2006
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(282 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BM
Barbara M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/09/2015
Hyundai Sonata 2006 4Door
Hey this is a great car and I really happy!

Pros
This is my second Hyundai Sonata and I just LOVE my car! Plus, the warranties that you receive when you purchase your car really does pay off. If you like your car you will make sure that you take good car making sure that you take it in for regular services that's required them you will be happy and your car will last for along time. Having a car is all up to the customer to how you want to keep your car in the best of running condition!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Max G.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/23/2015
Best first car ever
This car is my baby and never gave me big issues. Had to replace valve seal which cost less than a hundred dollars but I am enjoying it for a long time to come

Pros
Smooth ride and great gas mileage

Cons
Should have been leather interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZL
ZHIWEI L.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/19/2015
Good car for 9 years!
My experience with Hyundai will end here with this car. Basically, there is no such thing as Hyundai Assurance warranty after 8 years (even though it states 10 years powertrain). Tried of the recall and HIGH repairing cost.

Pros
Attractive upfront price tag.

Cons
Low reliability. High repair cost.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DI
Diane I.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2015
Reliable,
Purchased in 2005, first and only owner. Never had no problems. Proud to be a Hyundai owner.
My next car will also be a Hyundai.

Pros
Great of gas,

Cons
Door handles get stuck open

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Monnie F.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/19/2015
One of the best decisions I ever made
We purchased our '06 Sonata as a used car in '07 and still have it.
It has been one of the most reliable cars I have owned over the past 40 years.
We still have it, have no intention of selling it.
In fact I bought another Sonata recently.
So my wife and I each have our own Sonata.

Pros
Wouldn't hesitate to jump in this car and drive across the country

Cons
None noted

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
DENISE J.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2015
Glad I Bought This Vehicle
The Sonata is a trouble free vehicle to me, I haven't had any problems with the car. The ride is great and there is plenty of room in the back seat that allows adults to sit. The sedan is perfect vehicle to allow for a smooth ride and I can't complain about the gas mileage. This is the first 4 cylinder that I have bought and to me its powerful enough to get me anywhere I want. I don't have any complaints even after 9 years of this vehicle and yes I would buy another Sonata!

Pros
Best vehicle for young and older people.

Cons
I haven't found any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YM
YVONNE M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/11/2015
Best car ever
I love this car. It has always been great. Never broke down and runs like a charm

Pros
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NATALIE K.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/31/2015
Outstanding!
I love my car, its performance, comfort, and dependability. Regardless of its age, 8 years, it doesn't give me much trouble. If I will by another car, it's definitely will be Hyundai, as well (there is a discount for that, I believe it's called "costumer loyalty...." if I remember correctly). I also am trying to convince my husband to by a Hyundai when we'll have enough money to do that. I'd like to thank Hyundai from the bottom of my heart for making such great automobiles.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Doesn't have an outside temperature thermometer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marion R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2015
Safe and Reliable Vehicle
I've never had a safer or reliable vehicle while driving cross-country because I've always had my vehicle serviced regularly at a Hyundai dealership.

Pros
Vehicle is great on fuel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
ROBERT P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/04/2015
Excellent overall service, comfort, and good performance.
This is the first time I've ever purchased a new model when they first came out. The V6 Sonata has been very reliable and we have only had a few problems. Hyundai replaced the radio, glove compartment door, & sun visor when they malfunctioned at no charge. Also the brake light switch was replaced in a recall. The biggest out of guarantee repair was the throttle position sensor at 70K miles. At 90K miles we still haven't needed a brake job (great!). The V6 gives good passing performance on two lane roads and we have averaged about 24.5 mpg since we purchased the car new in 2006 (I keep records on a spreadsheet). I took the car to Sacramento Drag strip a couple of years ago (I do some racing there) and it got a 14.9 second/ 94 mph quarter mile on one of the runs, not bad for a stock family sedan with over 60K miles on it. My wife & I enjoy the car.

Pros
Generally very good overall service, comfort, performance, and gas mileage. Biggest plus is my wife really likes it.

Cons
It is getting old and the electronics are very out of date. Also, we will need to replace the spark plugs at the next oil change and i've been quoted $400 to replace them ... you have take off the intake manifold to get to them!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARJORIE G.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2015
Great . . .
Love my vehicle, and still get complements on how beautiful it is, even at 9 years and 2 months old. Some people think it's new.

Cons
One problem, in all the years. The top center brake is hard to get to & doesn't stay lite for long.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
Norman H.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2015
2006 hyundai sonata
my car is great. definitely will stay with the Hyundai Family.
I will choose a different location to purchase my new Hyundai.

Pros
handles very well.

Cons
stereo system over heats and shuts down on you.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
David F.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2015
My 2006 Sonata
This car has done everything I have asked of it. It handles and rides well. Very good car..

Pros
Reliable

Cons
A few raddles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KATHLEEN R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/30/2015
It has been a great car
I loved my 2006 Sonata! So much so I purchased another one!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sylvia M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2015
Freysinger Hyundai Service Dept.
Wonderful Service. I recomment Freysinger Hyundai Service Dept

Pros
A good quality car and is dependable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MARVIN P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/25/2015
2006 Hyundai Sonata
This vehicle is far the best vehicle i have ever driven. I love the car and so do the people that ride with me. They are so good at compliments that I dont know what to say .This is a good quality auto.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jamil A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2015
YOU GET MORE FOR YOUR MONEY!
I scheduled an appointment to have my Power Steering Hose/Return Line replaced. My appointment was for 11am on a Saturday. I know I have the patience of an alligator, but I didn't get out of there until nearly 5pm. Sean from the Service Department was very helpful, courteous, and he kept me updated on the status of my car as time progressed. So I can't blame him. He did his job, went the extra mile, only charged me $75 total, and even offered me a free oil change the next time I needed one. That said, I believe this particular Rogers Auto Group is a place where Intern Mechanics practice on vehicles. The mechanic(s) who installed the Power Steering Hose/Return Line on my car did a shoddy job. The mechanic who drove my car up to me had a look of embarrassment on his face, and now I know why. As I got into my car and drove away, I heard an annoying loud moaning sound. At the time, it looked like they were closing, so I didn't drive back into the lot. What's more? I figured they were in a hurry and didn't get the air out the system. When I got home, I unscrewed the top to the Power Steering Reservoir, poured a small amount of fluid in, turned the steering wheel twice in both directions (locking it), and then repeating the same process, minus the added fluid. I did the same thing the next morning, and again the next day. After two days, the sound was about 75% more quiet. However, it could still be heard and it's still annoying. I don't think I'll be returning to Rogers Auto Group. I'm currently shopping around for a nearby mechanic who can quiet the sound completely.

Pros
This conservative looking 2006, F24S LX Sonata reminds me of the experimental 1967 Tempest, before it became the GTO. You really, really get your moneys worth. I have the sporty version 3.3 24 valve V6. It feels like an 8 cylinder, but sips gas like a 4 cylinder when you're driving like a civilian. It actually has a moderately high performance suspension system with power rack and pinion steering. It came with Xenon Headlights, Michelin Tires, digital compass built into the rear view mirror, power heated seats, and lots of other amenities. GREAT CAR!

Cons
Because of the sporty suspension system, the ride can feel stiff, rigid and bumpy at times, but this really depends on the road. There's also been a few recalls (one of which was major). What's more? Currently, I'm experiencing an occasional, once in a blue moon non-start of the ignition. When this happens, it usually takes about 5 tries. Who knows, this to may be another recall issue. It'll be visiting a dealer soon.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
THOMAS F.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/15/2015
Dependability
I purchased this vehicle new and it has been one of the best cars I ever purchased. I use it now for work and it sees some rough use. It's still dependable and I have no intention of selling it or trading it in.

Pros
Great performance, fast when needed.

Cons
Breaks seem to rust easy. Radio and sound system , not the best. Seatbelt alarm very annoying.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
PAULA A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2015
2006 hyundai
love itall pros

Pros
all pros

Cons
no cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YM
YVONNE M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2015
My favorite car
I love my sonata, it's comfortable, great gas mileage. And the only time it has to go to shop is for maintence. Best car I ever drove. This is my 2nd sonata. It's the only car I ever want to own.

Pros
I like everything about this car!

Cons
No cons. That why I only will by this car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 261 - 280 of 282 in total