2004
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(86 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JM
Jimmy M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/18/2020
Its an efficient, user-friendly car
Its a V6 with about 170 to 180 horsepower--that being said, it responds when you throttle it. Of course, this means it will also burn through gas if you consistently "floor" it. Its mid sized sedan and it is meant to carry people and luggage in the trunk if need be. Handling is nice and the overall driving experience is comfortable as a car should be.

Pros
Fairly fuel efficient

Comfortable

Responsive

Cons
Potential to burn through gas when floored

Minimal design/styling (if that's what you're looking for in a car).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Betty P.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/30/2020
Poe
I think my car is the greatest. Have really lived up to my expectations. Runs just very smooth. Every thing works just as it did when I first bought it. Mae sure I take it back to its dealership to keep it running.

Pros
Great, Love it wish the inter

Cons
Wish the interior was leather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YS
Yvonne S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
The Best Car Around
I have had my 2004 Hyundai Sonata fifteen years. I bought it from Alexandria Motors in Alexandria, Virginia. It has not given me any problems. I have had it serviced as suggested in the manual and I am very happy with it. I plan to buy another one when I decide to buy another car. However as long as this one continues to give me the good service it has for the past years it may be a long time before I buy another. Thanks Hyundai for making such a good quality car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
PAULINE M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/26/2019
I love my Sonata?
My 2004 Hyundai Sonata was purchased in 2006 with only 40,000 miles. It’s been the most reliable car! have had zero mechanical problems. Only replaced battery twice, brakes and tires!! Now at 126,000 miles on the odometer! I love it!

Cons
The trimming has fallen off couple of times.
Only cosmetic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gerald D.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/20/2019
Love it and won't sell it so don't ask!
We love the color, the style, parked next to a 2004 Jaguar and the owner of that returned to his car, looked at ours and you could see the steam coming out of his head as it looked prettier that his expensive ride, which was to him like owning a boat with a hole in it for maintenance. Jaguars are way overrated so that owner learned the hard way. We couldn't stop laughing. The ride is good, we find newer cars like our 2018 Sonata is really quiet compared to the 2004, so there is that and the bucket seats are make for smaller rear ended people or men who don't put their wallet in their rear pocket as you hip will hurt on long drives. That is the reason for the two 9 ratings. We love both Sonatas.

Pros
All of the above review.

Cons
Bucket seats for small rear ends and hip packing wallets.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Betty P.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2019
Bettye
My car have really served me well. It might be 15 years old but is a good car. When something go wrong I bring it to Wilken Hydundai. They have and still do keep my car running great. I love my 2004 Hydundai. You can’t make a better car.

Pros
Drive great and it hold to the road like a champ.

Cons
Wish I had more features

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Melva B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2019
2004 Hyundai Sonata
My father always said, "We don't love things, we love people!" Sorry, Daddy, but I LOVE my 2004 Hyundai Sonata. Judging by the complete care Palm Springs Hyundai gives my car, it will live as long as I do.

Pros
I love the shape of the body .. it's low to the ground, so is solidly comfortable.
The windows are all at eye level, not hiked up in the back like the new ones. :-)

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Pamela S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/24/2019
Comfort
My auto has lasted all these years - one of the most comfortable and stylish cars I have driven. I enjoy the sleekness of the look on the outside as well as the interior. Great pick up - I am always asked if it is new car even though its 15 years old - lots of offers to buy as well.

Pros
quick and efficient

Cons
wished it had GPS- did not have at the time bought

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Angela G.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2019
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Best car I have had in my 62 years of living. I purchased it new and this was the first major repair in 15 years now that's quality!!! Can't wait to get another one!! Love it, Love it, Love it, Love it!!

Pros
Love everything about it. I would rate it a 20 but the scale does not go that high.

Cons
None!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Rose M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2019
2004 HYUNDAI Sonata
My car is almost 15 years old. Bought it in Naperville, IL. I have been in San Antonio for 12 years & I have only been to this dealership. I love all the service dept. they are so helpful & friendly. Have 107 thousand miles on my car & this is the first time I had to spend couple thousand dollars on it. Patrick the Mgr. Gonzo & Rubin & the gals behind the desk I just love them all. I’m 80 years old & hope to keep my car until it’s time for me to move on. Hugs & kisses to all of them. ??
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joyce B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/10/2019
Best Car I've ever owned
I have had this car for 15 years with no major repairs. It is reliable, comfortable and economical. I got a good deal on the car when I bought it and it has been the best car I have ever had. I have sent friends to this dealership.

Pros
Love the car. Like everything about it.

Cons
I like everything about this car. I have no cons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Daniel B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2019
2004 Sonata
Have had this car not long ago, but l am already in love with the car. It's very solid and very comfortable. Dose not consume gas compared to the car l previously had.It's not expensive to service, and more importantly it was built to last.I will say the sonata is both a luxury and affordable to maintain.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2019
worry free driving for over a decade!
at the time of purchase, I had the feeling of driving with confidence. the quality, comfort and reliability of the Sonata has given me over ten years of worry free driving. I would recommend the Sonata for its reliability and performance offering!

Pros
reliable, comfortable, proved to be a good value. trust the brand. the warranty is great.

Cons
none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YS
Yvonne S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2019
Perfect Car
I bought my car in 2004 brand new with no miles on it (I was the first to test drive it). It was brought into the lot of Alexandria Motors the very day I was there to buy. I have had no major problems with this car (it has never "put me down'), it has been great on gas, and the interior shows very little wear. It has been serviced as suggested by the manual and when I have been told that there is a problem I usually have had the corrections made immediately (usually the same day). I will have had this car 15 years on August 28, 2019 and it is still a great ride. I will more than likely buy another Hyundai Sonata when I decide to buy again.

Pros
Everything about it.

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
William G.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2019
great car!
I've had my 2004 Sonata for fifteen years with ver little repair needed. I would highly recommend the Sonata and have done so many times. People have stopped to admire my car from the first, and I know some have said they were going to get one. I my be your best salesman not employed by you.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
Takes gas for it to run.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
Wanda G.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/12/2019
2004 Sonata
My 2004 Sonata only has @ 41,000 miles on it now. I am no longer working and don't do much driving, but when I do drive I can honestly say I have had no serious problems when I do need it. Just a few dead batteries and a flat tire but that has nothing to do with the performance of the car. I love this car and will probably keep it as long as I can!

Pros
Extremely reliable. Almost no performance problems, especially for a 2004.

Cons
No cons. I will probably keep this car for another 14 years!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KATHLEEN H.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/20/2018
Excellent
It has been a very reliable car. I like the style and ride of this car. I wouldn’t recommend this car to anyone. I would consider another Sonata in the future. I purchased the car new and when the time comes it will be hard to part from it

Pros
Reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2018
Yearly
Dependable and yearly maintenance has been done by westland hundai tech o both my cars. Service reps are very friendly. I trust them. I will continue to come I. Vehicles are looked at for any upcoming work.

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Melva B.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/25/2018
2004 Hyundai Sonata
My 2004 Hyundai Sonata is beautiful, comfortable, and wonderful in every way. I keep it nicely serviced and plan on driving it at least another 5 years. I'm 84 years old, and my Sonata is the nicest car I've ever had!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mike S.
2004 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2018
?
I bought my Sonata new in 2004 and could not have been happier. 14 years later with 181,000 miles and still running great! This vehicle is now used as a commuter as I had to upgrade to a van after having twins! Love Hyndai! Can't wait to go back after kids are grown!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 86 in total