2017
Hyundai
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(42 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GT
GRAYCE T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
I recommend my car to everyone
I love my car! Lots of people come up to me to ask about it and I rave about the mileage and the smooth driving. It is fun to drive, the stereo system and Bluetooth are super handy. All around its the best car I've ever owned.

Pros
Quiet, mileage is great, large back seat, comfortable to drive, smooth to drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SCYNTHIA S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2020
Best car I’ve ever had in my 30 plus years of driving.
What makes this car the best is that it quite inside and out. Add the extra leg room front and back seat makes this car great for long commutes with getting on average 44 miles to the gallon with the hybrid option. I love this car.

Pros
Leg room, quite interior & exterior, great gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GG
GEOFFREY G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/13/2019
Solid if not exciting overall
Solid transportation. Reliable, relatively comfortable, nice looking. Seats could be better. Some interior materials could be better, especially the dashboard. Leaks a little oil, which is crazy for a new car these days. Makes a weird noise when you brake (part of regenerative system but annoying) awesomely quiet and composed. Not so composed at higher speeds on crappy CA highways. Interstate it is a touring beast once the roads are smoother.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2019
Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
At 15K vehicle has performed as advertised; variety of safety features were unexpected bonus; all aspects of car (excluding trunk space) are well done; hybrid/electric features have enabled very low gasoline usage; suspension and interior features make long distance driving comfortable.

Pros
Plug-in range ideal for our driving needs; hybrid achieves predicted overall mpb

Cons
Male driver finds front seat cushion too firm; car is somewhat noisy in passing gear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
Lisa J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/04/2019
Hyundai sonata plug-in hybrid
The Hyundai Sonata plug-in hybrid is all I had imagined. It is smooth quiet in electric mode and provides electric power for a trip to work and back with a few miles left over if I use the gas motor on the highway. It the electric is used up, the gas engine takes over and is noisy on acceleration. A few more miles of electric power and a quieter, yet slightly stronger gas engine would be a plus especially if I had errands to do after work.

Pros
Electric motor

Cons
Noisy gas motor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JESSE P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2019
Comfortable, stylish, affordable, reliable, great gas mileage
We love our Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid. It has plenty of interior legroom and headroom for my 6'5" husband and is a very comfortable, quiet, and economical car. We almost never need to actually get gas, but the gas engine is nice to have for longer trips.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joseph P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/16/2019
Not at all happy with the car
The car is very noisy when it switches from electric to gas. Drive wise also, it feels as if the pick up is not at all great and on trying to improve the pick up by flooring the gas pedal, the noise the car makes is really scary. 5 months after buying the car, I also had an incident where the back tire burst and I had to spend money to replace the tire as well as the wheel since the wheel was also damaged because of the impact. On that day, I depended on Blue Link for help, but it was a nightmare. They didnt listen to what I said about my location and said they can track it from my car's computer system. They ended up plotting my location in a completely different city and send out a tow truck to the wrong place. Needless to say, I was stranded on the freeway for 5 hours on the freeway and finally gave up on them. Even during an emergency calling Blue Link and getting to talk to someone takes a wait time of 15-20 mins. I called my Insurance Road side assistance and they promptly had a tow truck on the scene within 20 minutes. Later I complained to Hyundai about the bad experience with Blue Link and they said they will look into it but nothing was heard back after that

Cons
Loud noise when car is on gasoline
Blue Link service is not reliable
In case of an emergency calling Blue Link will take you through a 15-20 min wait time to even speak to someone
Blue Link app just keeps clocking most of the times and gives a time out error

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DOMENICO D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/15/2019
Great Electric Car with a super warranty
This was a great car. The Electric range was not good but I liked the car. Then I upgraded to a G90 and i also love that product even more.
I would buy the G90 Limo if and when it comes to the USA.

Cons
Electric distance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MICHAEL T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/04/2019
Very economical & practical car
Plug-In hybrids are my future & it is now. This is the best one to suit our family needs on the market for 2017. Strong suit; this car can seamlessly transition from the ICE power to the electric power while on the road. Also the back seat in this Sonata is more roomy than any other mid-size SUV we looked at.

Pros
See above.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VT
VALERIE T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2018
Sonata Plug in review
I love my Sonata. I like going green. It’s a nice car to drive and own. I like the way it looks. It is great on gas. I feel like I never have to buy gas which makes it very affordable. It’s roomy, smooth ride. I like how quiet it is except, sometimes I cannot tell if I turned if I turned it off.

Pros
Efficient/ classy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

P
P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2018
I love my hybrid
This is the first new vehicle I have purchased in 20 years and there are so many new technology features. I love how quiet this vehicle is. I love the gas mileage. I fill up once a month and total cost is under $30. My typical day of driving is under 25 miles so the electric feature allows me to drive everyday and the gas only is used when I exceed 25 miles in a day. I plug the vehicle in every evening to an electric vehicle charger that was provided to me at no charge from SMUD. I paid an electrician $400 to install the electrical conduit for the charger. SMUD gives me a great rate of 1.5 cents per kilowatt when I charge the vehicle after midnight and before 6 am. I scheduled my vehicle to charge at 12:10 am so while I sleep my car re-charges. I received a rebate from the dealership $7,500 and also energy credits on my state and federal income tax filings. I am extremely pleased with my very small carbon footprint and the car is fun....so fun....to drive. Not only that, I think it is beautiful and the rear seat is roomy for passenger legs. The surround sound is awesome. The trunk space is limited because of the placement of the battery behind the rear seat so cargo is a big change from my previous vehicle and took some getting used to. But all in all I am very happy with my decision to purchase this very classy Sonata Limited hybrid.

Pros
Economical
Fun
Spunky with lots of get up and go

Cons
Limited cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WK
WARREN K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/03/2018
30 miles all electric is sweet!
Averaging 30 miles all electric for my commute to and from work. Only gas filled up 4 times for the year so far. Averaging 42 miles/gal in Hybird mode. The car is roomy and easily fits my 6'3" frame.

Pros
30 miles all electric.

Cons
No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
LYNNE H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2018
Sonata Solution
The plug-in Hybrid is a great car for someone who drives low mileage each day, taking advantage of its small electric range. As a retiree I have found the car to be a perfect fit for me. I fill the gas tank once a month and use the electric charge daily.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MARY LOU H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/29/2018
Hyundai Sonata Plug in
I love my Hyundai Sonata Plug-In. I've been getting about 83 mpg. It's a sharp looking car and it has all the bells and whistles you can think of. The dealership was very friendly and my salesman, Jared Caparco was very accommodating.

Pros
comfort, mileage, great dealership

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Peter S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2018
Great low key salesmanship with a great offer the first time around. There was no running back and forth to get a great deal it was the way one wants to purchase a car.
This car has great styling, high reliability, easy acquaintance and overall dependability. This is my third Hyundai in my family and we all agree that we get the most value for the dollar with Hyundai.

Pros
My Sonata is smooth handling and comfortable to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NJ
Nathaniel J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2018
Good For the Money
Nice and comfy very handsome car. Great warranty and overall value. Did a lot of shopping and it just seemed like the best choice. 500 plus miles on a tank. Very efficient hybrid battery. Insurance rates for it are suprisingly low. Would recommend if you’re a value conscious shopper.

Pros
Fuel Efficiency

Cons
Trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joseph L.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2018
Good plug in hybrid
Great car for the HOV lane. Spacious, reliable and stable. The electric mileage is reasonable to good compared with other vehicles. The space of the car really sets this apart from other cars. Torch could use a little boost but is fine. Features are nice and has all necessary options to have an enjoyable driving experience. Would recommend.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NJ
Nathaniel J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/09/2018
Economical and Stylish
This vehicle was purchased new from a Hyundai dealership in the Los Angeles area but I immediately felt at home with the Palm Springs dealership. Will trust them from now on to service my vehicle. This vehicle fits my every need and has just about every amenity you can ask for in a vehicle. I recommend looking at Hyundai for your next vehicle. Great blend in every imaginable category. Plug in Hybrid - I see so little of the gas station that I have to remind myself it still needs fuel!

Great job Hyundai - I will buy again. :)

Pros
Looks good
Fuel Thrifty
Seats are decently comfy

Cons
A little pricey (but it’s ok)
Could have better wheel design
Could be slightly quieter (wind noise)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Charles B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/04/2018
Great car.
I wanted a car that would suit my driving habit, almost all city and suburban, with occasional trips of 200 miles or more. And I wanted to minimize my use of gasoline. This car does that in spades! I get from 30 to 33 miles per charge (it’s rated for 27) from an overnight charge in my garage using a standard 115 volt plug. My Gasoline usage is mainly for keeping the car warm in the winter and for long trips. I crudely calculate that I’m averaging over 85 miles per gallon! The dashboard gauge almost always says 99.9 mpg ( the max). And I haven’t noticed any significant increases in my electric bill. Aside from that, the car is pleasant to drive, comfortable, quiet and nice looking. I think I like it!

Pros
Everything but:

Cons
Expensive!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
PATRICIA G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/19/2018
A sweet ride
Our Sonata Plug-in Hybrid is everything we hoped it would be. The dealer was most helpful in finding us exactly the car for which we were looking. Hyundai warranty is second to none. One year in and we are still happy.

Pros
Excellent fuel economy (Avg 100+ MPG). Comfort and warranty.

Cons
side mirrors do not automatically fold in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 42 in total