2017
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(538 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JR
Jeffrey R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2019
Love this car.
This is my 2nd Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I am eyeing my 3rd. I travel extensively for my job. The car in comfortable with many creature comforts. I have never had an issue w this car. It is truly turn key (push key) and go. The gas mileage is great considering it’s a full size vehicle. My miles per gallon averages 40 for both city and highway.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Dennis H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
My wife loves this car!
This has been my wife's car since 2012. We owned a 2012 and traded in for a 2017 over the years. She loves how easy it is to operate, the quiet drive and look of the car. She just didn't care for the tan colored interior on the 2017 and I had to get some custom made leopard print seat covers in gold and black to cover it. She's a happy camper now;.

Pros
Quiet and easy to drive.

Cons
Tan color interior is not pleasing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/09/2019
My first Hybrid Sonata (second Sonata), third Hyundai
I highly recommend the Sonata Hybrid. I test drove and did not like Ionic, but you may. I have had it for roughly 2 years, and just over 10,000 miles on this vehicle. See my ratings, pros & cons below

Pros
The vehicle is a Sonata hybrid. Driving a hybrid is basically seamless, the transition very easy, with no thought necessary with regard to the difference between it and a standard gas fed vehicle. It is basically excellent! I highly recommend it! It is comfortable to drive, has an abundance of space, road noise is quiet. I average 38-39 MPG based not on the instrumentation feedback, but tracking my mileage on a spreadsheet from day one until present. My driving style is mildly aggressive.
The fun to drive rating is slightly low as I have roughly 2 million miles in my rear view mirrors, 3 of those cars Corvettes, and 4 Honda Civics to only name a few. So driving "Fun" is weighted by those. That said, it is a larger car with much more utility, and I do enjoy driving it for the reasons listed above.
Hyundai has one of the best warranties in the industry, and Honda (naming them only because I owned four) one of the worst warranties. I won't consider any manufacturer with a poor warrantee. If they do not have enough pride and confidence in their product to give it an excellent warranty, why should I the consumer trust their product. I won't!!

Cons
There are only two negatives about the Sonata. 1.The cruise control is very poorly performing! This is based on this Sonata, and my prior non-hybrid Sonata. It is great on a level highway, but any vertical changes in the road, especially an undulating road, the cruse control becomes very erratic, rapidly gaining as much as 5 MPH plus and minus. I have complained to Hyundai with no company feedback. It is a minor irritant, as the fix is to cancel out of it, than correct and reset the speed. 2. The other issue is the software is slow at times to respond to rapid acceleration throttle requests after braking. I understand the issue, as the software must decide the correct action while controlling the dynamic electric braking, then fed the exact opposite request to at once begin acceleration. The only time this occurs in coming to a quick FULL stop (as one should at a stop sign), then rapidly requesting heavy throttle to clear and match speed of oncoming cross traffic. No problem otherwise. You learn to adjust driving style accordingly. I'll do that to drive a hybrid or electric any time over driving a pure gasoline fed automobile (I hate the oil companies!!!)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Samuel S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/08/2019
Sonata plug in hi-brid
The low battery range made me hesitant about buying it because it was definitely under the average commuting range of 50 RT miles. Driving it for roughly 2 years now, I have not changed my mind...battery range on the minimum should be at the least be 50 Rt miles. I also found it's pick up very slow. But I am not a racing guy. So, Other than these, it is such an excellent car I proudly recommended it to friends.

Pros
Reliability.
Battery lifetime warranty
Excellent dealership support

Cons
Battery range too short (under 30 miles)
Very slow pickup

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HOLLY R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
Sonata hybrid
I really enjoy my Sonata Hybrid. It is expensive, but I am worth it! Great gas mileage and comfortable even for my tall husband! I have recommended this car make to a lot of people. It’s a win-win for a wonderful car!!

Cons
Price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/04/2019
Sonata
Needs a spare tire. Hybrid is nice. Hybrid failure is very bad - has had 2 problems with hybrid system. Thank goodness was covered under warranty. Climate control is good, but it gets confused if there is more than a couple of degrees difference between driver and passenger.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Air conditioned seats

Cons
Needs a spare tire. Hybrid is nice. Hybrid failure is very bad - has had 2 problems with hybrid system. Thank goodness was covered under warranty. Climate control is good, but it gets confused if there is more than a couple of degrees difference between driver and passenger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAN H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
???
I had four Toyota Priuses I loved. I love my Sonata as much, surprisingly. I've had it two years and it has 11,000+ miles on it. My husband died last Nov. His sister and husband each had a leased Hyundai, so he wanted one too.

Pros
Gas mileage, quiet, spacious, easy to park

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kelsey D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
Best car we’ve owned to date
Everything about this car is a win, there’s nothing I would change. Maybe buying a higher end model, everything has exceeded out expectations. Would definitely buy again, it’s our second sonata in the family.

Pros
Comfortable, safe, easy to drive, easy to operate controls.

Cons
Sometimes steering and gas feel disconnected as in you not 100% in control at all times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
great car
Great car..Good value. Would recommend as an alternative to Honda or Toyota. Very well equipped standard and has been reliable over the years. Don't know what else I can say about a reliable form of transportation

Pros
Bang for the buck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Fahed M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Thank you.
There is the best service center in new England.
My car is the best
I will change my car to the new year.
I love my car
I like my car
I hope like my car to all my friends
❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2019
My 2017 Sonata Hybrid is great!
This is the second long vacation driving through mountains. Our Hybrid loves mountains. It has plenty of power and gets average 50 mph through them. I can't say enough about my Hyundai. This is the fourth one I have owned and the second Sonata!

Pros
Great Styling, dependability and mpg.

Cons
We are not used to how the cruise control works. It is fine until the gasoline engine kicks in then it feels like it surges. I think that is the way it is supposed to work, it's just different than our other sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
BEVERLY E.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Wow!
I absolutely love my Hyundai Hybrid! Not only does it look spectacular, it’s fun to drive and so comfortable! The best part is the mileage. We take long trips and really appreciate that. I’ve owned a Hyundai since the time they first were introduced in the US....and they only get more attractive and economical. Thanks!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Lindsey V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/08/2019
Great car for small families
I bought this car the end of March 2019. The only problem I have had with it is the hybrid system warning would pop up on long drives. Other than that the backseat seats 3 comfortably and the trunk is pretty decent sized for a car. The gas mileage is really amazing and the drive is very smooth.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Haylie H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
I love my car
I usually go for heavy European cars, but this one has nothing to be envy any other brand. Smooth ride, Quiet cabin, Good technology. The fact that the car is hybrid allows me to save a lot of money on gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Denise F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Love this CAR...
I purchased my Sonata Hybrid blue tech after having driven a Mercedes for 4 years and must say I like the comfort, look, drive and mileage 100% better.. LOVE THIS CAR.. Average 51 miles per gallon regular gas!!!

Pros
Perfect In every way Except navigation system ..

Cons
I dislike having to use my phone to operate the navigation system in the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rosemary B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Love My Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I love my 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I am an older driver and felt that I needed a full package of safety features. Hyundai provides that and more. Fuel efficiency and range are terrific and easy to track and maintain battery charge. The cabin is comfortable and has features to remember driver preferences. The electronic package is the best I have experienced. I like that the trunk capacity is not severely curtailed due to the hybrid batteries as in mainly other hybrids. Great engineering Hyundai!

Pros
Safety package
Electronics
Fuel economy
Classy styling
Drivability

Cons
No spare
Limited trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GEORGE R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
style, comfort, handling, mileage

Cons
road noise lever is high

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Sports car in Plug in/Hybrid technology, perfectly designed and executed
Right up with the Porsches, Jaguars, Audis and Volvos that I have owned.
Says it all, stupid to insist on a minimum of 200 characters.
You folks having trouble taking the highest compliment that could be given.

Pros
Right up with the Porsches, Jaguars, Audis and Volvos that I have owned.

Cons
Fuel filler pipe/fuel cap bad seal caused engine light to go on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
PETYO D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Great car
Fun to drive. Great stiling, great performance, very high gas mileage, quiet operation. My car's level of equipment has high quality sound aystem eqiupped with subwoofer which provides highest sound quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
You would be amazed !!!
I was surprised when they got me to test drive the Sonata Hybrid how responsive it was. I've had all the powerful luxury cars and this Hybrid is as comfortable as any. Additionally, it has plenty of pickup and has averaged over 30 miles to the gallon. I had a Honda Crosstour prior to this one and in the 3 years I had it the mileage average of in town and highway, according to the computer, was 17 for the 3 years I drove it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 538 in total