2016
Hyundai
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(66 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RH
Robert H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2017
Sonata Plug In
Excellent

Pros
All around excellent

Cons
Stumbles on acceleration in EV mode

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Anne F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/28/2016
Love my Sonata PEH
I'm sooo happy with my new Sonata Plug in Hybrid. It feels extremely luxurious, and I'm able to get 30-38 miles on a charge easily. The smoothness of electric and hybrid function is effortless. Love the lumbar support on drivers seat. Love the heated/cooled seats and heated steering wheel. Love the features that cut back on wasted energy (e.g. driver only ventilation, econ on ventilation, econ on engine). Only complaints is that I wish it came with Apple Car Play. Also, can't believe the lifetime warranty on battery and excellent overall warranty. This vehicle really should be flying off the lot.

Pros
Can do majority of driving on electricity, but have hybrid backup
Luxurious features and styling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Carel D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/26/2016
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Limited
Very satisfied with driving comfort, fuel economy, electric driving range. A few minor suggestions: (1) allow for electric front window defrost heating to avoid using the car engine while in the EV driving mode, and (2) improve the GPS system so that it helps with the input of city and street addresses by guessing the city or street name options after the first few letters have been put into the system.

Pros
Electric driving and fuel economy very good and as advertised. Safety features very helpful to safe driving, including adoptive cruise control. Comfortable seating with presets for two drivers, heating and cooling of the seats very good.

Cons
Small luggage compartment because of the location of the big battery. Increase in size would be welcome.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEVEN D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/22/2016
Hyundai Sonata Plug In Hybrid Limited
Great vehicle! Perfect replacement for my Passat TDI being bought back by VW. It does everything that car did and way more. It is comfortable, spacious and it is fun playing around with what mode (EV or hybrid) makes the most sense on your given drive. I routinely get more than the 25-27 stated miles on electric alone. These are a great deal with the money Hyundai and the dealers throws at you to buy. On top of that, look for other special discounts you might be able to qualify for along with the Federal tax credit and state credit (if your state does this). Made my $38.7k MSRP drop to $24k purchase price, awesome! I would have to nit-pick to say anything even close to bad about this car and I have owned it for nearly 3 months/4k+ miles. Compared to the hybrid/plug in competitors as of Fall 2016, this is the best choice. I tried them all from the Fusion, Malibu (2nd place), etc. Plenty of space for a 6'5" driver and passengers, not easy to do in every "mid-saize" car.

Pros
Space - even for someone 6'5" that has to leave plenty of room for car seats
MPGs
Ability to switch between EV and hybrid modes
Quicker than any other Sonata model and gets the best mpgs

Cons
Steering wheel heat takes longer to heat on the 10 and 3 nubs
Fuel filler door stays closed longer than it should prior to filling up
Really nit-picking here... it is a great car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
Anthony N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/16/2016
great car with a few nitpicks
The plug in is great!
Love the summer time with this car! We were getting consistently over 1200 miles per tank full thanks to our driving habits and the plug in system.
problem is, when winter comes, the only way to generate heat is for the engine to run, even in EV mode.. so we get more like 600 miles, maybe..

Regarding other issues:
The navigation system is a bit annoying, and not very intuitive. I have seen implementations of navigation that autofilled addresses to reduce how much you need to enter based on database searching, etc. this does not seem to exist here.
also, the reach to the display is far, and since there is no other way to control the interface (such as a wheel controller, etc), you have to lean forward and touch the screen or push buttons. I bit annoying and difficult while driving.

Regarding blue link: great idea, especially looked forward to the remote start portion.
except for the fact that remote start will NOT work for this plug in if it is PLUGGED IN!?
ok, no real answer on this one yet, disappointed. and removed bluelink subscription.
what's the point? you have to now go outside, in the cold, unlock the car, unplug the cable, then, remote start..
a bit backwards I'd say.

otherwise, great car, not sure if many of these issues above can be rectified. hoping for a remote start "fix".

Pros
summer time, We were getting consistently over 1200 miles per tank full thanks to our driving habits and the plug in system.

super smooth riding.

Cons
when winter comes, the only way to generate heat is for the engine to run, even in EV mode.. so we get more like 600 miles, maybe..
Regarding blue link: great idea, especially looked forward to the remote start portion.
except for the fact that remote start will NOT work for this plug in if it is PLUGGED IN!?
The navigation system is a bit annoying, and not very intuitive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
JOHN T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/08/2016
Exceeds My Expectations!
Exceeds My Expectations

Pros
Mileage, Range, MPG

Cons
Cost, Remembering to Plug it in!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Anthony D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/28/2016
Love this car.
Comfortable and quiet with all the advanced technology and features of luxury cars costing much more. I'm able to drive 25-30 miles all electric before hybrid comes on. Even on longer trips beyond electric range, I'm averaging 70-80 mpg! Also eligible for car pool lane, and over $6700 in government and utility rebates.
Only annoyance has been recurrent check engine light each time due to gas cap vapor issue. All work covered by warranty of course.

Pros
Comfort
Technology
Environmental low emissions and fuel use
Great value

Cons
3 episodes of check engine light in first 6 months due to gas cap vapor problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RAMAN S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/10/2016
Raman_Huydai Sonata Plug in Hybrid
Good vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lester L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/27/2016
Very satisfied
Very satisfied
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Michael K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/11/2016
2016 Hyundai Sonata
Great value. Comfortable and fuel efficient
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Alvin D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2016
The Sonata PLUG IN VEHICLE
This car is better than expected.

Pros
The power is more than expected and economy of operation is also better than expected. I am getting more than 70 miles per gallon for my type of driving.

Cons
No significant problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Arthur G.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2016
Sonata Plug in could be best value around
The Sonata Hybrid Plug-in is clearly a very efficient car. I have been surprised by the quality of the car, the features included and the comfort of the ride. I really enjoy driving it.

Pros
Efficiency, standard features, comfort

Cons
Gas mileage could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Diana D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/28/2016
excellent car
I love my car and the flaws are in the computer navigation and phone service which NEVER seem to work properly and I end up using my phone for navigation as it is sooooo much easier. Fabulous on the gas and electric part. Black dashboard a mistake and creates reflection in the windshield and heat in the car. Air conditioning does not work well in electric mode. Paint applied very thin and the car scratches very easily. Overall I enjoy driving the car and feel very safe in it.

Pros
love the electric feature and have very low gas bills and have seen a huge drop as a benefit on my home electric bill as an added benefit

Cons
computer system not responsive for phone calls and for navigation always getting the names and address wrong and if you type it in it will tell you the street does not exist. Dash board reflects on the window and is distracting in driving. Air conditioning is weak in electric mode. Body of the car feels cheaply made.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHRISTOPHER B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2016
Hyundai Sonata Limited, Hybrid plug-in
This is a wonderful car, smooth, comfotable and quiet, with power and features that rival the luxury cars we cosidered buying. Hyundai has done everything just about perfectly. Because most of our trips involve city driving oof less than 30 miles (and we average better than 30 miles on a charge), we are getting between 500 and 600 miles per gallon of gas. We have solar power in our home, so charging is basically free....nice to feel we are leaving a small environmental footprint. We did a lot of research and drove several different vehicles before selecting the Hyundai. Could not have made a better decision....it has exceeded all of our expectations.

Pros
Great car, best we have ever owned. We do mostly city driving, less than 30 miles per trip and, as a result, are getting 500-600 miles per gallon of gas. We have solar power, so charging is free. It is terrific to feel you are adding so little to climate change. This car is quiet, comfortable with great acceleration and ammenities that rival luxury cars we considered buying.

Cons
The ONLY con is that we, at this point are not sure we can use the charger provided with a standard 220 outlet. To purchase a 220 charging station would add another $600 to the cost of the vehicle. We would love this convenience (it would shorten charging time significantly), but believe it should be provided with the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2016
Sonata Limited
Overall, an amazing value of an automobile that is known to stand the test of time.

Pros
Very stylish, tons of bells and whistles for not a lot of money. Incredible value.

Cons
Built more for economy driving, not for performance driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
WAYNE T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2016
Very good
Very good
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Philip M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2016
ok
great
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SN
Steven N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2016
Fun Vehicle, Low Cost to Operate
I had the Sonata Plug-In for 3 months without opening the gas tank. Finally filled it when leaving on a long road trip. We drove over 8,000 miles on about $300 of gas. The car is super comfortable and the ventilated seats in cooling mode are a must for summer driving; don't know how I survived without them. The stereo system is phenomenal for blasting road trip music. The car handles well and really sticks in turns. It was able to run in electric mode at 80 MPH while driving in Texas with 2 passengers and a loaded trunk. The only negative thing is the size of the trunk; it will hold 2 suitcases if they are not overstuffed. The trunk was a trade-off for the extra batteries for the plug-in. The range when fully charged and a full gas tank is about 600 miles which can be a little problematic if you drink coffee or too much water on a road trip.

Pros
Handles like a sports car
Smooth ride
Comfortable
Awesome stereo
200+ horsepower
Uses little gas
About 600 range
27 mile electric range - with the vehicle generators the electric range can be much further.
Warranties

Cons
The 9 cubic foot trunk is a little small
There are a few minor software bugs being worked out in the programming of the onboard computers
The 600 mile range is much bigger than my bladder

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2016
Sonata
New Sonata
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
WALTER M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2016
Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid
Great car

Pros
Great mileage

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 66 in total