2004
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(83 Reviews)
Latest review over 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SS
Sonja S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2016
Hyundai Sonata 2004
Still going strong at 142,000! Regular maintenance is key to keep the engine humming. Most reliable car I've owned so far.

Pros
Reliable performance after 12 years.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Karthikeyan S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/26/2016
Karthikeyan review
My review of Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 2004, sold by Autonation Hyundai to me.

Pros
Car has a good pickup being v6 engine.

Cons
The check engine light and transmission issues are not consistent to be tested and fixed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Diane G.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/24/2016
Great
Good car. I don't want to give it up

Pros
Good lasting car and I love the design

Cons
It's old

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Elaine L.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/17/2016
2004 and still runnung good
2004 Sonata, low mileage, runs good. Have put very money into it out of pocket. Very few problems, some covered by warranty. Paint starting to show age, but still a good
ride.

Pros
Very comfortable for me at 5'2"

Cons
tight turn radius

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Melva B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2016
Hyundai is first-class all the way!
I love everything about it .. especially the spoiler in the back! I'm 82, and I hope it lasts me the rest of my life!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Randall R.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2016
Hyundai Sonata LX
Great car minimal problems..

Pros
Stylish and comfortable.

Cons
None..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOE D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2016
2004 Hyundai sonata
Excellent car. Minimal repairs were needed. Time to trade it in for a new Hyundai. 12 yr old car.

Pros
Minimal repairs needed

Cons
Parte are hard to find as the car gets older

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEAN S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/28/2016
Great Service for a 1st time visit
It's nice to know that we have a hometown garage that's quick and reliable.

Thanks Scooters

Pros
It's a nice car that has lasted a long time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
STU J.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/20/2016
Reliable
150,000 miles and going strong!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARYJO W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2016
N/A
N/A

Pros
I like everything my car has, especially the Sunroof and headlights!!

Cons
I came down 1 point in 2 areas because after years of driving this vehicle, I found I needed a few things: A/ the Build Quality is fine except the inside back-end rear side corners are blind spots. B/ I could use some extra Features, this car does NOT HAVE day lights; for local daytime driving as I use my parking lights (sometimes). For freeway & busy highway (99) driving, i use my headlights (for safety & alerting other drivers)...also : B/ cup holders are both different sizes, and could be same sizes (they are perfect for bottled water) but not for the same wider sized coffee cups as one fits too snug!...and lastly: C/ women could use a purse strap in front somewhere under/along the dashboard - easy to get at - for when someone is riding in the front seat (where the woman usually lays her purse down next to her) she has to probably put her purse in the back or place it on top of the cup holders (where the emergency brake stick is at)......but I still love my car! That's all I can think

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Trudy K.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/19/2016
Excellent vehicle
Nice looking car for the price and reliable. Low maintenance, handles well in snow

Pros
I've had very few repairs needed. Just needed to keep up with standard maintenance

Cons
Car is eleven years old - I wish it got a little better gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Jean S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2016
had car only a year
so far a great car

Pros
good gas milage

Cons
trunk tooo small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
James D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2016
Great car that Sonata
We just got back from driving to the Florida keys, saw cars that broke down all along the way, but the Sonata is a great, dependable car. I own two Sonatas, and my next car might be one, too.

Pros
Reliable, performance is more than expected.

Cons
Little things go wrong with any vehicle, headlights need constantly replaced.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/25/2016
Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned
Despite CD Player problems from first year of ownership (only malfunctions periodically for a while now) this 2004 Sonata has been wonderful. With on-time maintenance this car (6 cylinder) is still going strong. Still looks good, too. The warranty is of course, excellent. I would recommend the Hyundai Sonata to anyone! We will still look at Hyundai's when we're ready to replace ours----it may not be a Sonata as they are much more expensive these days....but....maybe we'll find another model out there.

Pros
Reliable, looks still hold up, good pick up, solid build quality, great warranty. With good maintenance record...this vehicle has been excellent. Now that it's older it still requires only average maintenance.

Cons
CD Player has been a problem since almost day 1. Had it in repair at least 4 x. It only malfunctions occasionally these days and not usually an issue. Wouldn't accept CD's...seemed like it did this when humid outside? Seats not that comfortable...a little hard.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Regina T.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2016
2004 Sonata
Great car for highway driving but around town it uses too much gas.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Karen W.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2016
2004 Hyundai
running great with 158,000 miles. Hyundai makes a great car and an incredible service plan.

Pros
158,000 miles and still runs great.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lisa R.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/15/2016
Sonata 2004
For so many miles over200000 !this sonata run great except a few minor repairs !

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Marika F.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2016
Durable
This car has been through hell and back! Yet it has endured through it all and came out strong. It is reliable in the winter and it's weight makes it great with traction in the snow. Not only does it look sleek but it's the perfect compact car. I upgraded the sound system, but it's original was fine too. I am happy this was my first car.

Pros
V6 engine, 4 wheel drive, comfortable seats, etc.

Cons
Takes expensive gas and oil

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Pauline D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2016
Purchased new in 2004
I love this car. I do not like to drive especially on freeways, but with my husband's declining health I was placed in that position. This car made all the difference. I love driving my Sonata. The performance is outstanding. During the recent collision repair I was driving a 2016 Toyota Corolla. When I returned the rental and picked up my car I thought I would miss the new one - I don't in the least.

Pros
Still handles like a dream, even after 12 years. The steering radius is fantastic, corners exceptionally well, love the color and body design.

Cons
Light weight thus slides easily in snow and on ice, i miss the front wheel drive we had on previously owned vehicles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOSEPH M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2016
Love my 04 Sonata
Comfy ride.
Safe.
Low maintenance.
Good gas mileage.
Roomy.
Large trunk.

Pros
Safe
Roomy
Great ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 83 in total