2004
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(83 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JB
JEAN B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2015
A great vehicle
My Hyundai Sonata is a 2004 with 195,000 miles on it (mpst;y highway from when I was working). It has been reliable and when repairs are needed, I have been able to get them done at Jones Auto since it has been off warranty for awhile now. It continues to run well and I love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joann S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2015
love it
I enjoy driving my sonata as much as I did the day I bought it brand new 11 years ago. It's a great car. Only I need to remember to take it elsewhere for service when needed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Maryjo W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2015
My 2004 Hyundai Sonata
People ask me about my Hyundai Sonata and I tell them I would buy another one...someday.

Pros
1/ For a 5' (short) person (like myself) this is a great size car!
2/ The front hood is low so that the driver can see the car ahead at their trunk/rear-end/back bumper when slowing or stopping.
3/ I love the sun-roof for extra outside light & fresh-air when opened.
4/ A white paint color car can be seen in grey, dark, cloudy,rainy, weather or at night-time! So much better than a silver or black color-unless you are in the SUN STATES!.
5/ Leather seats are easy to slide into the car, move around, and comfortable..
6/ Thank you for the inside door pockets for articles!
7/ Thank you for the back-seat divider for cups & etc.
8/ I know nothing about "under the hood" that is why I take it to the Korum/Hyundai Auto Dealership in Puyallup.
9/ Just happy with my '04 Sonata!!

Cons
Needed features inside car from my viewpoint.
1/ need a little wider/larger rear-view mirror (car has both back corners as blind-spots).
2/ (like for the driver) also need option for larger seat-belts for larger people in passenger & back seats - I sized/ordered & bought an extender for my '04 Sonata but it did not fit or clasp into buckle.
3/ make cup holder sizes same: for the front seats 1 holder is large & 2nd is smaller-make each equal.
4/ the catch-all container in front could be little larger to store extra incidentals.
5/ when car is carrying people - the woman driver has no place to set her purse of any size! the trunk, you say? lol
6/ ...but I still love my '04 Sonata!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSEPH M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2016
Love my 04 Sonata
Comfy ride.
Safe.
Low maintenance.
Good gas mileage.
Roomy.
Large trunk.

Pros
Safe
Roomy
Great ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Pauline D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2016
Purchased new in 2004
I love this car. I do not like to drive especially on freeways, but with my husband's declining health I was placed in that position. This car made all the difference. I love driving my Sonata. The performance is outstanding. During the recent collision repair I was driving a 2016 Toyota Corolla. When I returned the rental and picked up my car I thought I would miss the new one - I don't in the least.

Pros
Still handles like a dream, even after 12 years. The steering radius is fantastic, corners exceptionally well, love the color and body design.

Cons
Light weight thus slides easily in snow and on ice, i miss the front wheel drive we had on previously owned vehicles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Marika F.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2016
Durable
This car has been through hell and back! Yet it has endured through it all and came out strong. It is reliable in the winter and it's weight makes it great with traction in the snow. Not only does it look sleek but it's the perfect compact car. I upgraded the sound system, but it's original was fine too. I am happy this was my first car.

Pros
V6 engine, 4 wheel drive, comfortable seats, etc.

Cons
Takes expensive gas and oil

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lisa R.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/15/2016
Sonata 2004
For so many miles over200000 !this sonata run great except a few minor repairs !

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Karen W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2016
2004 Hyundai
running great with 158,000 miles. Hyundai makes a great car and an incredible service plan.

Pros
158,000 miles and still runs great.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Regina T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2016
2004 Sonata
Great car for highway driving but around town it uses too much gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/25/2016
Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned
Despite CD Player problems from first year of ownership (only malfunctions periodically for a while now) this 2004 Sonata has been wonderful. With on-time maintenance this car (6 cylinder) is still going strong. Still looks good, too. The warranty is of course, excellent. I would recommend the Hyundai Sonata to anyone! We will still look at Hyundai's when we're ready to replace ours----it may not be a Sonata as they are much more expensive these days....but....maybe we'll find another model out there.

Pros
Reliable, looks still hold up, good pick up, solid build quality, great warranty. With good maintenance record...this vehicle has been excellent. Now that it's older it still requires only average maintenance.

Cons
CD Player has been a problem since almost day 1. Had it in repair at least 4 x. It only malfunctions occasionally these days and not usually an issue. Wouldn't accept CD's...seemed like it did this when humid outside? Seats not that comfortable...a little hard.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
James D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2016
Great car that Sonata
We just got back from driving to the Florida keys, saw cars that broke down all along the way, but the Sonata is a great, dependable car. I own two Sonatas, and my next car might be one, too.

Pros
Reliable, performance is more than expected.

Cons
Little things go wrong with any vehicle, headlights need constantly replaced.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jean S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2016
had car only a year
so far a great car

Pros
good gas milage

Cons
trunk tooo small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARYJO W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2016
N/A
N/A

Pros
I like everything my car has, especially the Sunroof and headlights!!

Cons
I came down 1 point in 2 areas because after years of driving this vehicle, I found I needed a few things: A/ the Build Quality is fine except the inside back-end rear side corners are blind spots. B/ I could use some extra Features, this car does NOT HAVE day lights; for local daytime driving as I use my parking lights (sometimes). For freeway & busy highway (99) driving, i use my headlights (for safety & alerting other drivers)...also : B/ cup holders are both different sizes, and could be same sizes (they are perfect for bottled water) but not for the same wider sized coffee cups as one fits too snug!...and lastly: C/ women could use a purse strap in front somewhere under/along the dashboard - easy to get at - for when someone is riding in the front seat (where the woman usually lays her purse down next to her) she has to probably put her purse in the back or place it on top of the cup holders (where the emergency brake stick is at)......but I still love my car! That's all I can think

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOE D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2016
2004 Hyundai sonata
Excellent car. Minimal repairs were needed. Time to trade it in for a new Hyundai. 12 yr old car.

Pros
Minimal repairs needed

Cons
Parte are hard to find as the car gets older

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Randall R.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2016
Hyundai Sonata LX
Great car minimal problems..

Pros
Stylish and comfortable.

Cons
None..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Melva B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2016
Hyundai is first-class all the way!
I love everything about it .. especially the spoiler in the back! I'm 82, and I hope it lasts me the rest of my life!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Elaine L.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/17/2016
2004 and still runnung good
2004 Sonata, low mileage, runs good. Have put very money into it out of pocket. Very few problems, some covered by warranty. Paint starting to show age, but still a good
ride.

Pros
Very comfortable for me at 5'2"

Cons
tight turn radius

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Diane G.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/24/2016
Great
Good car. I don't want to give it up

Pros
Good lasting car and I love the design

Cons
It's old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sonja S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2016
Hyundai Sonata 2004
Still going strong at 142,000! Regular maintenance is key to keep the engine humming. Most reliable car I've owned so far.

Pros
Reliable performance after 12 years.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Nadine B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/24/2016
2004 Sonata
I purchased my car in March of 2004 from then, Hallmark Hyundai. I have gone to Spokane from Walla Walla twice a year for the service. In March of 2016 I had the first major work done on the car. The car is comfortable and,for me at age 84, easy to drive. I feel very safe in the car.

Pros
Love it.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 83 in total