2016
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(778 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


KH
Kraig H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/06/2018
Bad car or just bad luck?
Might never buy a hybrid again. Love the look and style, just haven't been impressed with the hybrid system. Seems like a traditional vehicle might be better for me. Not sure if it just my car or all of this model

Pros
Comfortable car with plenty of leg room front and back

Cons
Hybrid system issues. Have had it in 3 times for hybrid system issues and I don't think it is fixed yet. Just keep moving up the line fixing one thing at a time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Lynda K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/04/2019
Sonata Hybrid Not Worthwhile!
The Sonata Hybrid started out fine. I was getting 45+ MPG. Lately, the car really seems to be struggling going thru the gears while driving on the highway, and the MPG has fallen to the mid 30's at best. After taking the car in to be checked, was told that it is all fine. Nothing to be done to it because there is nothing wrong with it. Really??? So much for going with a Hybrid - it doesn't last (the vehicle is less than 3 years old) The trade in value right now is also very pitiful. In addition, this vehicle has always been TERRIBLE driving in the snow. The worst car I've ever driven on snowy or even just wet roads - terrible traction! This is my 3rd Hyundai Sonata - This will now be my last.

Pros
Looks nice. Drives well in nice (dry) weather.

Cons
Terrible traction in snow, or wet roads.
No longer gets the good gas mileage that it initially did.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TRACI M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/28/2019
Betrayal
The vehicle betrayed us in the worst possible way a machine can betray a human being. It was so good to us to the moment it wouldn't start again. People told us that it will get better, but it didn't. We had to get a replacement while our Hyundai was in your hands. You couldn't fix it, so we got another vehicle. We love it now and cherish it. But we can not forgive you for the hopes and dreams you destroyed with being false with us. I am so sorry to inform you that we are not buying a Hyundai again. Ever.

Pros
It was all we dreamt of from the car.

Cons
It stopped doing its job- DRIVING.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
Thanh N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/23/2019
Lots of issue with hybrid system
I own this car for about 2 years now, bought it brand new. When you drive it in eco mode, the car doesnt have the horsepower to move but it will have speed if driven in sport mode. However, the mpg will not be so great. I couldn't start the engine around 36k. The hybrid alarm came on. I took it to the dealer and it was some electrical issue. At 60k the water pump fail. Good thing it was still under warranty. Also, 1 recall on the start/ stop button. I don't know what other issue will arise at around 100k.

Pros
Good mpg

Cons
Lots of issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jennifer C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/21/2019
2016 Sonata Failure
I'm very disappointed in the maintenance record of my Sonata Hybrid. There have been 3 major Hybrid related issues in the last 6 months, all rendering the car undrivable. I'm afraid to drive it far from home, for fear of getting stuck.

Pros
Great Gas mileage, smooth ride. Love the air-conditioned seats.

Cons
Three hybrid related failures in 6 months. Seats too firm, like a rock.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mahamadou K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/15/2019
never buy hyundai
lots breakdown not reliable car at all special the hybrid models i must spent lots money to fix this car just in three years and the computer systems on the hyundai is even crazier this week when my antifreeze was low it show hybrid battery sign wich is scary

Pros
looks good

Cons
not reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Loretta P.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/28/2019
Hybrid system
I do not reccomend the Hybrid. If you put a lot of miles on a car you take a chance on warranty expiring. The 2016 sonata hybrid got problems with the hybrid system. The system also took the battery out which is also on a warranty basis and is prorated.

Pros
Good on gas and roomy.

Cons
Hybrid system malfunctions

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marshall H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/21/2018
Brain dead
The plug-hybrid doesn't come with a PTC electric heater. This means the gas engine needs to run and gulp loads of gas if you want any heat.

For car that is supposed to be an electric vehicle first with a gas backup, not having a PTC electric heater is a major, major design flaw. I hate car because of it.

Pros
Large car.

Cons
Missing PTC electric heater, no heated steering wheel on this model, no driver memory seat on this model, noisy fuel injectors, entertainment is not fully voice activated, not all safety features on this model.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Celia A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/11/2018
My vehicle has turned out to be a lemon
My vehicle has turned out to be a lemon, I will probably never buy a Hyundai ever again! I have contacted Hyundai Directly they want a bunch of paperwork and didn’t seem to care that I have not been driving my car for the last six months! This is very upsetting because I bought a really nice car and every time I get a loaner turns out to be a shitty car so therefore I will never recommend directly they want a bunch of paperwork and didn’t seem to care that I have not been driving my car for the last six months! This is very upsetting because I bought a really nice car and every time I get a loaner turns out to be a shitty car so therefore I will never recommend Hyundai To anybody I know!

Pros
none!!!

Cons
My car has been in the shop every month for the last six months. I will never buy another Hyundai again. The dealer doesn’t know how to help me and the corporation doesn’t seem to want to help me!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/25/2018
Willnt get another one
Wish they would really look at the cruise control it goes up to 70 to 80 miles an hour and then drops down to 50 to 40 miles an hour and they have seen the video of this I talk to other people that have a Hyundai hybrid same here and there's does not do that

Pros
It's a car that is big for me

Cons
Mechanical issues that they will not fix or look at they just say oh that's the way it goes with the cruise control because it's a hybrid no it's not I've talked to other people and they don't have that problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Melissa C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2018
Warning lights
HEV and check engine lights are on and Hyundai has no clue why. Dealership has contacted Hyundai engineers and have been told the don’t know what’s wrong. Vehicle will not start when the HEV warning light is on.

Cons
Hybrid system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/14/2018
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

CJ
Christopher J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/19/2018
Great Features, Horrible Reliability, Mediocre Fuel Economy
I bought this car for a reason: great value, awesome features, great warranty. I called it my poor man’s Lexus with a look and feel of a car worth $20k more. Unfortunately, the reliability has turned Hyundai love into Hyundai hate, and I might spend the extra $20k after all in service fees.

Pros
Every feature I could possibly ask for. I call it my poor man’s lexus. It’s comfortable, looks great, and the features are top notch. Styling is modern and sophisticated. It’s really nice.

Cons
Turning radius isn’t stellar, sluggish acceleration, sloppy suspension keep this from being an enthusiast vehicle. Gas mileage is worse than advertised and chief competitor hybrids, but still good. The real gotcha though... utterly unreliable. In 2.5 years, my car has been in the shop 38 days. That’s too much. I’m utterly terrified of owning this car past my warranty. Perhaps I got a lemon, but if this is representative of the Hyundai experience, I will NEVER own another.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Cynthia H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/01/2018
Constant problems
I purchased my car in May of 2016. I had to take it in for a service less than a year later. The Refill Inverter Coolant light has come on at least 3 times. I have had to take it in for service 3 times since August of 2018. In October, a warning light came on telling me turn off the engine immediately while I was on the way to work. I barely made it back home and the car had to be towed to the dealership. It was there for over a week until 10/30/18. Yesterday, one month later I was shopping close to the dealership and the Refill Inverter Coolant light came on again. I took it to the dealership, but they didn't have a loaner car to give me and I live over 30 minutes away. They topped off the coolant and I made ANOTHER appointment for 12/4/18.

Pros
I wanted a hybrid and it is very comfortable. The cruise control has never worked perfectly, but I learned to deal with it.

Cons
I can't rely on it!! I have returned from 2 long road trips BY MYSELF only to have the service lights come on shortly after I returned. In October, it had to be towed. But for the Grace of God I could have been stranded alone hundreds of miles from home or worst yet caused an accident.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Mary T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/26/2019
2016 Sonata Hybrid Review
I used to recommend this car to everyone. I've brought it in for service 5 times, including twice less than 6 months after I bought it. The last time was because it shut down on me on a busy road during rush hour. I don't feel safe driving long distances, in case it does it again. Nothing was found wrong with it, so nothing was fixed.

Pros
I love everything about it except for the most recent problem.

Cons
In the Hyundai Forum site, I found many other owners who had the same Hybrid System error and problem with car shutting off. The biggest Con I see is that I can't rely on this car. It appears to be a problem that persists.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joe L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/05/2019
2016 Sonata Hybrid
I loved this car. I met every single service milestone with Hyundai dealership service, and now I just don't trust it. I had every intention of keeping it after the lease, but I will be going Toyota.

Pros
Thought it was a great car, heated seats, steering wheel, good radio/speaker system, quiet smooth ride.

Cons
I've hit every service milestone, have low mileage, and now I have problems nobody can figure out 6 months before 4-year lease was up. Now I know why Hyundai pushes the 3 year lease. Really bummed out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHAEL B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/24/2019
Wouldn't buy a hybrid again
Wouldn't buy a hybrid again it doesn't get the fas mileage like the book says the hev light comes on up to 5-6 times a day the cruise control sucks and the shop just doesn't now what they are doing ir just don't care just put in a new battery and cruise control
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gary S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2019
Poorly made vehicle
I will never buy a Hyundai vehicle again. I just spent $2500 fixing it after barely tapping the front corner of the car on the garage. My garage doesn't have a mark on it, but my Hyundai was a mess. It caused a leak inside the car. How cheap is the plastic Hyundai uses on the body? No, I will never buy a Hyundai again!

Pros
Nice ride

Cons
Exterior is cheap plastic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jose A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/23/2019
Terrible overpriced vehicle!
Constant visits to service and maintenance, overpriced lease cant rely ón charging. Gets damage frequently. Just take a look at your own service records to see the overpriced and piece of garbage this vehicle is.

Pros
First vehicles I driven with no pros!

Cons
Everything! Overpriced constant visits for recalls and issues, 3k maintenance requirements, no capacity of service to fix the vechile.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 761 - 778 of 778 in total