2017
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(578 Reviews)
Latest review about 16 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RD
Richard D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/21/2020
As good as my 2012 Sonata Hybrid and the 2017 Sonata Hybrid gets better mileage per gallon.
The 2017 Sonata Hybrid gets 45 to 52 miles per gallon in the summer time and in the winter weather I see 38 to 45 miles per gallon. The driver seat can be adjusted high and closer to the brake and accelerator to accommodate my short frame and to see over the front hood. I also love the backup camera to see clearly most times what is behind the car when backing up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Roger L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
BEST
Absolutely the best car we’ve ever owned. Absolutely the best car we’ve ever owned. Absolutely the best car we’ve ever owned. Absolutely the best car we’ve ever owned. Absolutely the best car we’ve ever owned.

Pros
All ways

Cons
Seniors needing a higher seat might find it too low. With all the pluses, this is a minor frustration.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
William T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/11/2020
Best one so far...
I’ve purchased 9 new Hyundai’s for my family since 2003. Great value, perfect mechanically. Low maintenance costs.
The hybrid sonata is amazing. It performs well, rides like a luxury car, and fuel mileage 36-40 mpg, plus very quiet interior.

Pros
Well designed and perfectly manufactured

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
REAGAN F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/06/2020
Best Car Ever
Great gas mileage. Beautiful car. Love all the features it has. This is my second Hyundai Sonata to own. My last Sonata I gave to my granddaughter and the vehicle has never given me any problems. I highly recommend the Hyundai Sonata.

Pros
Gorgeous, reliable, and has all the bell and whistles

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BT
Bryan T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2020
Outstanding vehicle
We were wowed by the quietness and powerful smooth ride.
The mileage has been 40-50 mpg which is great.
The price for this model was more than acceptable and we would purchase again.
What surprises us is that these hybrids aren’t more popular and expensive.

Pros
Quiet, powered, and excellent mileage. Fun to drive, especially while operating on electric.

Cons
Cruise control feature is weak. The limited version with all the features didn’t ride as smoothly as the less loaded model, to our surprise. We checked several dealers and found the same results and went with the smoother ride w a few less options. We’re glad we did...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Larry W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/24/2019
Not The Best Mileage and Quality Compare to Other Hybrids
Disappointed in gas mileage for a hybrid. The vehicle has totally stopped running while on the Interstate 3 times. Once almost caused serious accident. No warning at all, it just shut down, then a Stop Immediately warning came on dash (had already shut down). Then had Overheating warning come on. Car was towed 3 times and same situation occurred two more times. Finally, on the 3rd time, dealership kept car for over a week and repaired the problem. Not the most dependable car that we thought it was. Like the comfort and quality, but wouldn't recommend due to the engine shutting down with no warning. I wish we had gone with the Accord or Prius instead.

Pros
Nice looking vehicle, but too similar to other vehicles on the market.
Comfort OK, but poor leg room in front for taller persons.
Nice looking interior and dash
Amount of accessories for the money
Good warranty and battery warranty

Cons
Poor reliability
Exterior just so-so styling, too similar to other cars on market
Poor gas mileage for hybrid

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/26/2019
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

CV
CHRISTOPHER V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/13/2019
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I'm 64 yr old. Bought new for $29,085 for economy luxury ride. I would imagine that there are nicer luxury cars; just pay at the checkout counter. This Sonata is white with beige interior & has always looked great. Wife's car 99% of time. We drove Kansas City to St Louis roundtrip on one tank of gas & arrive back in Kansas City with quarter tank after a steady 80 MPH @ 47 MPG in summertime. Wintertime gas gets 33 MPG, as I recall. I like the extra back seat legroom a whole lot, both as passenger & driver. Air conditioner works great during the really hot humid Midwest summer. This my 3rd new Hyundai (2009 Elantra, 2012 Veloster, 2017 Sonata). Family still owns all 3 vehicles. Of course, I like the 2017 Sonata Hybrid the best. All 3 have been very reliable. However, the 2012 Veloster should not be driven in the snow due to wide tires.

Cons
I would have preferred a full size spare tire wheel well. Let me decide if I want to save weight & get better gas mileage vs traditional practical solution.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2019
Love the way my Sonata Hybrid handles!
I have had no problems with my 2017 Sonata Hybrid! The handling is great and the fuel economy is wonderful. We drove 2200 miles in the Yellowstone park area then south. The car handles mountains great and uses the electric motor most of the time there. It's great knowing that you have a dependable car and a dealership to back that up. Thank you, Fletchers, Hyundai!

Cons
My black exterior shows dust!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Christina C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/04/2019
AMAZING car
We bought our 2017 Sonata new. It was the best purchase we could have made. Very spacious which is what we needed for our teenage daughters and their boyfriends. Excellent on gas. We get better gas milage than what was advertised on the sale sticker. It's an amazing car at a descent price. Have not had any issues with it. The dealership and the sale guy was very nice and very helpful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
EDWARD H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/03/2019
2017 Sonata Hybrid
Perfectly adequate family car. Gets very good mileage - better than the Prius V I traded in. Fatiguing to drive because of the steering. I just took a 3000 mile road trip. Will try not to do that again. I am old and very stiff. I have a hard time getting in and out of the car. Except for the steering behavior, my wife is very happy with the car.

Pros
Reliable
Fuel efficient

Cons
Poor steering response
Inadequate headroom

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lewis S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2019
love tthe car
The auto is reliable. It is fun to drive. It gives the gas mileage advertised. I have boasted about the automobile to others and urged my friends to buy a Hy-bred like mine . One of the reasons I bought a Hy-bred made by this company was the life-time warranty on the battery.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Robert P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/14/2019
Hybrid Sonata
Very nice car interior size is great and seat comfort is very good. The interior is very quiet and which adds to the overall comfort. Getting around 44-46 miles per gal on Hwy so it is very cost effective for Calf.

Pros
mileage
Comfort
Style
Relibality

Cons
Comes off electric too soon
performance is lacking while crusing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
PHYLLIS D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/06/2019
Love my Sonata Hybrid.
I like to think that the hybrid is my effort to help our environment. This car has the space and size that the cars made to be hybrids cars don't have. The 6 speed transmission gives the car zip while still getting great fuel economy.

Pros
Huge trunk, great economy, lots of zip, love the size.

Cons
Hard seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michael R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2019
Awesome!
Love my car. It rides nicely it's great to drive I love the exterior look of it it feels like a luxury car to me my service has been easy so far and minimal the dealership is very good to me overall I think Hyundai is a winner

Pros
The comfort.

Cons
Console design

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBERT C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/30/2019
A good value
Overall the Sonata Hybrid is a practical vehicle, well built and attractive to look at. I rate the workmanship quality as high with much attention to detail. The fuel mileage has been as advertised @ 40+MPG. It's a very comfortable car for the long trip.

Pros
Quality, comfort and fuel economy.

Cons
The cruise control system which is not up to the same standards as the rest of the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
John R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2019
Jacqueline Riser
We purchased our Sonata Hybrid at the end of 2017 after much research regarding the purchase. We are 100% satisfied with the performance. The car is roomy and comfortable to boot. The only negative is the ride is a little bumpy at times. Just not a lux suspension but adequate. I would buy a Sonata hybrid again in a heart beat. In addition we have been pleased with the Hyundai service that we have received.

Pros
comfort, interior room, milage

Cons
suspension not a lux suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Kenneth N.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2019
Still running like new.
Looks good to the eye, runs like a top, great on the gas mileage, safety features for the road to be aware of the traffic with smart cruise control that adjusts to traffic conditions to your front that will stop you if needed. Averaging 35 to 38 mpg around town. Also better than a turbo charged car with around 21 mpg in town, and if the motor HV battery goes bad in this hybrid, they replace it free for life for the first owner.

Pros
Smooth ride, reasonably quiet ride on the road, great gas mileage compared to most compact cars and is midsized, has fold down seating in back for that need extra room in a pinch with heated/cooled front seats and zoned air conditioning.
Upgraded lighting in the interior all around using LED's that are a very bright white.

Cons
Would like to have the heated rear seating when needed.
would like to have the heated steering wheel for those cold mornings when you do not have a lot of time to warm up in the interior of the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charles B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
Excellent, economical, comfortable sedan
I bought the Limited model of this car after renting an SE model. I had driven Mercedes-Benz for over 20 years but was becoming more convinced that the cost of ownership was too high. Maintenance costs are very high for M-Bs. The Sonata Hybrid Limited has every feature that one could want: memory driver seat, heated and ventilated seats, outside mirrors that turn down when the car is in reverse, Bluetooth, blind spot warning, cross traffic warning, roomy and comfortable interior. The hybrid drive train provides good acceleration and quiet cruising. Fuel economy is excellent. Headlights are the best I have had on any car. Maintenance costs are reasonable, and service at my dealer has been quick and efficient.

Pros
Economical mid-sized sedan with roomy interior and as much luxury as anyone needs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
FRANKLIN B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2019
perfect. again.
love it love itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove it.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Alfred M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2019
2017 Sonata Hybrid best car I ever owned.
I had owned a 2011 Sonata Hybrid and had several automatic transmission problems with slipping. The salesman insisted the faults of the previous years had been corrected in the 2017 and he was right. The 2017 gets over 40 mpg in the spring, summer and fall (less in winter as most cars are), it is comfortable on long trips, it is spacious with a large trunk and fold down back seats.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 578 in total