2015
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72
4.7
(589 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RL
ROBERT L.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/08/2015
MY WORST CAR BUYING EXPEREINCE EVER. The Car os OK for what I paid, except the SALES TEAM LIARS!! BUYER BEWARE - STAY AWAY!!!!!
I DO NOT want to EVER be contacted again by Gosch Hyundai or Gosch automotive group of DISHONEST PEOPLE, THEY FLAT OUT LIED about NOT adding extra's.

The only satisfaction I want is:
REMOVE ME FROM ALL CONTACT LISTS, US MAIL, E-MAIL or any type of PHONE call Home or Cell phone contact! If Gosch does try contacting me it will be REAL SHORT on my end! GUARANTTEED!!!!

Pros
Good gas mileage! Recommend the car,
The satisfaction I want is from GOScH Automotive Group / GOScH Hyundai
REMOVE ME FROM ALL CONTACT LISTS, US MAIL, E-MAIL or any type of PHONE call Home or Cell phone contact! If Gosch does try contacting me it will be REAL SHORT on my end! GUARANTTEED!!!!

Cons
They are too stupid to remove from there lists, I have repeatedly asked for this to be done. They can't even get that right.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
KENNETH D.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/15/2016
Horrible
Miserable

Pros
None

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Candace C.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/19/2018
Never buy 2015 Sonata hybrid
I started experiencing vehicle issues back in August of 2016. I purchased the vehicle June 10, 2016 and have had nothing but issues with this vehicle. The first issue occurred five months after purchasing this vehicle, the hybrid battery system blew out. I got that issue fixed as it was still under warranty at the time. Within about three months my hybrid battery plug blows out which the incident occurred around rent time which made me accrue a $100.00 late fee on my October’s rent. Then the next issue came in November of 2017 my oil pressure switch blew out which it took them one week to complete the repair. Then literally two weeks after that repair, my engine blows out while on the freeway on my way to work. This repair took almost two and a half weeks to finish. This vehicle is my only source of transportation I had to come out of the pocket for a rental car for two and a half weeks which took from my rent and utility bills. With all of the car issues that I have been dealing with has cost me a great amount of money. I have since then had to put my Utility bills on extension, Edison my Water and Gas bills, and I’ve been paying my rent late due to these car repairs, I have not been able to catch up with the late Fees that I’ve been accruing. I am so behind on all of my bills and rent. I do not even have the money to feed my children due to the expenses of these car repairs. Due to this last car repair while still trying to recuperate it has been impossible for me to get back on track. I am under so much stress trying to figure out how I am going to get by day by day. I am now at risk of getting my lights, water and gas disconnected due to these repairs. This financial struggle has caused me a great amount of depression and stress these repairs have been ongoing. I am at a point in my life where everything that can go wrong with this car is. I have faith that I will come out of this situation with a big smile on. Due to this situation my landlord is not too comfortable in trusting me to pay rent on time and with the past car situations. I have loss so much energy, time and money due to this vehicle. I have put in a Lemon request to Hyundai to repurchase this vehicle back, but was denied twice. this has caused me nothing but anxiety and stress and long nights staying up crying trying to figure out how to survive day by day.

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE:
The contents of this email message and any attachments are intended solely for the addressee(s) and may contain confidential and/or privileged information and may be legally protected from disclosure. If you are not the intended recipient of this message or their agent, or if this message has been addressed to you in error, please immediately alert the sender by reply email and then delete this message and any attachments. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, copying, or storage of this message or its attachments is strictly prohibited.

Cons
I started experiencing vehicle issues back in August of 2016. I purchased the vehicle June 10, 2016 and have had nothing but issues with this vehicle. The first issue occurred five months after purchasing this vehicle, the hybrid battery system blew out. I got that issue fixed as it was still under warranty at the time. Within about three months my hybrid battery plug blows out which the incident occurred around rent time which made me accrue a $100.00 late fee on my October’s rent. Then the next issue came in November of 2017 my oil pressure switch blew out which it took them one week to complete the repair. Then literally two weeks after that repair, my engine blows out while on the freeway on my way to work. This repair took almost two and a half weeks to finish. This vehicle is my only source of transportation I had to come out of the pocket for a rental car for two and a half weeks which took from my rent and utility bills. With all of the car issues that I have been dealing with has cost me a great amount of money. I have since then had to put my Utility bills on extension, Edison my Water and Gas bills, and I’ve been paying my rent late due to these car repairs, I have not been able to catch up with the late Fees that I’ve been accruing. I am so behind on all of my bills and rent. I do not even have the money to feed my children due to the expenses of these car repairs. Due to this last car repair while still trying to recuperate it has been impossible for me to get back on track. I am under so much stress trying to figure out how I am going to get by day by day. I am now at risk of getting my lights, water and gas disconnected due to these repairs. This financial struggle has caused me a great amount of depression and stress these repairs have been ongoing. I am at a point in my life where everything that can go wrong with this car is. I have faith that I will come out of this situation with a big smile on. Due to this situation my landlord is not too comfortable in trusting me to pay rent on time and with the past car situations. I have loss so much energy, time and money due to this vehicle. I have put in a Lemon request to Hyundai to repurchase this vehicle back, but was denied twice. this has caused me nothing but anxiety and stress and long nights staying up crying trying to figure out how to survive day by day.

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE:
The contents of this email message and any attachments are intended solely for the addressee(s) and may contain confidential and/or privileged information and may be legally protected from disclosure. If you are not the intended recipient of this message or their agent, or if this message has been addressed to you in error, please immediately alert the sender by reply email and then delete this message and any attachments. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, copying, or storage of this message or its attachments is strictly prohibited.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Thomas C.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/09/2018
Sales people are not up front about maintenance
Does not get gas mileage advertised more out of pocket maintenance then represented at time of sale the elec top sun roof if used it jumps out of track I was sold replacement INS that only lasted one year not fully explained and I’m still paying for it

Pros
Quiet

Cons
Passenger seat not elec. adjustable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Ashley K.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/30/2018
Poor
I now have 80,000 miles on my car last year the hybrid batter pack went down this year's the whole hybrid batter system went down $5,800 and car value sucks I can't traid in or sell car I feel I purchased a lemon and I'm stuck with a vehicle that's unreliable and safe because both time I was in traffic and the second time my max speed was 5mph and I was in rush hour traffic.

Pros
Beautiful Car

Cons
Resell value and reliability

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AK
Alex K.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/29/2018
Huyundai Sonata Hybrid
Very unreliable car that breaks down often and dealers have little to no expertise with hybrids. The car will have battery issues while driving and sometimes shut down all electronics and stall while driving even on the highway.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Janet G.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/11/2018
Coil Springs
2015 Sonata, 2 broken coil springs within 2 months of each other, only 25K miles. NOT HAPPY. will not buy another of this brand. afraid that something like this will happen out of warrantee. not happy
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
James T.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/03/2019
Avoid this vehicle
Had an unknown electronic condition that was never able to be resolved. The dealership worked tirelessly with the engineers and still couldn’t get resolution. After 8 long months it was finally determined it was becoming too costly to continue trying.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSEPH M.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/17/2015
owner
Car is nice. The mileage that the computer says is not accurate. It is off by around 4 mpg every tankfull. I am getting about 33 miles mostly highway. If you have to do any city driving gas mileage drops rapidly.Get a power drivers seat. Seat uncomfortable on most trips. Unfortunately the 2015 only offers power drivers seat in limited. No rear ac ducts on any level of the 2015.

Pros
Great excelleration. Quite cabin.

Cons
No power seat offered in base model.No a/c ducts for rear. A/c seems to have spells of not cooling well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PH
Peggy H.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/04/2016
Poor Gas Mileage
My hybrid gets 32 - 36 mpg, a far cry from the 40 mpg I was expecting. Acceleration from a stop has a second or so delay as in press the gas pedal and NOTHING happens initially. The brakes are also randomly touchy. Every once in a while , a tap of the brakes will cause a full scale lock up. Seats are uncomfortable after a few hours. Cruise control will occasionally reset itself to a higher speed if you've had to accelerate with it on.

Pros
Good legroom front and back
Panoramic sunroof
Leather cleans easily
Keyless entry

Cons
Poor gas mileage
Uncomfortable seats
Poor acceleration from stop
Touchy brakes
Cruse control reliability
Hard to keep inside glass clean

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
Jamie E.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/03/2018
NIce Car but major Issues
I have had my sonata for coming up too 2 1/2 years.. and I have only taken it to the dealer for anything and everything. and I have already had my car in the shop 4/5 times. I have lost all faith in my car to take me and my kids anywhere. Most repairs were for the transmission and the rest were for electrical and this was a brand new car with no miles on it when I purchased it.

Pros
comfortable
nice apperance

Cons
electrical issues
transmission issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Timothy J.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/27/2019
Engine Maintenance
Around 25,000 miles our Sonata engine started making some disturbing whirling and grinding noises and during acceleration the engine would sputter. After several attempts to have the issue resolved at the dealer (where they could not duplicate the problems), one mechanic pulled a chip plug finding the engine was coming apart. The dealer could not find the same engine block and had to install a different engine block with adapters.
One of the main points that sold me on the car was the extremely quick acceleration response, unfortunately after the engine change the car has had no acceleration either off the line or at speeds. Example at 55 mph, you decide to pass a car, placing the peddle down, you can actually count 1 Mississippi- 2 Mississippi before the revving begins to build and then over the next 2 seconds slowly builds to acceptable passing speed - exposing operator and the passengers to significant risks. According to the dealer- there was nothing they could do to rectify the situation.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Stylish

Cons
Engine issues
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CHARLES D.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/31/2015
Nice car but lacks alot in the interior.
Wish I didn't trade in my Chrysler 300c for this car. Not satisfied with the interior features or the noise the engine makes. If you like powered seats and a large screen for the back up camera then purchase the hybrid limited. I got the regular hybrid and it was still expensive at $27,800.

Pros
Gas saver, sleek body, spacious.

Cons
Small screen on the radio(back up camera), visors are too small, power seats should be standard in the Hybrids(for the amount of $$$ I spent on this car), engine knocks when it's running but quiet when in hybrid mode.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GARY H.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/08/2015
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Overall the car is a very good bang for the buck car. However the Interior console paint is peeling The fuel econmy is about 5 miles less than published and on hot days the car is stuggles to stay above 27 MPG. Wish they would tell you that before you purchase the vehicle.

Pros
Price was right with end of year clearance
great exterior paint
room for tall drivers

Cons
poor interior paint, have to be rolling for the air to cool down the car, MPG is way from what is advertised no matter what you drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Ben T.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/13/2015
Making an appointment on line did not work. It did not get scheduled and not very computer friendly.
Appointment must be made or else you are turned away. Had to come back again. My time is valuable and also going out of my way to go to the dealership for an oil change.

Pros
Only one year old, so good so far.

Cons
No problems yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DANIEL S.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/03/2016
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Good value for the price. Roomy with a lot of upscale features. Hard to hit the MPG numbers - we're lucky to average 33mpg - much less than we expected for a hybrid - however it is a large car. Acceleration is somewhat choppy and it drags in comparison to the 2011 Sonata non-hybrid we had. Rides is a little rough on less than smooth roads.

Pros
Lots of upscale features with a comfortable interior.
Plenty of interior room - comfortably sits 4 large adults.
Easy to use up to date technology features

Cons
Falls short of expected MPG - we average just under 33mpg with plenty of highway miles - had hoped to get at least 35 - they advertise 38
Acceleration drags/lags - not a smooth transition from battery to gas power
Not the smoothest ride
Heavy steering

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BRIAN P.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/19/2016
sonata hybrid
brakes are lousy and steering

Pros
gas mileage

Cons
brake and steering

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Brook S.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/01/2016
Eh
All in all an average vehicle that hesitates to accelerate, very underwhelming. Check engine light came on and already needed an oil pump and control system replacement at 1 year into the life of the vehicle. I hope this isn't a glimpse of what is to come.

Pros
Sleek appearance

Cons
Mechanical issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Bruce F.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/23/2016
After 28,000 miles review
Great gas mileage!! 548 miles on one tank full. What I don't like is Road noise (you hear all the surrounding outside vehicle & road noise)! Their is a little LED light that they use for the sunroof that when you drive at night (with the headlights on) is on that really bothers me!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JI
JOSEPH I.
2015 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/02/2016
Not a good experience
I had this vehicle for about 3 months. The first road trip I made with it, it broke down. Although this was the second Sonata Hybrid I owned it was not as well equipped as the first. That disappointed me and that was not what I thought I told the dealership. But my vehicle breaking down was enough for me to trade it in. Yes to the same dealership and yes after I had a long talk with them about my expectations from the 2015 I bought from them and what I expected from the 2016. I realize they don't make these cars, just sell them. But, they got me back buying a new Hyundai because the knew I was right about what they sold me. As a matter of fact, I helped my daughter purchase an Accent from them as well.

Pros
It was a Hybrid

Cons
It broke down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 589 in total