2017
Hyundai
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(54 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LJ
LISA J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/04/2019
Hyundai sonata plug-in hybrid
The Hyundai Sonata plug-in hybrid is all I had imagined. It is smooth quiet in electric mode and provides electric power for a trip to work and back with a few miles left over if I use the gas motor on the highway. It the electric is used up, the gas engine takes over and is noisy on acceleration. A few more miles of electric power and a quieter, yet slightly stronger gas engine would be a plus especially if I had errands to do after work.

Pros
Electric motor

Cons
Noisy gas motor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JESSE P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2019
Comfortable, stylish, affordable, reliable, great gas mileage
We love our Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid. It has plenty of interior legroom and headroom for my 6'5" husband and is a very comfortable, quiet, and economical car. We almost never need to actually get gas, but the gas engine is nice to have for longer trips.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DAVID B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2019
Sonata PHEV RSPEC
2017 Sonata PHEV bought new in 2018. Was looking at different hybrid models and discovered Federal and State tax benefit for a Plug in Hybrid. So after closer evaluation and research selected the Hyundai Sonata. Very Satisfied. Excellent workmanship and material for the price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joseph P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/16/2019
Not at all happy with the car
The car is very noisy when it switches from electric to gas. Drive wise also, it feels as if the pick up is not at all great and on trying to improve the pick up by flooring the gas pedal, the noise the car makes is really scary. 5 months after buying the car, I also had an incident where the back tire burst and I had to spend money to replace the tire as well as the wheel since the wheel was also damaged because of the impact. On that day, I depended on Blue Link for help, but it was a nightmare. They didnt listen to what I said about my location and said they can track it from my car's computer system. They ended up plotting my location in a completely different city and send out a tow truck to the wrong place. Needless to say, I was stranded on the freeway for 5 hours on the freeway and finally gave up on them. Even during an emergency calling Blue Link and getting to talk to someone takes a wait time of 15-20 mins. I called my Insurance Road side assistance and they promptly had a tow truck on the scene within 20 minutes. Later I complained to Hyundai about the bad experience with Blue Link and they said they will look into it but nothing was heard back after that

Cons
Loud noise when car is on gasoline
Blue Link service is not reliable
In case of an emergency calling Blue Link will take you through a 15-20 min wait time to even speak to someone
Blue Link app just keeps clocking most of the times and gives a time out error

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DOMENICO D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/15/2019
Great Electric Car with a super warranty
This was a great car. The Electric range was not good but I liked the car. Then I upgraded to a G90 and i also love that product even more.
I would buy the G90 Limo if and when it comes to the USA.

Cons
Electric distance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2019
Plug I. Hybrid
I enjoy my PI hybrid sonata. Comfort luxury and peace of mind that when the electric mode is finished I’m still getting 42 miles per gallon. Many times .I don’t need to fill up my tank and I have gone over 800 miles The car handles well has plenty of pip and have always been satisfied with the Hyndai brand as this is the 4 th Hyndai I have bought or leased
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Lauren K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
We love this car....
When we were looking for a plug-in vehicle, we needed to be able to fit three car seats across the back seat, so we needed a car big enough to accommodate a family of five. The existing fully electric vehicles were too small to meet our needs. The Hyundai Sonata plug-in hybrid goes 27 miles on a full charge in full-electric mode. This covers most of our local travel chauffeuring the kids everywhere. If we run out of charge, we don't have to worry because it gets great gas mileage too! There are a few minor electrical issues that we've noticed...like the radio all of a sudden not working. This happens sporadically so we have no idea what causes it or even how to fix it. Occasionally, the engine "revs"...when we are slowing down...not sure if this is an issue or just the car's design. We would love a fully electric vehicle, but it needs to be able to go more miles before we can purchase one. Until then, our Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid Electric is the best car for us!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MICHAEL T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/04/2019
Very economical & practical car
Plug-In hybrids are my future & it is now. This is the best one to suit our family needs on the market for 2017. Strong suit; this car can seamlessly transition from the ICE power to the electric power while on the road. Also the back seat in this Sonata is more roomy than any other mid-size SUV we looked at.

Pros
See above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
VALERIE T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2018
Sonata Plug in review
I love my Sonata. I like going green. It’s a nice car to drive and own. I like the way it looks. It is great on gas. I feel like I never have to buy gas which makes it very affordable. It’s roomy, smooth ride. I like how quiet it is except, sometimes I cannot tell if I turned if I turned it off.

Pros
Efficient/ classy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

P
P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/10/2018
I love my hybrid
This is the first new vehicle I have purchased in 20 years and there are so many new technology features. I love how quiet this vehicle is. I love the gas mileage. I fill up once a month and total cost is under $30. My typical day of driving is under 25 miles so the electric feature allows me to drive everyday and the gas only is used when I exceed 25 miles in a day. I plug the vehicle in every evening to an electric vehicle charger that was provided to me at no charge from SMUD. I paid an electrician $400 to install the electrical conduit for the charger. SMUD gives me a great rate of 1.5 cents per kilowatt when I charge the vehicle after midnight and before 6 am. I scheduled my vehicle to charge at 12:10 am so while I sleep my car re-charges. I received a rebate from the dealership $7,500 and also energy credits on my state and federal income tax filings. I am extremely pleased with my very small carbon footprint and the car is fun....so fun....to drive. Not only that, I think it is beautiful and the rear seat is roomy for passenger legs. The surround sound is awesome. The trunk space is limited because of the placement of the battery behind the rear seat so cargo is a big change from my previous vehicle and took some getting used to. But all in all I am very happy with my decision to purchase this very classy Sonata Limited hybrid.

Pros
Economical
Fun
Spunky with lots of get up and go

Cons
Limited cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WK
WARREN K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2018
30 miles all electric is sweet!
Averaging 30 miles all electric for my commute to and from work. Only gas filled up 4 times for the year so far. Averaging 42 miles/gal in Hybird mode. The car is roomy and easily fits my 6'3" frame.

Pros
30 miles all electric.

Cons
No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
LYNNE H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2018
Sonata Solution
The plug-in Hybrid is a great car for someone who drives low mileage each day, taking advantage of its small electric range. As a retiree I have found the car to be a perfect fit for me. I fill the gas tank once a month and use the electric charge daily.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CU
Carmen U.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2018
I love my plug in
I love the gas mileage, being able to cool down the car before I get in, that it has been dependable for the year I've had it, and that it alerts me when there is a car in my blind spot. I really could go on and on.

Pros
See above

Cons
Trunk space is too small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Michael A.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2018
2017 sonata lug in hybrid
This car isn't sold in Ohio, so we travelled to Maryland to buy it. I was very glad that we did. the only other car that was a significant possibility for plug-in hybrid was the Ford Fusion Energi. that car is rated at 21 Miles Electric. I test drove that car five separate times and was able to get between 19.5 and 20.8 miles on electric only. the Sonata plug-in hybrid is rated at 27 miles electric, however, to my pleasant surprise, this under States the abilities of the car. although it depends on terrain and driving conditions, I generally get between 30 and 35 miles on electric alone. the car is very pleasant to drive and feels quite luxurious, and this comes from an owner in a family where we own a Tesla Model S.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY LOU H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2018
Hyundai Sonata Plug in
I love my Hyundai Sonata Plug-In. I've been getting about 83 mpg. It's a sharp looking car and it has all the bells and whistles you can think of. The dealership was very friendly and my salesman, Jared Caparco was very accommodating.

Pros
comfort, mileage, great dealership

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Peter S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/22/2018
Great low key salesmanship with a great offer the first time around. There was no running back and forth to get a great deal it was the way one wants to purchase a car.
This car has great styling, high reliability, easy acquaintance and overall dependability. This is my third Hyundai in my family and we all agree that we get the most value for the dollar with Hyundai.

Pros
My Sonata is smooth handling and comfortable to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michelle D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2018
Hyundai Sonata plug in was a great choice!!
I am so pleased with the smooth ride and fantastic gas mileage. I plug it in every night and the 30 miles of electric covers my daily commute.even when electric is used and the car reverts to gas, it is super fuel efficient! I've never thought Hyundai is a sexy car brand, but "environmentally friendly" is the new SEXY.

Pros
smooth ride, cheap to drive

Cons
electric hybrids do not have great pick up. Starting from a stoplight on a road that has any incline I cant get the speed the cars behind me want. I get honked at. I used to drive a VW Passat Diesel and it was a much more powerful car. still, I love my Sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Bondi A.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2018
Sonata Limited Plug In
The automobile is fantastic - was dis-hearted with the sales effort - we arrived to buy a NEW car, and after signing all the documents, then we were advised the vehicle we purchased was a 2017 - we believing it was an 2018 model. Our certificate for $40 to test drive the vehicle was never paid.

Pros
Excellent fuel mileage -

Cons
Road silencing could be improved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NJ
Nathaniel J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2018
Good For the Money
Nice and comfy very handsome car. Great warranty and overall value. Did a lot of shopping and it just seemed like the best choice. 500 plus miles on a tank. Very efficient hybrid battery. Insurance rates for it are suprisingly low. Would recommend if you’re a value conscious shopper.

Pros
Fuel Efficiency

Cons
Trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Samuel S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2018
Driving with ease and confidence
First off, I have to admit Sonata hybrid plugin wasn't my first choice. It is a decently attractive enough car, but it didn't reflect that sporty, adventurous look, that I thought I should have for my car this time around. Yet I ended up buying it anyway because the manufacturer displayed exceptionally high confidence in the quality and reliability of this car. It was the only one I know of that guarantee it's battery for life for as long as I own this car. Batteries I understand could cost an arm and leg, a lot of chutzpa, winning my confidence! Decent looks! Exceptional guarantee! A winning combination in my book. So, I bought it!

I have yet to drive this car for the long haul, so my review is limited, for now, to the short trip experiences I had. Okay, here we are:
1. Consistent reliability: The car displayed no hiccups, always getting me to where I want to be, quietly, without complaint. Yep! This car is so quiet, one time I thought I had turned it off, but the car signaled it was still on and let me lock the car! Imagine that!
2. Green enough for my taste: I thought my EV car should have at least 100 miles battery range at the minimum (my driving range to work. it turned out 32 miles is my new average driving range post retirement). So, this car's puny 28 miles range, it turned out, was acceptable enough though a 40 mile range would have been excellent. Anyway, as a consequence the full tank I had 8 months ago is only down to half a tank; prompting my service manager to recommend I should add some gas to prevent the old gas from going stale. Imagine that!
3. Atrocious traffic jams: I used to enjoy driving around, but California roads weaned me from it. Now I drive because I must. Well, these fast few weeks I must drive to San Francisco to see my health care provider. Predictably, traffic congealed to snail, and I resigned myself to long snail paced drive. Then I realized, hey, my little Sonata can be on the car pool lane so I did. Thank you little Sonata, and thank you green state California.
4. Alert is the rule, not the exception: San Francisco driving, like driving in New York, requires vigilance to minimize these fender benders, and loss of life and limb. So, I always appreciate my kibitzer passenger alerting me of other cars and assisting me change lanes. Well, these past few weeks this car effectively provided such assistance, letting me know when it's safe to change lanes, or safe to back up.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 54 in total