2006
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(282 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CV
Claudio V.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/02/2018
Ck engine light
No estoy satisfecho fui por ck engine light y sigue igual volví por read code y cambio de aceite y sigue la ck engine light las vavula no tenían su tapón en el lado que trabajaron no se que le corrigieron
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Paul P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/30/2018
2006 Hyundai Sonata
I'm not sure why we started with the Sonata ten years ago - but it ended up with several safety awards in recent years. It's taken a few hits from other cars over the years and it's always kept us safe. It's strong - and after 10 years it's still the smoothest riding car I've ever owned. Over 105,000 miles, and other than the normal maintenance you would expect it to need, it's still a GOOD CAR. It's held up well - I'm more pleased with the car with each passing year. We never want it to leave the family...

Pros
You can see I gave the car 10's in every category. The design is older now, but it's 10 years old. It was a nice design back then.

Cons
Can't think of anything. Not a thing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
Barbara W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/29/2018
Great automobile
Car is great
Cannot find 200 words to describe this vehicle that has not been said already.
XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Thomas L.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/24/2018
Dependable
My car has far exceeded my expectations. Very dependable. Still very quiet. Doesn't have all the extras new cars do but I love it. I have chosen not to but a new car because this one has been so good to me. Definitely would buy another.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gary E.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/24/2018
2006 HYUNDAI SONATA
THIS IS THE BEST CAR WE HAVE EVER OWNED. Never a problem. It has 227,000 plus miles on it and it is still going strong and provides the same gas mileage as when new. No oil leaks ever. I hope Hyundai continues to provide high quality cars and that people don't get rid of them just because the mileage is getting up there. We plan to put a new engine in it and keep on going when the time comes. We also love the body style as it never seems to look dated.

Pros
Very reliable car when taken care of. That is the key.

Cons
Bucket seats are a little uncomfortable for long drives.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Adrianne B.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2018
I love my car
I purchased my car in November 2005 and have loved it ever since. This is the best car I have ever had. She handles snow and ice like a dream. I use to drive my husband to work when it snowed and never got stuck. Long trips are easy and never tiring. This car I will never get rid of. I love it.

Pros
love everything about the car

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PT
Patty T.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2018
Simply one of the best!
My ex and I purchased a 2006 Sonata, new. It currently has 170 thousand miles, not many averaged out, granted, but there have been SEVERAL 5000 mile trips in one year alone. It has run like a champ. I have had occasions to drive the new 2018 Sonatas. Sorry, Hyundai, my 2006 still rides nicer and quieter! I, uhm, tend to exceed the speed limit on occasion and it still has more quickness and better handling in corners than the new. (I used to race in the SCCA)
I have even had an opportunity to ride in an Audi Quattro, a 2014, I believe. Yes it did have exceptional pickup but you felt every pebble, the seats were horribly stiff and uncomfortable, the whole interior was not a pleasant experience. Yes, Hyundai knocked it out of the park with the 2006 Sonata. (I have owned Ford cars and trucks, Chevy, a Hillman, Dodge Charger, Datsun and Toyota to name a few)

Pros
It looks like a car!

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Soo P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/05/2018
Solid Car for Your Money
This is the first Hyundai that I thought looked pretty good. It also has the feel of a solidly made car. Mine has 130k miles and still running strong. With their 100k warranty, Hyundai has proven to be a company that stands by the cars they sell. Recommended.

Pros
Solid build, 100k warranty.

Cons
Some minor but odd design flaws.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lynn B.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/02/2018
Sonata
My 2006 Sonata is 12 years old! It still looks great; runs great, and is very dependable. I totally understand why Hyundai offered a 10 year/100,000 mile warrantee on my car: it is extremely well made.

Pros
Very dependable and inexpensive to run. A quality auto.

Cons
No negatives! Excellent mid-sized sedan.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/20/2018
Built Quality
See con below, this may be due to ealier model. How could oil pan rust out even there is road shield under the oil pan to prevent from weather elements, I have 2 other cars never had this problem. And, how about the sun visors on both drive and passenger side are not staying up any more. Also, poor paint job under the trunk lid where the license lamps are, for no reason rust is showing up from the weld seams...

Cons
Body hardware's are not to par, may be due to earlier model. Like, rust around rear license lights under the trunk lid..., sun visors won' stay up anymore, oil pan rust out ...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Travis M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/20/2018
2006 sonata lx
The 2006 hyundai sonata is a major leap from previous sonatas. The 3.3 v6 has plenty of power. The transmission shifts very smooth. I was very surprised by how much room this car had. Overall I am very happy with the 2006 sonata.

Pros
Plenty of power and room

Cons
Ugly radio. Weak sun visors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sema M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2018
This is the best car I ever had. It is 12 years old and rides as good as new.
I like my 2006 Hyundai. I kept up with maintenance throughout the years. Just put a new set of tires on my car, and it runs smoothly and takes me where I want to go. I am independent, and that makes me feel good.

Cons
I would have liked the doors to lock automatically. I would have liked a blind spot warning.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Susan G.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/28/2018
2006 Hundai Sonata
I love my car! Hyundai has always backed up it’s promise. I will keep my car until it will not run anymore. The treatment by the Garvey Dealership has been wonderful! I will continue to deal with Garvey and Hyundai until I am no longer able to drive.

Pros
It is dependable!

Cons
For me, and this is not Hyundai’s fault, I would never buy a dark colored vehicle again. It is a magnet for careless people who park next to you.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronald D.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2018
60,000 mile plan.
We LOVE our 2006 Hyundai Sonata and have kept it in excellent condition during its 52,000 lifetime. We have had nothing major happen, and wanted to keep it that way by having the 60,000 mile service performed. We feel very satisfied with its performance, thanks to Tony Hyundai Waipio, and plan to send it to our grandson as a high school graduation gift. Mahalo to the service department for their 1 day service and for their wonderful Shuttle service.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gary R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/17/2018
12 and still ticking
I bought the car in 2006 in Austin. I got the color with the features I wanted......There was only one small problem early on... the seat switch went bad. It eas replaced no problem since....The has 67,000 miles and I to keep a while longer.. Sorry Hyundai... Not trading any time soon..

Pros
Very few problems

Cons
Ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
John E.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/14/2018
2006 Hyundai Sonata
I am at 95,000 miles and this car is runnining great. Just follow your routine maintenance and I am sure you will experience the same. The only major repairs were an AC compressor and a head gasket. No other problems with this vehicle.

Pros
Very dependable.

Cons
Having to remove the back seat to replace the light bulb for your 3rd brake light. There is no access from the trunk. I hope your engineers corrected this issue on newer models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Daniel M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/12/2018
Great car
Have had this car for 8 years, added about 100k miles and no issues at all woth it. Car runs and works great. Had very low regular maintenance, if you keep well the car, this sonata won’t let you down. Great interior space, great luggage room.

Pros
Very reliable car.
Low maintenance

Cons
Not so economical on highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
Emilia A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/11/2018
Hyundai Sonata
I have had my Hyundai Sonata for 12years. I am extremely happy with my Sinata, and have had excellent service at Nor Reeves Hyundai over the years! I didn’t buy this car at Norm Reeves because it was another dealer then . However when Norm Reeves took over and I’m so very Happy thy did because I have had extremely excellent Professional honest service from them! I plan on buying my next Hyundai from Norm Reeves because of the friendly excellent service there! I recommend you try a Hyundai Sonata and get it at Norm Reeves Hyundai you won’t regret it!! You will love your car as I do!!

Pros
Very affordable very comfortable excellent ride and low mantience

Cons
I have had little to complain about. Any problems I had were all taken care of the car has been very reliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FB
Fred B.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/08/2018
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Overall my Hyundai Sonata has been a really good car for 12 years. I has very low miles (47,000), but has failures you wouldn't expect. Just had the fuel pump die on me, while in traffic. I most certainly did not expect that part to fail at such a low mileage, but it did. Repair is expensive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Joseph A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2018
2006 Sonata
I've had this car since 2006 and have just over 80k 95% highway miles. I'm on my second set of tires. The car runs great and gets 27 mpg on the open road. Yes I keep it maintained flawlessly. While I've looked at a few new ones in the past few years the trade-in value of mine is minimal. Keeping it for the next 10 yrs. if no one hits it. You can't find a 2006 in condition like mine.

Pros
quick off the line, no problem getting to 70. easy on gas 27 mpg on open road.

Cons
would have liked power seats, only flaw. only single cd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 282 in total