2017
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(519 Reviews)
Latest review 12 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BE
BEVERLY E.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Wow!
I absolutely love my Hyundai Hybrid! Not only does it look spectacular, it’s fun to drive and so comfortable! The best part is the mileage. We take long trips and really appreciate that. I’ve owned a Hyundai since the time they first were introduced in the US....and they only get more attractive and economical. Thanks!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Lindsey V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/08/2019
Great car for small families
I bought this car the end of March 2019. The only problem I have had with it is the hybrid system warning would pop up on long drives. Other than that the backseat seats 3 comfortably and the trunk is pretty decent sized for a car. The gas mileage is really amazing and the drive is very smooth.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Haylie H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
I love my car
I usually go for heavy European cars, but this one has nothing to be envy any other brand. Smooth ride, Quiet cabin, Good technology. The fact that the car is hybrid allows me to save a lot of money on gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Denise F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Love this CAR...
I purchased my Sonata Hybrid blue tech after having driven a Mercedes for 4 years and must say I like the comfort, look, drive and mileage 100% better.. LOVE THIS CAR.. Average 51 miles per gallon regular gas!!!

Pros
Perfect In every way Except navigation system ..

Cons
I dislike having to use my phone to operate the navigation system in the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rosemary B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Love My Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I love my 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I am an older driver and felt that I needed a full package of safety features. Hyundai provides that and more. Fuel efficiency and range are terrific and easy to track and maintain battery charge. The cabin is comfortable and has features to remember driver preferences. The electronic package is the best I have experienced. I like that the trunk capacity is not severely curtailed due to the hybrid batteries as in mainly other hybrids. Great engineering Hyundai!

Pros
Safety package
Electronics
Fuel economy
Classy styling
Drivability

Cons
No spare
Limited trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GEORGE R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
style, comfort, handling, mileage

Cons
road noise lever is high

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Sports car in Plug in/Hybrid technology, perfectly designed and executed
Right up with the Porsches, Jaguars, Audis and Volvos that I have owned.
Says it all, stupid to insist on a minimum of 200 characters.
You folks having trouble taking the highest compliment that could be given.

Pros
Right up with the Porsches, Jaguars, Audis and Volvos that I have owned.

Cons
Fuel filler pipe/fuel cap bad seal caused engine light to go on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
PETYO D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Great car
Fun to drive. Great stiling, great performance, very high gas mileage, quiet operation. My car's level of equipment has high quality sound aystem eqiupped with subwoofer which provides highest sound quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
You would be amazed !!!
I was surprised when they got me to test drive the Sonata Hybrid how responsive it was. I've had all the powerful luxury cars and this Hybrid is as comfortable as any. Additionally, it has plenty of pickup and has averaged over 30 miles to the gallon. I had a Honda Crosstour prior to this one and in the 3 years I had it the mileage average of in town and highway, according to the computer, was 17 for the 3 years I drove it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Hybrid Review
This is our second Sonata Hybrid and love it. Can't think of anything any better to drive and maintain.
Only problem I've had is getting out of the car and not turning it off- it's running so quiet.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lonny W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Excellent acceleration performance for a 4-cylinder engine, yet gives the 40-mile-per-gallon fuel efficiency as advertised
After nearly two years of driving it, I am very pleased with the car. It is a hybrid, and its fuel-efficiency is wonderful. So far its reliability has been excellent, and if it continues to perform like it has, I will be completely satisfied.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
Wayne H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/24/2019
Better as a Plug-In (PHEV)
With the plug-in version of this vehicle, I've been able to go without having to buy gas for over 6 months. However, range is a little lame - it only does about 25 miles, never the full 27 advertised. The interior design is lacking in a number of ways. For example the dash controls are less than intuitive and poorly placed.

Pros
EV only drive mode
Full size EV
Ventilated Leather Seats
Regular transmission
Smooth transition to HEV mode
Excellent 700 mi range - combined ICE & EV

Cons
EV only Range
Poor layout of controls
Horrible position of visor light
Some road noise
A/C on full very noisy
Trunk space limited by battery placement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
GULLERMO M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/24/2019
Love my car. Love the gas milage
I love my car. I get an avg of 42mpg but if I drive with care I have gotten 53mpg (740 miles per tank full). It is fun to drive, fun to look at, and it was a lot less expensive than other cards. overall I am very happy.

Pros
MPG, Hybrid, XM Radio with 1 hour memory,

Cons
Rear seats don't fold to make more space for your trunk,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Brenda R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2019
21/2 years of ownership
Overall, this car is excellent for the use to which we subject it. Most of our driving is around town, and our Sonata has exceeded our expectations in terms of gas mileage. We have had no serious issues to date that were not resolved by the dealership. Special mention should be made of Ganley Hyundai’s (Brookpark Road) excellent customer service, which has made our ownership experience a positive one, to date. Particularly do we appreciate Ian and Nickie’s professional and great customer service skills.

Pros
Great gas mileage, particularly in warmer weather

Cons
The gas mileage falls off considerably in very cold weather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Larry W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/16/2019
Great Automobile
We're very satisfied with our 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. Commuting over 40 miles each way to work every day is the reason we looked at the various hybrids on the market. We liked the quality, comfort, warranty, and looks of the Sonata. The mileage could be a little better than we expected, but considering that we typically drive all interstate driving between 65 to 70 MPH, I expected around 48 MPG, but I am getting about 40 to 42 at best. I won't complain about that considering the size of the car. Plenty of horsepower when accelerating on an interstate ramp and no complaints whatsoever. A lot more standard features than other hybrid models on the market. Great value and quality and nicely designed and quiet interior and high quality materials. No noise when switching from electric to engine. High tech dash with hybrid displays. Very impressed at 40,000 miles.

Pros
Quality materials, interior size, mileage, Interior ambient lighting, so many features and value. Love the first owner lifetime battery warranty. That was a top decision maker for us.

Cons
Limited color availability on the hybrid model compared to the regular Sonata. Could have one or two more inches of legroom in front.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/15/2019
Such a savings
Having the combination of EV and gas is great. All electric would be issue for longer trips, which we do only three times a year. But would have to rent a car if ours was all electric Have found both our Hyundai s very reliable transportation And dealership service department has been great

Pros
Plug in plus gas

Cons
Traction

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SYLVIA B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
This Limited edition is fantastic
Great MPG, I like the style, comfort, and ride in this Limited Edition Sonata Hybrid. The MPG on this car exceeds the sticker estimate I can get up to 50 MPG driving in a conservative fashion. this is great for the size and cabin room in this car.

Pros
High MPG, Great style, Comfortable, easy to drive.

Cons
can have road noise on poor road surfaces

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WILLIAM B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2019
Excellent
The MPG is exceptional. There are many Hyundai Sonatas on the road these days to attest to its great overall value. I looked at Honda and Toyota for a vehicle but chose the Hyundai because of its price and features.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
turn signal indicator sound is annoying.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Holly R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
Sonata 2017
Love this car. I’ve gotten up to 58 miles per gallon! The car looks very classy with its clean lines. My husband is 6’ 2” and he has plenty of room for him to stretch his legs and plenty of headroom. I hope to trade it in on the next Sonata Hybrid.

Pros
Mileage

Cons
Not real good in snow/slush.
No auto start or heated seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OB
Olivia B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/30/2019
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid LT
Quality between vehicles is inconsistent, I test drove several and the vehicle I chose has frayed steering wheel stitching and what seems to be missing right door anti-vibration panels or sound dampening.

Pros
Fun to drive and loaded with features.

Cons
Some of those features are hidden behind a monthly paywall with mandatory cell phone app and usage to use. App is inconsistent with quality, even with 5 bars.

Build quality is not equal between the same model - frayed steering wheel stitching and what seems to be missing right door anti-vibration panels or sound dampening.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 519 in total