2002
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(35 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VS
Virginia S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/04/2019
i hated my 2011 sonata
not a good design. I'm short. Can't see out back to back up. My wife is also short. See could not see out the front window very well. It had to many things wrong the first year I owned It .Tom Ahl got me out of that thing into a 2012 Azera. My wife bought a 2002 sonata new. We still have it, Great car,

Pros
nice color

Cons
bad design

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Barry B.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2019
Hyundai Sonata such a good car
I bought my Hyundai Sonata in 2002 and it has been an absolute pleasure. It has only had the usual service issues, and the more amazing thing it that it looks as beautiful now as it did in 2002. The clear coat has kept the silver paint pristine and shiny!

Pros
It is s beautiful car and it keeps up with cars that are thousands of dollars more.

Cons
Some of the plastic interior parts could be better made.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
John H.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2018
2002 Sonata Great Car!
My 2002 Sonata is the best car I've owned, out of 11 cars! My Sonata has been dependable, maintenance has been affordable over the years, and gas millage has been really good! If I buy another car, it will be a Sonata or Genesis.

Pros
My 2002 Sonata is the best car I've owned, out of 11 cars!

Cons
CD player broke.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Gail F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2018
One of a Kind
I only wish that the models in the newest line had the beauty, luxury feel, and overall bang-for-the-buck of this car. It looks so much like the Jaguar from around that time, that it was often mistaken for one. I have not seen a car anywhere, made by anyone, that has the class, comfort, and sheer value of this one. I will grieve when I have to let her go.

Pros
Just about everything with this model is top-drawer. It is a beautiful car with a luxury ride for a reasonable price: A rare and endangered species. No doubt when I next buy a vehicle, I will have to look for a company in the position Hyundai was in 2002 - looking to make a name.

Cons
Too small an engine for the weight. A bit sluggish.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Christopher F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/03/2018
2002 Hyundai sounda
It's a fun car and very reliable.it needs more power. But that's all I got to say on that. might go for 2018.it has more power now than2002s did I would recommend this car to first-time drivers because it's easy to drive

Pros
Never left me stranded

Cons
Needs more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Ashley C.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/23/2018
Just keeps goin
I just hit 277,000 miles on my 2002 Hyundai Sonata. My car has only ever been worked on at the Patrick Hyundai in Schaumburg. Was bought there new in 2002 & I bought it used in 2012. Sure with age I've had to put some money into it but she just keeps going.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Irving S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
2002 Sonata
The car has given us over 247,000 miles of service. We enjoy the ride and the quick pickup for a small 4 cylinder engine. The trunk is large and inside the passenger compartment is also spacious. We like the Pearl color on hot days it helps to keep us cool.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Galina F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/09/2018
I love my 2002 Hyundai Sonata
I love my 2002 Hyundai Sonata. It's been a very reliable vehicle. I have driven it from Connecticut to Canada and later to California, so it's been from coast to coast and has more than 200,000 miles on it. I was fortunate to have quality leather seats in my vehicle so it still looks brand-new inside.

Pros
Very comfortable with plenty of legroom in the back seat

Cons
Minor things that broke:
Clock that still "works" but doesn't show correct time
CD player broke very quickly
Now my antenna goes up and down by itself because the radio turns on on its own
My biggest complaint is the headlights because it's extremely hard to see when you're driving at night and they don't provide much light

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Harold S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
Great running car after 16 years
This 16 year old car with 90,000 miles does not have a bit of rust on the body. Run's great, comfortable seating. Start's reliably in the winter cold. Great a/c which never needed recharge in 16 years. Leather interior is still like new. One of the best car values.

Pros
Great comfort and looks after 16 years of use

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Roseann S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2018
Classy sonata gls
When I bought this used 2002 Hyundai sonata I never expected such a classy looking car for that year. The mileage was low, and it's performance was great. I was impressed because I had plenty of leg room and it even had a sunroof. It was the perfect size for me and no problem in parking it. The seats were very comfortable to sit in.I also liked the features and interior design. There is also plenty of room in the trunk. I can assure you my next car will be a Hyundai.

Pros
Good performance, good mileage, plenty of leg room, comfortable seating, and good air conditioning.

Cons
No cons at this time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Richard H.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/09/2018
2002 Sonata
For the price this has been a quality vehicle. It has provided dependable service with standard maintenance. Had to use the power train warranty once and it was not an issue. Radio and clock are an issue.

Pros
Dependable transportation, nice style lines, not a box. Power train has plenty of power with decent gas mileage.

Cons
Stereo and clock both have failed. Clock no longer keeps accurate time and the radio display does not work and it will turn on and off at its on will.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Irving S.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/14/2018
2002 Sonata
It has turned out to be a very good car. I service at the dealer and never seem to have any issues. Service people seem to always do a good job and explain any concerns completely. I appreciate the quality of the work.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VD
Velvette D.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/02/2017
Great investment
16 years on the road and still counting. Purchased new with 4 miles and now it has 282k. Kiddo drives it. When time comes, will buy a new model. But until then, we will drive this one until the wheels come off

Pros
Great overall purchase

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Samuel L.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/03/2017
Muy buen...
Todo bien, compraría otro.

Pros
Not

Cons
Not

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
John P.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2017
Good
Passenger headlight is out of focus
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Arthur M.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2017
Its still a cherry 16 years later.
best car w e ever owner!

Pros
bought a new Hyundai but will keep this car in family!

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
Norberto C.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/06/2017
Best Hyundai Vehicle
My vehicle has over 172K mikes on it, and it's still going strong. It may be leaking oil from the engine and transmission but boy, it's still going strong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EE
Ed E.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/02/2017
my sonata
206000 miles says it all

Pros
dependal

Cons
getting old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YF
Yvonne F.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2017
Excellent
My Car is GREAT I bless it every day .I cant believe This old care is so well made for the years i only have a few problem with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Maggie R.
2002 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2017
The Best "Zippy" Car I have Ever Drove
I currently own a 2002 Hyundai Sonata with only 145,000 miles. It is a GLS, but has the 6-cylinder engine and it has more "pick up and go" than I have ever had in a vehicle. The interior is cloth, which is comfortable, but the ride could be a little smoother. At times, bumps in the road can be felt, but overall it is a very comfortable riding car. We have had very minimal problems with this car. I have kept up diligently with the maintenance record and it still rides and sounds as smooth as the day we bought it. I love the headlights on the older Hyundai Sonatas, and the font-end reminds me of a Jaguar. It is the first vehicle I ever had with a sunroof and I would never go without one now. Even with a few minor issues, Hyundai has stood behind their products. I think Hyundai has really made a good name for themselves with a quality product that almost anyone can afford.

Pros
A fun car to drive that is zippy and has spunk! Only minor maintenance issues.

Cons
Could provide for a smoother ride with a better suspension.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 35 in total