will paid off will start to give you the problems.
I would reccomend to go with sonata but not hybrid car. SUV is good but not happy with the hybrid.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Charlotte D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2019
Former Jaguar Owner
After retiring, I thought I'd keep my 2008 S-type Jaguar for the rest of my life. Then one costly repair after another made me rethink the car commitment. In 2014, I bought my Sonata Hybrid and have been happy every since.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
Wanda W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/24/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I am extremely pleased with the Hybrid. I don't think I'll drive anything different in the future. Driver's seat very comfortable, but the passenger seat is too low and not extremely comfortable for a long ride. Navigation system is wonderful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Ramon F.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2019
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid limited
Great comfort and reliability. I like the body style and sound system. Milage is the best I realized my first long road trip to San Diego one tank round trip. I've had many compliments on my 2014car.

Pros
Comfotable,reliable and has the power I look for. I've recieved so many compliments. I love it just as I do my 2005 Hyundai Elantra GT

Cons
Great car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Triza J.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/11/2018
Transmission failed in 4years
No complaints except transmission failed in 4 years . I'm glad it was covered by warranty .
Transmission failed when I was driving on highway and I had service two weeks before. I feel like I cannot trust my car and I will have to check complete during all the service.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jorge A.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2018
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Low maintenance and comfortable to drive. This is a very stylish affordable and attractive hybrid electric vehicle. I’m offered many compliments on the car. Many have mistaken the Sonata Hybrid to be a Tesla vehicle.

Pros
Dual Electrical charging posts on console. Attractive to look at electronic digital screen displays and interaction. Saves on fuel and maintenance costs. Drives well. Panorama ceilng creates a welcoming and open and spacious interior cabin area. Looking forward to more hybrid plug in electric models especially a mini van or suv by Hyundai.

Cons
When changing head lamp bulb the plastic clamps easily damage and break. Apparently there is no way to install rear AC vents after production

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
Greg K.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/18/2018
Better Than Average Hybrid
Overall satisfied with the comfort and performance of the auto and I would consider another one (maybe). I don't think it handles well in snow, but is exceptional on wet pavement.(This just might have to do with the tires that came with the car). The headlights do not light up the road enough and I find myself needing the high beams way too often. The fog lights are almost useless because they aim down too much and dealer says they can't be adjusted. The dashboard sends out a signal that interferes with the GPS on iphones using apps such as waze and google maps. It took me 10 months to finally figure it was the car and not the app or iphone. Dealer confirmed that nothing could be done. I hope they fix this in subsequent years. Styling of the car is exceptional and looks great. I would also like to see a tachometer on the dash instead of the useless Eco meter. Having lighted fuel door and trunk release buttons would also be a plus.

Pros
Gas mileage and comfort, excellent styling

Cons
Headlights poor and dashboard interference with third party GPS.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
Nathan N.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2018
So Far So Good!
I bought my 2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid in Tempe, AZ at Autonation - and the service was always great! Can't recommend them enough! About the vehicle - Love the smooth quiet ride, the 35-37 mpg on long road trips and most of all, the TECH package w/ large touchscreen and Sirius XM is a game changer! It's not super powerful, but the heated leather seats, sunroof and strong AC & Heating are great. So comfortable and reliable. I have just 80k on it now and am excited to see how many miles this Hybrid wil go!! Would recommend it to anyone, and hope you can find a service dept (regular oil, tires, scheduled maintenance) as good as AutoNation of Tempe.

Pros
Smooth, quiet, comfortable ride
Loaded with Tech value and sunroof
Hybrid mileage on long trips = 35+
Hybrid system guaranteed for life of vehicle for original owner of vehicle

Cons
It's peppy for a hybrid..
Daily city mpg = 30-33, was hoping for higher
Fuel door/flap would't open around 8k, but replacement is still fine at 80k...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Ralph W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/09/2018
Love our Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. We named her Rooby!
From my first time I drove my red sonata hybrid that I made the best choice for a new car. I am a fantastic sales guy name Richie and also Gerald that assisted in the cell I am the fantastic sales guys named Richie and also Gerald that assisted me. It was an enjoyable experience.

Pros
Completely love the gas mileage and the roomy comfort driving it.

Cons
None whatsoever.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Bopha W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/29/2018
Disappointed
I am disappointed in the mileage I get with my Sonata Hybrid. I am averaging less than 30 miles per gallon, and this is with a 4 cylinder engine! The rest is filler because comment box should be a minimum of 200 characters.

Pros
Good acceleration with the electric motor assist.

Cons
Poor mileage for a hybrid. Quirky GPS, hard to update. Battery takes up space where a spare tire should be. Poor resale

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Arthur C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2018
Nice Car
As stated drives great, looks great and great on gas. Everyone comments on how star the car is and I always get asked about the ,mileage and cost of the vehicle and how the dealer I went to made me a fabulous deal to get me to drive it off.

Pros
Great looking vehicle, awesome gas mileage and fun to drive!

Cons
Hybrids present a little more expense when repairs are due but that is the only con that I see

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
Barbara G.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/22/2018
Does not get miles per gallon like it should
I have been disappointed with this car since I bought it. It does not get the mileage that it should get. My son has the same year same brand Hyundai Sonata, but not a hybrid and gets the same exact mileage that I dress and I paid way more for that car because it was a hybrid.

Cons
The passenger seats in that vehicle are so low and not adjustable in height. The car was made skimpy when I bought that car they told me it was top of the line. I didn't realize that the passenger seat did not have that adjustment. If that's supposed to be top of the line I'd hate to see what the bottom of the line is.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Anita D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/20/2018
Miles per gallon not a s much as you would think
it is a work horse-mine has 162500 miles on it and never gave me too much problems - the car engages the gas kind of rough it jerks the whole car when it moves from electric to gas a couple of faulty expensive parts over the years too

Pros
nice looking car

Cons
hybrid not as much savings in gas as you may think

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Chris M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2018
Love it!
I love the car. It’s not a rocket but I’m not trying to impress anyone. Love the interior styling and all the options available. The best is how far/long I can go on one tank of gas. A full tank will take my 500 miles.

Pros
Great mileage, and full of options that make my trips more pleasurable.

Cons
It’s not a rocket if that’s what you’re looking for.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Manohar P.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/27/2018
MPG not as claimed. Comfortabnle ride and luxary
I have this 2014 Sonata hybrid now for 4 years and 3 months. I live in Wisconsin. Ride, handling are very good. During winter MPG is very less around 26 MPG. Summer time is @ 34. I was expecting better MPG in winter then my old 2007 Sonata.

Pros
Good ride and fun to drive

Cons
MPG is not what they claim.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Donald J.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2018
I like the car very much
I like the car very much. It the drive is different that gas powered only vehicles as it is very smooth and the regeneration breaking is excellent. My only complaint is the cost of repair.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
very smooth to drive

Cons
seat heater controls on console easily bumped and turned on.
Price of repairs is way to high.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
Wanda W.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2018
Sonata Hybrid
Love the quietness of the car. Gets really good gas mileage. Driver seat is comfy, passenger seat is not so comfortable (i.e. - 2014 model) and passenger seat is manual as the driver seat is electric.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Vernon M.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2018
I really enjoy the good gas mileage and the performance exceeded my expectations.
I would have preferred not having a sun roof and would have preferred cloth seats but the car was on the showroom floor. I enjoy driving the car. The braking is beyond anything I've experienced. I plan for this to be my last car--I'm 85 years old.

Pros
I appreciate the gas mileage and performance.

Cons
I miss some of the trunk space but this is a price I paid in purchasing a hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Martin C.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/13/2018
I ALWAYS drove big cars, and am very surprised at this car. it is tight no noise when driving and comfortable. I went to Boston with my brother today and he drives a Tesla and could not believe how great my car is. I have 66T miles on it and it is the best I have every owened.
same as above xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
every one thinks it is a 2018 looks and drives GREAT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Patricia D.
2014 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/13/2018
LOVING IT!
I bought this beauty with about 26,000 miles. It now has about 33000 miles and I've been driving it for approximately 10 months without any issues. If the trunk space was bigger it would've been just perfect.....but will deal with it.

Pros
HYBRID/GAS WORKS RELATIVELY OKAY. COMFORTABLE SMOOTH DRIVE AND LOOKS GOOD TOO!

Cons
LIMITED TRUNK SPACE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 293 in total