2017
Hyundai
Sonata Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(568 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HR
Holly R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
Sonata hybrid
I really enjoy my Sonata Hybrid. It is expensive, but I am worth it! Great gas mileage and comfortable even for my tall husband! I have recommended this car make to a lot of people. It’s a win-win for a wonderful car!!

Cons
Price

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/04/2019
Sonata
Needs a spare tire. Hybrid is nice. Hybrid failure is very bad - has had 2 problems with hybrid system. Thank goodness was covered under warranty. Climate control is good, but it gets confused if there is more than a couple of degrees difference between driver and passenger.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Air conditioned seats

Cons
Needs a spare tire. Hybrid is nice. Hybrid failure is very bad - has had 2 problems with hybrid system. Thank goodness was covered under warranty. Climate control is good, but it gets confused if there is more than a couple of degrees difference between driver and passenger.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAN H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
???
I had four Toyota Priuses I loved. I love my Sonata as much, surprisingly. I've had it two years and it has 11,000+ miles on it. My husband died last Nov. His sister and husband each had a leased Hyundai, so he wanted one too.

Pros
Gas mileage, quiet, spacious, easy to park

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kelsey D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
Best car we’ve owned to date
Everything about this car is a win, there’s nothing I would change. Maybe buying a higher end model, everything has exceeded out expectations. Would definitely buy again, it’s our second sonata in the family.

Pros
Comfortable, safe, easy to drive, easy to operate controls.

Cons
Sometimes steering and gas feel disconnected as in you not 100% in control at all times.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2019
great car
Great car..Good value. Would recommend as an alternative to Honda or Toyota. Very well equipped standard and has been reliable over the years. Don't know what else I can say about a reliable form of transportation

Pros
Bang for the buck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FM
Fahed M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Thank you.
There is the best service center in new England.
My car is the best
I will change my car to the new year.
I love my car
I like my car
I hope like my car to all my friends
❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷🌷
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Robert B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2019
My 2017 Sonata Hybrid is great!
This is the second long vacation driving through mountains. Our Hybrid loves mountains. It has plenty of power and gets average 50 mph through them. I can't say enough about my Hyundai. This is the fourth one I have owned and the second Sonata!

Pros
Great Styling, dependability and mpg.

Cons
We are not used to how the cruise control works. It is fine until the gasoline engine kicks in then it feels like it surges. I think that is the way it is supposed to work, it's just different than our other sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
BEVERLY E.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2019
Wow!
I absolutely love my Hyundai Hybrid! Not only does it look spectacular, it’s fun to drive and so comfortable! The best part is the mileage. We take long trips and really appreciate that. I’ve owned a Hyundai since the time they first were introduced in the US....and they only get more attractive and economical. Thanks!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Lindsey V.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/08/2019
Great car for small families
I bought this car the end of March 2019. The only problem I have had with it is the hybrid system warning would pop up on long drives. Other than that the backseat seats 3 comfortably and the trunk is pretty decent sized for a car. The gas mileage is really amazing and the drive is very smooth.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
Haylie H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
I love my car
I usually go for heavy European cars, but this one has nothing to be envy any other brand. Smooth ride, Quiet cabin, Good technology. The fact that the car is hybrid allows me to save a lot of money on gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Denise F.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Love this CAR...
I purchased my Sonata Hybrid blue tech after having driven a Mercedes for 4 years and must say I like the comfort, look, drive and mileage 100% better.. LOVE THIS CAR.. Average 51 miles per gallon regular gas!!!

Pros
Perfect In every way Except navigation system ..

Cons
I dislike having to use my phone to operate the navigation system in the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rosemary B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/06/2019
Love My Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
I love my 2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. I am an older driver and felt that I needed a full package of safety features. Hyundai provides that and more. Fuel efficiency and range are terrific and easy to track and maintain battery charge. The cabin is comfortable and has features to remember driver preferences. The electronic package is the best I have experienced. I like that the trunk capacity is not severely curtailed due to the hybrid batteries as in mainly other hybrids. Great engineering Hyundai!

Pros
Safety package
Electronics
Fuel economy
Classy styling
Drivability

Cons
No spare
Limited trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GEORGE R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/01/2019
Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
style, comfort, handling, mileage

Cons
road noise lever is high

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Michael B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Sports car in Plug in/Hybrid technology, perfectly designed and executed
Right up with the Porsches, Jaguars, Audis and Volvos that I have owned.
Says it all, stupid to insist on a minimum of 200 characters.
You folks having trouble taking the highest compliment that could be given.

Pros
Right up with the Porsches, Jaguars, Audis and Volvos that I have owned.

Cons
Fuel filler pipe/fuel cap bad seal caused engine light to go on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
PETYO D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2019
Great car
Fun to drive. Great stiling, great performance, very high gas mileage, quiet operation. My car's level of equipment has high quality sound aystem eqiupped with subwoofer which provides highest sound quality.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FR
Frank R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2019
Waiting for my 2020 SONATA
I cannot wait, so excited about the newly manufactured sonata. The mileage between my current sonata is amazing compared to my husbands EXPLORER LIMITED. Traveling every year since buying my current SONATA. We have taken both vehicles to FORT MYERS FL.
We stop twice for fuel for my Sonata and several times for my husbands explorer. The sonata getting over 30+miles per gallon.
A large savings.

My next purchase will be the NEW 2020 SONATA LIMITED PEARL WHITE BEIGE LEATHER FULLY LOADED HYUNDAI.
ARE THEY READY YET? Please hurry off to FLORIDA IN DECEMBER. I want to gloat to my husband. And show off my new SONATA LIMITED. Congrats to your DESIGNER

Pros
Great dependable auto. With great gas mileage

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
You would be amazed !!!
I was surprised when they got me to test drive the Sonata Hybrid how responsive it was. I've had all the powerful luxury cars and this Hybrid is as comfortable as any. Additionally, it has plenty of pickup and has averaged over 30 miles to the gallon. I had a Honda Crosstour prior to this one and in the 3 years I had it the mileage average of in town and highway, according to the computer, was 17 for the 3 years I drove it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Hybrid Review
This is our second Sonata Hybrid and love it. Can't think of anything any better to drive and maintain.
Only problem I've had is getting out of the car and not turning it off- it's running so quiet.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lonny W.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/27/2019
Excellent acceleration performance for a 4-cylinder engine, yet gives the 40-mile-per-gallon fuel efficiency as advertised
After nearly two years of driving it, I am very pleased with the car. It is a hybrid, and its fuel-efficiency is wonderful. So far its reliability has been excellent, and if it continues to perform like it has, I will be completely satisfied.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
Wayne H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/24/2019
Better as a Plug-In (PHEV)
With the plug-in version of this vehicle, I've been able to go without having to buy gas for over 6 months. However, range is a little lame - it only does about 25 miles, never the full 27 advertised. The interior design is lacking in a number of ways. For example the dash controls are less than intuitive and poorly placed.

Pros
EV only drive mode
Full size EV
Ventilated Leather Seats
Regular transmission
Smooth transition to HEV mode
Excellent 700 mi range - combined ICE & EV

Cons
EV only Range
Poor layout of controls
Horrible position of visor light
Some road noise
A/C on full very noisy
Trunk space limited by battery placement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 568 in total