2004
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(83 Reviews)
Latest review about 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DW
Darreon W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/16/2016
It's okay ....
It's an okay car it has a lot of issues at times under the hoo but it gets me where I need to go and is great on gas

Pros
It's great on gas
Easy and cheap to fix
Can come in ether manual or automatic or both
Has sun roof

Cons
Engine issues and needs safer structure for as building

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Trudy K.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2016
Excellent vehicle
Nice looking car for the price and reliable. Low maintenance, handles well in snow

Pros
I've had very few repairs needed. Just needed to keep up with standard maintenance

Cons
Car is eleven years old - I wish it got a little better gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
STU J.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2016
Reliable
150,000 miles and going strong!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEAN S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/28/2016
Great Service for a 1st time visit
It's nice to know that we have a hometown garage that's quick and reliable.

Thanks Scooters

Pros
It's a nice car that has lasted a long time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Karthikeyan S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/26/2016
Karthikeyan review
My review of Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 2004, sold by Autonation Hyundai to me.

Pros
Car has a good pickup being v6 engine.

Cons
The check engine light and transmission issues are not consistent to be tested and fixed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Darinda P.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/16/2016
A CAR THAT KEEPS ON GOING
My 2004 Hyundai Sonata is in awesome shape. I bring all of my service needs to Pearson Hyundai Service Center, and they have done an outstanding job taking care of my car. Just recently, my odometer hit 250,000 miles! I thank Hyundai for making such a great car that lasts and having amazing customer service.

Pros
Perfect car

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Julia D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/06/2017
2004 Sonata
It has been a great vehicle it has 150,00 plus miles. Still going strong my family driving it now. I bought a 2014 Genesis it is awesome vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2017
Excellent Car!
With regular maintenance and care....our 2004 Hyundai has been a remarkable car! Don't have 100,000 miles on it yet...but close. This car is a great size, nice looking and has held up beautifully. I hope the seats are more comfortable on the new models but this hasn't been a big problem. Great trunk space, leather interior. Had problems with dvd player when we purchased car and then for a few years. Don't know what happened but it has cleared up. I would recommend a Hyundai Sonata to anyone looking for a new or used car. It has exceeded our expectations.

Pros
Great Size.
Dependability
Great Trunk Space
Nice Style inside and out
This engine won't quit!

Cons
seats a little hard
dvd player problems first few years

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tina H.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2017
Reliable
This car is comfortable and dependable. It is a little crazy for the timing belt maintenance. But other than that , no complaints.

Pros
Dependable

Cons
Pricy routine maintenance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jack W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/14/2018
MY OLDER MODEL HYUNDAI
Although my Sonata is 14 years old, if it didn't have rust spots, I would certainly continue driving it a few more years. If I could purchase another Hyundai at a reasonable price, I would certainly consider it.

Pros
The car has always been reliable and easy to drive. Have always liked the look of this model (poor man's Jaguar).

Cons
The car has rust spots in the same areas on both sides. Wondering if this is a problem with that year car.
Gas mileage is not great.
Cup holders are wierd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Betty P.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2018
Poe
I love my car, it's a gas safer. The ride is smooth and it a very fast car. It reminds me of a very luxury car. The radio sound is great. It is a lady car. I wish I find another one like it. Great Great.

Pros
Great car, gas safer.

Cons
Should have better comfort seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JEAN B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2015
A great vehicle
My Hyundai Sonata is a 2004 with 195,000 miles on it (mpst;y highway from when I was working). It has been reliable and when repairs are needed, I have been able to get them done at Jones Auto since it has been off warranty for awhile now. It continues to run well and I love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joann S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/15/2015
love it
I enjoy driving my sonata as much as I did the day I bought it brand new 11 years ago. It's a great car. Only I need to remember to take it elsewhere for service when needed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Maryjo W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2015
My 2004 Hyundai Sonata
People ask me about my Hyundai Sonata and I tell them I would buy another one...someday.

Pros
1/ For a 5' (short) person (like myself) this is a great size car!
2/ The front hood is low so that the driver can see the car ahead at their trunk/rear-end/back bumper when slowing or stopping.
3/ I love the sun-roof for extra outside light & fresh-air when opened.
4/ A white paint color car can be seen in grey, dark, cloudy,rainy, weather or at night-time! So much better than a silver or black color-unless you are in the SUN STATES!.
5/ Leather seats are easy to slide into the car, move around, and comfortable..
6/ Thank you for the inside door pockets for articles!
7/ Thank you for the back-seat divider for cups & etc.
8/ I know nothing about "under the hood" that is why I take it to the Korum/Hyundai Auto Dealership in Puyallup.
9/ Just happy with my '04 Sonata!!

Cons
Needed features inside car from my viewpoint.
1/ need a little wider/larger rear-view mirror (car has both back corners as blind-spots).
2/ (like for the driver) also need option for larger seat-belts for larger people in passenger & back seats - I sized/ordered & bought an extender for my '04 Sonata but it did not fit or clasp into buckle.
3/ make cup holder sizes same: for the front seats 1 holder is large & 2nd is smaller-make each equal.
4/ the catch-all container in front could be little larger to store extra incidentals.
5/ when car is carrying people - the woman driver has no place to set her purse of any size! the trunk, you say? lol
6/ ...but I still love my '04 Sonata!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSEPH M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2016
Love my 04 Sonata
Comfy ride.
Safe.
Low maintenance.
Good gas mileage.
Roomy.
Large trunk.

Pros
Safe
Roomy
Great ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Pauline D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2016
Purchased new in 2004
I love this car. I do not like to drive especially on freeways, but with my husband's declining health I was placed in that position. This car made all the difference. I love driving my Sonata. The performance is outstanding. During the recent collision repair I was driving a 2016 Toyota Corolla. When I returned the rental and picked up my car I thought I would miss the new one - I don't in the least.

Pros
Still handles like a dream, even after 12 years. The steering radius is fantastic, corners exceptionally well, love the color and body design.

Cons
Light weight thus slides easily in snow and on ice, i miss the front wheel drive we had on previously owned vehicles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Marika F.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2016
Durable
This car has been through hell and back! Yet it has endured through it all and came out strong. It is reliable in the winter and it's weight makes it great with traction in the snow. Not only does it look sleek but it's the perfect compact car. I upgraded the sound system, but it's original was fine too. I am happy this was my first car.

Pros
V6 engine, 4 wheel drive, comfortable seats, etc.

Cons
Takes expensive gas and oil

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lisa R.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2016
Sonata 2004
For so many miles over200000 !this sonata run great except a few minor repairs !

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Karen W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2016
2004 Hyundai
running great with 158,000 miles. Hyundai makes a great car and an incredible service plan.

Pros
158,000 miles and still runs great.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Regina T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/22/2016
2004 Sonata
Great car for highway driving but around town it uses too much gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 83 in total