2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(752 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GS
Gary S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2019
Poorly made vehicle
I will never buy a Hyundai vehicle again. I just spent $2500 fixing it after barely tapping the front corner of the car on the garage. My garage doesn't have a mark on it, but my Hyundai was a mess. It caused a leak inside the car. How cheap is the plastic Hyundai uses on the body? No, I will never buy a Hyundai again!

Pros
Nice ride

Cons
Exterior is cheap plastic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Deanna C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
2016 HYBRID
I have owned my Hyundai Sonata hybrid for 3 years and still love it. All I ask is that Hyundai continue to make them and not switch off to one of those plug-in electric cars which I will not buy. Unless Hyundai doses something strange to the design, my new car will be a Hyundai Sonata.

Cons
Didn't come with a GPS system.; otherwise, you would have gotten a 10 for features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Meghshyam J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2019
Good comfortable vehicle
I like my Hyundai. Generally runs well. Other than the recent coolant pump issue which was addressed by warranty, car seems to be running ok in the past 3 years. Look forward to future Hyundai models.

Pros
Value for money. Decent mileage

Cons
Disappointed that the coolant pump broke in under 2 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IL
Improta L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
So Economical and Quiet!
I love my Hybrid Hyundai Sonata. I average 45-50 mpg on the highway and about 35-38 mpg in the city. It runs quietly and has great leg room front and back. Good sized, roomy trunk.
I would buy it again without hesitation!

Pros
Gas mileage
Roominess
Stylish good looks
Good service department at Skagit Hyundai
Visual Screen for backing up
Roomy trunk

Cons
Buttons /Controls for air, etc., radio, etc. could be higher.
Though I like automatic trunk opening if you’re standing there, it sometimes opens when I walk by it. If I don’t know it, the trunk will open while I’m driving.
There is a blind spot where the passenger door and door behind it meet when I am taking a left turn. It is hard to see traffic coming on the right.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Jacob N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/23/2019
Car is 9/10 of the way to being great
The Hyundai Sonata plug in is so close to being a really good car. It just seems like Hyundai gave up after 9/10 and left some easy things off that would have been fantastic. Unable to tell if it is just because it is the plug in or all sonatas.

Pros
Great Mileage
Good value for cost
Quiet

Cons
No sunroof
Many features missing on the plug in hybrid
Many small quirks that seem like easy fixes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jon O.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
Certified pre-owned Sonata is a fantastic car
Our 2016 Sonata is a fantastic car. But the dealership we bought from told us lies and did not properly inspect the car before delivery. Our first maintenance experience at a local dealer wasn't so good either. Fantastic car but very disappointing dealership experienced.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Timothy K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Great vehicle
Fantastic vehicle at MPG that is hard to beat. Very environmentally friendly vehicle as well. Warranty is best in the automobile industry. Both the interior and exterior design of the vehicle is wonderful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mavy R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
2016 Sonata Hybrid
I bought by 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid 3 years ago new. I love my car. It’s great on gas. I love the fact that I fill my tank every 3 weeks and save so much money on gas. 💕 it’s extremely comfortable too!

Pros
Extremely comfortable and great in gas

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Susan C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Best car on the road
This has got to be one of my best buys the car performs beautifully gas mileage is above and beyond what my expectations were . I can drive for a week without having to fill the car . Hyundai equip the car with some of the most advanced technology providing me with safety at all times .

Pros
If you’re looking for a car that performs and gives you the gas mileage this is the one to purchase .

Cons
Would like to have shaded windows

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Richard M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2019
Good car
the car gets great gas mileage.the ride is not as quiet as the VW we had but still have driven it for fourteen hour with out a back ache.The spare tire (and there ain't one )is a concern. We would buy it again.

Pros
See above

Cons
see above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Terry H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
MY SONATA HYBRYD
IS AWESOME. I HAD BETWEEN 44 TO 45 MPG ON RECENT VACATION. LOVE THIS CAR. THE DESIGN IS SLEEK AND SPORTY. TRUNK SPACE IS GREAT. QUIETNESS OF RIDE FAIR. MAINTENANCE HAS BEEN MINAMAL. NO MAJOR PROBLEMS.

Pros
STYLE;ECONOMY;COMFORT

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CAROL D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2019
Great experience
I was not planning to purchase a vehicle but my car was totaled in an accident right before Christmas. The dealer ship was very patient with me in this stressful time My sonata looks great handles well and the fuel economy is awesome. I could not have asked for a better experience.

Pros
Love the car

Cons
Wish the accident had not caused the emergency purchase

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/02/2019
Sharp Ride
This was a fantastic find! I was using 1/4 tank of gas round trip to work every day. With this hybrid, 1/4 tank lasts me 3 days! I’m averaging 48 mpg.
I think the styling of this car is eye catching! Smooth ride. Great sound system. No spare tire. (AAA)
I can’t say enough good about this car. I love it!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JENNIFER B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2019
Looks good! But it isn't that good.
This car is beautiful and it rides smooth and makes very little noise when running. But the engine is not responsive all the time and usually not when you need it. I was recently asked if I liked my car. I said yes, but not enough to suggest you buy one. There is also a problem with the driver side window that sometimes doesn't go up all the way. Oh, my car was a dealer show vehicle before I got it. I think it was still considered new tho.

Pros
Beautiful smooth ride. Fairly good gas mileage. I get about 30 mpg.

Cons
Engine is not that responsive. The driver's side window doesn't always go all the way up. You have to lower it a little and then keep pulling on the switch to get it to go up. All of my Hyundai vehicles have had issues with the windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Arthur S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2019
Great car
Besides the great gas mileage, my Hyundai Sonata hybrid is comfortable and spacious; plenty of leg room in the back seat and the trunk holds a lot of cargo. It is a quiet, smooth ride and easy to handle.

Pros
Gas mileage, comfort, dependability.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jennifer C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/21/2019
2016 Sonata Failure
I'm very disappointed in the maintenance record of my Sonata Hybrid. There have been 3 major Hybrid related issues in the last 6 months, all rendering the car undrivable. I'm afraid to drive it far from home, for fear of getting stuck.

Pros
Great Gas mileage, smooth ride. Love the air-conditioned seats.

Cons
Three hybrid related failures in 6 months. Seats too firm, like a rock.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
EDWARD Y.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
Hyundai Hybrid
My Hyundai is very reliable, I have had no problems with it. I recommend Hyundai to anyone who wants a good car at a fair price. I wish Hyundai would make a small pickup truck Hybrid. for the US market
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Andrea A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
I love my Hybrid!
The Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is comfortable, gets very good gas mileage around town and great mileage on the highway. I have taken my Hyundai on 2 trips across country-from Massachusetts to California and all around the southwest and found it a great car for a long trip in terms of comfort and mileage. It is vey reliable. I also travel every few months to Tennessee and Alabama to visit my grandchildren and find I have enough room to bring them gifts, as well as my suitcases for 2-3 weeks, a cooler etc. In summary, the Hyundai Sonata is great on gas, reliable, comfortable and it is a good looking car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RY
Randall Y.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
Sonata Hybrid
This is an awesome car with enough power, comfort, leg room and not to mention the exceptional gas mileage. The covered warrantees are also great for this car. There is one problem that I have encountered is the black plastic piece under the rear bumper that has left white streaks running down. The material they said is not defective so I will have to live with the white streaks. They said I can have it painted or continue to use a black plastic polish. This is the only thing that sucks about this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JOSEPH G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2019
Really smooth and fun to drive
Now that I have driven this amazing Hyundai Sonata for almost 4 years, it still is exactly as good as it was when I bought it. Awesome. I love the incentive I get from it . I can consistently get over 40 mpg. Who could ask for more??

Pros
All pro's. This car is fun to drive, efficient, and never breaks. Love it

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 752 in total