2017
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(554 Reviews)
Latest review 8 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PD
PHYLLIS D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2019
Love my Sonata Hybrid.
I like to think that the hybrid is my effort to help our environment. This car has the space and size that the cars made to be hybrids cars don't have. The 6 speed transmission gives the car zip while still getting great fuel economy.

Pros
Huge trunk, great economy, lots of zip, love the size.

Cons
Hard seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Michael R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Awesome!
Love my car. It rides nicely it's great to drive I love the exterior look of it it feels like a luxury car to me my service has been easy so far and minimal the dealership is very good to me overall I think Hyundai is a winner

Pros
The comfort.

Cons
Console design

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
ROBERT C.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/30/2019
A good value
Overall the Sonata Hybrid is a practical vehicle, well built and attractive to look at. I rate the workmanship quality as high with much attention to detail. The fuel mileage has been as advertised @ 40+MPG. It's a very comfortable car for the long trip.

Pros
Quality, comfort and fuel economy.

Cons
The cruise control system which is not up to the same standards as the rest of the vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
John R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
Jacqueline Riser
We purchased our Sonata Hybrid at the end of 2017 after much research regarding the purchase. We are 100% satisfied with the performance. The car is roomy and comfortable to boot. The only negative is the ride is a little bumpy at times. Just not a lux suspension but adequate. I would buy a Sonata hybrid again in a heart beat. In addition we have been pleased with the Hyundai service that we have received.

Pros
comfort, interior room, milage

Cons
suspension not a lux suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Kenneth N.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/27/2019
Still running like new.
Looks good to the eye, runs like a top, great on the gas mileage, safety features for the road to be aware of the traffic with smart cruise control that adjusts to traffic conditions to your front that will stop you if needed. Averaging 35 to 38 mpg around town. Also better than a turbo charged car with around 21 mpg in town, and if the motor HV battery goes bad in this hybrid, they replace it free for life for the first owner.

Pros
Smooth ride, reasonably quiet ride on the road, great gas mileage compared to most compact cars and is midsized, has fold down seating in back for that need extra room in a pinch with heated/cooled front seats and zoned air conditioning.
Upgraded lighting in the interior all around using LED's that are a very bright white.

Cons
Would like to have the heated rear seating when needed.
would like to have the heated steering wheel for those cold mornings when you do not have a lot of time to warm up in the interior of the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charles B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2019
Excellent, economical, comfortable sedan
I bought the Limited model of this car after renting an SE model. I had driven Mercedes-Benz for over 20 years but was becoming more convinced that the cost of ownership was too high. Maintenance costs are very high for M-Bs. The Sonata Hybrid Limited has every feature that one could want: memory driver seat, heated and ventilated seats, outside mirrors that turn down when the car is in reverse, Bluetooth, blind spot warning, cross traffic warning, roomy and comfortable interior. The hybrid drive train provides good acceleration and quiet cruising. Fuel economy is excellent. Headlights are the best I have had on any car. Maintenance costs are reasonable, and service at my dealer has been quick and efficient.

Pros
Economical mid-sized sedan with roomy interior and as much luxury as anyone needs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
FRANKLIN B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2019
perfect. again.
love it love itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove itlove it.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Alfred M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2019
2017 Sonata Hybrid best car I ever owned.
I had owned a 2011 Sonata Hybrid and had several automatic transmission problems with slipping. The salesman insisted the faults of the previous years had been corrected in the 2017 and he was right. The 2017 gets over 40 mpg in the spring, summer and fall (less in winter as most cars are), it is comfortable on long trips, it is spacious with a large trunk and fold down back seats.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YM
Yaniel M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/17/2019
My experience with the plug-in sonata
I couldn't be happier, the car is solid, has a quiet ride and is perfect to save gas in the city as well as on the road.
Having a 220v evse at home allow us to commute around relying only on the electric motor ( huge $$$ savings.
On the road it cruises like the old hybrid, around 40 miles/gallon.
Not many sedans are capable of achieving this.
The 60k/ 100k warranty gives me a piece of mind like no other.
So far so good!

Pros
Uses almost no gas on the city.
More gas efficient than most sedans on it class.
Comfortable cruise drive
Very stable on the road

Cons
Could reduce noise in the cabin..
Optimising battery space may lead to more electric autonomy, 40 miles is a more accurate city commute range.
Could improve charging time...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Unbelievable comfort and fuel economy
I drove a Honda Crosstour for 3 years before this Sonata Hybrid. I got 17 mpg overall highway and city. Under the same driving conditions, I get around 30 mpg with the Hybrid. The pickup in the Hybrid is better than my 6 cylinder Crosstour was.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jeffrey R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2019
Love this car.
This is my 2nd Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I am eyeing my 3rd. I travel extensively for my job. The car in comfortable with many creature comforts. I have never had an issue w this car. It is truly turn key (push key) and go. The gas mileage is great considering it’s a full size vehicle. My miles per gallon averages 40 for both city and highway.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Dennis H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2019
My wife loves this car!
This has been my wife's car since 2012. We owned a 2012 and traded in for a 2017 over the years. She loves how easy it is to operate, the quiet drive and look of the car. She just didn't care for the tan colored interior on the 2017 and I had to get some custom made leopard print seat covers in gold and black to cover it. She's a happy camper now;.

Pros
Quiet and easy to drive.

Cons
Tan color interior is not pleasing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/09/2019
My first Hybrid Sonata (second Sonata), third Hyundai
I highly recommend the Sonata Hybrid. I test drove and did not like Ionic, but you may. I have had it for roughly 2 years, and just over 10,000 miles on this vehicle. See my ratings, pros & cons below

Pros
The vehicle is a Sonata hybrid. Driving a hybrid is basically seamless, the transition very easy, with no thought necessary with regard to the difference between it and a standard gas fed vehicle. It is basically excellent! I highly recommend it! It is comfortable to drive, has an abundance of space, road noise is quiet. I average 38-39 MPG based not on the instrumentation feedback, but tracking my mileage on a spreadsheet from day one until present. My driving style is mildly aggressive.
The fun to drive rating is slightly low as I have roughly 2 million miles in my rear view mirrors, 3 of those cars Corvettes, and 4 Honda Civics to only name a few. So driving "Fun" is weighted by those. That said, it is a larger car with much more utility, and I do enjoy driving it for the reasons listed above.
Hyundai has one of the best warranties in the industry, and Honda (naming them only because I owned four) one of the worst warranties. I won't consider any manufacturer with a poor warrantee. If they do not have enough pride and confidence in their product to give it an excellent warranty, why should I the consumer trust their product. I won't!!

Cons
There are only two negatives about the Sonata. 1.The cruise control is very poorly performing! This is based on this Sonata, and my prior non-hybrid Sonata. It is great on a level highway, but any vertical changes in the road, especially an undulating road, the cruse control becomes very erratic, rapidly gaining as much as 5 MPH plus and minus. I have complained to Hyundai with no company feedback. It is a minor irritant, as the fix is to cancel out of it, than correct and reset the speed. 2. The other issue is the software is slow at times to respond to rapid acceleration throttle requests after braking. I understand the issue, as the software must decide the correct action while controlling the dynamic electric braking, then fed the exact opposite request to at once begin acceleration. The only time this occurs in coming to a quick FULL stop (as one should at a stop sign), then rapidly requesting heavy throttle to clear and match speed of oncoming cross traffic. No problem otherwise. You learn to adjust driving style accordingly. I'll do that to drive a hybrid or electric any time over driving a pure gasoline fed automobile (I hate the oil companies!!!)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Samuel S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/08/2019
Sonata plug in hi-brid
The low battery range made me hesitant about buying it because it was definitely under the average commuting range of 50 RT miles. Driving it for roughly 2 years now, I have not changed my mind...battery range on the minimum should be at the least be 50 Rt miles. I also found it's pick up very slow. But I am not a racing guy. So, Other than these, it is such an excellent car I proudly recommended it to friends.

Pros
Reliability.
Battery lifetime warranty
Excellent dealership support

Cons
Battery range too short (under 30 miles)
Very slow pickup

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Holly R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
Sonata hybrid
I really enjoy my Sonata Hybrid. It is expensive, but I am worth it! Great gas mileage and comfortable even for my tall husband! I have recommended this car make to a lot of people. It’s a win-win for a wonderful car!!

Cons
Price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/04/2019
Sonata
Needs a spare tire. Hybrid is nice. Hybrid failure is very bad - has had 2 problems with hybrid system. Thank goodness was covered under warranty. Climate control is good, but it gets confused if there is more than a couple of degrees difference between driver and passenger.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Air conditioned seats

Cons
Needs a spare tire. Hybrid is nice. Hybrid failure is very bad - has had 2 problems with hybrid system. Thank goodness was covered under warranty. Climate control is good, but it gets confused if there is more than a couple of degrees difference between driver and passenger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAN H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
???
I had four Toyota Priuses I loved. I love my Sonata as much, surprisingly. I've had it two years and it has 11,000+ miles on it. My husband died last Nov. His sister and husband each had a leased Hyundai, so he wanted one too.

Pros
Gas mileage, quiet, spacious, easy to park

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kelsey D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
Best car we’ve owned to date
Everything about this car is a win, there’s nothing I would change. Maybe buying a higher end model, everything has exceeded out expectations. Would definitely buy again, it’s our second sonata in the family.

Pros
Comfortable, safe, easy to drive, easy to operate controls.

Cons
Sometimes steering and gas feel disconnected as in you not 100% in control at all times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
great car
Great car..Good value. Would recommend as an alternative to Honda or Toyota. Very well equipped standard and has been reliable over the years. Don't know what else I can say about a reliable form of transportation

Pros
Bang for the buck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Fahed M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Thank you.
There is the best service center in new England.
My car is the best
I will change my car to the new year.
I love my car
I like my car
I hope like my car to all my friends
❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 554 in total