2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(771 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PD
Peter D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2018
Excellent car with almost no problems.
I drive about 18000 miles per year and take car of all the maintenance myself (oil, filters and normal wear items). The only problems have been covered by warranty. Mileage is slightly less than expected but overall the quality and workmanship have been above average. This is my 3rd Hyundai and when I wear it out I will replace it with a plug-in hybrid (if I can find one).

Pros
Fit and finish

Cons
Gas mileage less than promised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
David F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/02/2018
2016 Sonata Hybird
I like the Sonata Hybird because of the mileage but I found out after time that it does go down some the interior could be better and I see know that it has been upgraded on things I would like to have now but would not buy a new Sonata just for the few upgrades and Idon't like the way it lost so much vale over the couple of years I've owned it

Cons
The interior could be more up to date and the paint could be better when you pay that much for a car and plan on keeping it for awhile you want something that isn't going to be a problem to you and cost you money out of pocket to repaire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BJ
Brandy J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2018
Hybrid
I love the Sonata hybrid!!! If i trade my car in for any other, it will definitely have to be hybrid! The gas mileage is amazing and the car runs so smooth that, most the time you can not even tell it is running! I love my hybrid and anyone who rides in it, says it rides so smooth. My first time passengers are always shocked at how quiet the car is! The AC and heat is amazing as well!! I can not complain about anything on this car!! I LOVE my hybrid so much!!! Thanks Hyundai for such an amazing car!

Pros
Gas mileage
Not loud
Overall wonderful

Cons
Only con i would say is i didnt get the limited so i dont get to enjoy heated seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Russell P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/28/2018
Hybrid
It is a good vehicle for my needs. I commute and the mileage is very important to me. I have had one episode where a module failed and left me high and dry but, I work with four other people who have these vehicles and all of them have had the same problem . I find it ironic that they would all have the same type of problem without a recall being conducted. I was taken care of by the maintenance person I contacted. He was good to me but that doesn't solve the problem at hand.

Pros
Excellent mileage
Good pickup and go (most of the time)
Good size for others to go with us
Pretty good interior hold up

Cons
Stinks like an electrical problem a lot of the time
Every once in a while it powers out on take off
When turning a sharp right, the steering seems to be hard to handle
Hate the fact that I don't have a spare tire, did I mention it sucks!
I have a friend who bought his at the same time, he has had numerous problems and that discourages me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Donald S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2018
One of the best
I really like the hybrid nice look and feel great fuel economy one of the best overall vehicles I have owned in a car it was also my wife's best choice for a new car she loves it taken out on a few trips and really liked its highway performance

Pros
Fuel economy size

Cons
Have not discovered any yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Richard G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/20/2018
hyundai sonata ltd 2016
good running car but should have had fog lights for safety reasons. person who did not want company to include fog lamps on usa models should be fired. cars sent to mexico had them at no added charge. lousy tires on the car. had to spend 700 to put Michelin's on the car.

Pros
WELL MADE. COMFOTABLE ON LONG AND SHORT TRIPS. MORE BLUE PEARL LEATHER OPTIONS NEEDED. HYUNDAI NEEDS TO ACCEPT SPECIAL ORDWERS.

Cons
no fog lights NO MEXICO MAPS IN GPS, NO CANADA MAPS IN GPS, SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED. NEEDS BETTER GAS MILEAGE. DOES NOT GET 40 MPH ON HIGHWAY. MAX. IS 35 MPH.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RANDOLPH S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/19/2018
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid 2016
This vehicle is performing as I had hoped it would. I am very pleased with the fuel economy I am enjoying. I have only two concerns with this vehicle and I am hoping Hyundai will consider addressing them in the future.

Pros
Smooth, quiet ride. Easy on fuel. Attractive styling.

Cons
Two buttons to turn on cruise.
No "LIVE" 12-volt port to charge cell phone or tablet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ANTHONY M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2018
Fun car to drive, great gas mileage
The sonata hybrid is fun to drive, has all the things I wanted, especially gas mileage. The only problem that I currently have is the wind deflector for the panoramic sunroof, Hyundai needs to find a better fix for it instead of super glue which is a joke to read in a TSB. Overall, the car is great, no other concerns with the car.

Pros
Gas Mileage
Cargo space in the trunk, especially for a Hybrid
Lot of extras for lower cost

Cons
Panoramic Sunroof wind deflector problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
ALBERT A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2018
Great car!
A great car. Roomy, stylish and comfortable. It is very fuel efficient and fun to drive.It has great handling and a car that I highly recommend to everyone who loves a great but relatively inexpensive car to purchase.

Pros
Roomy, stylish, fuel efficient

Cons
Need extra safety mirrors on side mirrors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2018
sonata hybrid
has exceded my expectations. ride an handling is excellant legroom is better than expected. people have mentioned about the comfortable leg room and comfort in the red seats.trunk room is better than one would expect in a hybrid..

Pros
gas millage

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nathan B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2018
Best Vehicle for the Money!
Hands down, the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is the best vehicle for the money on the market. We are so happy with our 2016 Sonata Hybrid that we bought a 2017 to go with it! ! ! We have averaged about 42 miles per gallon around town for the last 26,000 miles! We made a trip to Boone, NC and averaged 51 MPG on the way up! We have had no problems and this car comfortably seats 5 adults. The warranty is the best in the business, with 10 year, 100K miles drive train and rust through, 5 year/60K bumper to bumper coverage! All that and the battery is good for unlimited miles! ! ! !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VE
Veda E.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/05/2018
Sonata Vehicle Review
It had been twenty years since I bought a new vehicle and I was suprised at all the changes. I didn't think I needed a back-up camera. It's great! I love the back-up camera. I love that it removes the emergency brake when put in gear. I love that it won't lock if the key is in the car. All the features I didn't think were necessary are the best features of the car.

Pros
Features included with the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
Hector C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
Ride, comfort and miles per gallon
My wife drives the 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid to work on a daily basis and she really enjoys the smooth ride, the large room inside the cabin, large trunk, and overall the mileage per gallon of regular gas (consistently over 40 mpg). It is an immense amount of gas savings when compared to the vehicle that she previously drove (a 2007 Hyundai Veracruz). After driving the Veracruz for nine (9) years she wasn't sure if she could get used to driving a car again. She loves it so much that she is even eyeing the new 2019 Hyundai Hybrid with the larger body style.

Pros
Excellent mpg, large cabin, large trunk, smooth ride; refined look.

Cons
The engine failed at 35,035 miles and was replaced at no cost under the warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Arthur S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
Love my car.
The sonata hybrid is a quiet and comfortable ride. I am very pleased with the gas mileage I am getting with this car. Plenty of storage space in the trunk and good leg room in the back seat. The standard amenities with this car makes it seem luxurious without spending a lot of money.

Pros
Comfort, size, gas mileage.

Cons
Back seats don't fold down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Deborah H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2018
Great hybrid with lots of room
We are getting 44-46 miles per gallon in the summer. Car has a ton of room and is very comfortable. We wish they had a hybrid SUV. We would have purchased one this month. Instead we had to go to a different brand.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PATRICK M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
2016 Sonata Hybrid
Great car and has exceeded my expectations in gas mileage, operability and reliability. Fun to drive and the tech items are easy to operate. This car has plenty of room and to achieve this gas mileage on this size of car is fantastic.

Pros
Gas mileage
Multitude of safety features on my model, they perform great.
Design and build is excellent, reliability thus far is also excellent.

Cons
Would prefer a spare tire than the provided repair kit.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
Victoria S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/26/2018
My Car Rocks!
With all the safety features and driving and luxury package. This car is better then a Rolls Royce or Cadillac any day. My daughter just bought one and is very satisfied eith hers as well. Thanks Hyundia!

Pros
Many features for comfort and safety. If it was for their amazing build type I would have died in the car accident that happen a few years ago. It safed my life and walked away from accident witb very little injuries.

Cons
Airbags are a little slow when engaged at impact.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Jeffryn N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2018
Hybrid that is outstanding.
I can drive from Miami to California without charging my Electric Hybrid. With the brakes that charge the batteries and small 4 cylinder engine that charges the engine, I get excellent Mileage, a surprisingly (at least to me) great ride and all the amenities you'd expect form a much more expensive vehicle. This car is amazingly fast off of a stop. Gives new meaning to fun.

Pros
Comfortable
Fun to Drive
Great Gas Mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jennifer O.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
My Hybrid
I love having a Hyundai Hybrid because itโ€™s great on gas! I was really shocked by the huge difference on MPG. This is also my second Hyundai. I will always choose a Hyundai from now on because of their amazing value and warrenty. Nobody beats it!

Pros
Performance

Cons
It is hard to see out of the front windshield/window because of the design and the car is low to Tj the ground so the front bumper get scratched easily. ๐Ÿ˜“

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DORIS P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2018
great safety features
This is such a modest price vehicle and comes with so many safety features. I enjoy the cruise control not allowing us to drive too close to the car in front of us. Also at night it has auto dim for headlights. The style is very up-to-date. Nice all around vehicle. Lots of room inside and in the trunk. Love the sound system and GPS system.

Pros
Safety features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 771 in total