2006
Hyundai
Sonata

Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5Overall Rating 4.82/5rating 4.82
4.8
(274 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MM
Misty M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2019
Great buy
I love my 2006 Sonata. Every car has a weakness and with this one it is brakes. The brake pads and rotors have to be replaced more often than cars I have had in the past, but this car has been reliable and stylish from the start. At 103K miles I anticipate passing "Sonny Sonata" on to my daughter in a few years.

Pros
Reliable, stylish, fun to drive, great pick-up even with the 4 cylinder engine

Cons
Brakes and rotors need replacing more frequently than the other cars I have previously owned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NW
Nicole W.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/05/2019
Car review
I have a 2006 Sonata, and I love my Hyundai and I am looking forward to upgrading my car to the SUV Santa Fe. I have had Hyundai since 2004. Never had any major issues and love how it handles the road especially in the snow. My kids have had access to my car and grandkids. It needs cosmetic care due to rough handling but as far as everything else I have no complaints. When taking car in for service prices are about the same as everywhere else.. Love my Hyundai and will not change. I had 2019 rental car a Jetta , but I could not wait to get my car back it wasn't a Hyundai

Pros
Interior features for basic things.. And the six air bags for safety.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tobias P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2019
2006 Hyundai Sonata w/ 213,000
My 2006 Hyundai Sonata is still going strong after driving it for over 13 years. Its or family Work Horse for our commute to and from work. It still has the same Horse power as if we just bought the Car brand new. Me and my Wife love it!!! :)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mary M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
Love my car
Bought my car new and am still driving it. Since 2006 I replaced tires, a windshield pump and most recently an alternator. Not bad for 13 years! The car fits me at 5 feet tall and my husband at 6'1". It has been a very comfortable and reliable car.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Not stylish: it is a sedan. :-)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Joseph A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
2006 Sonata
Having owned about 20 cars in my lifetime, the 2006 Sonata is the best mechanically overall car I've owned. Over 100k miles and all I've changed are filters, the battery, tires and transmission service. to my amazement I am still on the original brakes!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Ruby B.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2019
Sonata
I chose to purchase a Sonato after having the opportunity to rent one. I found them to be roomy and quiet. I purchased my Sonata in 2014 used and have not had any major problems with it. This one did not let my judgement form change and when the time comes to replace it, I will look forward to purchasing the latest model.

Pros
Very reliable, roomy, gas saving .

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gary E.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
2006 Hyundai SONATA
This vehicle is the best car we have ever owned. It is 13 years old and still gets 30 miles to the gallon. We have never had any serious mechanical problems with it. We get the oil changed every 3000 miles or so and have most of the scheduled maintenance done. We have 240,000 miles plus on the engine and it is still running great. Hyundai did something right when they made this car. We plan on putting a new engine in it when the time comes and keep on driving it. The styling is timeless and it never looks old to us.

Pros
Reliable always.

Cons
There are none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Marc A.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2019
Could be the best car I have ever owned!
I have only owned my Hyundai a year and a half. I have been a life long Toyota fan, and up until this time around, they have been my number one choice! My Hyundai is at a close second and steadily rising to the top. We will see in the next year or so. At this moment, it is just excellence on wheels!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/08/2019
Started out as a good car
Low mileage-151,000. 13 years old. Transmission gone and Power steering gone. I was hoping to drive it longer. I usually keep a car for about 15 years and was hoping to drive this one longer than 13 years.

Pros
Started out strong

Cons
Transmission gone at 151,000 miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MATTHEW M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2019
Got my $$$ Worth
For a car that I've had for 13 yrs. Over 100000 no unexpected issues with the car.. well worth the money i paid. Never broke down. It has plenty of interior room and trunk space. I enjoy the sunroof when weather is nice.

Pros
Safety features 6 airbags. Traction control. Fog lights. Good power V6, highway milage is solid.

Cons
Intown gas milage not good.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Cecil P.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/21/2019
EXCELLENT VEHICLE
The vehicle handles well , good on gas consumption. Its attractive and well built. Besides being a good and affordable vehicle, the primary point for me is the after purchase SERVICE. This is my third Sonata , my testimonial.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Joann K.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/20/2019
Don't know what this means?
I love my 2006 Hyundai Sonata!!!
I have had 9 previous cars and the
Sonata was my first foreign car.
I never had any issues until my check engine light came on and
now it is time for a newer car.

Pros
I love my car.

Cons
City mileage could have been better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Linda R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/17/2019
Vehicle review
I have been very pleased with my Hyundai Sonata. No major problems. Keeping it maintained has always been a priority in my book. I definitely would recommend this make and model to everyone. Love my car overall.

Pros
Love my car overall

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jan C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2019
Reliable comfortable that attractive
Reliable comfortable that attractive. I have had my car for 13 years and it runs like a champ. The only thing I don’t like about it is the paint that is starting to peel. The motor has been very reliable

Pros
Reliability comfort and style and price

Cons
Poor quality paint job. Should not be peeling all over the car without having dents chips etc causing the paint to peel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/10/2019
Love My 2006 Hyundai Sonata!
Yes, I've had my 2006 Hyundai Sonata for 13 years now and it has been one of the best cars that I have ever owned...I've taken it in for service checks every six months and have had no problems whatsoever.....It is a very sturdy car....very well made....excellent quality....great design and model....I have always felt very safe and secure due to its excellent quality!

Pros
Everything as mentioned in my review and ratings!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Karen S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/31/2019
Great car initially but......
Premature failure of transmission with no clues, noise, or slipping, nothing, it just quit working properly. Otherwise vehicle has only had issues with seat belt light and sensors in the seats, door panel control switches.

Pros
Great vehicle, that I expected to run 250 to 300,000 miles as I believe in maintenance of my vehicle.

Cons
Premature failure of transmission, continued seat belt light issues, door and window control panel failures.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
Harry C.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2019
Darn Good Vehicle.
I drive a 2006 Sonata with 422,000 plus miles on it and have never experienced any major failures. The only negative I have about the Sonata product is the unavailability of the 6 cylinder engine. There is not much else to say, this is an excellent vehicle.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Maria S.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/26/2019
2006 Hyundai Sonata
With 170,000 miles on board this car has been one of the most reliable and comfortable I have ever owned. The recalls were honored by the dealer as well as all maintenance repairs within the warranty. Totally recommend both Lehman and Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gary E.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2019
Best car we ever owned.
We had a rough time buying our Hyundai at Bronco Motors in 2006. The salesman was less than professional and kept us there all day even when we kept telling him we lived in Garden Valley and our dog was inside our home and we had to get back to him to let him out. He was not an asset to your company, I can assure you. Even when we had an ad from the newspaper saying Bronco Motors would sell this car for a certain price, he refused to even consider letting us buy it for that price. We should have walked away then, but wanted the car so badly and had waited so long already. To make a long story shorter, we did buy the car and have had it for over 12 years. The absolute best car we ever owned! It has almost 250,000 miles on it and still runs like a charm. We have always gotten great service from Bronco Motors and have tried to keep up on all maintenance. We will probably keep this car until it just won't run anymore. It may outlast us, who knows. Great service professionals at this business!!

Pros
Great styling, never looks like an older car, it is like the energizer bunny; it just keeps on going. Fun and safe to drive. It always starts the first time we try to start it even after 12 years. Keep making them like this, Hyundai!!

Cons
Could use a outside temp gauge, seats can become uncomfortable on long rides, and visors have been a problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Linda R.
2006 Hyundai Sonata
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/02/2019
Hyundai Sonata
My Hyundai Sonata has been an exceptionally great car. I am very pleased with it. Even with the high mileage I have never had any major problems. Would definitely buy another Hyundai Sonata in the future.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 274 in total